Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Model: GCS24U
SKU: 9246997
UPC: 881317503305
This 4-port KVM switch lets you control up to 4 computers with a single monitor, mouse and keyboard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
29 out of 31
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black
Review 1 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Computer Connection

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DeeJay
on 08/21/2015
This has worked great for connecting the computers
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3476894777
My Best Buy number: 3476894777
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Very Handy to have

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: motat
on 08/05/2015
I have multiple computers that I need to switch back and forth too. This device is very simple to connect and it just works.... I am in school and have a server and workstation that I have connected with this and it makes it so much easier to switch between them when working on homework,
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0113225789
My Best Buy number: 0113225789
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Great item

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pineddda
on 04/17/2015
Great item worked well for. What i need it. For. Recommend to everyone
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3764579843
My Best Buy number: 3764579843
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Works fine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: alphnasx
from Arcadia
on 03/18/2015
Got the KVM Switch to connect 2 desktop computers with 1 monitor. Everything works good so far. Only had the item for 2 months
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0563272968
My Best Buy number: 0563272968
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Does what it says, making it easy to control 4 pcs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: goodwill
on 03/11/2015
Enter this handy little switch to allow us to share the keyboard, video, and monitor among up to 4 desktop and/or laptops. Setup was very easy, with the most challenging task being crawling under the desk to thread wires. Once everything was hooked up, I was easily able to switch between the XP and the Windows Seven rig.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3453148237
My Best Buy number: 3453148237
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Flawless Operation, Easy Setup

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CLBF
on 03/10/2015
My only complaint is that there is only one button to toggle through all 4 connections. However, you can't beat the price for the functionality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2793793831
My Best Buy number: 2793793831
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Good Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DAAB
on 02/13/2015
I have 3 computers I switch between and this does the job nicely
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0038680854
My Best Buy number: 0038680854
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MMike
on 02/06/2015
I'm using this on three computers, one running Windows 7, one Fedora 15 and one Windows Server 2008 r2. It's well designed and organized, all the cables for each computer are kept together so it's easy and not confusing to connect.
The only glitch I've discovered so far was it has to be set to the Fedora machine when I boot it up or it doesn't want to work on it. Other than that I can, and have, switched between machines with little trouble. There is a slight delay switching between machines.
It's cheaper than running multiple monitors, keyboards and mice, and less clutter on the desktop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Great quality for a inexpensive KVM

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BMoney85
from Minnesota
on 01/23/2015
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
So far I really like this KVM. Only a few items that I wish were different. One is the button push to change over. It seems like a nice feature, but liked the old scroll lock twice more, and now have to find the button on my desk to switch over. The other is that it doesn't integrate sound like some of the other KVMs. Neither are deal breakers, just some slight annoyances.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0956187350
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Good KVM switch

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tekiee
on 01/10/2015
Needed a KVM to reduce 4 monitors down to 1, this one was perfect. I works well, the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the switch is very light weight plastic, and feel that this will be the first thing to go on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 298058542
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Great Compatibility

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JLEM
from Detroit
on 09/09/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plug and Play. Worked great the first time
What's not so great: Nothing
The IOGEAR kvm worked better than trendnet with multiple devices. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0570872793
My Best Buy number: 0570872793
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Works well, but has issues

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: wrlwnd
from Traingle area, NC
on 08/01/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: does the job
What's not so great: does not provide view of a monitor to any but the system connected
The KVM switch works and does provide the functionality needed however, the system that is not the currently connected system does not get monitor connected data.With my setup, I have a second monitor connected not through the switch and when switching from the one it is connected to ALL the windows stack on the other monitor as if the monitor through the KVM switch is not there and there is only 1 monitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2924682928
My Best Buy number: 2924682928
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Excellent switch for 4 machines

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HenryS
from Scottsdale, AZ
on 05/31/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: cables
I have been using a KVM switch by the same mfg but fitted with PS/2 connectors for several years already and it's a great convenience. I just bought the newest model because I'm upgrading my machines and all will have USB connections for KB and mouse, so I really had to get a new switch. The newer model has all four sets of connections permanently connected to the switch box whereas the old one you could chose to use 2, 3 or 4 sets, so I temporarily tied up two of the sets until I get around to upgrading a 3rd machine. The newer switch also has a small push button switch that toggles you from machine to machine. While it's quick to use, it also seems flimsy and I much prefer the old mechanism where you simply hit the Ctrl key twice to switch to the next PC in sequence. Now I sometimes find myself searching for the tiny KVM switch on my cluttered desk. The new switch simply slows me down when I'm switching back and forth testing programs. With the old mechanism, I was already at the keyboard. I'm also wondering if there will be a shortened life with the new switching switch again because it seems a bit flimsy to me. That aside, it works great, is simple to install and use, and the price has also taken a fall to about 1/3 of what I paid for the PS/2 based KVM switch. So my only complaint really is I'd much prefer to just need the keyboard to switch around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Great concept, just not quite there yet

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: french44
from Effingham, IL
on 04/17/2014
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: small form factor
What's not so great: not consistent, hard to tell which device you're connected two
The first thing I noticed was the size. Great form to hide between my desk and the wall keeping my desk clean of clutter. After using it for a few days I had a few issues with new computers booting up while connected to it. If I were to just remove the VGA connection and go directly from the PC to the monitor it would boot up. Keyboard and mouse would continue to work thru the KVM. Kind of weird but still playing with it. My main gripe with the KVM is with the little button that you use to switch between devices; at first I thought it was an awesome idea but now I'm not liking it. I find it very difficult to determine which device I'm viewing. The point of the button is to allow you to hide all the cables, but the lights are on the main base. And when you have the issues I'm having with boot up issues then you find yourself constantly pressing the button to find the computer. I really like the concept, just wish it worked better. I'll recommend it and keep using it until I find a better option. Just note that it could be better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0541069283
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Overall five stars!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: be17
from Norman, OK
on 02/09/2014
What's great about it: Easy to install and has FOUR ports!
What's not so great: The clicker to change screens
The only thing I can say to make it better would be to have a keyboard toggle to switch screens but is a minor inconvenience the way it is to shuffle through all to get back to one. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0532028794
My Best Buy number: 0532028794
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Does the Job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BWeb01
from Blue Springs MO
on 01/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Ease of use and set up
What's not so great: Slow to recognize Mouse and Keyboard after switching
Hooked up personal computer and Laptop docking station. Quick and easy set-up. No issues so far. Delay after switching between machines of Wireless Keyboard and mouse. Video switches instantly
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1004717864
My Best Buy number: 1004717864
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Helps me jump between work & home pc's

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rolltide94
from Denver, co
on 01/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: easy set up
Makes it much easier to access multi pc's at home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2790347891
My Best Buy number: 2790347891
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Good easy to install and working great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SamuSriK
from Pleasanton
on 12/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: can mix with windows and linux boxes
What's not so great: Need to restart all the machines once to work perfectly
Very good product as compatible with both windows and linux boxes at the same time. Easy to install and changing switch is a great design.
To start working with all machines, need to restart them once.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0578920519
My Best Buy number: 0578920519
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

good product for money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jeaadam
from Indianapolis, IN
on 03/23/2013
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
Easy to set up, good price. Does everything it is supposed to
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch - Black

Works But...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Silhyboy
from Belvidere,IL
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Product works as advertised. It does what it says it does.
In the future, I will look for a KVM switch that doesn't have only a push button to select the different computers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>