Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Model: WHRE5550KWW
SKU: 9148479
UPC: 084691188216
Get clothes thoroughly clean with this colossal-capacity washer that accommodates large loads and features 5 wash/spin speeds, 6 wash/rinse temperatures and 4 water levels for customized laundry care.
Average Customer Rating:
3.695 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 82 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
22
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
58 out of 82
)
Customer Reviews for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White
Review 41 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Horrible Horrible Horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kkamphutch
from Napa, CA
on 12/18/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing - We need a lower rating than "Poor" to choose for this one!
What's not so great: Doesn't clean the clothes - doesn't even get them all wet!
What a lot of hype about NOTHING. This was a replacement for another GE washer that I purchased that had the wrong suspension built into it so when you did anything over a small load, the drum would bottom-out and scrape the floor of the washer. Now, after a long and ugly battle with GE, I have this washer.
Happy to finally get to wash my clothes after 3 weeks, I loaded it according to directions and turned it on. IT DIDN'T EVEN GET SOME OF THE CLOTHES WET. Let me say that again - it didn't even get some of the clothes wet. Now I'm all for efficiency but there's got to be a happy medium between saving water and getting the clothes clean.
I watched a cycle go through and my sweater came out the same way it went in and only half of it was "washed". Add to that the immense amount of LINT (I really hate lint) on them when they came out and it's clear that they are not clean. The 2 shirts that I treated for stains didn't even wash out. The lint in my dryer catch has doubled now too which means it's having to work that much harder to pass air through all that lint, so now my dryer is getting more of a workout.
I've read the other reviews and I laugh at the one's that talk about the spin cycle being so great that the clothes are dryer when they come out of the washer -- they are dryer because some of them aren't getting wet.
Here's the bottom line: Clothes actually have to get wet in order for them to get clean. Don't buy this machine. Look for another brand. If you have to go back to GE, they are horrible to deal with, don't care about their customers and don't care about righting their wrongs. GE is not who they used to be.......BUYER BEWARE!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 42 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Good machine, great value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Starman123
from New Berlin, WI
on 12/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Quiet, large capacity, smooth operation, stainless steel basket, hi efficiency
What's not so great: Twists clothes a bit, cheap drain hose
I've had this washer for a few months now. I like to withhold reviews until I've actually used the product for a while. I also tend to be a harsh reviewer - my thinking is that if the product performs what I expect then its just average, because many products do that, it has to offer something better to get rated better by me.
I read the other somewhat negative reviews here and I don't get most of them. This washer does a good job of cleaning my clothers, has more options than I can use as far as cycles, temperatures and water levels, and it hold quite a bit of clothing. I've filled it almost to the top of the fill hole and its performed well. I'm a little gun-shy on over stuffing washers but my routine loads as a load of 6-8 large bath and associated towels, a load of 4 pairs of jeans and miscellaneous items, a load of 5-7 dress shirts and 5-7 t-shirts, and a load of whites. It does well on all - is very quiet and smooth, etc. I've washed a king blanket with no issues. I would say this is a large capacity washer but not a "huge" capacity washer - jeans, towels, blankets are all very heavy when wet and you're not going to put 10 pairs of jeans in this washer at once - I'd tend to say its a bad idea in most washers too though.
Overall, this product performed as I expected, cleaned clothes well, was quieter and more efficient than I expected and is a rock solid appliance.
Two downfalls on it - it tends to twist clothes and could be a little gentler on them - its not been a problem, but things are more wrinkled out of the washer. I had not tried to change the cycle though and that may well be my issue. The second thing - and I think manufacturers are ridiculous when they do this - is that the drain hose supplied with the washer is cheap junk, plastic flex tube - not a hard rubber "real" hose. It is not a problem but it was annoying to position, cheapens the unit and I suspect will need replacement sooner. A x hundred buck machine can't squeeze an extra $10 out for a decent drain hose?
On the flip side, thought I like this washer and feel it was a good value - there is nothing about it that makes me "have to have it" - there were others at this price point that would likely perform just as well. I picked this unit because of the stainless steel basket, hi efficiency and good reviews elsewhere. Comparable price and feature models tended not to have everything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 43 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AliCumberland
from Cumberland, RI
on 12/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: super quiet, tons of wash cycles to choose from, and is a total water & energy saver.
What's not so great: nothing!
I read the negative reviews here and was worried about buying this. However, we needed a washer, and wanted to give this one a go. The high efficiency and energy star rating sold us. When we got it installed, the only complaint I had was that cold cycles used hot water, and hot cycles used cold water. Well, turns out the installer simply put the hoses in the wrong spot. I have no complaints about this washer, though! I love how clean my clothes get, and how with the extra spin option, I cut my drying time in half. If you follow the directions and load it correctly, it WILL clean all of your clothes. I washed a king sized comforter in it, and it came out just as well as the dry cleaner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 44 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Stay Away!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JamesCA
from Orange, CA
on 12/09/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Does not wash large loads, or anything large.
Stay away from this machine. GE markets it as 'colossal' capacity and the instruction manual indicates it can be loaded with clothes up to the top holes in the basket, but UNTRUE. It will only handle clothes up about 1/4 to 1/3 of the height of the basket, which eliminates washing of blankets, table cloths, large towels (unless you want to wash one at a time). The GE field service technician was surprised at the poor performance, but GE customer service said that it performs as designed! Stay away! In fact, based on my experience, stay away from GE. Never again will I purchase a GE branded appliance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 45 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Don't Buy It!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BrendaninAZ
from Glendale, AZ
on 12/07/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: It doesn't clean clothing well.
I have been very disappointed in this machines ability to clean my clothing. I thought it was broken but a Best Buy service call confirmed it was functioning correctly. The repair guy carefully explained how to use it because it is different then the old style machines. Even after carefully follow his instruction there is still soil on my clothing that would come out in my old style machine no problem. Because there is nothing wrong with it I can't return it. I like my clothing clean so I will be buying another machine with my own money even though this one is only 5 months old. I'm going back to the old center post with lots of water and agitation style machine. I know they work well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Great Washer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PCGameplayer
from Fairfax, VA
on 10/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very quiet, gets clothes clean, uses less water, excellent capacity
What's not so great: Nothing
I can't understand how anyone cannot love this washer. I've had it for three weeks and I'm amazed how quiet it is, how easily it handles all sized loads and how clean it gets my clothes. My old Maytag was constantly out of balance whenever it spun, which created a loud banging sound and even caused the washer to move across the floor. Not this GE. It's so quiet you hardly know it's on. And the high speed spin cycle is amazing - the clothes are almost dry when you take them out of the washer. It even uses less water than other top loading washers. This is an excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 47 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

DON'T BUY!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jey
from Houston, TX
on 10/15/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Does not work
On the 2nd wash I was doing screws starting coming out on my clothes and I am sure my clothers did not go in the washer with screws in it. Do your self a favor believe the reviews and don't get this washer!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 48 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

NICE WASHER

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: JUNEGIRL57
from FLORHAM PARK,NJ
on 10/11/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: QUIET AND CLEANS GOOD
What's not so great: BREAK DOWN FAST
AFTER FEW WEEKS MY WASHER BREAKS DOWN. START TO MAKE NOISE AND SMELLED BURNT. THE MOST OF THE TIMES THE WASHER ARE NOT DRAINING OUT THE WATER, I AlREADY HAVE HAD 2 REPAIRS WITHIN
5 WEEKS.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Awesome washer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jano
from St. Paul, MN
on 09/20/2009
What's great about it: Quiet, gets all of my clothes clean
What's not so great: I have no complaints
My Kenmore washer went out, and I wanted to buy a good washer without spending alot of money. I bought this washer, and the sales person that helped me was great. I use one of those lint catcher screens on the drain hose on my old washer. the screen would fill up after a month or so, but with this new washer the lint is very minimal. So far I love my GE washer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Washer does not work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DaveTampa
from Tampa,FL
on 09/06/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: New Technology (NOT)
What's not so great: Infusor (agitatior) does not work! Not all types of clothes do not get wet?????
I am returning this product to the store. GE what were you thinking. I read the other reviews before buying and I believed the good reviews over the negative. Well I am saying DONT BUY this machine..
The first loads went fine (small items and towels) then I got to the pants. They just sat on top and were never pulled in by the infusor. I took out one third and still nothing. Well I do need to wash all of my laundry.
I have tried to make it work but you decide...
Did not overfill or compact the loads. I want it to work but NO.
DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE OR YOU BE TAKING IT BACK LIKE ME!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 51 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

One Fantastic washer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Misty123
from Louisville,ky
on 09/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good price,cleaner wash
What's not so great: no cons so far
After reading the negatives I was very skeptical of using this washer.I read the instructions,put my clothes in and turned it on expecting the worst.I was very surprised my clothes came out clean and almost dry.I believe some people tend to over load their washer and not put the clothes in properly,heaviest items first lite items on top. also the detergent goes in first The HE detergent does make a difference it is a bit more in price but well worth it and you will use less getting more loads from the box or bottle..this washer does take some getting used to with it making a different sound and using less water. I'm confidant if it is loaded properly with the correct amount of clothes for the wash and using the he detergent and the 2nd rinse anyone's clothes will come out cleaner than their old washer got them just as mine does and the savings will definitely be seen in less use of the dryer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 52 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Pretty decent, but read the manual, reviews & tips

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LGHORN
from Austin, TX
on 08/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Quiet, High Efficiency, Energy Star, SS Tub, Large, Price
What's not so great: May not get clothes as clean as traditional washers
I did LOTS of research before replacing our decade+ old Maytag washer that started leaking: traditional, high-efficiency top loader, or front loader? I was discouraged from front loaders due to potential for mold, negative reviews, and price, but we wanted a high-efficiency/low water use/energy star washer. It came down to this GE unit, a Whirlpool and Maytag (the latter two were the same unit, I believe, since same manufacturer and specs). However, the Whirlpool & Maytag had load sensors (auto water level) which had many negative reviews and the potential for the sensor to be damaged simply by opening the lid during the fill/wash cycle (WHAT??). So we found this set at Sam's Club (WHRE550K1WW) that was in stock (couldn't find the washer and dryer in stock at BB, Lowes, Home Depot, Sears.
While skeptical of some of the negative reviews and many concerns/complaints about clothes not getting completely wet or washed, we decided to give it a try and make sure we read the manual and followed the instructions & other reviewer's tips. The first 2 loads came out just fine - large loads of whites, arranged around the Infusor (mini agitator), didn't overload, detergent in prior to clothes, etc. The wash cycle is super quiet compared to a traditional washer, though the spin cycle is noticeable (not too loud, but does sound like a distant helicopter as other reviewers mentioned). Considering it's around 1,000 RPM, I think, it can't be TOO quiet, and it does a solid job of getting clothes pretty dry prior to going into the dryer.
Follow the instructions and reviewer's tips and you'll USUALLY end up with a well-washed load of clothes. HOWEVER, tonight I washed a large load of darks and tossed a pair of navy chinos on top of the other clothes. I watched the fill and wash cycle to make sure all clothes got wet and the pants didn't just ride atop the rest of the load. Unfortunately, after watching for several minutes it was clear they were unlikely to be pulled down into the wash by the Infusor - it appears to work opposite of a traditional agitator as clothes are pulled down from the outer side (near the tub wall) vs. the inner side (near the Infusor). So, I gently pushed the pants down around the outside and soon they were underneath the other clothes and I let it continue unobserved. After the cycle completed I pulled everything out to go into the dryer and when I lifted out the pants, which were in the middle of the rest of the load, I noticed some kind of light marks all over the butt area and a bit on the front. Don't know what it was, but they weren't there when I put them in. They'll have to be washed again, which was a disappointment...wouldn't have happened in the old agitator style washer. However, everything else seemed OK.
In summary, this washer does a decent job of cleaning, but think about the load you're doing and consider washing pants, jeans, large sweaters and certainly towels or bedding in separate loads from your regulars. Running a half-full load on Large or Super settings should help with the issue mentioned above. Otherwise, this unique washing system by GE is pretty neat, quiet and it's OBVIOUS it uses less water than a traditional washer. Even on Super the water only goes just above the Infusor, but the rainshower fill along with the slow spin the washer does while filling gets all clothes wet, so by the time the wash cycle starts the tub is just over 1/2 full. The Infusor/HydroWash system is definitely not as "tough" as a traditional agitator system, so again, follow the instructions, don't overload and consider your load type to get the best cleaning while still obtaining the advantages of this high-efficiency washer. I've yet to see a load where all clothes weren't wet, and I've only done Super/Large loads so far. My belief is other reviewers who gave a low rating and claimed their clothes weren't wet either overloaded the washer, used improper settings for the load type, or had a bad unit (least likely).
TIPS:
1) WATCH how it works and see for yourself to understand and increase your confidence in this unique wash system. To watch with the lid open and not interfere with the slow-spin rainshower fill and wash/rinse/spin cycles, place a small magnet on the little white lid sensor on the left side of the tub rim (open the lid, look down on the left side of top of the washer where the lid closes and you'll see it). This makes the washer think the lid is closed and you can watch the whole cycle if you so choose. It's interesting the first time around, and slightly more entertaining than watching water boil. I recommend it as it will help you understand how it all works (you'll see how incredibly fast the spin cycle is!). Make sure to watch the wash cycle for a good 5 mins or so to notice how the Infusor slowly tumbles/rotates the clothes from bottom to top - much slower than a traditional agitator, but it combined with the side-to-side action are what does the cleaning.
2) If you are washing larger items (e.g. pants) with smaller items like shirts, underwear, socks, lightweight shorts, etc. put the larger items in FIRST so they start on the bottom and will get "mixed in" with the rest of the clothes during the wash cycle. If you place them on top there's a risk of them remaining there and not getting pulled down by the Infusor.
Just remember: this is new washing technology and it does have some cons or trade-offs for its pros. You'll save on energy and water, and hear less sound, but you'll need to have a better understanding and think a little more about your loads vs. the old "dump and forget" style so many of us have become used to with traditional washers. Decide what your priorities are in a new washer and what you're willing to do/live with. This washer WILL get your clothes clean, but you'll need to make a little extra effort at times.
We were a bit hesitant to buy GE, but after exhaustive research I saw plenty of poor reviews of Kenmore, Whirlpool and Maytag washers as well. Considering that and the fact you can get a 3 year (total) warranty from a 3rd party for $30, or extend GE's warranty for an additional 1/2/3 years for $110 or less, we felt it was worth a try. We've also had GE appliances in our kitchen for years and never had a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 53 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Love this washer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Michelle09
from North Carolina
on 08/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: top-loading, high efficiency, energy star, infusor washing system, great price
What's not so great: not as quiet as I anticipated
I researched this washer (and others) thoroughly before purchasing it and also purchased the matching dryer. When looking to buy this machine, I was confused by the concept of an infusor and couldn't understand how it worked. Negative reviewers on this site who said they returned the machine within 24-48 hours of purchasing it made me nervous. Then I searched YouTube and found some really good videos demonstrating how the hydrowave washing system works. The technology is ingenious. The infusor is essentially a "short agitator" that works completely differently from traditional agitators. This system incorporates the benefits of both an agitator (keeping the clothes moving but not knotting them up) and a high efficiency machine, without the problems of a front-loader (moldy smell) or agitator-less machine (twisting, knotting, etc.).
After 3 weeks of laundry, I couldn't be happier. My 1-year-old son's clothes come out of the washer very clean and often nearly dry using the cotton cycle. The extended spin option is great for jeans and towels and saves a lot of drying time. I would recommend washing t-shirts and other knits on the casual or easy care cycles; the cotton cycle is a bit too rough for them, but it works really well on jeans, towels, and play clothes. Comforters, sheets, and bed skirts also come out really clean and not knotted or bunched up like in my old traditional agitator machine. The important thing is to read and follow the owner's manual carefully. I have never had any trouble with items not getting all wet or clean, even large bedding items. Loading the machine without covering the infusor is the key; also it's important not to keep the lid up while the machine fills because it keeps the wash basket from rotating. Another added bonus is that it uses significantly less laundry detergent to get the wash done. The only time I have had a problem with soapy residue is when I added too much soap for the amount of laundry in the machine. The "Quick rinse & spin" cycle took care of that easily though.
I recommend this machine to anyone who wants a top-loading machine with the benefits of new washing technology. If you want a machine that works like a traditional agitator machine then don't buy this one, but if you want a top-loading machine with the benefits of both old and new technology at a great price then this is the washer for you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 54 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Great washer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: karen817
from Morro Bay, Ca
on 08/10/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price
I got this washer about 2 months ago, and I couldn't be happier! Like any washer if you over load it, it wont wash right, so on my bigger loads like a queen size comforter I leave the settings on super and my blanket comes out very clean. The only down side to this washer is I have yet to see a saving on my water bill.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Worst design ever. please listen to the negatives!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bryce1979
on 08/03/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: washing clothes
I bought this washer because of the price and the load size. Trust me it was the worst design ever! It didnt even get all the clothes wet on the largest setting and they were not anywhere near clean. I still cannot believe GE would let this machine even be made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 56 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

SO FAR, SO GOOD!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MDG7
from Long Beach, CA
on 08/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ENERGY SAVING, GOOD LOOKING & WASHING VERY WELL!
What's not so great: N/A
I was so hesitant in buying a GE model, especially after hearing nothing but bad things about this brand. But I spoke with an 'Appliance Specialist' at BestBuy and he really knew his stuff about washers and dryers! He recommended this machine and answered all of my questions. The 30-day money back guarantee also helped in the decision making and made me shop with confidence. Well, I just got my machine last night and have already washed 5 loads! I started with wash cloths and they came out clean and virtually dry! The only thing that I would say could be a minus is that the spin cycle sound is noticeable because it does it's job of spinning the heck out of your clothes! But even so, that minus is a plus in the long run as your clothes come out almost dry. In 'wash' mode you can barely hear the machine but you know it's working when your clothes come out nicely washed. I had a heavy load to wash and I read and followed the owner's manual. I must admit that I was a little skeptical about the amount of water and even checked the top clothes to make sure that they were wet...and sure enough, they were! The bottom of the machine works it's magic by turning the clothes. I noticed that because I put a bed skirt on the bottom of the wash and half way through the cycle I peeked inside and the bed skirt was on the top! I think this machine is doing a fine job! The spin cycle is powerful! The capacity is larger! (NOTE: place your clothes around the fabric softner dispenser/"agitator" as recommended by the owner's manual. Do not just throw in and pile a load. You should be done putting in your clothes and still be able to see the bottom-middle part of the washer. Also, do not overfill the tub! There are these holes on the sides the stainless steel tub. Use the top holes as your guide if you will be filling the machine to the max. Your clothes should not go over these holes.) Follow the instructions and your wash will come out nice and clean! ;o)
I love my new machine! And like I said...So Far, So GOOD!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

Excellent-read all the reviews & decide

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TJ31
from Princeton, NJ
on 08/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, doesn't use much water or electricity
What's not so great: it's not as quiet as I thought it might be, but not too loud either
I was influenced by TeamMom's review here (look for it)...and I think she's exactly right. This machine is well designed. People for some reason are expecting water to come pouring out to cover the clothes as happens in older machines. This machine senses how much water is needed. When you first see it you think, "hey that isn't enough water." Also, you can set an extra rinse cycle and you can override the automatic sensor if you want to have more water. However, there is no doubt that the machine uses less energy and water and it has cleaned my clothes very well. The capacity is great--it's the same size as my old washer but the basket is big enough to fit a lot more clothes. Another terrific feature is you can select an extra spin cycle at the end--I actually had a pair of Adidas gym shorts made of polyester that came out of the washer dry enough to wear. The drying time for a load was so short that I think I shrank one of my t-shirts, so the machine should save you energy running your dryer as well. I do agree that the machine is not as quiet as advertised. But, it isn't noisy either. I will be curious to see how much less water and electricity I use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

THE WORST

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ikkiv6
from ohio
on 07/30/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: EVERYTHING !!!!!!
Just had it delivered! was happy till i ran it , My clothes vere still wet the spin cycle was horrible. As for QUITE that was a Laugh, my dogs even ran. This is by FAR the biggest waste of money i've ever spent, not to mention my wet clothes did,nt even come clean. I now sit and count the hours till the store opens so they can return it to it,s JUNKYARD.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

The Absolute Worst

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Ultimax
from Hammond, La
on 07/21/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price and large Stainless Basket
What's not so great: It does not clean at all.
So we just got finished washing the first load. We read the manual, followed the instructions, and even bought bottles of HE detergent to use in it. We washed 1 fitted twin sheet, 1 twin sheet, and 1 twin comforter. As stated in other reviews...parts of the conforter were not even wet. The comforter had lint remaining in the crevaces and two stains where the dog had walked on it did not come out. The items were washed on the super water level, extra heavy cycle and in hot water. I have not been so angry in a long time. I should have listened to the negative reviews, but the positive reviews sounded soooo sure that it was a good machine. Do not buy this. Do not buy this. Do not buy this. And just in case you are thinking of buying this....don't!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for GE 4.1 Cu. Ft. 23-Cycle Colossal-Capacity High-Efficiency Washer - White

High Efficiency without the front-load price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gyrotech
from west Tenn.
on 07/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quiet & efficient; reasonable price
What's not so great: ??? (unknown at this time)
Bought GE WHRE5550K2WW after reading customer reviews at various sites & much research. A leading consumer products testing organization rates this washer as a 'Best Buy' (no connection, of course, with the store).
Agree with other customers here: read the short and simple manual and you won't be disappointed. Our clothes and towels and bed linens are getting completely clean with an HE detergent. A "Super" sized load washed for "Heavy" soil on the "Cottons" cycle takes exactly 60 minutes (lighter load & soil takes even less time). The spin cycle has shortened drying time in the Kenmore dryer we did not replace. When finished, laundry looks and smells fresh - no stains, no wrinkling - we're very pleased with results.
Our model does not have the 'autofill' feature. If you are having difficulties using this feature on your model, try setting the load size manually. This method (standard on our machine) works fine for us.
Paid $499 for this washer which is Energy Star rated and has more features than comparably priced models. Computer Reports also gives GE a slight edge on repairs over Maytag/Whitrlpool/Kenmore, too, which was an important consideration for us...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>