Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Model: GCS24U
SKU: 9246997
UPC: 881317503305
This 4-port KVM switch lets you control up to 4 computers with a single monitor, mouse and keyboard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 20
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch
Review 1 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Works well, but has issues

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: wrlwnd
from Traingle area, NC
on 08/01/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: does the job
What's not so great: does not provide view of a monitor to any but the system connected
The KVM switch works and does provide the functionality needed however, the system that is not the currently connected system does not get monitor connected data.With my setup, I have a second monitor connected not through the switch and when switching from the one it is connected to ALL the windows stack on the other monitor as if the monitor through the KVM switch is not there and there is only 1 monitor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2924682928
My Best Buy number: 2924682928
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Excellent switch for 4 machines

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HenryS
from Scottsdale, AZ
on 05/31/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: cables
I have been using a KVM switch by the same mfg but fitted with PS/2 connectors for several years already and it's a great convenience. I just bought the newest model because I'm upgrading my machines and all will have USB connections for KB and mouse, so I really had to get a new switch. The newer model has all four sets of connections permanently connected to the switch box whereas the old one you could chose to use 2, 3 or 4 sets, so I temporarily tied up two of the sets until I get around to upgrading a 3rd machine. The newer switch also has a small push button switch that toggles you from machine to machine. While it's quick to use, it also seems flimsy and I much prefer the old mechanism where you simply hit the Ctrl key twice to switch to the next PC in sequence. Now I sometimes find myself searching for the tiny KVM switch on my cluttered desk. The new switch simply slows me down when I'm switching back and forth testing programs. With the old mechanism, I was already at the keyboard. I'm also wondering if there will be a shortened life with the new switching switch again because it seems a bit flimsy to me. That aside, it works great, is simple to install and use, and the price has also taken a fall to about 1/3 of what I paid for the PS/2 based KVM switch. So my only complaint really is I'd much prefer to just need the keyboard to switch around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Great concept, just not quite there yet

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: french44
from Effingham, IL
on 04/17/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: small form factor
What's not so great: not consistent, hard to tell which device you're connected two
The first thing I noticed was the size. Great form to hide between my desk and the wall keeping my desk clean of clutter. After using it for a few days I had a few issues with new computers booting up while connected to it. If I were to just remove the VGA connection and go directly from the PC to the monitor it would boot up. Keyboard and mouse would continue to work thru the KVM. Kind of weird but still playing with it. My main gripe with the KVM is with the little button that you use to switch between devices; at first I thought it was an awesome idea but now I'm not liking it. I find it very difficult to determine which device I'm viewing. The point of the button is to allow you to hide all the cables, but the lights are on the main base. And when you have the issues I'm having with boot up issues then you find yourself constantly pressing the button to find the computer. I really like the concept, just wish it worked better. I'll recommend it and keep using it until I find a better option. Just note that it could be better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0541069283
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Overall five stars!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: be17
from Norman, OK
on 02/09/2014
What's great about it: Easy to install and has FOUR ports!
What's not so great: The clicker to change screens
The only thing I can say to make it better would be to have a keyboard toggle to switch screens but is a minor inconvenience the way it is to shuffle through all to get back to one. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0532028794
My Best Buy number: 0532028794
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Does the Job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BWeb01
from Blue Springs MO
on 01/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Ease of use and set up
What's not so great: Slow to recognize Mouse and Keyboard after switching
Hooked up personal computer and Laptop docking station. Quick and easy set-up. No issues so far. Delay after switching between machines of Wireless Keyboard and mouse. Video switches instantly
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1004717864
My Best Buy number: 1004717864
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Helps me jump between work & home pc's

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rolltide94
from Denver, co
on 01/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: easy set up
Makes it much easier to access multi pc's at home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2790347891
My Best Buy number: 2790347891
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Good easy to install and working great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SamuSriK
from Pleasanton
on 12/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: can mix with windows and linux boxes
What's not so great: Need to restart all the machines once to work perfectly
Very good product as compatible with both windows and linux boxes at the same time. Easy to install and changing switch is a great design.
To start working with all machines, need to restart them once.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0578920519
My Best Buy number: 0578920519
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

good product for money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jeaadam
from Indianapolis, IN
on 03/23/2013
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
Easy to set up, good price. Does everything it is supposed to
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Works But...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Silhyboy
from Belvidere,IL
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Product works as advertised. It does what it says it does.
In the future, I will look for a KVM switch that doesn't have only a push button to select the different computers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: proachman
from reno
on 12/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy set up, fast switching
Plug and play at its finest. Does everything it is supposed to
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Works pretty well.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: FrugalYankee1
from New Haven, CT
on 10/18/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
I use it to connect 2 laptops and get them off the desk and out of the way. It was quick and easy to plug in but I find that the monitor doesn't always kick in fast enough. I have to cycle through the 4 ports a few times and snap the laptop cover shut a couple times. Also, since I only have 2 hook ups the remaining 2 KVM cables just take up space. I wish the unused cables could be disconnected but they're hardwired in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Well, it works

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: KDinAV
on 10/06/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Control multiple computers (duh, that's what it should do)
What's not so great: Switching speed and keyboard recognition on Vista
This KVM works, but it's not perfect. I'm only using 3 of 4 ports, but I must cycle through all four ports regardless of the fact one is not in use. Also, the delay sometimes for the USB keyboard/mouse to be recognized again upon changing computers/ports can be quite long some times (like 10 seconds). If your switching to a computer where something like a Skype call is coming in and wan to mouse click the answer button then you can't count on being successful before it goes to voicemail--I found that out. Also, I have a Vista system that just will not recognize the keyboard if I used the KVM, so I had to set up a separate keyboard for that system--kind of defeats the purpose of the KVM there! However, all in all it works as it should.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

good price for a good unit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cmh8133
from Bingetto, NY
on 06/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 90 % of it
What's not so great: no hot-key sequence to swtich machines
Please with everything (this is my 5th IOGear KVM. My nth IOGear item) I like IOGear units. Price is good and for home use the best.
My only con on this item (and it is my own fault) it only switches with a button no hot-key. that will make it a bit less useful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

maximum functionality for minimum price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SmallBusinessUser
from Kalamazoo, MI
on 05/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: easy set up, great price
What's not so great: some characters sent to screen occasionally repeated
I was looking for an inexpensive KVM that works and found it in this device. Works flawlessly on my windows XP machines. Occasionally repeats characters sent to my server with SBS2003 installed. Not sure what the problem is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

KVM works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JThom36
from Auburndale, FL
on 02/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install and easy to use
The KVM was easy to install and easy to use and all at a good price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

IOGEAR 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dayo888
from Eugene, Oregon
on 02/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
KVM 4 ports will be great if it can toggle using keyboard too like the 2 ports KVM.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Good KVM switch

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Davislanmr
from Tampa, FL
on 02/02/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy Setup and Operation
What's not so great: Causing issues if you use more than one Monitor
I was hoping to use this with several Computers and using 2nd Ports on Dedicated monitors and in this setup Only my Macbook Pro switched properly Widows tried to reconfigure the desktop each time I switched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Great combo computer setup!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Johno7
from Colorado
on 01/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plugged right in, works with my wireless USB key w/ mouse and keyboard
Is great for setting up one good egronomic station
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Elizabethtown, Ky
on 01/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, and heavy cables
What's not so great: N/A
Have the KVM switch hooked up to 3 computers, running XP, WIN7, and Server2008. Very easy setup, just plug and play. I have a standardi usb mouse and keyboard hooked up to it, and a 23" wide screen LCD running at the highest resolution (1680 x 1050).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for IOGEAR - 4-Port USB KVM Switch

IOMEGA IS THE MOST CONVENIENT AND ECONOMICAL

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JM830
from CP, NY
on 07/19/2009
What's great about it: PLUG AND PLAY
What's not so great: NOTHING EVERYTHING ABOUT IT IS AWESOME
IVE PREVIOUSLY USED OTHER KVM'S SWITCHES AND THIS BY FAR IS THE BEST SWITCH I HAVE EVER USED.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.