Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Model: 1191
SKU: 9234205
UPC: 785428011912
Tune in to live television broadcasts on your PC with this PCTV USB 2.0 stick and watch and record your favorite TV shows with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.801 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 166 reviews
5 stars
69
4 stars
49
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
22
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
124 out of 166
)
Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black
Review 1 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rooferrob
from McKinney,Texas
on 12/19/2014
This is a really cool gadget. It allows you to use your computer as an HD Television Tuner with record feature.I did have a few problems getting the drivers to download and install properly but after 3 attempts at download it all started working. Would be great for someone that has limited space such as a dorm room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2744035492
My Best Buy number: 2744035492
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

A useful device for working people

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jethro
on 12/14/2014
A great device but I can only get it to recognize 70 channels from my cable . Would like to know the fix for this
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2978420514
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Easy to use TV tuner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LeeS
on 12/08/2014
This TV tuner is easy to use and easy to install. I use it with my Windows 7 Pro desktop computer. Now, with Windows Media Center, I am able to watch and listen to TV programs using a small wall mounted antenna while I work at other tasks on my computer, I can also record programs for later watching. The reception is perfect and in HD, I am very satisfied with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2109261047
My Best Buy number: 2109261047
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great DVR.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MarkR
on 12/06/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This works great. The quality of the recording in even better than I expected. It integrates well for scheduling with the online TV listings I use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2154502430
My Best Buy number: 2154502430
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Does Not Work With Cable TV

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Justin
on 11/15/2014
Since most cable companies have gone digital with encryption, the device will not work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3442911422
My Best Buy number: 3442911422
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great TV tuner for PC and Laptops

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tony
on 11/07/2014
Easy to install, prgram updates available immediately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2733416387
My Best Buy number: 2733416387
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Unable to review Item returned

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Patsy
on 11/06/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Item was returned decided not beneficial to use with my desk top
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0205198366
My Best Buy number: 0205198366
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: emcfl
on 11/04/2014
Had this product as a internal board on last computer which died. Got this USB Win TV when bought new computer. It is easy to use . Just plug into UBB port and then plug in cable tv and you are ready to watch everything on you computer. saves getting another tv in spare room for company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0210161546
My Best Buy number: 0210161546
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Not what I needed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: David
on 10/26/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
It did pull in the necessary channels and recorded fine. For the price I think it's ok. But the quality of the video was not really very good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2536922146
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Was not happy with product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jnss
from Pittsburgh
on 10/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Try to use on a Mac.. The manufacture did at one time support a Mac version [under same model number] but his product did not work on Mac.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2140485167
My Best Buy number: 2140485167
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: fhc3
on 10/03/2014
Easy set up. Works well. No problems on cable or antenna.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

my second one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: panamaken
from springhill, fl.
on 09/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: it works
What's not so great: nothing
portable and it works. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
My Best Buy number: 2505735364
My Best Buy number: 2505735364
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great product for college student

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sbealo
from Endicott NY
on 09/17/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Got this to go along with my daughters laptop and other things that needed to be plugged in. works well no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
My Best Buy number: 2640177531
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

great tv tuner for all

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: edoublep
on 08/16/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
works very well with windows media center and can connect to composite output on set top box
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2217925275
My Best Buy number: 2217925275
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tekky
on 08/14/2014
I bought this to record soccer matches during the world cup. It worked fine. It was a hassle to set up first but once this step was done it worked like a charm. It takes a long time to acquire all the tv signals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0226021513
My Best Buy number: 0226021513
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: efrenmal
from Norwalk, ca
on 08/08/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Runs smooth on tablet
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Does what it says. Great performance on tablet and desktop
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0012102778
My Best Buy number: 0012102778
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works as advertised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: filmmaker
from South Florida
on 08/01/2014
What's great about it: Customer Support: Somewhat reluctant but there
What's not so great: Customer support could have been more understanding
I know that many people use this product to get off-air television but I do not.
I simply attached it to a cable box and used it attached to a laptop as a dvr.
For this purpose, it is a relatively inexpensive dvr.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2153892426
My Best Buy number: 2153892426
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jenny
from Philadelphia, PA
on 07/19/2014
Great product, high quality. Convenient store pick up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2641828050
My Best Buy number: 2641828050
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

good not great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Goofy55
from Cleveland, ohio
on 07/14/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: records tv very well
What's not so great: playback can not jump past commercials
It works great at finding stains and allowing recording of tv shows. I had no troubke sting up a recording session. Playback did not let me jump ahead past commercials.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2589251569
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works good depending on the area you live in

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Goalie67
from Tinley Park, Il
on 07/02/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
What's not so great: reception is hard to get in some areas
Bought it to use on a trip so I could watch the NHL playoffs while stuck in a car. Reception was good...at times. Other times it was very fuzzy or no reception at all. Seems to depend on where you are located and where the antenna is located. Overall not bad for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0065777350
My Best Buy number: 0065777350
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>