Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Model: HVR-950Q
SKU: 9234205
UPC: 785428011912
Supports analog NTSC TV, digital over-the-air ATSC TV for North America plus clear QAM digital cable TV. Supports all 18 ATSC high definition digital TV formats for North America, including the highest definition 1080i. Includes Hauppauge's WinTV v6 application for TV watching and recording on PC's. Vista Premium certified for Microsoft's Vista Media Center application.
Average Customer Rating:
3.771 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 140 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
21
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
103 out of 140
)
Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks
Review 1 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Perfect DVR option for cable-cutters

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: funkymono
from Asheville, NC
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, works with Windows Media Center
What's not so great: Included antenna weak
I purchased this to convert a 3-year-old HP desktop into a DVR for over-the-air digital TV, and it works exactly as I'd hoped. A few notes:
1. Although many Windows computers will automatically download the drivers for this tuner, those drivers will often be out of date. Be sure to download the latest drivers from the Hauppauge website. (If you're using Windows Media Center, it'll hang while trying to find signals if you're using an outdated driver.)
2. If you have a computer with Windows Media Center, you won't need the software that comes with this tuner; Windows Media Center automatically detected the card and TV signals (after I updated the drivers), and it's an intuitive, robust program that works like a charm.
3. The antenna that comes with this tuner will only suffice if you live in a metropolitan area where all of the broadcast signals generate within a 10-mile radius; the rest of us will need a heftier antenna. The Mohu Leaf is a good option, although I use the ChannelMaster DB8 since many of our local broadcasts generate from 30+ miles away.
4. I don't know if the included remote will work with Windows Media Center, but I use the Logitech K400 wireless keyboard with touch pad. It's inexpensive, lightweight, small, easy to use, and has a wireless range of 33 feet.
With all of that said, this is a good product if you've ditched cable but still want to be able to record your favorite programs. And for the record, my computer is connected to a 720 HDTV via a VGA cable and male-to-male stereo cable. The picture isn't as good as when the coax was plugged directly into the TV, but it's still quite good. If you have the option of connecting your computer and TV via HDMI, the picture should be excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
My Best Buy number: 2120818596
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Easy to use and works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LMGJ
from summerville sc
on 04/13/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up and navigate
What's not so great: Sometimes it will only record part of the show
Very easy to use and understand. Easy to navigate and sync with t.v.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2038931158
My Best Buy number: 2038931158
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Easy to install and use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bruno1
from Orlando, FL
on 03/31/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Worked perfect right out of the box
Added this to my new HP touch screen all-in-one since no all in ones come with a tv adaptor that I seen. Worked perfect right out of the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0084860620
My Best Buy number: 0084860620
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sistermewn
from Southern Maine
on 03/29/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, easy to install
What's not so great: Gets very warm during use. Wish it came with a longer cable.
This is a great way to record digital cable TV signal directly to my computer without having to use a television or VCR. Didn't install the software - using Windows 7 Media Center instead. I may try installing the software because Media Center is a little tricky to figure out how to use - but that is not the fault of the device. I love the compact size of the device and that it just plugs right in to the USB port on the computer. I do wish it came with a longer cable though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2719931668
My Best Buy number: 2719931668
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Great investment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RFis
from Ardmore, TN
on 03/28/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I work out of town and this is my DVR. Works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0401043736
My Best Buy number: 0401043736
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Very Nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Techguru2014
from San Antonio, Tx
on 03/21/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Non-applicabale
I love this little thing. Works great with my 8.1 Windows O.S. Make sure you download the latest firmwar/software. It's compatible with Windows Media Center. I like to record my t.v. shows so I can watch later on my 55" Smart T.v. A very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2017279486
My Best Buy number: 2017279486
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Much better than I expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scooterattheputer
from Elgin, IL
on 03/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, portable, reliable performance
What's not so great: Applies its own channel numbers
Was looking for PCI Express version but no local retailer stocked it. With Rewards Certificates about to expire, I decided to take a chance on this. A chance well rewarded, it works as well as previous PCI (non express) versions I've purchased for previous computers (this one is Windows 8) and I am very pleased. I did have to create a cheat sheet for several channels I watch; some do not match my WOW cable provider numbers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0417152231
My Best Buy number: 0417152231
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Easy Setup and Dependable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tomsz
from Tannersville, PA
on 02/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup and use
What's not so great: No TV Guide Interaction
Replaced my HP Media Center computer with an All In One and needed TV access. My computer is in my den and I use it as a DVR so I purchased this to view TV. Easy to setup, simple operation. good remote and small foot print. Software works great but unlike Windows Media Center it does not have built in TV Guide interaction, so you have to enter a channel and start /stop record times, which does work it just requires more steps. Software does include a online TV Guide which is accurate but does not interact. Overall excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0301163411
My Best Buy number: 0301163411
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Best I have found for over the air recrding

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: leroy721
from Kansas City
on 02/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease if installtion
What's not so great: Signa breaks up whenweather changes and wind blows`
The unit itself works great. I am using on a desk top and over the air antenna. I am using the Windows Media Center program with Widows 7. I have not tried the programing that was included so can not comment. Works great with windows 7 and Windows Media Center as long as the wind is fairly calm or no trucks go by. Over all the recordings are good and clear and sound is as provided by the stations. overall I am very satisfied with the tuner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0041112847
My Best Buy number: 0041112847
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Simple solution for TIVO replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: notruffinit
from Minneapolis
on 01/31/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy and automatic setup
What's not so great: nothing
I plugged this in, installed the drivers, and started using it on my Windows 7 laptop. Did the same on my Vista desktop but also needed to download the Vista drivers for it to work. I use the tuner along with a portable 2 TB drive to replace my TIVO. I travel in my RV so this arrangement will be able to go with me very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2173985382
My Best Buy number: 2173985382
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

For internet tv experts

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: hols
from baltimore, md
on 01/10/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Its a great addition to windows media center
What's not so great: very difficult to get hooked up
I gave it a good try and it just wasn't compatible with my computer. If you are good and maybe above average with computers I would recommend this for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2828277763
My Best Buy number: 2828277763
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Good Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: drllubtish
from Jacksonville, Fl
on 11/23/2013
What's great about it: works like it is supposed too
What's not so great: antenna a little week
I use this device to watch local programming on my laptop, and it works real well, good hi-def reception, Unit runs a little hot, which is, I think, normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2822243719
My Best Buy number: 2822243719
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Great device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EEQMCSQRD
from Richmond, CA
on 11/17/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Allows my laptop to display local TV channels
What's not so great: Sometimes hicupps
I had been looking for a small TV for my kitchen to watch TV while I'm preparing meals and googled information about converting laptops into a TV and found information on this device. I love it. No need for an additional TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2170683502
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

OK, but not perfect.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dave1011010
from ohio
on 11/11/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of installation, easy to set up.
What's not so great: Remote stinks!
I bought this just as an extra TV while sitting in front of my computer. It installed easily and gives you a basic tv tuner, but nothing fancy. Don't count on the remote to do anything for you. Mine quit working the second time I used it and it is so small, it is not very functional. Overall, it does what I wanted it to do, although it could be a little cheaper for a basic tuner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1011167287
My Best Buy number: 1011167287
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

It Worked! Cable TV or Video to PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fhunjunkie
from Washington, DC
on 11/08/2013
What's great about it: It worked as described
What's not so great: Software slow
I couldn't get a straight answer from anyone about what this device could actually do. I had to buy it to find out. Not sure why it seems as though nobody has ever used a TV tuner before (including the cable guy installing the box who said "man, you can do that?"), but I purchased anyway. It works well. I plugged it directly into the output feed coming from my digital cable box, then into my PC via the provided USB cable. I imagine the faster your processor the better the output on the screen, but my picture is great and smooth. I had to install it via the component cables instead of the coax (not included) and change the channel with the supplied remote, but works 100%. Also, it's good to know that I can hook up any external device that has component cable ports - PS3, XBox, Video Camera, Etc. I can even record or take pics of the feed from the software provided. I totally recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Fine hardware, terrible software

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BBuser62
from Las Cruces, NM
on 10/20/2013
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: Software is absolute junk
Unfortunately this was the only tv tuner the best buy here in a small town had to offer and I would not recommend it. The software is terrible and this is not worth it. If I had to do over, I would have waited the extra couple of days to get a better one shipped. For $80, not worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

easy to install and works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GBKS
from Great Bend, KS
on 09/13/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Just a quick couple minutes to install and run the software and I was watching TV on my computer in no time
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0069523526
My Best Buy number: 0069523526
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

OK for a tuner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: aquaticx
from Los Angeles
on 09/10/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Included software works well and can schedule recordings. Had problems getting it to work with Win7 Media Center.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576288062
My Best Buy number: 0576288062
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Doesn't work with windows 8 media ctr

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Bpurish
from Fl
on 08/30/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
It work, just not with windows 8 media center. It's an ok product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576291154
My Best Buy number: 0576291154
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Hooks into cable and works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Slidelljoe
from Slidell, Louisiana
on 08/23/2013
What's great about it: Porvides extra TV
What's not so great: Remote is sensitive
Real easy to hook up . Instructions are easy to follow. Chose the wrong setting first and reset and all the available channels are on the monitor. Works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2762479476
My Best Buy number: 2762479476
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>