Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Model: HVR-950Q
SKU: 9234205
UPC: 785428011912
Supports analog NTSC TV, digital over-the-air ATSC TV for North America plus clear QAM digital cable TV. Supports all 18 ATSC high definition digital TV formats for North America, including the highest definition 1080i. Includes Hauppauge's WinTV v6 application for TV watching and recording on PC's. Vista Premium certified for Microsoft's Vista Media Center application.
Average Customer Rating:
3.799 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 149 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
21
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
111 out of 149
)
Customer Reviews for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks
Review 1 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jenny
from Philadelphia, PA
on 07/19/2014
Great product, high quality. Convenient store pick up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2641828050
My Best Buy number: 2641828050
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

good not great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Goofy55
from Cleveland, ohio
on 07/14/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: records tv very well
What's not so great: playback can not jump past commercials
It works great at finding stains and allowing recording of tv shows. I had no troubke sting up a recording session. Playback did not let me jump ahead past commercials.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2589251569
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Works good depending on the area you live in

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Goalie67
from Tinley Park, Il
on 07/02/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up
What's not so great: reception is hard to get in some areas
Bought it to use on a trip so I could watch the NHL playoffs while stuck in a car. Reception was good...at times. Other times it was very fuzzy or no reception at all. Seems to depend on where you are located and where the antenna is located. Overall not bad for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0065777350
My Best Buy number: 0065777350
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Fine if using at one location

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Baf0807
from Fresno. CA
on 06/23/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Works fine
What's not so great: If your planning on using it mobile it's a pain to reset it up.
Not good for using in mutiple locations. It's a pain to set up everytime you move lications.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0051075255
My Best Buy number: 0051075255
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Excellent DVR solution!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Wahaipo
from Boise, ID
on 06/21/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very simple to use & includes a free online program guide.
What's not so great: Can't customize file names in the recording process.
These are so awesome that I have 3 of them!
The online guide is customizable for your channel lineup and personal preferences. In a couple of clicks, you can set up your computer to record a program, pop up reminders or watch live programming on your device.
The only feature I miss from the old days of owning these tuners is the ability to name the recorded files during the recording setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2261629044
My Best Buy number: 2261629044
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Decent Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nimda79
from Wichita, KS
on 06/19/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Features and install base
What's not so great: slower than a internal card
I wish they has an internal desktop card at the local bestbuy but this one worked out for what I needed. Does NTSC and ASTC with ClearQAM so it had the features I needed. It's a little slow to change channels but does the job none the less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0565740076
My Best Buy number: 0565740076
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Excellent product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CaptainAmerica215
from Wilson, NC
on 05/31/2014
What's great about it: My old one lasted a long time and worked well.
What's not so great: No comment.
I was replacing my old one. It lasted a long time and worked well. Had it hooked up to cable. We suffered many power bumps in our last storm and I think that is what finished the old one off. Yet, it worked many years as I said. I was satisfied that I had gotten my monies worth and did not regret buying another.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1027321468
My Best Buy number: 1027321468
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Movie transfer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bill
from Douglasville, Ga
on 05/16/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: N/A
Easy to setup, and use. Best that I have found. I would recommend this to anyone, that wants to transfer and edit a video.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0026475738
My Best Buy number: 0026475738
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

small, compact, portable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: consumer
from columbus,oh
on 05/02/2014
What's great about it: easy set-up, integrates well with microsoft media center
What's not so great: ?
good picture quality, performs as stated, good price. My second one. The first lasted 4 years and only failed do to miss-use. I'd purchase this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0030178205
My Best Buy number: 0030178205
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Perfect DVR option for cable-cutters

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: funkymono
from Asheville, NC
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, works with Windows Media Center
What's not so great: Included antenna weak
I purchased this to convert a 3-year-old HP desktop into a DVR for over-the-air digital TV, and it works exactly as I'd hoped. A few notes:
1. Although many Windows computers will automatically download the drivers for this tuner, those drivers will often be out of date. Be sure to download the latest drivers from the Hauppauge website. (If you're using Windows Media Center, it'll hang while trying to find signals if you're using an outdated driver.)
2. If you have a computer with Windows Media Center, you won't need the software that comes with this tuner; Windows Media Center automatically detected the card and TV signals (after I updated the drivers), and it's an intuitive, robust program that works like a charm.
3. The antenna that comes with this tuner will only suffice if you live in a metropolitan area where all of the broadcast signals generate within a 10-mile radius; the rest of us will need a heftier antenna. The Mohu Leaf is a good option, although I use the ChannelMaster DB8 since many of our local broadcasts generate from 30+ miles away.
4. I don't know if the included remote will work with Windows Media Center, but I use the Logitech K400 wireless keyboard with touch pad. It's inexpensive, lightweight, small, easy to use, and has a wireless range of 33 feet.
With all of that said, this is a good product if you've ditched cable but still want to be able to record your favorite programs. And for the record, my computer is connected to a 720 HDTV via a VGA cable and male-to-male stereo cable. The picture isn't as good as when the coax was plugged directly into the TV, but it's still quite good. If you have the option of connecting your computer and TV via HDMI, the picture should be excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
My Best Buy number: 2120818596
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Easy to use and works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LMGJ
from summerville sc
on 04/13/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up and navigate
What's not so great: Sometimes it will only record part of the show
Very easy to use and understand. Easy to navigate and sync with t.v.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2038931158
My Best Buy number: 2038931158
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Easy to install and use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bruno1
from Orlando, FL
on 03/31/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Worked perfect right out of the box
Added this to my new HP touch screen all-in-one since no all in ones come with a tv adaptor that I seen. Worked perfect right out of the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0084860620
My Best Buy number: 0084860620
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sistermewn
from Southern Maine
on 03/29/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, easy to install
What's not so great: Gets very warm during use. Wish it came with a longer cable.
This is a great way to record digital cable TV signal directly to my computer without having to use a television or VCR. Didn't install the software - using Windows 7 Media Center instead. I may try installing the software because Media Center is a little tricky to figure out how to use - but that is not the fault of the device. I love the compact size of the device and that it just plugs right in to the USB port on the computer. I do wish it came with a longer cable though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2719931668
My Best Buy number: 2719931668
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Great investment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RFis
from Ardmore, TN
on 03/28/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I work out of town and this is my DVR. Works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0401043736
My Best Buy number: 0401043736
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Very Nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Techguru2014
from San Antonio, Tx
on 03/21/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Non-applicabale
I love this little thing. Works great with my 8.1 Windows O.S. Make sure you download the latest firmwar/software. It's compatible with Windows Media Center. I like to record my t.v. shows so I can watch later on my 55" Smart T.v. A very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2017279486
My Best Buy number: 2017279486
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Much better than I expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scooterattheputer
from Elgin, IL
on 03/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, portable, reliable performance
What's not so great: Applies its own channel numbers
Was looking for PCI Express version but no local retailer stocked it. With Rewards Certificates about to expire, I decided to take a chance on this. A chance well rewarded, it works as well as previous PCI (non express) versions I've purchased for previous computers (this one is Windows 8) and I am very pleased. I did have to create a cheat sheet for several channels I watch; some do not match my WOW cable provider numbers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0417152231
My Best Buy number: 0417152231
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Easy Setup and Dependable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tomsz
from Tannersville, PA
on 02/17/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup and use
What's not so great: No TV Guide Interaction
Replaced my HP Media Center computer with an All In One and needed TV access. My computer is in my den and I use it as a DVR so I purchased this to view TV. Easy to setup, simple operation. good remote and small foot print. Software works great but unlike Windows Media Center it does not have built in TV Guide interaction, so you have to enter a channel and start /stop record times, which does work it just requires more steps. Software does include a online TV Guide which is accurate but does not interact. Overall excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0301163411
My Best Buy number: 0301163411
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Best I have found for over the air recrding

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: leroy721
from Kansas City
on 02/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease if installtion
What's not so great: Signa breaks up whenweather changes and wind blows`
The unit itself works great. I am using on a desk top and over the air antenna. I am using the Windows Media Center program with Widows 7. I have not tried the programing that was included so can not comment. Works great with windows 7 and Windows Media Center as long as the wind is fairly calm or no trucks go by. Over all the recordings are good and clear and sound is as provided by the stations. overall I am very satisfied with the tuner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0041112847
My Best Buy number: 0041112847
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

Simple solution for TIVO replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: notruffinit
from Minneapolis
on 01/31/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy and automatic setup
What's not so great: nothing
I plugged this in, installed the drivers, and started using it on my Windows 7 laptop. Did the same on my Vista desktop but also needed to download the Vista drivers for it to work. I use the tuner along with a portable 2 TB drive to replace my TIVO. I travel in my RV so this arrangement will be able to go with me very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2173985382
My Best Buy number: 2173985382
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hauppauge - WinTV-for Laptop and Notebooks

For internet tv experts

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: hols
from baltimore, md
on 01/10/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Its a great addition to windows media center
What's not so great: very difficult to get hooked up
I gave it a good try and it just wasn't compatible with my computer. If you are good and maybe above average with computers I would recommend this for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2828277763
My Best Buy number: 2828277763
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>