Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Model: BFGR550WGXPSU
SKU: 9175714
UPC: 876758002876
This 550-watt power supply features a thermostatically controlled 140mm cooling fan for improved heat dissipation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply
Review 1 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cbruffey021
from Ashburn, VA
on 05/25/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, plenty of power
What's not so great: the price per watt is a bit steep but managable
took out my old cpupsu that was 300W and replaced it without looking at the manual once. plenty of power for my setup. quiet fan even in high demand games. I would recomend it anytime.
CPU setup
quad core 1.8ghz
8 gigs ram
9600gt video card
2 600gig hard drives
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Great power supply upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Teddog
from Louisville
on 02/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very quiet, very easy, cean install. Has all the cables you could possibly need.
What's not so great: instructions.
I bought this to replace my OEM 300w PSU so that I could upgrade to a modern video card with the external power connectors. Install ws a breeze, though I did have to go to the BFG website to clarify some of the connectors. Instructions that came with it are almost useless and could use a lot of improvement. The power supply is a real beauty (ashamed it's stuck in a case) and extremely quiet. It is a bit longer than my original (but it is more powerfull) it still fit fine, but it made plugging in on the 12 v rails a bit tricky. Modular design makes for a very clean instal and has every conivable connector you could want included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

I am pleased with the BFG 550 Watt supply

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Markdinsf
from San Francisco
on 02/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Cool looking and somewhat quiet
What's not so great: Could be a bit quieter.
When replacing any power supply, be sure to take digital pictures of all your connections and label each of the wires from your old power supply. Getting it in a HP pavillion box was a bit tight, but it did work. BFG supplies enough cables. There help line is also very helpful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Great power supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lesserwhirls
from Norman, OK
on 02/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Modular plugs are very nice
What's not so great: Nothing so far!
Seems to be a very good, stable power supply. Easy to install, especially with the modular cables.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

super quiet power supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from NH
on 02/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quiet, easy to install
What's not so great: nothing
My first power supply swap. Was super easy, great quality. You barely hear it running.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

AWSOME POWERSUPLY!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dodgerfan123
from Reseda,CA
on 01/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up,good amount of power,has enough wires for most things
What's not so great: could use 1 more 6pin pci epress cable
i bout this PSU to build my gaming rig it has been a very good and dependent power supply it is not very noisy and has enough power to power things in a gaming rig it could use 1 more 6 pin pci-e connector but still overall a great PSU i cant w8 till i get a new video card for my rig it is gonna run awesome!!! great job BFG
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Great Power Supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kpack
from Statesville,NC
on 12/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install Straight Forward, Cabling is Super!
What's not so great: Manual is very POOR!
My Daughter's 5 year old HP Pavilion A749C Computer's power supply failed, after being un-plugged for the week of Christmas.
It being an older Computer, I was concerned about the compatibility, with the new Power Supplies. We studied the Specs, and, features, and, reviews, and, decided on the BFG 550 Watt unit, which was in-stock and on SALE, at the Local Best Buy Store.
We marked our connectors as we took them out, this power supply's cables are super! You just look closely at the connectors on the old supply, and, configure the new cables as needed!
It took us about 45 minutes to install the new supply.
The power supply's fan is super, and, very, very quite, but, it moves the air very fast.
The cables are modular, in that you may, or, may not need to put them together to make the size you need.
You need to look at the ends of the ones you take loose, and, keep them nearby, as you install the new supply, no big problems.
Saved a lot of money not having to buy a new computer at this time!
Thanks BFG, for a slick power supply, But, you need to really work on your manual, its very POOR!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Good power supply for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: theanimal160
from St. Louis, Missouri
on 12/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, nice clean finish, powers most everything you'll need
What's not so great: None
Very great Power Supply for the price, got it on sale for $69.99. The finish is nice, modular so it's a snap to setup, not too loud. Should run most mid to high end graphics cards easily.
Tip: Attach all the wires you're going to need before putting it in the case, otherwise you'll have to take the entire thing out to add something.
I did find it a bit hard to setup, but then again it was my first time and I made a good number of rookie mistakes. Once you got it all in, you're good to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Great deal and plenty of power

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 123morse
from arroyo grande, ca
on 12/06/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Only use the connection cables you need
What's not so great: So far nothing
Purchased to run a big video card Asus 4890 with 4 power supply connections to it.
NO problem at all running on an Athlon 64 x2 4600+
Very quiet and cool and can watch the wattage off the APC UPS.
Draw at the most if not overclocking 300-350watts and the no problems at all.
A real bargain in my book!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Terol
from Elk Grove,Ca.
on 11/21/2009
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: nothing
Replaced a 375w ailing PSU in a Dell XPS400. Very easy install and I liked the fact that you only plug in the cables you need. Makes for a neater setup.
Even with the large cooling fan, it is very quiet. If a 550w fits your needs....Buy this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

best psu ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: teckmaster
from washington
on 10/10/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very easy to set up
What's not so great: nothing at all
very quiet modular is the best the fan keeps it very cool awsome power supply
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Above Average Power Supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jwajwajwa
from Ossining, New York
on 09/14/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plenty of cables for any type of setup; sleeved cables; runs very quiet and very cool
This power supply has plenty of power at 550W and many of us appreciate components that run cool and quiet. This PS won't disappoint you in that regard. This is my first BFG power supply and I am certainly impressed. I would buy from them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

reliable power supply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Phil316
from Syracuse, NY
on 09/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fan runs quiet
What's not so great: the cables
i just bought this to replace a 450 watt psu. it runs great and the fan is quiet. i have a mid size tower and dont have enough room for the cables. i would reccomend this psu.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

One Cool Powersupply

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BryantH
from Topeka, KS
on 05/15/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Modular, High Wattage
What's not so great: Needs Longer SATA Cables
After researching a number of powersupplies online, I came to the conclusion that BFG had one of the best available at this time. This particular powersupply rated consistently high on various review sites. Also noteworthy is the fact that the BFG 550 watt is 85% efficient on power conversion. The 120mm fan on the bottom of the powersupply is also a nice improvement over the 80mm in my previous PS.
Since installing this unit, my computer has begun running quieter and cooler than ever before. My SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4670 video card with passive cooling, never breaks 40C, even while playing WoW with graphics set to max.
Overall this is an excellent powersupply and I would not hesitate suggesting it to anyone. BFG has definitely knocked one out of the park on this one!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Good power supply

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EliteCore1
on 04/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, wires sleeved, all the connections I needed
What's not so great: Hiding the cords and closing the Panel had been bothersome
I was looking for a power supply that I could use in my old Dell E521 until I could build a new comp and this fit the bill nicely. It fit well and with little problems and had the connections I needed. It's very quiet after bootup and haven't had a problem with it since.
The only issue I really have with it it really isn't made for a mid tower and hiding the cords was an issue. Even closing the side panel had been a pain, but I dealt with it.
It does everything I need it for and had the connectors I wanted. Good price for money, just remember the cords are thick and prebuilt systems that are mid towers would be a tight fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BFG 550-Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

looks great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 91CHEVY
from MICHIGAN
on 02/04/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: wires all sleaved, plug in only what you need
What's not so great: the price
I just got the MPS today and was surprised on how much better it looked then on the web site. I liked that the wires clip into the MPS and there was four molex ends to power all my fans.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.