Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Model: ICD-PX720
SKU: 9218312
UPC: 027242739147
This digital recorder features up to 260 hours of recording time, 4 recording modes and voice-activated recording, so you won't miss a word of that important meeting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
79% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
15 out of 19
)
Customer Reviews for Sony Digital Voice Recorder
Review 1 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Very good for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Brazil
on 05/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and small
What's not so great: Delivered software did not work
Before buy this product I read some reviews complaining about it didn't work with PC but I decided to take the risk expecting that Sony would release a proper software.
No surprises, indeed the delivered software did not recognize the recorder (I have Windows 7 - 64bit), as other complained. But after go to Sony website and get the latest version of Digital Voice Editor (3.3) it recognize the recorder and I could finally download all recordings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TonyP727
from Santa Monica, CA
on 04/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small size, ease to set up
What's not so great: Rewind feature isn't incremental. Rewinds to beginning of recording.
I bought this for school and it's a great digital recorder. Sound quality is great and its easy to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Nice Basic Voice Recorder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigfatdad
from Bloomfield, CT
on 03/28/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and download to PC directly in MP3 format
What's not so great: a bit cautious about the Sony terms and conditions about allowing access; might just be standard procedure
This recorder was very easy to use as a stand alone device. Digital Voice Editor Software provided (ver 3.2.01) loaded easily and ran perfectly on MS XP Home Ver 5.1 SP3. Device operated easily on the PC with simple drag and drop menus to store and edit audio files. No file conversion was required as files were chosen in the set up process to transfer directly without conversion and transferred as MP3 files.
Reliability: unknown, only had the device for a few days.
Terms and conditions of the software had something about allowing SONY access to PC but does not seem to be an issue.
Small but tolerable amount of hum in the background when played back on PC but overall sound quality was excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Pretty good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Macha
from New Jersey
on 03/01/2010
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: The play back quality could be better.
This was an upgrade from me, I love how easy it is to use and the length of time you can record. The only thing I don't like is the quality of the playback. Still for the money its a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Excellent in the Classroom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jon52
from Jacksonville, FL
on 02/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to Set Up and Sound Recorded is Very Clear
What's not so great: Short Battery Life
This item was purchased to use in a classroom to record lectures. It was very easy to set up, the MP3 capability has come in real handy to listen to these lectures anyplace and at any time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Sony Manual False Information

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: keiloandhooch
from columbus,ohio
on 02/17/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Records pretty good
What's not so great: Download information to your computer
After filling up all of the recording time for my college class, I went to download the software in order to store the files on my computer. I was not able to and conacted Sony's Technical Support. Come to find out, this recorder is not supported by Windows XP even though the manaul states that it is. Very disappointing since now I have to buy a new recorder that is supported by my operating system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Good recorder -- horrible PC software

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: linutic
from Minneapolis
on 02/06/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Records great, lots of space, adequate battery life
What's not so great: Weird recording format -- Horrible software
Using this recorder w/o a PC is great. Sound is good, never, ever run out of space, date and time stamps, about 8 hours battery life.
The computer interface is where it falls down. On Windows XP, it works as advertised. It's native mode is a low bit rate Sony proprietary voice compression mode. When you copy it to your PC, you can leave it in that format and play it with the Sony software, and it is usable. If you convert it to a WAV file, it is okay also. If you convert it to MP3 it sounds terrible.
And those are the good points. On Windows Vista or Windows 7 in 64 bit mode, the player works, but there is no driver to transfer the data from the recorder to the PC. The website says there is, but there isn't, and if you call tech support they will send you to an obscure web page that explicitly denies the recorder will work with Vista-64 or Win7-64.
Yesterday, 2010-02-04, a new driver was posted. I tried that puppy and it is a new low. Now the software crashes on startup.
I can't stand it anymore. I just bought another brand; my Sony is now hazardous waste. I recommend you avoid this model if you have any aspirations to connect it to a PC. It is a throbbing headache to use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Not So Good

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: kissmate
from Montana
on 02/04/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Won't work with PC with XP and newer
This was a poor choice, the software is notcompatible with a PC that is XP or newer, and there is no way to alter or adjust sound settings, so I returned the item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Great Product, Great Price, Great Performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TonyT1950
from Austin, TX
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to Use
This is a great product. It is easy to use, light in weight, and has good performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Doesn't Work - Windows 7

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: LawStudent33
from Louisiana
on 01/04/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: not compatible
According to Sony's website this device is compatible with Windows 7. After 2.5 hours with Sony's Tech Support, they still can't get the software to run. I am taking it back and buying a different brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

good recorder

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: julster
from Hoosick Falls, NY
on 12/12/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: records beautifully
What's not so great: if you have windows 7, there is no driver for this recorder.
Great recorder, but if you have Windows 7, there is no driver thus no communication from the recorder to the your computer. You have to go to Sony's website from Asia and get the latest download (it took 45 minutes). I almost took this back because I had Windows Vista and it worked fine on my computer, then I upgraded my computer to Windows 7 and the recorder did not have a driver for Windows 7. Otherwise, it is a great recorder!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Best reorder Ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gamer3456
from Las Angels, CA
on 12/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great price, good quality A+++
What's not so great: Nothing At All
"This recorder is the best by far, you get the most value for your money the sound quality is great and it has awesome easy to use software that comes with it. The menu on the recorder its self is great. I would recommend this to anybody needing a recorder for a good price."
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Great digital recorder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: md243
from MN
on 11/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use, great sound quality, small and light weight
I purchased this to use at work, need to collect language samples of my students. It works great. It is so easy to use, have wonderful sound quality, and lots of storage space. I llike that I can put in on my computer too. I liked it so much I purchased another for my daughter to use at college! Great price too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Digital Recorder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brew257
from Lake Jackson, TX
on 11/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Does what I need done
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Helps for long lectures at school..................
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Easy to use and clear

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sully756
from South Coast Ma.
on 08/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple menu, very easy to set up and use. Uploading to computer a breeze
What's not so great: Still wondering
I bought this model for EVP work. The ease of operation and uploading to the computer made me buy another. I have captured EVP's so clear that no clean up of the recording was needed. I will say however that if you are using this or any hand held recorder do not figit with it in your hand while recording. It is so sensitive that you will hear nothing but the scratching sound. I use these with an external mic and I couldn't be happier with this recorder. For the price I thinks it's the best buy (no pun intended) out there. The distance of recording is also very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JVine
from Las Vegas, NV
on 08/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Menu, buttons are clear/easy to understand; easy to set-up and record; USB output
What's not so great: Sound quality could be better, a little bit of static
This product does exactly what it's supposed to do
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Perfect Recorder For Anything

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brian721
on 07/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very Easy to use, great menu.
What's not so great: Nothing Really batteries Lasted A long Time.
This recorder is the best by far, you get the most value for your money the sound quality is great and it has awesome easy to use software that comes with it. The menu on the recorder its self is great. I would recommend this to anybody needing a recorder for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Records great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Var09
from Davie, FL
on 07/05/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great quality
Easy to use. I used it for class and I love how I could listen to it on the computer anytime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Digital Voice Recorder

Very useful for students

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MAJAWAR
from Glendale, Ca
on 05/18/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lots of HQS hours of recording
What's not so great: Limited Memory but not to bad for 1GB
Awesome for workshops and college classes overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.