Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Model: SB6120
SKU: 9246693
UPC: 612572169292
This SURFboard cable modem uses DOCSIS 3.0 standard technology to ensure blazing speed that lets you surf the Web and view pages quickly as well as download video, music and images with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(261 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 261 reviews
5 stars
215
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
14
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
240 out of 261
)
Customer Reviews for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem
  • Featured

Well Worth The Purchase Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ocean428
from Cape Cod, MA
on 02/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works better than advertised
What's not so great: Nothing
I got tired of paying Comcast's monthly $5 rental fee for a cable modem. I did my research and this Motorola modem looked like just what I needed. After receiving it and prior to installing it, I ran a speed test (www.speedtest.com) to see what this modem would do against the Comcast-supplied modem.
Comcast modem:
Download Speed: 6286 kbps
Upload Speed: 2084 kbps
Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem:
Download Speed: 10482 kbps
Upload Speed: 3477 kbps
Obviously, the Motorola modem is faster. I've had it for a month now and have had NO issues with it. And, I don't have to pay Comcast $5 per month for a modem. Sweet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+284points
360out of 436found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

it ok

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: reba70
from jacksonville fl
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: it woker
What's not so great: it go out sometime
what we use it for it work we are a very small place but i do get the job done
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Easily expanded
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Speed is King

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 1969paul
from Atlanta, GA
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed, simplicity
What's not so great: Basic box design
It's as fast as it claims. It's not dropped connectivity since I purchased it a month ago (unlike my old one).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Excellent Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Internetdork
from Sterling Heights, MI
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works Great
What's not so great: A bit pricey but worth the investment
Bought this item because my modem from comcast would not work properly. As soon as I got everything set up my Internet and Xbox live worked TONS better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

So far, so good ...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jvaz
from Tucson, AZ
on 07/06/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, decent price, fast.
What's not so great: The construction seems a bit cheap.
I have been using the same Terayon TJ715x cable modem that I received from Cox Communications when I originally signed up for their cable and High Speed Internet service 11 years ago.
Whilst I am impressed that this modem has continued to work for 11 years, I have definitely been experiencing some severe performance issues as of late. For example, a 2-minute long YouTube video needing to buffer for 5-10 minutes prior to watching.
I finally had a Cox tech come out to my house a couple of weeks ago to rule out any service-related problems. According to the tech, my signals were low (which he took care of), but he said that I would still benefit from a new modem (I already conceded to this fact before he ever showed up).
I was fed up enough with feeling like I was accessing the internet through a DSL connection at cable company prices, that I finally broke down and purchased this modem. I should have broke down awhile ago, because there is a night-and-day difference between my connections now.
My average speed with the Terayon modem at 4:00 in the morning was right around 1Mbps. My average speed with the Motorola SURFBoard SB6120 at 3:00 in the afternoon is right around 28Mbps. I'm finally getting the speeds that I have been paying for.
Installation and activation was a breeze -- it took longer for me to get through Cox' automated phone prompts and wait-time then it took to install the modem and get it activated on / linked to my account.
P.S. I have read some reviews about this modem and its use with Windows 7 (supposedly they don't work well together). In fact, the box for this modem excludes Windows 7 as a compatible OS. No worries ... I have Windows 7 Ultimate installed and didn't have any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Excellent replacement modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jmjt1234
from Sterling Heights, MI
on 07/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: not having to pay the $7.00 monthly rental fee, reliability, ease of use
What's not so great: none so far
This modem works excellent. I recently purchased this modem because of the $7.00 comcast cable modem rental fee. This was a great buy. The speed of the modem is generally the same as the Comcast modem. I use Windows 7, and it is compatible with it. The only thing is that you will probably need to call Comcast to be able to connect to the internet, for first time installation. I am very pleased with this product, and I no longer have to pay the cable company the $7.00 monthly rental charge for the modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Awesome Modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Remak
from Lake Forest, CA
on 07/01/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great speeds all the time.
What's not so great: Nothing.
I have been using this modem for about 6 month now and I love it. Besides having issues with the cable company trying to setup my modem over the phone (Poor technical knowledge) it was a breeze to setup. The speeds that I am getting now are ridiculously fast for what I pay. I would recommend this to friends...oh wait I have :-).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Fast as advertised.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bob1959
from Manchester, NH
on 06/30/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Seems about $20 too expensive.
I picked this up today at BB after receiving a letter and a phone call from Comcast telling me I should upgrade from my older MoDem which I've owned for something like 17 years so that I could get improved performance. I was already actually happy with the speed, but I figured, okay. In fact, previously I was getting 10K plus with the CNET speed check, and great Roku/Netflix performance. This is even faster as promised. My CNET speed test performance is double. I am a professional photographer and I just uploaded 90 high resolution photos to my gallery web site and the speed was easily twice as fast. I was getting 1.2+MB/s upload speeds
The installation wasn't quite as straight-forward as expected. After installing the MoDem I received an Xfinity software download and configuration screen. This was unexpected, so I called Comcast and their support was very good. The had to bring it live on the network.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Does not Last

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Waco
from Waco, Texas
on 06/21/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: does not last long. Will have to replace after 1 year or less
This modem is not even a year old and it has already started kicking me off the internet. I had to go back to the modem Time Warner Provides and it is faster than this one. I wish I could take this one back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Failed after 2 years, 5 months

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Joacchim
from Chagrin Falls, Ohio
on 06/16/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Premium specs (gigabit ethernet, docsis 3.0)
What's not so great: Premium price, short life.
Worked flawlessly for 2 years, 5 months. Premium price for premium features. Failed just 5 months out of warranty. Bought a Zoom docsis 3.0 modem to replace it for $20 cheaper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

your broadband modem is experiancing problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: justavillain
from Grand Rapids
on 06/08/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: power cycle every day to get it to work
I have to power cycle this stupid thing every day at least once. If not 2 or 3 times.
I had a 40 dollar Zoom one that lasted longer and worked better than this load of scrap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Ehhh- maybe 2nd times a charm?

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BigRoy1965
from Wisconsin
on 06/05/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to set up.
What's not so great: Died after 10 months.
After 10 months we started developing internet connection problems and eventually realized it was the modem which frequently would go out on us. We returned it to the store and they were very pleasant to deal with. They replaced it at no cost with a new one (of the exact same model) and hopefully that will do the trick! We did buy the extended warranty just in case. Hopefully, the first one was just a dud.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Great for Charter Internet upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: einstyn
from Northfield,MN
on 06/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: speed
What's not so great: constantly blinking blue link light
I was unhappy with the speed of a rented modem from Charter ( Ambit 60678EU ) that was giving me download speeds of 1.9 Mbs ( http://speedtest.net/ ), so I bought this modem, with the result that my download speed went to 13.2 Mbs ! Did have to call Charter to fully install the unit from their end--few minutes to reset the modem and router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Save on monthly rental.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Motty
from Baltimore, MD
on 05/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup. Steady operation. Prevents rental outlays.
What's not so great: Best Buy didn't give it out for free.
I selected this because my research told me that it was fully compatible with what is used by Comcast's Xfinity® cable Internet service. It's simple to install -- just plug the appropriate cables into the appropriate connectors on the modem -- and then it just works. (Note: You will have to inform Comcast of the modem's part number and MAC address {the "HFC MAC ID"}, which are printed on both the box and the bottom of the modem. I did that by phone.) I've had it for months now, without any problem. You don't see anything happen except that lights glow or blink, and while they do I'm getting 13 Mb/s of download and 3 Mb/s of upload (according to http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest ). It works equally well mounted upright flat against your wall (you need mounting screws or nails in the wall), or tipped over on its side on my shelf. (As with all electronics, allow air access to carry off waste heat.) And I'm saving monthly rental costs for a cable modem; by the time I'm through using this, I'll have saved far more money than the cost of the modem.
In summary: (1) It's simple. (2) It works. (3) It saves you $$$$$$.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Amazing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CUEE
from South Carolina
on 05/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Setup 10 minutes max, good price.
What's not so great: None
I expressed to a friend of mine how slow CHARTER internet service is. He asked me how old my cable modem was. I told him it's atleast 5 years old; he suggested to replace it with a new cable modem. I really didn't want to spend any more money on it since I replaced my wireless modem 6 months with no improvement in internet service; I thought it was just CHARTER.
I decided to replace it today with this model. This model was very easy to install and then when you access the internet after turning it ON; a CHARTER installation program will automatically start and ask you for an account number, your old MAC number. It will then reboot the modem and off you go.
BTW, I ran a speedtest before and after. Before was 1.4 MPS download with 720 kps upload; After was 11.4 MPS download with 1044 MPS upload. WOW....10 times faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Very fast and reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zerbabilon
from Tuckerton, NJ
on 05/16/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, reliable, easy setup
What's not so great: nothing
I have Comcast and an Apple Airport Extreme router. My speeds are well above what Comcast advertises. I've never had to reset it once and I've had it 5 months. All I did was plug it in and it works perfect. It has lots of vents too to keep it cool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

AWESOME MODEM !!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Yates
from Towson, Maryland
on 04/28/2011
What's great about it: Easy to install and runs very fast
What's not so great: The link light never stops blinking, I fine that very distracting
I purchase the Motorola SURFboard eXtreme DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem On 4/25/11. After reading a lot of reviews, I was a little leery about getting it, but after talked with the salesmen at Best Buy about the fact that reviews were pointing out that the Modem worked sometimes and than would stop working after awhile. He assured me that if I registered the Modem with comcast after installing it, there would be no problem. He Was Right, I installed it and it was running very poorly, but after going to comcast web site and registering it with my server, it runs 10 times faster and better than the Modem I received from Comcast, when I first got High Speed Internet. I like the Modem very much. The only Con I see with it is the LINK Light never stop blinking, It's very distracting. GOOD JOB MOTOROLA
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Outstanding Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: xxmanny88xx
from Pembroke Pines, FL
on 04/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great modem purchased at bestbuy........... Comcast internet is blazzing and lovin it!!! Must have......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

The Best Ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jay979
from San Juan, Puerto Rico
on 04/17/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Improved Speed
What's not so great: Design
This modem's technology greatly improved my internet speed as promised. It's design is a little square but the performance is excellent. I watch lot of streaming movies , TV and radio programming and with no buffering. Excellent modem !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

No change

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Firebat
from IL
on 04/16/2011
  • Top 250 Contributor
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use. New technology.
What's not so great: No change in download or upload speed.
I read the reviews and thought this was a must have. First thing I did was check with cable company to make sure they support DOCSIS 3.0 I was told they did and in fact that is what the recommend. So I bought it. The installlation was super easy. When I clicked on my browser my cable company loaded up for me to add my old MAC modem address. I type it in and was off and running.
First thing I did was a speed test.
Before I was 30 MEG download and 3.2 Upload
After 29 MEG download 3.2 Upload
So yup no change. lol I searched online and found that some companies limit it regardless to what you are paying for. So I am debating if I am going to keep it. On the plus side I have the newest DOCSIS 3.0 Technology. Replaces my old 2.0.
But, dont be upset or surprised if you dont notice huge speed increases like some post.
If you do need a modem to replace a old one or one that isnt working then I highly recommend this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>