Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Model: 1191
SKU: 9234205
UPC: 785428011912
Tune in to live television broadcasts on your PC with this PCTV USB 2.0 stick and watch and record your favorite TV shows with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.922 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(219 Reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 219 reviews
5 stars
101
4 stars
62
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
23
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
170 out of 219
)
Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black
Review 1 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Good Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sitinrol
on 01/30/2016
I bought this small box and was amazed at what it does. For such a small item, it is very powerful. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2835084255
My Best Buy number: 2835084255
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Excellent product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rc01x
from Ark
on 01/09/2016
Purchased this product to record over the air TV broadcasts. The installation and setup were very easy. The product allows recording of programs either as you watch or via a schedule. Using the scheduled recording option was great. Play back quality was excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0022325860
My Best Buy number: 0022325860
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Poor color on display

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Johnny
on 01/06/2016
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I bought this for thanks giving day and it returned it because the color on my monitor was very poor ( mostly excessively red). Channels it captured were also very different from what got captured on my regular tv antenna
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2655948355
My Best Buy number: 2655948355
Mobile Submission: True
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

is so great for recording tv on m laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ralphy
from Mt.Horeb,WI
on 11/27/2015
I love it for it records my fave shows while I am busy,and I can watch them when I want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3770003424
My Best Buy number: 3770003424
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

It works

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Colio
on 11/18/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I bought this to turn my old laptop into a dvr. It was easy to set up and works great with windows media center. It does what I need it to. I'm happy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0531567188
My Best Buy number: 0531567188
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Good for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gold
on 11/11/2015
It works just as it says. It is great for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3489623364
My Best Buy number: 3489623364
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

I like and use this product daily.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: danb
on 11/04/2015
I don't watch live TV. All the TV I watch is recorded. This does an excellent job of that. I like the WinTV software better that Microsoft Media Center.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0401290901
My Best Buy number: 0401290901
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Jump Drive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bluedak
on 10/26/2015
PNY does not stall or lock out like some of the other brands out there
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2518367637
My Best Buy number: 2518367637
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Very easy to setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: luke
on 10/21/2015
Easy to set up. Great software incuded! Work great for clear qam
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3773462495
My Best Buy number: 3773462495
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works as expected!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dannymac99
from Belleville, IL
on 10/21/2015
Have had no issues with this product. Occasionally my digital antenna fails but that is no fault of this device. I can set up which hard drive to save programs to and switch channels quickly with find channel. I have my PC connected to my TV so I can use the TV as second monitor and watch the programs on the big screen if I want. After getting rid of cable this is perfect for me to DVR TV shows and sports on free over the air channels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0906796373
My Best Buy number: 0906796373
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

not what I expected

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Edgar
on 10/17/2015
I had Win Tv7 and tried to upgrade it to TV8 but it made my computer crash so bad that I had to buy a new one. Got another Win TV7 thinking it would work as TV8 on new computer and it's worst than the original.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2286152138
My Best Buy number: 2286152138
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Decent device, lousy software and accessories

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: richjoe11
on 09/11/2015
The device itself seems to work fine. Plugged it into my custom built computer running Windows 7 64 bit. However, the included antenna is terrible. I'm only about a 15 min drive from downtown Minneapolis (near Hwy 280) and only got about half of the local channels. I'm buying a different antenna to try and fix the issue. Additionally, software was a bit of a pain to get going, but it worked eventually.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2967808965
My Best Buy number: 2967808965
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Good upgrade

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: momo2
on 09/09/2015
This tv tuner is an upgrade to my older hauppauge that came with my older computer. It does its job. The only drawback is the menu guide for the channels. It is nothing compared to media center. Too bad media center is phased out. The unit itself works great, however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2875504560
My Best Buy number: 2875504560
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Worked on my xbox one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mark1786
on 08/08/2015
I used this on my xbox one for over the air TV and it worked wonderfully. I did have to use the side USB port and extension cable to make it work but other than that I highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2101278562
My Best Buy number: 2101278562
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Must be good: this is my second one.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LynnM
on 07/31/2015
the tuner dongle works great and picks up all the channels well. I receive with a roof antenna, no cable. And this little tuner brought the over the air channels strongly. It also comes with a cable so you can record or watch a vcr or capture camcorder video with it. I use it all the time. Worth purchasing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2133376892
My Best Buy number: 2133376892
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

great way to dvr

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: legalspeed
from Tustin, ca
on 07/25/2015
My old xp pc came with a tv tuner card and I could use it to dvr "my stories." I loved it, but it's getting up there in age and I think it'll croak any day. My new computer doesn't have tv tuner card...they're pretty much extinct. This usb tool is great. Follow the directions and it works really well. The price is great for the function. It also has rca connectors, so you can run cameras or old vcr's through it...If you've got one. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0042094944
My Best Buy number: 0042094944
Mobile Submission: True
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Works as intended, needs computer exp to use

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 07/24/2015
Not a simple download and install software and go. The whole software package needs to be rewritten and updated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2855596165
My Best Buy number: 2855596165
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Cut Cable!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ThatGuy
on 07/17/2015
I bought this TV tuner card so I can cut my cable service. With Hulu Plus and this card, I can record air TV and watch many other shows for 1/12 the cost of cable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2745652445
My Best Buy number: 2745652445
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

easy to set up

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mckinnon
on 07/15/2015
Not to ready to use one it was set up. Didn't like the idea of having cords hanging out the tv. Would probably get the next model up next time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0743191782
My Best Buy number: 0743191782
Mobile Submission: True
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks - Black

Perfect for cord cutters!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BakaNoJutsu
on 07/09/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
I bought this product to be able to watch OTA broadcasts on my Xbox One since this version of the tuner is compatible with it (the 950q is not). It works perfectly! Just plug it in, the Xbox detects it and walks you through setting up your channel guide and then scans for channels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2016760329
My Best Buy number: 2016760329
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>