Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Model: IT209B
SKU: 9253452
UPC: 047323101250
Dock your iPod in this 3.1-channel speaker system and enjoy powerful sound for your favorite music and videos. This sleek and compact system provides simulated 5.1-channel surround sound with SRS TruSurround XT technology.
Average Customer Rating:
3.622 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 37 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
73% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
27 out of 37
)
Customer Reviews for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock
Review 1 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Great Speaker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thight
from Peculiar, MO
on 03/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and operate, Great sound
What's not so great: Dock for iPod but not for iPhone
This speaker was recommended to me and I purchased it on line. When I received it I was able to hook it up and was using it within 15 minutes. The sound is really good compared to other speakers I have tried.
I like the bar for use with j=my HD TV. It really improves the sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Makes a big difference in tv sound

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FortuneFaye
from san diego
on 03/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sounds full and rich
What's not so great: the tiny screen is impossible to see
I got it to go with my new 46 inch Toshiba lcd tv and blue ray dvd player. It was a bit complicated getting it to work especially since the tuiny lcd screen is totally unviewable once it was on the wall.
My cat jumped up on it asnd knocked it off first thing but it survived and so did the tv luckily.Make sure its securely on the brackets.
I was afraid the soundbar type speaker was not going to sound much better than the tv but it does and its certainly as lound as i need it for my 10 x 12 studio. It adds needed extra bass and a separate woofer can be plugged in later also. It's rather longer and heavier than i expected.
I use it with my laotop that i connect with the large screen as well as dvd and tv. As yet i havent listened to its radio. I like that i can also plug in portable mp3 player.
I recommend for a low key improvement for tv and movie use. Glad i got it. Better price than some of the others with worse ratings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Love this speaker system!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jdv1978
from Duncannon, PA
on 03/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: simple design without having wires all over the room to connect a bunch of small speakers.
I wanted a sound bar surround sound system because I don't like the idea of having a bunch of wires around to have small speakers set throughout the room. While shopping for them, this one was almost half the price of any other, had the added feature of being able to connect to my ipod and sounds great! My parents saw it hooked up and went out and bought the same one the next day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Don't waste time!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pako671
from Porter Ranch, CA
on 02/19/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Don't waste your time on this. I'm returning it tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Piece of Junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: wjchop
from Wichita, KS
on 02/15/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Out of the 2 I had the 3 times it work it was great
What's not so great: Went through 2 in less than 45 days, one worked twice the other only once
If you have a lot of extra time to hook up and unhook this product to return it to best buy than it might be for you. I exchanged 2 within 45 days and decided it's probably not a luck of the draw thing, it is just a poor product and got my money back. I bought this for my wife for Christmas so I looked extra bad when it didnt work. The first one we had worked correctly twice, and it was pretty sweet sounding, then the ipod dock would eject after several times hitting the reset button as instructed with no results I packed it back up and took it back. I got the 2nd one home and unpacked it reinstalled got it all hooked up, and used it successfully once, then for some reason it would no longer acknowledge the ipod when it was on the dock and would freeze up. After going through the same processes it didn't fix it, so decided to return and get my money back. If you are going to forego all the negitive reviews on here like I did because I was stupid, please do yourself a favor and get the extended protection, that was the only smart thing I did besides getting my money back!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

dont bother save your $$

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: dbay
from New Hampshire
on 02/15/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Appearance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing great about it
What's not so great: cheap crappola
It sounds tinny ...cheap bass speaker ... reset,reset,rest .....blah ..it's a piece of crappola indeed, take my word for it .... and the others reviews attest to this fact. You need Super Vision to see the controls on the remote... the ipod tray will eventually open if you keep trying...lol Save your money and get a decent sound system, this one suks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

sound bar

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gmoney21
from oroville, ca
on 02/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: it looks nice and does the job. the ipod feature rocks especially with the remote control. It operates the ipod.
What's not so great: the power is quite small. not very loud.
i was looking for something inexpensive to boost the sound of my vizio 55" lcd. this worked, sorta. it does make the sound better, however, it doesnt get as loud as say a full home theatre system. ive heard other sound bars and they were very powerful. this one seems to only "do the job", nothing more. if youre expecting greatness, then keep shopping. if your expecting something cheap to suffice, this is for you. it will probably end up in the kids room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Definitely met expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brian4141
from Wantagh, NY
on 01/31/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple to set up, better sound quality than I expected, iPod dock, external subwoofer input
What's not so great: No optical or HDMI input
I am very pleased with the iLive 3.1! I made a list of pros and cons about the product after using it for about a month now:
Pros:
- Much louder and better sound than I expected.
- Works very well when used in conjunction with a powered sub. I have a Sony 12" Sub that outputs 150w, so that's probably a bit more than needed, but it really enhances the sound when used.
- Very simple set up.
Cons:
- No optical or HDMI iinput
- Mounting equipment isn't very good. Unless you have a newer construction home or know where your support beams are, I'd recommend going out and getting 2 sets of toggle bolts and not using the anchor screws provided. It did not hold the weight of the speaker when we mounted it.
- Read product description. The bar is pretty deep (I'd say close to 6 inches) so it's not particularly thin. But it still keeps a nice appearance whether mounted or placed directly in front of the television.
**If placed in front of your tv or on a tv stand, it may block the IR sensor from your remote. Just keep that in mind if you decide to place it there.**
Overall, I'm very pleased with the product. You can't purchase expecting 5.1 sound but in my opinion, the sound quality is fantastic given the price. It's perfect for a small to medium sized room and for someone looking to simplify their home theatre needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Not very good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: GreggC
from Camarillo, CA
on 01/22/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Looked really nice on my TV stand
What's not so great: The sound wasn't very good, the speakers on my TV sounded better. Even Blu Ray couldn't help.
The sound was very tinny on regular TV. On a Blu Ray Concert (Rush R30) and Blu Ray Movie (300) it didn't sound much better. My previous stereo was a 7 year-old Phillips Stereo and it sounded GREAT compared to this.
It sounded "okay" with the Ipod, but not any better than the Ipod boombox we have.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Worst Bar ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Joe26
from Massachusetts
on 01/18/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The looks
What's not so great: performance
every time I turn the Bar off I had to ether reset it or unplug it to get it to turn back on. other then that the sound quality was great. But it was a hassle all that I have to do to get it to work every time I wanted to use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Very functional and reliable!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Joe78
from Santa Clarita, CA
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The price was reasonable when compared to others I looked at!
What's not so great: Slightly difficult to connect to an HDTV
I really like it! It worked perfectly! But, I bought it for a HDTV-to increase the volume. Thank goodness I brought the TV technical manual down to the store with me before I purchased it!! Even with that, I took a chance that the speaker bar would be compatable when I got it home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

pretty good speaker and great Ipod dock

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tommybee09
from orangecity,fl
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great price and very easy set up!!
What's not so great: needs more bass thump!!,Radio reception needs to be better
Good speaker,needs more bass and better radio reception
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

like it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: busteddown
from houston tx
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it charge my ipod
What's not so great: the bass is not that good
i got this ilive for my ipod i already had a theater system what i did was i took the subwoofer and hook it up to the ilive and it sound great watching a movie it sound great to on my 42in tv
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Extremely Happy with the ILive Speaker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Plainview, NY
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is a Speaker for our TV, DVD and a great IPOD dock
What's not so great: Need of 2 remotes
It is a Speaker for our TV, DVD and a great IPOD dock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Fair for TV speaker usage

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Annie68164
from Iowa
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Sleek, handy to have multiple speakers in one unit, doesn't take up alot of space
What's not so great: too much bass distorts, poor instructions
We bought this to add more volume to our new HD LCD TV and it does the job. My only complaint is that you can only use 2 of the equalizer settings when the volume is turned up. The other ones have enough bass to cause it to distort and vibrate even when it's not very loud. We were watching Lord of the Rings and had to volume cranked up abit but not overly so. I could only use the lower bass settings. It sounded really good anyway, just if you want alot of quality bass you aren't going to get it with this. Also if you want your movie REALLY loud, this unit vibrates and seems like it's going to explode. Overall I'm happy with the purchase for what we could afford but if you don't HAVE to go cheap check out some of the higher end ones. They had one for about $500 that sounded EXCELLENT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Good sound without the fuss.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bmt6505
from Old Bridge,NJ
on 01/06/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good value for $119.00 (on sale) (only buy if on sale)
What's not so great: The IPOD dock is somewhat disfuctional. Low budget remote
For $119.00 it rocks, as it gives you way more sound and power than the tv itself. The ipod dock is ok for setting it on shuffle or a playlist,but the remote is limited.Wich is frustrating compared to a BOSE dock. Best bet is to use it for dvd watching.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Very Happy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lorri1005
from Watseka, IL
on 01/05/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sounds like a much more expensive system
What's not so great: My daughter blows me out of the house with the loudness
My daughter thinks its the best solution for her small room in a small house..The sound is very crisp
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Decent enough sound for small setup

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: acwynner
from Santa Cruz CA
on 01/05/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Small space required, easy setup, works with iPod
What's not so great: Sound rattles at high volume; iPod dock doesn't work well with remote.
Bought this to avoid having to set up a full surround sound system in a small room. It fits right in front of the flat-screen TV (32-inch Sony) and set up very easily. The two things I don't like about it:
(1) The remote doesn't control the iPod very well. It never work with the dock moving in and out.
(2) The remote sensor range is very narrow, so you have to aim the remote directly at the right side of the speaker. I have a Logitech Harmony remote that I programmed to work with this speaker and it also needs to be within 3 feet of the sensor to work. So the problem is the sensor, not the remotes.
I read the other reviews, so I knew this was an inexpensive, limited solution to getting better sound than the TV itself, and I'm OK with what I got.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Fell Way Short

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MMM225
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 01/04/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Poort Quality.
Good price. Easy to set up. But flimsy ipod dock and the tray stopped sliding open and closed at all within a week. Also if not activated and ejected in a certain order, kills the ipod and it has to be reset.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iLive 3.1-Channel Speaker System with Apple® iPod® Dock

Not too good

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: miketok
from Milwaukee, Wi
on 12/17/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: All in one CD, DVD, IPOD, Stereo
What's not so great: Sound, reliability
Purchased an ilive, unpacked it and set it up. I listened to CD's for a couple of hours but when I touched it to turn down the volume there was a popping sound and I lost all bass sound and none of the controls worked. I pressed reset to get the buttons working, but the bass stayed gone. So today I returned it to the store.
The unit sounded ok, but one thing that bothered me before even purchasing it was that it only has a 90 day warauntee on it, while most if not all of the other name brands have a 1 year warauntee. So maybe an extended warauntee is something that needs to be seriously considered.
Also, I thought the instructions were not very clear on where to plug the wires into the ilive and where to plug them into the TV. I basically took a guess, and it turned out right.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>