Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Model: C1-C
SKU: 9173921
UPC: 853748001323
Enjoy digital TV with this digital TV antenna designed for indoor, outdoor or attic installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
64% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 25
)
Customer Reviews for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna
Review 1 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Poor Reception

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AlpineWhite
from Texas
on 08/29/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It is not on the Best Buy website so it's great to not be offered anymore.
What's not so great: Price for quality and reception.
Fox Abilene is less than 30 miles from the location where the antenna was being used. Walked the entire roof above the trees to find a signal and was unsuccessful. Long range doesn't seem to be a true statement. Purchased a GE indoor/outdoor antenna that did not advertise long range and found signal with much less effort.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Great UHF antenna, doesn't do VHF

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nebrius
from Silicon Valley
on 03/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great UHF reception
What's not so great: Doesn't do VHF at all
We bought this to replace an amped RCA antenna that broke on us. We now get about twice as many channels as we used to get in the UHF band and everything comes in stronger now, but we don't get three key VHF stations in the area. If you have VHF stations in your area, you must combine this with a separate VHF antenna (rabbit ears work fine).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Good basic antenna

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cliff95
from Milwaukee WI
on 03/05/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Small enough for indoor use.
What's not so great: Picture on the box is wrong. Parts do not fit together that well.
Have not used the antenna long enough to make a really good assessment of it, but channel reception went from 6 to 20 (old antenna was really bad) and assembly was not all that hard. It is being used indoors at a high spot in the room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

No Strong Signal in a Manhattan Apartment

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: NYC222
from New York, NY
on 03/04/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Didn't seem to improve reception compared to simple antenna
I connected this to my computer to use with a DVR program. The reception didn't improve with this antenna. I positioned it near a window, but it's hard to get any signal in a Manhattan apartment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

UHF Channels Only!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 1badgo4r
from minneapolis, mn
on 02/28/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good Antenna for UHF channels
What's not so great: Its not a VHF antenna.
Here in Minneapolis I can only get UHF channels like WCCO and KSTP. Which is good for prime time programming. But if I want to watch the Olympics. I'm out of luck. Don't get me wrong. It's a good antenna, for picking up UHF signals. I just wish the associate gave me some heads up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Worst Antenna I ever had

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: oldpro2
from Montama
on 02/28/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
I could have used a frying pan and got a better picture. Maybe for Montana It's the wrong thing to use, since we have a lot of those green things called trees.
As for "Long-Range Digital TV Antenna", I suppose it depends what the manufacturer means by long distance. It's all relative! For an ant a yard is probably considered long distance. My station broadcast was less than 20 miles away over water. I got just as good a picture indoors as without any antenna.
Might be good for swatting flies or wasps in the summertime. Other than that a waste of mother earth's materials.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

HD Antenna

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SonofDeseret
from VA
on 02/23/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
I returned this product. It did not meet or exceed my current antenna's reception.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Definite Best Buy.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: missb86
from Atlanta GA
on 02/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works!
What's not so great: assembly and moutning it outdoors. (might be user error ;)
I bought it to hook up to my TV tuner on my computer so I can watch TV and surf the internet at the same time, or Watch tv and play video games at the same time. The antenna that cam with my tuner wasn't getting good reception, and with this antenna, i have it mounted out side and a cable running inside to my computer or laptop (whichever i perfer at the moment). It's great! We have comcast, but we're not paying for HD channels (cuz we're cheap). Now I get to watch my local TV like the Super Bowl and the Olympics in HD for Free!!!!!!!!!! It's awesome. Sometimes i forget I am watching tv on my laptop (which is connected to a 32 inch Dynex TV as a monitor and a 19 inch Tatung LCD monitor). I got this Feb 15th. Had trouble assembling it (user error) But I haven't found a place to mount it outside. So It;s just sitting on the BBQ Grill. The reception is amazing though! can't wait to see what else i get when i finally get it mounted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Expected much better reception for the price

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Qor
from Phoenix, AZ
on 02/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice looking design
What's not so great: Very poor reception
After reading the reviews on here, I decided to pick up this antenna for a secondary TV. Once I got it home and hooked it up, I double-checked my connections because I wasn't getting a reception on any channels. (In this location my other antenna--a Terk indoor directional--is easily able to pick up over 20 channels perfectly) Moving the ClearStream around extensively, I was able to get an intermittent signal but not strong enough in any position to maintain a picture for more than a few seconds without getting choppy, and if anyone walks in front of it--or near it, the signal is lost. If you plan on using this indoors, don't expect it to pick up stations that are broadcasting only 15-20 miles away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

The best I tryed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jim416
from Arlington, Tx
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sturdy reliable
What's not so great: price
I had a $80.00 Radio Shack antenna that was supposed to be good for 30 mi. Even though it came with a booster the signal strength was weak or non existent. This antenna is on a six foot pole on my patio and I am able to pickup 55 station that are located 15.5 mi from my home. All of the signals range from 80 to 100 percent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

It wouldn't screw right

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sedita
from El Paso, TX
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
1.0 out of 5
1.0
I had to return it. We couldn't assemble it because it wouldn't screw right. Maybe just this one was defective.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

HD for free!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BD
from Hercules,CA
on 12/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's small and eay to install
What's not so great: Lots of useless channels
I have cable but wasn't ready to commit to the added charge for HD so I bought two indoor antennas and this one to see which one would work in my location. Took the other two back and kept this one because it provided the most stations with the best picture. Antennas are very site specific so you just have to try them in your environment. I mounted this one outside on my deck and was able to pick up about 30 channels.
The HD from the local stations is beautiful and it's free...just wish there was more of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

not good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: db1
on 11/11/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Antenna does not help with receptions of DTV signals whatsoever and the antenna is very expensive.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Hasn't worked well for me yet

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Kajeki
from Pasadena, CA
on 11/09/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Style
What's not so great: Only received 7/26 of my stations within 6miles.
Glad to see others finding success with this antenna.Unfortunately i have not had the same experience. I actually bought it because of the reviews here, but now I'm left baffled as to why I'm receiving hardly any stations. When checking with antennaweb.org and tvfool.com, it says that no less that 26+ stations were broadcasting within 6 miles from the SAME direction. Easily enough, I pointed the antenna in the right direction and even tried two different windows - then tried other directions in case i made a mistake. The most I got was about 9 stations. Half of these stations are the worthless 7.2, 7.3 and 8.2, 8.3 etc supplemental channels that rerun the weather, infomercials, and niche programs. So I am really dissatisfied. I have a Sony Bravia HDTV and i was excited to receive the tuner...but now I plan to return it. I am no slouch when it comes to hardware, software, or GUI's on tech or manual installations of antennaes/dishes. I've contacted customer service and will update and confirm my review later. YMMV on this one...I'm in Pasadena, CA by the way.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Works well in manhattan

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from New York, NY
on 09/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great picture
What's not so great: picture/sound can cut out momentarily
I live around 110th st in manhattan (about 4 and 6 miles away from all the local channel antennas). I live on the 3rd floor, the main windows of my apartment face west, I tried to set up the antenna right by my tv (signal would have to go through the building) and although the picture quality was quite good, the picture/sound would cut out for a second quite a bit, enough to make it really annoying. Then I installed it outside my window, facing south, the partial unobstructed line of site really helped. The picture/sound might cut out momentarily once every 5 minutes, but the picture quality is so good (I would say 1080i on the main channels), I really don't mind it. Maybe its an artifact of my imagination, but it seems like it might be affected by the amount of traffic outside, mornings I will notice it, at night its much much less. The price of the antenna covers what, one month of cable? definitely worth it.
Now all I could realistically hope for is better broadcast quality of NBC-US (loving all the cycling and other sports), and a subscription-free DVR and pretty much all my cable/satellite-free TV watching dreams have come true.
p.s. props to my dad who actually taught me a thing or two about technology (who would've thunk?) and introduced me to this antenna.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Works quite well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rumplestiltskin
from El Paso, TX
on 07/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Receives all the digital stations - even in bad weather
What's not so great: Doesn't look like it will make it to 20 years...
Followed the directions to assemble it, adjusted its position using the signal meter built into the Zenith Digital-to-Analog converter box, and now just watch the broadcast channels without a problem.
One of my local stations has a somewhat marginal signal but the only time I have a problem is when the weather is downright awful - thunderstorms, etc.
I've split the signal from the antenna so it also goes to my newer flat-screen TV with an ATSC tuner. Again, the reception is just fine.
While I obviously don't get all the channels I used to with DirecTV, I -am- saving about $60/month so this antenna paid for itself almost immediately...and if I want CNN, I'll watch the podcasts on my AppleTV.
It's not a big, beefy monster of an antenna so I wonder how well it will last. It survived the recent spate of thunderstorms and high winds; so far, so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Definitely better than traditional rabbit ears !

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: WhyPayForCableTv
from Waldorf, MD
on 07/13/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up. Good reception.
What's not so great: The price.
Just purchased this product yesterday, and it pulled in 15 channels (as compared to 4 channels using a single set of "rabbit ear" antennas), upon initial setup (DTV box inside entertainment armoire and antenna on top of armoire).
Then, I read that the closer the cable to the DTV converter box, the better. So I placed the converter box on top of the armoire, and then placed the antenna on top of that, and rescanned for channels .... it pulled in 28 channels ! Although many of the extra channels are international channels.
For those who live in this area (suburbs around the Washington DC metropolitan area), here are the channels I am able to view using this antenna so far: (nbc) 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, (fox) 5.1, (abc) 7.1, 7.2, 7.3, (cbs) 9.1, 9.2, (spanish channel) 14.1, 20.1, (public access) 22.1, 22.2, 22.3, (international stations) 30.1 through 30.10, (whut) 32.1, (ion tv) 66.1, 66.2, 66.3, and 66.4.
EXCEPTION: For channel 9.1 and 9.2 (cbs), I have to move the antenna to a different location on the armoire and attach the metal grid that is included. (I only watch one show a week on that channel ... I just lean the grid on the circular part of the antenna, and channel 9 appears !)
TIP: For those unwilling to pay the higher cost of this antenna, I have a tip that I tried in another room: I connected two cheaper rabbit ear antennas, to a basic 3-way cable signal splitter (there are ones that say digital splitters, that might work better), and then ran a single cable line to the DTV converter from the splitter. I thought maybe two antennas would result in better reception. And it worked ! I gained an additional 6 channels (10 total now: channels 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 5.1, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3, 14.1, 50.1 and 50.2). The only downside is the unsightly view of having one antenna in a window sill, and the other on top of the TV. But, hey ... it's free digital TV !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

excellent stable signal 23miles

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 98clru
from orlando
on 06/19/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good reception vhf11, Indoor/outdoor with or without reflector
What's not so great: awkward to attach cable
I didn't know it was convertible freestandiing indoor/ pole mountable outdoor when I bought it. This is an advantage for those who may not need the full pole mount outdoor antenna. If the indoor setup doesn't work for you if you are in the green reception areas according to antenna web or tvfool, this will pretty definitely work for you if mounted outside.
I'm 23 miles from the transmitter farm serving orlando. Florida is mostly flat but this part has some rolling hills. I happen to have a bit of a hill in the same direction as the transmitters. I also have a power company transformer farm about 15deg off of the direction of the antenna farm and some good sized trees and shopping center along the way.
Inside I didn't get much, but outside I mounted it on a pole that I could easily move around. Six feet off the ground, needing to go through part of the house to get a direct line to transmitter I consistently get a good stable signal on all major stations.
I have a pair of amplified rabbit ears and tried a flat small plastic antenna with amplifiier and this beat them both. With small amplified antennas if the signal drops the amp doesn't help so both would drop and pixelate on all but the strongest signals.
The nbc affiliate in orlando is using vhf 11 and this is the only antenna to consistantly get a usuable signal (no pixelation) on channel 11.
The Ion affliate on channel 56 is about 40 degrees south and 15miles further than all the other channels in this market. None of the antenna I've tried will get this station except late at night. This despite antennaweb, tvfool and the fcc all saying I should be able to get it, Ion = green. I probably could if I aimed for it, but don't want to lose all the other stations for that single one.
I'm hoping I'll do even better when I get to installing on the roof, but except for not getting Ion I'm thrilled with what I get in HD now.
I'm using about 65 feet of rg6 cable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

Works fine in Friendswood

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dlj189
from Friendswood, Texas 77546
on 06/12/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy setup, versatile design-indoor tabletop, wall, window, outdoor too
What's not so great: price is a little higher than I would like
I have ATT Uverse so I did not need this so badly, but I bought one of these antennas and a converter box (Apex) BestBuy was selling ( it was free with the government coupon I had) anyway because I wanted to see if it would work in my area just in case I ever needed it or I needed to help other people. I was surprised that it tuned many channels with very little fiddling. I had it inside on the first floor on top of the TV and got 60% signal and many channels but could not tune not PBS. I was not surprised since I had read where PBS was holding off on boosting its signal until after June 12. Upstairs it tuned more channels including PBS ( signal strength 70%), and even more channels (ION-ch 49) after I put it in the windowsill upstairs(signal 80%). I am going to put on the balcony outside the window next and see if it does even better. If it works even better there then I will install it outside and hook the old cable TV wire system to it and feed the entire house.
The tower for most Houston, Texas TV channels are in Missouri City, TX which antennaweb says I am less than 20 miles from. If you get this antenna and you do not tune most of the channel channels right away indoors then try it outdoors before you spend more money on a bigger antenna. In fact, if I needed to do so, I would likely buy an amp to add on to it to boost reception and keep this smaller antenna because the design is so versatile and of a size that is easily portable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Antennas Direct ClearStream 1 Convertible Indoor/Outdoor Long-Range Digital TV Antenna

GREAT Antennae

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IndyLinda
from Indianapolis, IN
on 06/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Unbelievably easy setup, takes up very little space
What's not so great: Nothing so far
After the switch to digital this morning, my $9.99 RCA antennae couldn't get a strong enough signal. So, I bought this one based on other's reviews and am glad I did! My TV is in my office at work (lucky me) and I have the antennae on my desk. It gets great reception and looks good, too! The "grid" that comes with it is for outdoor use so the antennae really takes up very little space and is so much less obvious than rabbit ears! Love it so far!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>