Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Model: 1191
SKU: 9234205
UPC: 785428011912
Tune in to live television broadcasts on your PC with this PCTV USB 2.0 stick and watch and record your favorite TV shows with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.868 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 189 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
22
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
145 out of 189
)
Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black
Review 1 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Cool device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: moman5
on 05/22/2015
I have it running on a I7 Machine.. when I was recording in HD the picture was a little jumpy but the play back was fine. I think it was more to do with my video card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0000098878
My Best Buy number: 0000098878
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great TV Tuner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LeeS
on 05/20/2015
I use this tuner with a small antenna to receive local broadcast TV. The picture is great with full HD. I use it for recording TV shows also. I have it connected to my desk PC. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2109261047
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Easy to set up, works great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: shadow0095
on 05/08/2015
Works great with Windows Media Center, which was most important to me! Signal is reliable and clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2972784001
My Best Buy number: 2972784001
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works but I had to get a separate antenna

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: carlowho
from Anaheim, CA
on 05/04/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This device worked well for me. The software it came with was pretty straightforward. You do have to run a scan on the first setup. It comes with an antenna but it wasn't strong enough in my case. I had to purchase a separate indoor antenna. Once I had both setup, everything worked really well. I was getting 720p. This would probably work best if you use it with another program like Windows Media Center (if you have windows 7) or Media Portal. Definitely a great tool for cord cutters
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2288595452
My Best Buy number: 2288595452
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Good Way To use Windows Media Center

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: muffydog
from Destin, FL
on 04/24/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I found this TV attachment to be quick to set up and works great. It is an easy and inexpensive means to have TV on your computer. The only problem I have found with it is the time it takes to start live TV. Once going no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0057940809
My Best Buy number: 0057940809
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Program is great. Antenna is not.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: KCM022
on 04/23/2015
Used this to record a basketball game while we were away from home. The software was easy to use, the quality was good, and I couldn't be happier! I would definitely recommend this product.
BUT when we tested it out at home, living about 25 miles from major downtown, some stations did not come in and some had breaks. We attached a better antenna and got more stations and fewer glitchy movements. Of minor note (and this could be user error), when recording, my hour long show showed up as 40 minutes long. But it was all there, it just took 10 real minutes for the bar to progress 5-6 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2641912650
My Best Buy number: 2641912650
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works Great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MadeinDetroit
from Richmond,IN
on 04/18/2015
Bought this to replace a analog WinTV Pvr I had for years, time to go digital. Install was easy. Plug it in and and insert the software disc and it will automaticly download updated software.
Just using a Terk rabbit ear type antenna I pick up 26 stations none of which is closer than 45 miles. Very satisfied with tuner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2978229261
My Best Buy number: 2978229261
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Returned after buying

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: RPMorris2013
from Howell, MI
on 03/22/2015
I wasn't impressed with this product. The software seemed out of date and it froze up a lot. I returned and haven't bought a replacement yet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2110819305
My Best Buy number: 2110819305
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Dose as advertised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RWSizors
on 03/20/2015
Easy installation, took a long time to scan all channels, had everything I needed in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0309100418
My Best Buy number: 0309100418
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Best gadget I've purchased recently!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: twxMC
from Wilmington, NC
on 03/20/2015
This low cost unit does everything it is advertised to do. I replaced an older, internal card unit with this USB tuner and I couldn't be happier. I've run it on multiple computers with the same results - excellent! I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for an analog and "clear" digital tuner in any CATV market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2636211461
My Best Buy number: 2636211461
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

good tv and software

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: John
from Henderson, KY
on 03/18/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Good TV addition to computer that does not require media center upgrade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2828717276
My Best Buy number: 2828717276
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

seems to work fine so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bfly
on 03/05/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I bought this to tune TV on my computer on the road. I had one of the same brand for NTSC TV that worked fine for years so I bought the same brand to work with the new digital format. It works OK with supplied antenna for local transmissions but have not tried with a better antenna.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2197061277
My Best Buy number: 2197061277
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Good little tuner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: greyingwolf
from Lewisville, TX
on 03/04/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I hooked this up to my computer to record TV's and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2119928480
My Best Buy number: 2119928480
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Reyes
on 02/27/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Great pictures and easy to set up. Like the remote makes it easy to switch channels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575887754
My Best Buy number: 0575887754
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Easy setup. Great product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sahba
from Los Angeles
on 02/22/2015
Setup was easy and within minutes I had a home network setup, with the capability of watching OTA tv.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0229509087
My Best Buy number: 0229509087
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

good easy to install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: larryandsue
from Jersey Shore<Pa
on 02/04/2015
works well smaller that the old one we had, much better and clearer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2015856603
My Best Buy number: 2015856603
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Excellent little device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lukester
on 02/04/2015
I which the scene of the player had more aspect ratio options but all in all a great buy. Also it comes with a plethora of cords and adapters so if you think you need an adaptor well you probably don't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2966116283
My Best Buy number: 2966116283
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Does exactly what it says on the box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve
on 02/02/2015
Got this to record a TV show off the air with an antenna and had it up and running in less than 20 minutes. Setup was very straight forward, it took a zipcode to speed up the channel search and was ready to go. Files it makes are .ts files and will play in their app or in VLC or Windows Media, so very flexible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

A very flexible tuner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MisterK
from Ohio
on 01/17/2015
The Hauppauge WinTV USB tuner has become a very useful device for me, making it possible to record high-definition broadcasts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2366411315
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works as Described

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CordCutter
on 12/28/2014
I am a "cord cutter" and wanted the ability to record some shows to watch them later. I have been a Tivo user and Verizon DVR user in the past, so have come to like recorded TV. This stick works great and allows me to "stream" shows from an upstairs computer to any of the two smart TVs in my house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0574031912
My Best Buy number: 0574031912
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>