Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Model: SB6120
SKU: 9246693
UPC: 612572169292
This SURFboard cable modem uses DOCSIS 3.0 standard technology to ensure blazing speed that lets you surf the Web and view pages quickly as well as download video, music and images with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(261 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 261 reviews
5 stars
215
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
14
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
240 out of 261
)
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

it ok

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: reba70
from jacksonville fl
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: it woker
What's not so great: it go out sometime
what we use it for it work we are a very small place but i do get the job done
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Easily expanded
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Improved Down speeds greatly

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fishdogdiver
from Phoenix
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: improved mb/sec
What's not so great: little pricey
Improved my download speeds from 20-30 mb/s to 90-100 mb/s+ on my desktop and doubled my laptop speeds to 20-26.
Hooked it up, called ISP for their registration of new modem from docsis 2 to 3.0 and that is it. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Good product but had to call comcast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nallohm
from montgomery, il
on 01/29/2011
  • Top 100 Contributor
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast
What's not so great: Not so easy install
Great modem but you have to activate it with comcast tech support for it to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Took two calls to COMCAST to get modem online

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bruce33315
from 33315
on 12/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, easy to access via browser
What's not so great: N/A
The modem worked fine. The Best Buy purchase was fast, easy and store had the modem in stock for fast pickup.
Comcast registration of the new modem took two calls over 5 hours time to get the modem online. Once through Comcast voice prompts and connected 2nd time to good tech, modem was up within 5 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Incredible performance gain

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: veritas84
from Hamtramck, MI
on 11/18/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Nothing so far
My old Linksys wcg200 gateway (don't get one) suddenly died and since I run a business I went out that day to get something new. Having a had a bad experience with gateways I opted for an N-router and this Docsis 3.0 modem. I'm on Comcast's standard performance service and with my gateway I was getting around 6.8-7 mbs using an internet speed test. Installing the SURFboard was a simple call to comcast and even over my new router I'm actually averaging 19-24 mbs using the same internet speed tests. I was and am absolutely floored at how much performance I gained just through upgrading equipment. I read reviews that said they went from 6 up to 9 but in my case it tripled the speed. While this probably doesn't happen all the time, it does speak to a good product. Here's to a the rarity of a great product that exceeds expectations!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Excellent modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JKBDC
from Tennessee
on 09/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super easy to install, does a great job
I did much research on modems, this one came highly recommended. The ratings were deserved, as this is a great unit, easy to use and streamlined perfectly with my router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Much happier than with Clear!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: iHateClearwire
from Modesto
on 08/23/2010
What's great about it: Speed and ease of setup
What's not so great: Nothing bad at all yet, hoping for years of service!
Switched from 3g Clearwire(Complete garbage) to 4g(Almost as bad as 3g) Clear to this. This with Comcast 1.5Mbps service is nothing short of awesome. I am consistently getting 1.2-2.5 speeds no matter what time of the day. I use this modem with Dlink switch/router combo, then to Netgear powerline network adapters and it works PERFECTLY. 5 computers total, 2 through powerline adapters and no speed issues at all.
Clearwire was never reliable and nothing but excuses and speeds as low as .01 mbps constantly, plus maintenance everyday possible from 12am to 5am, exactly when I need service.
Network stuff from Dlink and Netgear is all plug and play without any issues. The modem so far, nothing short of fantastic and no issues setting it up. Comcast was done within 2 hours installing new cable, getting modem up and running was no issue, and enjoying my new ISP service like never before with Motorola SB6120!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

NO CHANGE IN SPEED NOTICED YET

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ron111
from San Diego
on 05/27/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: N/A
What's not so great: NO DOCSIS 3.0 PERFORMANCE INCREASE NOTICED YET
I UPGRADED MY MODEM FROM A MOTOROLA SB5120 DOCSIS 2.0 TO THE SB6120 WITH DOCSIS 3.0. I'M IN A COX SAN DIEGO AREA THAT HAS SUPPOSEDLY BEEN UPGRADED TO 3.0, YET WHEN I DID A SPEED TEST, THE DOWNLOAD SPEED IS THE SAME AS THE OLDER MODEM (ABOUT 25 Mbps). THERE HAS BEEN A INCREASE IN THE UPLOAD SPEED (TO 6Mbps) WITH THE NEW MODEM BUT THAT'S IT FOR NOW.
IT SEEMS THAT DOWNLOAD SPEEDS DEPEND ON WHAT TIME OF DAY THE TEST IS RUN BUT THAT'S A CABLE SERVICE ISSUE, NOT MOTOROLA ISSUE. SLOWER SPEEDS OF ABOUT 15Mbps IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY WITH FASTER SPEEDS IN THE LATE NIGHT HOURS. THESE SPEED CHANGES ARE NOT NOTICEABLE DURING NORMAL WEB USAGE HOWEVER.
I CONNECTED THE MODEM DIRECTLY TO THE COMPUTER WITH NO ROUTER IN BETWEEN. IT DOES SHOW THE NETWORK CONNECTION AS Gbps WITH A BLUE ACTIVITY LIGHT. WHEN I CONNECT THE MODEM TO THE WIRELESS N 300 ROUTER, THE NET STATUS CHANGES TO Mbps WITH A ORANGE ACTIVITY LIGHT.
THERE IS NO USB CONNECTION BUT I THINK THAT'S BECAUSE ETHERNET MAY BE FASTER BUT THE OLDER MODEM HAD BOTH. I DIDN'T USE USB ANYWAY IN PREVIOUS YEARS.
AT LEAST I'M FUTURE PROOF IN THE EVENT THERE IS A CHANGE IN THE SERVICE THAT ALLOWS THE 3.0 MODEM TO REALLY SHOW ITS STUFF. I'LL PROBABLY KEEP THIS MODEM FOR THE NEXT 10 YEARS UNLESS I DISCONTINUE SERVICE DUE TO EVER-RISING CABLE PRICES.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-27points
3out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Very Good unit so far

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bbster
from Williamsburg, VA
on 03/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Strong signal
What's not so great: Long cycle time powering up, price
Just switched over from DSL to Cable and decided to go with latest generation cable router. Now using Surfboard plus Apple Airport Extreme. Takes several minutes to cycle through (making me wonder if it was defective) but once fully cyclued on speed is excellent. Have had a few drop offs over the last week but no way to know if that is cable service or the modem (was not the wireless router).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

WOW!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scrid
from Omaha
on 03/01/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Doubled my speed!
What's not so great: Price could be little better. Would be great on sale.
Check my before and after Speak Easy Speed tests below.
I just did an online order and went to pick mine up locally a 1/2 hour ago.
My old modem Linksys BEFCU10 was suspected of causing disconnects and I could not get the "cable" light to stay on.
I did some speed tests with the old modem before upgrading.
Heres my before and after readings, old modem on left new one on right:
Linksys Chicago down 9.64 up .82 / Motorola Chicago down 25.43 / up 3.65
Linksys Dallas down 9.54 up .82 / Motorola Dallas down 32.58 / up 1.63
Linksys NY down 9.60 up .80 / Motorola NY down 15.54 / up 3.77
Linksys Wash. down 9.60 up .80 / Motorola Wash. down 16.81 / up 4.27
Linksys L.A. down 9.75 up .81 / Motorola L.A. down 13.82 / up 6.54
You be the judge.
I was always a longtime Linksys fan but this Motorola seems to work just so far!
Now I'm torqued I didn't upgrade sooner I missed out on all that speed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Excellent Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Binbiker
from Phoenix, Arizona
on 02/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, as fast as people say it is
I have COX Digital Cable...I recently paid for the Premier monthly service. I was getting about 20 mb download speed according to www.speedtest.net. I now get about 30 mb with this new modem.
I use an online backup service. I have gigs of information to back up. I was getting about 2-3 mb upload and I am now getting 5-6 mb upload speed. I am very happy with this purchase and the technology.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Easy set up, need to deal with ISP

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeLLC
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA
on 02/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install. Supports higher cable download speeds, with further upscaling ready to go.
What's not so great: Having to deal with an ISP to provision a new modem, but that is ISP problem, it should be automatic with connection
Excellent product. Easy to install, works as advertised. Scalable for future internet speed upgrades.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cjaiceman
from Aurora, CO
on 04/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
What's great about it: Simple to setup, reliable, works, gigabit WAN ethernet port
What's not so great: it wasn't free
Ok, I have to start off by saying make sure your cable provider offers DOCSIS 3.0 or will during the expected lifespan of this modem. While it will work in DOCSIS 1.1 and 2.0 modes, it really shines in DOCSIS 3.0 systems.
When I ordered my modem from online it stated that it would be back ordered for 1-2 weeks, but 6 days after placing my order it showed up on my doorstep, so right there we are on a great start. I took it out of the box, removed my old SB5100 and put in the SB6120. I then called Comcast (my cable ISP) and had them change the MAC address on my account. It restarted and I was online, 10 minutes tops on the phone. While I do not live in a DOCSIS 3.0 area yet, they are upgrading my area next month so I will then write a review once its on DOCSIS 3.0 and I can really open the taps to get some speed.
I have had this modem in place for 1 week already and it has been great, no lock-ups or random restarting. Its just solid as a rock, like my old SB5100. I use this modem on the business class 22/5 as the 50/10 is not available to me yet, but when it is I will get that to really test the modem. I have a gigabit firewall hooked up to this modem and its reporting I have a gigabit connection from the modem to my firewall, then gigabit to my network. This means I have a ton of room to grow, so I can't wait till Comcast really explores the options of this modem.
Bottom line: If you need a new modem or are in the market to buy a modem, get this one. Don't bother with an older DOCSIS 2.0 modem, spend the little extra and get this, look at it as an investment in future proofing your setup. The only recommendation to this is make sure your not using a cheap router as they cannot handle the speeds that this thing can deliver. Get at least an 802.11N based router, your old 802.11G or b router will not do it.
I will post a second review when I get DOCSIS 3.0 in my area to give a full picture of what this modem can really do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Lightning Fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gary425
from Forsyth, Il
on 04/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Very Fast
What's not so great: Took about an hour to get connected.
I am a Comcast "Blast" Customer in Central Illinois. I had trouble getting connected. It took my Comcast rep about an hour to get it working. I got the impression that this modem was not yet in Comcast's data base and their normal installation diagnostics not not work. However, my rep was persistant and we got it working. It is lightning fast . I am now getting about 17Mbs vs 12 with my old modem. Once connected it has been rock solid with no dropouts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

TWC? - Hold-off

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Railroad
from Orange, CA
on 04/22/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Speed - when available
What's not so great: See below
If you are with Time Warner Cable, I would suggest holding off on this modem. Had two - returned two.
Signal kept getting dropped, as many as 11 times in one morning (before COMPLETELY giving up on internet connectivity). In a busy home office (or ANY office) that's a lot, especially when powering various peripherals is required. With all due respect to this Moto modem, the issue isn't as much the SB6120's issue as it is TWC. TWC just doesn't seem to want to play well with others it is not familiar with (read: NOT on TWC/Roadrunner's severely outdated compatibility list!). For instance, we would see our connection get dropped, the SB6120 lights still on - apparently in a desperate battle to maintain TWC/Roadrunner connectivity - only to capitulate to TWC's stubbornness. We even did pings/trace routes during the disconnects, showing VERY FAST connections to the 6120, but absolutely nothing beyond the 6120, prior to the 6120's lights blinking off. At times the 6120 would actually regain connection without powering a single thing off and on.
So, probably a great modem, just not with TWC/Roadunner ("Provisioning" - set-up - in Ontario, CA wasn't even sure how to activate this modem, asking us questions on compatibility!). But then, nothing about TWC/Roadrunner, in our opinion, is great or even near good for that matter.
From what we have read, heard and folks we have talked to, TWC/Roadrunner is notorious (abusive?) for dropped signals, especially in areas where they had acquired other Cable providers (Adelphia, in our case). Motorola, on the other hand, from all that I've read and talked to others about, makes fine products.
Bottom line: save your money (and TIME) by staying away from this state-of-the-art modem until TWC is either acquired or joins the ISP 21st century.
FINAL NOTE: Some have posited that these connection issues (drops) may be as a result of the SB6120 attempting to "bond" - seek a faster DOCSIS 3.0 signal (see page capture of 6120 log below).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem
  • Featured

Well Worth The Purchase Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ocean428
from Cape Cod, MA
on 02/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works better than advertised
What's not so great: Nothing
I got tired of paying Comcast's monthly $5 rental fee for a cable modem. I did my research and this Motorola modem looked like just what I needed. After receiving it and prior to installing it, I ran a speed test (www.speedtest.com) to see what this modem would do against the Comcast-supplied modem.
Comcast modem:
Download Speed: 6286 kbps
Upload Speed: 2084 kbps
Motorola SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem:
Download Speed: 10482 kbps
Upload Speed: 3477 kbps
Obviously, the Motorola modem is faster. I've had it for a month now and have had NO issues with it. And, I don't have to pay Comcast $5 per month for a modem. Sweet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+284points
360out of 436found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Speed is King

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 1969paul
from Atlanta, GA
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed, simplicity
What's not so great: Basic box design
It's as fast as it claims. It's not dropped connectivity since I purchased it a month ago (unlike my old one).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Excellent Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Internetdork
from Sterling Heights, MI
on 08/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works Great
What's not so great: A bit pricey but worth the investment
Bought this item because my modem from comcast would not work properly. As soon as I got everything set up my Internet and Xbox live worked TONS better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

So far, so good ...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jvaz
from Tucson, AZ
on 07/06/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, decent price, fast.
What's not so great: The construction seems a bit cheap.
I have been using the same Terayon TJ715x cable modem that I received from Cox Communications when I originally signed up for their cable and High Speed Internet service 11 years ago.
Whilst I am impressed that this modem has continued to work for 11 years, I have definitely been experiencing some severe performance issues as of late. For example, a 2-minute long YouTube video needing to buffer for 5-10 minutes prior to watching.
I finally had a Cox tech come out to my house a couple of weeks ago to rule out any service-related problems. According to the tech, my signals were low (which he took care of), but he said that I would still benefit from a new modem (I already conceded to this fact before he ever showed up).
I was fed up enough with feeling like I was accessing the internet through a DSL connection at cable company prices, that I finally broke down and purchased this modem. I should have broke down awhile ago, because there is a night-and-day difference between my connections now.
My average speed with the Terayon modem at 4:00 in the morning was right around 1Mbps. My average speed with the Motorola SURFBoard SB6120 at 3:00 in the afternoon is right around 28Mbps. I'm finally getting the speeds that I have been paying for.
Installation and activation was a breeze -- it took longer for me to get through Cox' automated phone prompts and wait-time then it took to install the modem and get it activated on / linked to my account.
P.S. I have read some reviews about this modem and its use with Windows 7 (supposedly they don't work well together). In fact, the box for this modem excludes Windows 7 as a compatible OS. No worries ... I have Windows 7 Ultimate installed and didn't have any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard eXtreme Broadband Cable Modem

Excellent replacement modem!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jmjt1234
from Sterling Heights, MI
on 07/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: not having to pay the $7.00 monthly rental fee, reliability, ease of use
What's not so great: none so far
This modem works excellent. I recently purchased this modem because of the $7.00 comcast cable modem rental fee. This was a great buy. The speed of the modem is generally the same as the Comcast modem. I use Windows 7, and it is compatible with it. The only thing is that you will probably need to call Comcast to be able to connect to the internet, for first time installation. I am very pleased with this product, and I no longer have to pay the cable company the $7.00 monthly rental charge for the modem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>