Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Model: LX6810-01
SKU: 9174564
UPC: 884483431953
This computer features a built-in TV tuner so you can watch and record live TV. The HDMI port makes it easy to connect to an HDTV, while the built-in double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive with Labelflash technology lets you create your own personalized multimedia discs.Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with SP1 preloaded Which Windows Vista edition is right for you? Compare. Free Windows 7 upgrade.Learn more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.613 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 119 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
28
66% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
79 out of 119
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor
Review 21 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Random shutdowns turn Super PC into possible lemon

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Rod111
from Gresham, OR
on 08/31/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Great 8 GB speed, 64-Bit Vista runs well, great for e-mail but not video...
What's not so great: Shuts off often when watching streaming video after running fine for 4 months...
I loved this computer at first. Huge RAM, huge hard drive and great speed. However, I'm writing this review to discourage people from buying this machine. It has just started shutting down after nearly 4 months of flawless efficiency. You see, I like watching YouTube and watch live streams on MLB.TV. Apparently (if you read numberous other reviews within this site) there are not enough CPU fans (or air circulation) within this tight tower from Gateway. Many purchasers, in fact, feel this machine is turning into a "surf web, check e-mail-only" machine because playing games with any graphic detail and watching ballgames sends this machine's CPU temperature into the stratisphere, thereby causing the sensor to shut the computer down instantly and without warning. I'm going to attempt to install an additional case fan (apparently easy and less then $20) and will hope that this causes the machine to cool down. I will also attempt to clean dust from the fans and see if that does anything. I've never purchased a Gateway before and am hoping that I have not bought a lemon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Randomly shuts down

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SuzieQ1985
from Columbia, MO
on 08/14/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It is fast and was working great
What's not so great: Random shut downs started to occur after a month or so.
This would have been a great system! Its was definitely an upgrade from my old Dell Dimension. I put every spare dollar I had into purchasing the system and now...a month later.... it randomly shuts down. Is it getting too hot? The fan is working. Now.....I have no idea what to do. Can't surf the email or play a game without a shut down every 10 to 20 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Biggest waste of time and money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MrFranco
from Fresno, Calif
on 08/13/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Shuts down like the rest
Worst computer out there. Have owned it for 8 months and have had it in for repairs 4 times and each time it takes close to a month. They've replaced the motherboard, memory, fan, and even added an extra fan. I'll never buy gateway again. TOTAL JUNK!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Does What I Want

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cliff123
from CT USA
on 08/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast and quite
What's not so great: Doesn't see added 1TB HD I put in
I wanted a computer that I could add storage to plus powerful enough to burn Blu-ray movie backups so first thing I did was remove the DVD RW rom and replace with a Blu-Ray Rom and I added A Blu-Ray burner. Machine copied quickly and quietly and I was very pleased with the results. The computer has a heatsink and 5 inch fan cooling the processor, so I don't know what the complaints were by others, plus I have had no problem with the computer shutting down. One thing I did do due to the poor reviews by others was buy the extended warranty. One more thing, the computer was cheaper in the BB store than online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

this things keeps shutting off for no reason

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Vince1977
from Tulsa, Ok
on 08/04/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: What great when it is not shutting off on its own for no reason.
What's not so great: Keeps shutting off on its own
I bought this on June 17 2009.It worked fast. But then about a month later for some reason it shuts off on its owns. If you do not want a head ache do not buy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Most worthless computer ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DB95
from FL
on 07/25/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
What's not so great: not enough fans, motherboard sucks
We bought our computer this past march, and not even 6 months into it ,it has to get sent out for a new fan and a whole new motherboard. Now, we just got it back it is doing the same exact thing. If you want a computer that you have to know where every screw and bolt works this is for you. It is not nearly as reliable as my old HP was which lasted for about nine years for me, AFTER my father had been using it for years. All in all the company, the computer, its all just a big headache. Its a huge hassle, I have to take online classes and with the computer constantly shutting down it has become a major predicament, it isnt good if you go to school, go to work, or whatever. This is THE WORST COMPUTER of all, and the people so far have said that we are not able to replace it. Gateway, has had a terrible past, and the present ain't too great either. Save yourself the money, and just buy yourself a good, reliable HP. Thank you :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Gateway TV Desktop Review

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Alex001
on 07/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast performance, does what you want it to do. What else is there?
What's not so great: Nothing to report
I have had the computer for over 1 month and connected on line via Comcast Cable. Out of the box everything worked great and continues to do so. When I step away for a while it goes into hibernation. Recovery from hibernation is fast and back to where I left off. My wife loves its speed and lack of problems which, of course, makes my life easy. Great Computer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Don't buy this machine

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Markg1
from Greensboro, NC
on 07/05/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I hate to slam any company or product but this machine was nothing but a headache. Within the first 9 days I brought it in for a problem. Bestbuy replaced it. The second machine had to be sent out for service after about 60-90 days of frustration. After about another 30 days at the service center (sent to Kentucky) first replacing the motherboard and then it still not working Bestbuy gave me a credit. Bestbuy/Geek Squad was very accommodating. Unfortunately this machine after two attemtps was terrible. Replaced it with a HP.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Great computer except....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Randbo33
from Mesa, AZ
on 07/04/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good balance of componants
What's not so great: Virtually no in-case air circulation
I bought this in February and like many others have stated, it NEEDS better air circulation inside. I happened to have a spare 120mm case fan as well as a 500 watt power supply (which replaced the 400 watt it came with).
I also replaced the video card with a ATI 4850, which in turn was upgraded with a much better cooling heatsink and fan combo.
I also installed a Creative Xfi sound card but needed to remove it since it was blocking too much airflow next to the video card. Just removing the soundcard reduced the video cards temps by nearly 10c.
Cons? Well, the complete lack of in-case air circulation is a huge one, but Gateways tech support is a big one as well. Honestly the nice people from India you will talk to will have no clue what your talking about and plod through their script of 3-4 things to try before suggesting you pay for support. Also, I do NOT like the close BIOS that gateway puts in their machines. I would love to have more access to motherboard and especially CPU features (aka, overclocking).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Bad

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Fred24
from Ottawa Illinois
on 06/29/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Lots of features
What's not so great: Keeps shutting down
We purchased this computer with the hopes of replacing our older Compaq. It worked great for about 4 months, After that it started overheating and shutting down. Called Gateway, total waste of time, no help. Paid 45 dollars to ship back to Gateway for repairs. Came back one week later with "unable to duplicate problem". Fine hooked back up. Still overheating and shutting down. I now have to run a fan into the computer and call Gateway again. Beware, I hope that this doesnt happen to you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Love it!!! Everything I Need And More. Very Stable

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Illwill
from S OKC
on 06/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Made to Upgrade, Vista is very stable, and offers a great user experience
What's not so great: The pop up usb access on top limits you from putting device on top of the computer.
I love it. I am considered a Power User. And i have had top of the line computers before. I would say that this falls into the Top of the Line category. Great bang for your buck!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Would never get Gateway again even if it was FREE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SIBfl
from miami
on 06/23/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing, really nothing. Ohh, if you like to see blue screen then it's great
What's not so great: Most everything, poor service, disipointing speed ....
I you like blue or frozen screen, constant shutdowns and restart then this is a comp for you.
Tech-support solution to any problem is to reinstall!! Needless to say, problems are not solved.
I thought the space for additional HDs was a good idea, till I bought this comp and discovered that not many brands of HDs
are compatible and connection is as slow as external USB hard drive. Drives will not connect if you use provided mounting.
Must plug it in without the slide mountings and prop it up with something.
In my 15 years of using comps, this one has given me the most problems.
Would never get Gateway again even if it was FREE, as the time wasted on the phone with tech, loss of data, loss of money on parts would not be worth it even if the comp was FREE.
BTW original hard drive crashed after 2 month, was told by the tech that the only way they would send replacement,
if I give them $400.00 to hold till I send the faulty one back and I would have to wait 7 to 10 days to get the replacement.
That's a 750GB drive, I bought 1TB for a $100, how do they figure that 750GB requires $400.00 deposit?
So now I have to mail the faulty drive to them at my own expenses, never happened to me before with other brands.
Can't believe Best Buy even sells them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Re-Review

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Roberto171
from Cleveland
on 06/22/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great CPU and GPU
What's not so great: Bad Design
So I basically wrote a review earlier, just below this one. It entails, probably why most people are having trouble with their computers shutting down.
Basically, Gateway did not place any case fans inside and thus this unit has basically almost no air circulation going through it.
I recommended that 2 fans be installed, one in the front to suck in cold air and one in the back to blow out hot air. When I tried to do this my self, I ran into a few problems. It seems there are not any available pins to connect the fans to. So what this means is basically, you will have to buy a new power supply in order to do it. This will cost more than the 20 dollars for the 2 fans.
So if you were astonished how such a great and powerful computer was sold for so little, well its because this computer has virtually no cooling system. Put the two together and you get a giant heat machine, with no way to get the heat out.
Basically, what your looking at here, is if your planning to use the computer for anymore more than just surfing the web, and you don't live in a dungeon where the ambient temperature is always freezing, you WILL have to install 2 fans at the minimum. You might have to quite possibly replace the existing CPU fan as well, and possibly install a fan dedicated to the GPU. But at minimum install 2 fans for circulation, which would mean you would also have to replace the power supply for a better one.
All in all, its a great computer, its powerful. I looked inside, theres room for possible upgrades, it does look well put together. Problem, cooling system = virtually non-existant. To place a few fans in you will probably have to replace the power supply.
So if you though the price on this computer is too good to be true, it is. Cause your gonna have to pump some bucks into this thing, or else it will over heat and shut down on you.
One thing that might work for some people, on the side pannel there is a grid, with some pores. This is right next to the CPU and its fan and heat sink, basically mean to throw that hot air out. You can put an industrial fan right next to it, turn it on max and blow some cold air in. This seems to be dropping my temperatures reasonably. MONITOR YOUR TEMPERATURES for this computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Bang for the buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Robert11711
from Cleveland, Ohio
on 06/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good CPU
What's not so great: NO CASE FANS!?
Gonna solve this mystery for people where the computer keeps shutting down randomly...
Is it really hot in your room for some odd reason? What I'm getting at is YOUR COMPUTER IS OVERHEATING! Thats right, reason most of you have this thing shutting down on you is because it is overheating, and this computer has a fail safe built into the BIOS to shut it down once the core or GPU temperature gets to hot.
Why is it overheating? Because for some strange and honestly stupid reason on Gateway's behalf, they did NOT INSTALL ANY CASE FANS! They have a PSU fan, a mother board fan, and CPU fan per standard. But no case fan. Case fans are meant to circulate air through your computer, typically drawing in cold air through the front and forcing out hot air through the back.
Good news, case fans are cheap 10-20$ each. They are easy to install. Don't know anything about computers you say? Look up how to install case fan, its ridiculously easy. This case has 2 unused case mounts for fans where you can put some fans, which should improve your temperature inside.
Other options to cool down your computer, use a computer cooling jell. Basically a paste that helps dissipate heat from say your CPU and what else.
Make sure your computer is in an open area, don't pack it into a nice small corner, it need "Room to breath".
Have you used it for a while? Clean out the dust. Dust can increase the temperature inside your computer alot.
Download a program called SpeedFan. It does many things, if you don't know what they are, DONT TOUCH THEM, but whats important is it monitors the temp of your GPU, and all 4 CPU cores. Look it up your self, I did. But for the parts in this computer, make sure your CPU core temp does not go about 65, and for the GPU 80ish. They are supposed to handle more and those are not the points where the computer will shut down, but doing so will ensure longer life for your computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

steer clear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: zentronic
from washington
on 06/20/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: good for the money unless it quits on you
What's not so great: shuting off by its self
this started shuting off randomly and from the reviews its not just me should be recalled! gateway has no costomer service !!! none they will fail because of this. if you read this dont buy regaurdless of the other reviews.or buy the plan @ best buy.i wish i had went hp or dell again will never do a gateway again! wouldnt recomend to an enemy. lol!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Shut off problem easily fixed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rockchik
from White Lake
on 06/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: features
What's not so great: havent found out yet
First off: if your computer goes to sleep every 10minutes or so when you are not using it, you must change your POWER SAVING SETTINGS. The factory default is 10minutes. Very EZ to fix. Pg 73/74 in your User Guide. I suggest reading this AND the Hardware Reference too before boxing it up!!!
Review:
this is my 3rd Gateway. Probably my last cuz the company is falling apart but I'm hoping this one lasts as long as my others. I got this one to replace an oudated Destination (TV/PC) that still runs Win98 and was used everyday (lefton 24/7 for most of the time too) since 1998. I just needed to upgrade so I can get cable internet and we won't talk about DTV here...
I was able to plug my old Destination 27" monitor into this one and get going immediately. Nice feature is 2 monitor hookups - need to buy a DVI cable to use the 2nd but can come in handy if you want to work on computer and watch/record DVR simultaneously! Tres cool. Still havent tried out everything yet and yes, VISTA is a backwards learning curve to be sure but the machine definitely is loaded. Having fun trying everything out. Only gripe so far is cheep infared system using 'dongles' rather than a normal receiver and a remote that has no documentation that relates to it specifically. I suppose my complaint is with the 'MEDIA CENTER' supporting documentation. As a slight comparison? My Destination cost around $3500 back in 1998 so for the price, this replacement vs rebuilding was a no-contest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

HOT PRODUCT (LITERALLY)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 412PCHOMichigan
from Metro Detroit, Michigan
on 06/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: A lot of features at a great price
What's not so great: NO CASE FANS!?!?!?!?!?!
This is an all around great machine, it has more features than any of its competition for the money and has the capability to run any current game or to get into high demand editing. The only problem that i have encountered with this machine is that it starts to power itself off when you run it for long periods of time or put a heavy load on it. After wasting my time with gateway's worthless tech support, i then spent three days running all of the hardware and software diagnostics that I could. This revealed to me that the hard drive and graphics cards were overheating. With this in mind, a quick glance in the case revealed that there are no case fans. There is a cpu cooler fan on the processor that vents straight out of the side of the computer and a small fan on the graphics card heatsink. There are no other fans forcing air through the system, so when it is on for a long time or it has to start working harder, the temp inside the case skyrockets and it crashes to save itself from damage. Leaving the side off of the case solves this problem, but odds are that you will want to get a couple of case fans to put in it. There are already two mounting brackets built into the case, you may just have to use them...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Awesome Computer at this Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OmegaVette
from Palm Bay, FL
on 06/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The whole package is virtually perfect
What's not so great: The only thing I can put here is, wish it had better placed front USB ports
First off, for this price, you'd be hard pressed to find a better machine without building it yourself. Windows VIsta is awesome on this system, for all those people that are writing such negative things about this system, or the OS on this system, it is my belief that 1.) You have had extremely bad luck and in that respect I feel sorry for you, return it for another of the same model. Or 2.) You don't know how to use computers very well at all, which, from atleast some of the complaints and poorly worded ones at that, this would probably be my first guess. My real only use for this system is playing World of Warcraft and some other RPG/FPS type games, ie. The Witcher, Overlord, HL2, etc. I can play all these with near max settings, without one hint of low frames or choppiness. Again, my main use is WoW and this was a replacement for my 5 year old Alienware ALX system, and in every respect this computer completely blows away my old system for gameplay of every title I have. I have had absolutely no problems with installation of WoW or anything else with Vista, patching of WoW is no problem, just when you install WOTLK, and it prompts you to move the game files to the user/public/games folder instead of having it in Program Files X86, then you will have no issues whatsoever with patching or adding mods, everything is business as usual once you move WoW to the public/games folder as it recommends you do. It even does it automatically for you so you don't even have to think about it. Direct X 10 is awesome, i notice a huge difference in the game lighting and effects even in WoW over my old system. And I get mid 30s in Dalaran at peak hours with sliders at max, so I am very happy to say the least with this system. If you have an old system that isn't cutting the mustard for you but don't have a huge budget to spend, this system is awesome, especially for all the extras you get with it which I will most likely never use. Buy this system and you will be happy, and don't be afraid of Vista, on a system that has the resources for it, such as this one, Vista is your friend! That is all I can say.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Great computer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tensixteen64
from Maryland
on 06/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything was there, ready to go.
What's not so great: Took a while to get used to Vista.
I've owned this computer and used it as my primary computer since the end of April, 2009.
I really love how much speed it has, I think that the memory is good as well. I have had Lightroom 2, Photoshop CS3, Paint Shop Pro x2 open as well as Outlook 2007, Word 2007 and browsers. No problem, no lag. This is a great photographer's computer. I have tons of photos I need to work on at one time and this machine can handle it.
TV works perfectly.
I hooked up a 1TB external h/d and it works well with this machine.
After getting used to Vista, it's not too bad. I like the Media Manager and my Blackberry seems to get along with Vista just fine.
Things I don't really like:
Cheap DVD burner in my opinion. I need to install a better one, or two since there's an open bay.
Cheap speakers, I kept my nice ones. Cheap keyboard and mouse, keeping them for use on another machine.
"Smart Copy" panel. I called today to get a replacement panel. I cannot use it unless I reboot the computer. Of course Gateway wanted me to ship my entire computer to them in TX, 7-10 days for them to replace it. I finally convinced them to send me one and I will replace it myself. It's a simple module replacement. None of the cards could be read and the USB's were shaky with working if I hadn't rebooted. Gateway's service people actually told me that I was using incompatible cards, which isn't true as it works on my external card reader through the USB port.
RAID was finally disabled on start up by Win Patrol, which is a great program. I liked it so much I bought the plus version and I never do that.
All in all I really love the computer. It's reliable and does what I need it to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Gateway TV Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor

Very Disappointed.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Karm
from New York, NY
on 06/13/2009
What's great about it: Speed.
What's not so great: Turns off/Shuts down by itself.
After only a month and 1/2, it has finally died. Yesterday alone it turned off by itself about 6 times. As I was trying to type this review this morning, it turned off again. So now I'm force to take it to Geek Squad and have it sent out to service.
I would like to also mention from reading everyone's reviews, looks like I'm the 4th person this happened to. The others are gregspappy, tracinsteve, and Reni49. Read their reviews and decide wisely, all 4 of our stories are similar unfortunately.
On the bright side, the PC is extremely fast when it's not powered off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>