Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Model: G60-235DX
SKU: 9167947
UPC: 884420631262
With Wireless-G connectivity, this laptop makes connecting to your local network or area hotspots fast and easy. The multiformat double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive supports LightScribe labeling for creating your own personalized multimedia discs.Windows Vista Home Premium with SP1 preloaded Which Windows Vista edition is right for you? Compare.Learn more about LightScribe technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.728 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(246 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 246 reviews
5 stars
209
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
233 out of 246
)
Customer Reviews for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200
Review 1 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

I LOVE IT!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Andy55
from Berwick PA
on 06/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Its so cheap and im going to get it in September, its have a built in webcam n mic
What's not so great: i dont know yet
LOVE IT!! BUYING IT IN SEPTEMBER i love it so much u all should buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Great desktop replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: abpa
from south carolina
on 06/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great display, comfortable keyboard,HDMI
What's not so great: Comes loaded with bloatware
When I went shopping for a laptop, I was looking for a higher end laptop, because the display is really important to me, but this laptop caught my eye. This really does have a very nice display. Its larger then a traditional 15'' display and the colors really pop out. After using for a week, I did observe that the screen is prone to reflections, which isn't a huge problem for me, but could be distracting for some.
This laptop has HDMI, which is a nice touch as it is not common in laptops of this class yet.
Laptop is relative quiet in operation and the design is clean with no needless bling.
On the negative side, this laptop comes preloaded with a lot of bloatware but it's nothing that cannot be fixed with online tools like pcdecrapifer, etc.
Overall, a very solid buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Get one before they run out

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: themooch
from arizona
on 06/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: it has HDMI for $499.00 and an future upgrade of windows 7
What's not so great: nothing yet
it has HDMI for $499.00 and an future upgrade of windows 7 free.Best Buy
salespersons knowledgeable and polite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

So far a great buy.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Svenjamin
from Auburn, WA
on 06/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great price for such a powerfull machine.
What's not so great: The mouse pad is off to the left.
I wanted a fairly cheap, well rounded laptop. I think i found that in this laptop. It runs great so far, decent battery life, and is very easy to use. The only problem i've found is that the mouse pad thing is off to the left which would be great for people dominate in their left hands, but a bit of an annoyance to the right. This can easily be fixed with a real mouse so it shouldn't weigh down the cons of the machine.
Overall im very pleased with my purchase, and feel strongly that if you bought one you would be pleased as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Manufactue Defect

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bryan45
from Sacramento, CA
on 06/25/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The price was right for the features.
What's not so great: The laptop was flimsy and had manufactue defects
I just purchased the laptop and when I got home I found that there were several dents in and around the keyboard. This made the keyboard misaligned with the rest of the computer body. It also sould not sit level on a flat surface. I only had the computer for a less than a day and returned it to the store becasue of the physical defects. I also notice that the CD tray was also flimsy and I was unsure how it would hold up to years of service. I went with another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Best Bang for your Buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SouthernFashionista
from Memphis, TN
on 06/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The separate numeric keyboard, the large screen
What's not so great: no backlit keyboard
I had been researching computers and while this computer was in my top three, I was prepared to purchase a more expensive computer. That is, until this baby went on sale for $499.99. The price sealed the deal and I couldn't be happier with this product. I don't do alot of complex computer functions, but it handles everything I need it to do like a champ!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Excellent computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoeD1
from RI
on 06/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very fast and quiet. Runs very cool.
What's not so great: No problems yet
This computer runs very cool and is super quiet. I can't tell when the fan's running. It definately has the most bang for the buck. I had a Compaq Presario before this and also had great luck with it. I gave it to my daughter so I could upgrade. The Compaq was also an unbelievable deal. Bottom line, I'm happy with HP products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Great Laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AdminSpecial
from Salem, OR
on 06/23/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to use and set up
What's not so great: Battery life seems a little shorter than other laptops I have used
I really like how easy this laptop is to use and add new software to, however you have to be careful which spyware you install. Some will significantly slow the machine. The battery life seems a little shorter than the other lapstops I have used, but that is about my only complaint. I have been extremely happy with this computer. It doesn't seem to get bogged down with too many files. The operating is very fast as long as you use the right anti virus software. I had to remove one and install a new one because it took so long just to log onto the computer. I knew that it was the spyware since it was the last thing that I installed and it was an easy fix to remove it. I would highly reccomend this laptop to anyone for office or personal use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Worth Every Cent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RJM713
from Staten Island, NY
on 06/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Terrific bang for your buck. 16" HD screen is fantastic. Well constructed. Web cam & speakers are nice extras.
What's not so great: Black finish on cover leaves every fingerprint - not a big deal tho'.
HP has not disappointed with this product. I compared specs and read dozens of reviews - they led me to the G60-235DX Notebook and I am very pleased with it. Now priced at $ 499.99 by BEST BUY, it is well worth it. I also purchased a 17"-compatible carry case and it fits perfectly.
Battery life is two, two and a half hours, and recharge time is fairly quick. We ordered it online and it was waiting for us at the Customer Pick-up area less than ninety minutes later! Can't beat that for convenience.
Bottom line: you won't be disappointed with this laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

good laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ekjot
from CA
on 06/22/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fast and easy
What's not so great: the price
I like it but the price is too much. The laptop has fast startup and its easy which is good, but the price is too much.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

best laptop never lets you down its fast!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rach45
from long grove .il
on 06/22/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Its fast and you can check something in seconds you dont have to wait 5 minutes for it to load like other computer
What's not so great: the charger plug in is on the side which is fine i would just prefer it be in the back so the cord doesnt get bent
I highly recommend this product.it has a long battery life and you can check something in seconds.It is a low price and totally worth it if you dont think it looks worth it.BUt it totally is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Best Laptop EVER

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: petelectronicsystems
from The Woodlands, Texas
on 06/22/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, NOT heavy, Easy to use, Nice big screen, Numbers pad on right
What's not so great: Nothing as of yet
I bought this laptop because I run my own business and there are times when I need to leave the office and I didn't want to lose a sale, so I purchased this laptop. I love the 16" screen, because it is wide enough to see everything and I just love the size of the screen. I thought I would use the laptop when I wasn't using my desktop....well, I don't use the desktop anymore, because this laptop is so easy to use, and I can sit with my pets on the couch and open my computer and work. I bought an air card and now when I leave my house I take the laptop with me whenever I want too so as not to lose any sales. I just love it, and would definitely recommend this laptop to everyone I know. Thank you HP for a GREAT laptop and a GREAT price too!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Great computer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Robw1972
from Shamokin, Pa
on 06/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast work,. easy of use, great price
What's not so great: had problem with CD/DVD drive
After years of wanting a laptop, I finally got this model, and feel bad for the poor desktop sitting that doesn't get used anymore. This computer is lightweight and powerful. And so easy to use, despite all of the warnings about Vista that I have heard from co workers. Wireless internet is a breeze and flawless. Bought this for $529.99 but it soon went on sale, so will be heading soon for my price match on it. Only problem that I have had with it was that DVDs were not playing on it, and an hour call to tech support for HP fixed that with no problem. Anyone on the fence for this one, it is a must buy, anyway you slice it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Awesome Affordable Computer!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vdcg
from Riverside, Ca
on 06/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cheap price, awesome memory and very quiet!
What's not so great: Nothing so far!
Bought this laptop about 3 weeks as a replacement for a 3 year old Fujitsu noisy clunker computer that just died on me.
I picked up this laptop the for the great price and spacious memory. I am about to deploy with my unit and I needed something cheap for the road so I got this HP. It's very fast and it is SUPER QUIET......Wow, I was so used to noisy hardrives and fans that I thought were the norm but this little computer proved me wrong!
Highly recommended!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Great value for the price...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jhubbell
from Windsor, Maine
on 06/20/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good price, good performance, great display.
What's not so great: Sound card drivers need updating, Vista is a pain to configure properly
I needed a laptop but could not spend upwards of $1K, so I got this HP laptop. It's size and weight account for it's discounted price... The sound card driver produced bad-sounding audio, but a driver update fixed that. I have an old 802.11b network, and Vista performed very slowly on it. I had to disable Vista's auto-tuning network features and manually adjust the MTU to work with my DSL internet. Luckily, clear instructions for these things can be found through a Google search. So it took a day's work to get this in shape. Performance is very good, the only thing I have not used is the HDMI output. I use the VGA out to play video on my DLP display, and fortunately the video settings allow for a precise match to my TV's resolution, and the output looks great. Also disabled Vista's Aero user interface, as it takes up system resources and does not IMHO offer enhanced usability/productivity. My only gripe is the work it took to get Vista to work on my network as well as XP has. Great value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TracyV125
from Wilkes-Barre, PA
on 06/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, easy to use, great quality and I love the numeric key pad
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet!
I've been looking for an affordable (but great) laptop for awhile now. I kept coming back to this one. I went to see it in the store twice before I bought it. The keyboard is so easy to type on. I have difficulty typing on my son's Gateway one so I wanted to be sure I wouldn't have any trouble. This is a great looking laptop, great speed, storage, etc and it isn't loud when running. It's pretty quiet in fact.
The display is a great size and has a great picture.
Thanks to everyone who wrote reviews here because you greatly influenced my decision. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Krebsy
from York, PA
on 06/16/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Easy Set Up, Excellent Quallity, Built-In Number Pad, Performance, Price
What's not so great: Short Battery, Fingerprints on Top,
I have had this computer about aa month and I love it every bit. I can multitask like I never had before. The screen just dazzles me every time I look at something. I have alot of programs on it, and I don't even use half of the large hard drive for the price. The price is amazing for this computer. For those gamers out there, this compuer runs Sims 2 Deluxe perfectly with no glitches. However, the video card is not spectactular. This computer is a best buy (Hehe) for all ages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Do Not Buy this computer

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: laswampmomma
from Shreveport, La
on 06/15/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice screen, comfortable keyboard, easy set up, good price
What's not so great: Flimzy
This is my first laptop. I was so happy to get it. It is a beautiful machine. I actually had to exchange it twice because the first one went into hiberrnation and never came out. The second one, when I got it out of the box, the screen was cracked. I've had this computer going on three months with one month being in the shop for repairs. Only after about a month and a half, the fan started making noise, so I brought it in to Best Buy and they had to ship it off. When it came back, the hard drive was back so they had to change it. Then they had to order a recovery disk. Best Buy was great about it. I was angry to the point of calling Best Buy and they offered to exchange it for whatever I wanted. I picked it up a few days ago and it actually works better than when I first bought it. I decided not to exchange it and give it another try. Best Buy has told me If something goes wrong within 30 days, they will exchange it, no questions asked. So I have to say Best Buy has great customer service. I think it must have been a bad batch. Anyway, I do wish I had went with another computer, but I do love the way this one feels. So would I buy it again, well I bought it three times so far, so that should tell you something. I feel I just got a bad one, but appears to be in good working order now. I'll keep my fingers crossed. I hope to at least finish paying for it before something else goes wrong with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Great Laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kaitlyn08
from Middleton Wisconsin
on 06/15/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: nothing!
I bought this laptop a week ago and love it! I really like the 10 key pad instead of the numbers being on top of the letters like a regular laptop keypad. The keypad doesn't collect finger prints like other glossy keypads. I also the the Wide screen. This is thee best computer I have had. I used to have another laptop and this HP blows it away!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Laptop with Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Processor T4200

Very nice laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Killedinmotion
from Venice,FL
on 06/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Powerful for the price, Great size, Sleek look
What's not so great: Glossy screen, Short battery life, Hard to keep clean.
Loved the laptop from the beginning, have no problems with downloading or playing my MMO's or video games. Comes with tons of features and is perfect for school work. Never had a problem with the screen except that its a little too glossy so using it outside is almost impossible. The sleek glossy look of it makes it a bit hard to keep clean because you can see everything, but as long as you treat it good it will deliver in return.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>