Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Model: 1191
SKU: 9234205
UPC: 785428011912
Tune in to live television broadcasts on your PC with this PCTV USB 2.0 stick and watch and record your favorite TV shows with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 205 reviews
5 stars
93
4 stars
59
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
23
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
158 out of 205
)
Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black
Review 1 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Must be good: this is my second one.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LynnM
on 07/31/2015
the tuner dongle works great and picks up all the channels well. I receive with a roof antenna, no cable. And this little tuner brought the over the air channels strongly. It also comes with a cable so you can record or watch a vcr or capture camcorder video with it. I use it all the time. Worth purchasing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2133376892
My Best Buy number: 2133376892
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

great way to dvr

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: legalspeed
from Tustin, ca
on 07/25/2015
My old xp pc came with a tv tuner card and I could use it to dvr "my stories." I loved it, but it's getting up there in age and I think it'll croak any day. My new computer doesn't have tv tuner card...they're pretty much extinct. This usb tool is great. Follow the directions and it works really well. The price is great for the function. It also has rca connectors, so you can run cameras or old vcr's through it...If you've got one. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0042094944
My Best Buy number: 0042094944
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works as intended, needs computer exp to use

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 07/24/2015
Not a simple download and install software and go. The whole software package needs to be rewritten and updated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2855596165
My Best Buy number: 2855596165
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Cut Cable!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ThatGuy
on 07/17/2015
I bought this TV tuner card so I can cut my cable service. With Hulu Plus and this card, I can record air TV and watch many other shows for 1/12 the cost of cable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2745652445
My Best Buy number: 2745652445
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

easy to set up

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mckinnon
on 07/15/2015
Not to ready to use one it was set up. Didn't like the idea of having cords hanging out the tv. Would probably get the next model up next time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0743191782
My Best Buy number: 0743191782
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Perfect for cord cutters!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BakaNoJutsu
on 07/09/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I bought this product to be able to watch OTA broadcasts on my Xbox One since this version of the tuner is compatible with it (the 950q is not). It works perfectly! Just plug it in, the Xbox detects it and walks you through setting up your channel guide and then scans for channels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2016760329
My Best Buy number: 2016760329
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Product works just fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SomeITGuy
on 07/08/2015
I purchased this to record live TV with Windows Media Center and works just fine. My only complaint is the physical design of the product. When plugged into my micro PC, the TV card is lower than the bottom of the PC causing it to raise the front up a little bit. It comes with a short USB extender to overcome this issue, so all is well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2745652445
My Best Buy number: 2745652445
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Fantastic Reception & Awesome Picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TesterJWC
on 07/07/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Hauppauge tuners have the best reception and the picture is awesomely liquid on my computer monitor
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2834539862
My Best Buy number: 2834539862
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Best Xbox One Tuner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: draw3d
on 06/24/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Works great to stream live TV on the Xbox One console.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1048099575
My Best Buy number: 1048099575
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great Product - Super Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DREMWLKR357
on 06/24/2015
The product is outstanding although the cable for the antenna provided is a bit short. I use this both with my desktop and laptop depending on where I am and enjoy watching my favorite stations and shows on the go or in my study. excellent solution for busy minimalists I won't have to purchase a TV for several years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2919711510
My Best Buy number: 2919711510
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Plug and play with XBOX One

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mrcorona04
from Austin,TX
on 06/21/2015
Purchased for my XBOX One. Very easy to setup. Was watching live OTA TV within minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0543725323
My Best Buy number: 0543725323
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Easiest method to watch tv on computer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Loret493
on 06/19/2015
Very pleased with hookup for viewing tv on my computer with this small piece of equipment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2957820397
My Best Buy number: 2957820397
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

wrks great with xbox one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Techdude
on 06/13/2015
Had no issues getting this unit to work with my Xbox One. You may want to purchase a better antenna if you have reception problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0600642341
My Best Buy number: 0600642341
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great tv tuner for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: slickisking
on 06/03/2015
I got this tv tuner to watch tv on my pc and laptop it work great and i am happy with it i recommend getting this tv tuner for anyone looking fro one
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2994746728
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Did not work in my area.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Inalifetim
on 05/28/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Sadly, there were no available channels in my area.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0576789002
My Best Buy number: 0576789002
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Excellent product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobby1949
from Land O'Lakes, Florida
on 05/24/2015
I have used this type of product and purchase a TV adapter for all my laptops and PC's so I can watch and record TV programs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2279152459
My Best Buy number: 2279152459
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Cool device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: moman5
on 05/22/2015
I have it running on a I7 Machine.. when I was recording in HD the picture was a little jumpy but the play back was fine. I think it was more to do with my video card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0000098878
My Best Buy number: 0000098878
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great TV Tuner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LeeS
on 05/20/2015
I use this tuner with a small antenna to receive local broadcast TV. The picture is great with full HD. I use it for recording TV shows also. I have it connected to my desk PC. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2109261047
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Easy to set up, works great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: shadow0095
on 05/08/2015
Works great with Windows Media Center, which was most important to me! Signal is reliable and clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2972784001
My Best Buy number: 2972784001
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works but I had to get a separate antenna

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: carlowho
from Anaheim, CA
on 05/04/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This device worked well for me. The software it came with was pretty straightforward. You do have to run a scan on the first setup. It comes with an antenna but it wasn't strong enough in my case. I had to purchase a separate indoor antenna. Once I had both setup, everything worked really well. I was getting 720p. This would probably work best if you use it with another program like Windows Media Center (if you have windows 7) or Media Portal. Definitely a great tool for cord cutters
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2288595452
My Best Buy number: 2288595452
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>