Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Him

Customer Reviews for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Model: ED5FVGXWS
SKU: 9278961
UPC: 883049160672
Easily organize your groceries in this 25.1 cu. ft. refrigerator that features adjustable SpillGuard shelves, a crisper for keeping fruits and vegetables cool and gallon door bins for storing milk jugs and other large containers. Product specs and dimensions (PDF)
Average Customer Rating:
3.982 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
44 out of 55
)
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
Review 1 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Great Frig

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: momtoni
from Flint, MI
on 05/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is a great refigerator for the price. It holds so many large items in the door alone. We love it.
This product has... Produce enough ice to meet my needs, Lots of door storage, No hard to reach spots, Humidity controlled drawers, Runs quietly
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
My Best Buy number: 0575307498
My Best Buy number: 0575307498
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Good design overall.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: take10
from Auburn Hills MI.
on 05/18/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Wider shelfs on inside of refrigerator door.
What's not so great: Water filter went bad a month after I had the fridge.
Overall I like the Whirlpool refrigerator. The stainless steel front looks great, the quality appears good. The interior is a good design overall. The shelfs on the inside of the refrigerator door are bigger allowing more things to be put on them.
However the bins in the bottom of the fridge are smaller than my last fridge, so can't fit as much in them. I was dissapointed in the short life of the water filter. It only lasted 1 month after I had the fridge installed. Whirlpool would not replace the filter under warranty, which I think they should have. Whirlpool says the filter should be replaced at leat every 6 months, so at least $100 a year to maintain the filter. To much, you judge.
This product has... Produce enough ice to meet my needs, Consistent temperature throughout, Lots of door storage, Multiple temperature zones, Design I love, Humidity controlled drawers, A freezer designed to fit full-size pizza boxes, Runs quietly, better interior lighting
About me... small family, Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Always get the deal, All about design, like alot of storage
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
My Best Buy number: 0215060387
My Best Buy number: 0215060387
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Great value for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Camelboy
from Virginia
on 05/04/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Finish and price
What's not so great: Noisy
I agree with with the other reviewers. This works great but it is very loud and makes extremely loud strange noises. I've thought something in my kitchen has sprung a leak many times only to realize its my possessed fridge. Other than that it works great. The finish is great and the double lights are a nice touch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
My Best Buy number: 2118957542
My Best Buy number: 2118957542
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Great refrigerator for a budget

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mrlongbow
from Mission Viejo, Ca
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: All your needs
What's not so great: Drop off of product
This refrigerator is the essential refrigerator needed for your family. It provides more then enough room for all your food and drinks. I've ha no problem with the refrigerator and it's been working excellent. It provides you with the water and ice machine plus the shelves in the refrigerator are tough and won't break. Only problem I had was some sticky stuff stuck to the refrigerator which was there due to best buy sticking a paper on the refrigerator. Other than that, the refrigerator is great for a small to medium size family.
This product has... Consistent temperature throughout, Lots of door storage, Multiple temperature zones, Design I love, No hard to reach spots, A freezer designed to fit full-size pizza boxes, Produce lasts longer, Runs quietly
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Always get the deal, Parent with kids, Big Family, avid cook, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:18-24
My Best Buy number: 1053664034
My Best Buy number: 1053664034
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

good deal as open box

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Middletownw NY
on 04/21/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good ice maker,
What's not so great: small refrigerator and small freezer
okay for the two of us, but too small for a large family. Is attractive and good energy saver
This product has... Produce enough ice to meet my needs, Lots of door storage, Multiple temperature zones, Runs quietly
About me... small family, Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Casual Cook
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:65+
My Best Buy number: 0039613493
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Read your owners manual for information

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: buybuybuyguy
from chicago metro area
on 03/11/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good value for the price
I read several reviews, unlike most people, I didn't take all of the negative reviews seriously. For example, the refrigerator does have adjustable feet, if read the owners manual it is real easy to do. Remove cover on front of frig and use a socket wrench to raise or lower feet which are the rollers. If it had levelers, you couldn't move it with ease. The water filter is located in the lower left hand side of frig. If it was any easier to change the water filter, it would have to change itself. As far as the icemaker, come on, how much noise is too loud. I have had icemakers in my refrigerators for the last 30 years. This unit is not any louder when it fills or when it dumps. I guess sound travels father an louder in a double wide.
This product has... Compact ice maker, An easy to change water filter, Produce enough ice to meet my needs, No hard to reach spots, Humidity controlled drawers, A freezer designed to fit full-size pizza boxes, Consistent temperature throughout, Lots of door storage, Multiple temperature zones, Runs quietly, lots of light inside
About me... Always get the deal
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Well priced, well featured refrigerator

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tmness
from Hudson,FL
on 02/23/2013
What's great about it: Good price and excellent space and versatiltiy.
What's not so great: The set up is difficult to impossible.
The refrigerator does not have feet that can be dropped to stabilize and level the unit. We had to improvise a means to stabilize the unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Great product Whirlpool as never failed me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pumpkinhead67
from Quincy, MA
on 02/08/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Well built solid unit
Great product worth the money, even better when on sale
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Just a nice looking and quality product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Splasi
from Houston, TX
on 02/08/2013
What's great about it: Great Price, and very attractive, has nice features
What's not so great: stainless steel finish shows finger marks etc
Very attractive refrigerator which also has some neat futures. I purchased it on sale and the price was excellent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Not the best refrigerator for the price!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: cms71
from Inman, S.C.
on 01/26/2013
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: makes a lot of noise. There is always some kind of noise coming from it.
First off best buy gave us a bad deal. Second, this refrigerator makes a lot of noise. When the ice drops and also when the tray fills up. There is also the sound of water gurgling at times. If I had the choice again, this would not be the refrigerator for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Fantastic Deal...Very Good Performance!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RonPJD
from Salisbury, MD
on 11/25/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Looks, space, filter
What's not so great: Crushed ice is not easy to guide into glass
We were hemming about replacing the "builder grade" fridge (5 yrs old) and I was in BB for something else. As I was leaving, there was an area with floor models...several refrigerators, stoves, dishwashers, etc. I looked at this one and was impressed with the look, the water filter and the amount of space. It was orig $1199, but it was marked $549, and I got it for $499, WITH delivery & setup!!! It had a very small ding, but that was all we could see!
After 2 months, we are still very happy with it. We are also glad it was Energy-Star compliant, since we just converted our home to solar!
This product has... Design I love, An easy to change water filter, No hard to reach spots, Lots of door storage, Tall water dispenser, Runs quietly
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Always get the deal, All about design, small family
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:55-64
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Poor quality. Poorer longevity!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: evap
from northport,ny
on 11/22/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing!
What's not so great: Life expectancy, shelves.
I bought this refrigerator about a year and a half ago. I was really surprise when one shelf was cracked, both plastic and glass before a year was up. Then a second shelf cracked. Now the generator went and will cost 650. to fix. Whirlpool says tough luck-- buy a new one!
What kind of company is this?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

GREAT FRIDGE FOR A FAMILY OF 5

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tech20
from michigan
on 11/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good amount of storage, keeps food at proper temp ,large ice storage,water filter,quiet operation,
What's not so great: ice despencer is a little loud, water poors a little slow
Other than the noise of the ice maker while filling the glass and water not coming out like a normal facuet would, this seems to be a very nice fridge so far. To be honest ive never had a fridge with ice/water so this may be the norm for these items ive mentioned above. I spent allot of time reviewing all makes and models but this seemed to show good quality at a fair price. my wife likes the room for gallon storage for milk and oj, 4 gallon jugs easily, plenty of room for a family of 5. AND we have saved allot on botteled water we use to buy before having this fridge with a water filt system built in. Also the owners manual does a good job explaining how to hook the water lines to the fridge to every thing else.
This product has... Design I love, An easy to change water filter, Produce enough ice to meet my needs, No hard to reach spots, Humidity controlled drawers, A freezer designed to fit full-size pizza boxes, Consistent temperature throughout, Produce lasts longer, Lots of door storage, Tall water dispenser, Runs quietly
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Big Family
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Works as expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jcincy29
from Cincinnati, OH
on 10/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Meets all the basic needs
What's not so great: Stainless steel scratches easily
I was looking for a good value and didn't want to pay over a $1000. I found this model with an open box discount and after a month, I'm happy with the purchase. The delivery team was quick/professional and the refridgerator was producing ice within just a couple hours after plugging it in. The doors feel solid and so far everything has worked exactly as advertised. When dumping ice into the storage bin it's a little loud, but oherwise the compressor is very quite and cools quickly. Just make sure not to put any magnets on the stainless steel as it scratches easily. I'd buy this same unit again...it was a great value.
This product has... An easy to change water filter, Produce enough ice to meet my needs, No hard to reach spots, Humidity controlled drawers, Consistent temperature throughout, Lots of door storage, Tall water dispenser, Multiple temperature zones, Runs quietly
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Always get the deal, Casual Cook, Like to entertain, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Dead in only 34 months

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: EPMorrie
from San Jose, CA
on 10/16/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Plenty of space even with ice and water
What's not so great: It died last week after 2 yrs and 10 mths.
This refrigerator was purchased as part of a kitchen renovation along with a Whirpool dishwasher, range, and over-the-range microwave. The refrigerator died last week after only 34 months. I would NOT recommend buying Whirpool products.
This product has... No hard to reach spots, Lots of door storage, poor quality, defective parts
About me... Casual Cook, small family
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

utter waste of money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: elr1913
from east coast
on 10/08/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: leaks, leaks, leaks, leaks, leaks
purchased this refrigerator in 1/12 and did not have any issues for 7 months or so. about 2 months ago, the refrigerator started leaking. i have been unable to stop it from leaking and now must deal w/whirlpool, in order to see if they can service it or replace it. after 7 months or so, i should not have an issue w/leakage...
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual Cook
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Works well, lots of space

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Paolog333
from Orlando, FL
on 08/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots of space, fast ice maker
What's not so great: Small cold water tank, makes a lot of noise
I knew this was a very basic fridge prior to purchase. It does the job, looks nice, and has tons of space. It's very well designed. My only two hang-ups are, you get less than ONE glass of cold water from the dispenser. After a short burst of cold water, the rest is lukewarm. Not a huge deal, but it would be nice to get at least one glass of cold water. Secondly, you can often hear water running/dripping. Upon investigation, there is a drip pan at the bottom, and probably about once every two days, a bunch of water comes gushing out into the pan. It hasn't over filled (at least not yet), but I thought that was kind of odd. Not sure where the water comes from, if it's condensate or whatever... It's summer in Florida, so I suppose it could just be condensation... but it seems to evaporate before it ever over-flows. So no issues yet. Other than that, the motor is quiet, ice is always filled quickly, and like I said earlier, tons of space. Definitely happy with it so far, for the price. I also added a 3 year warranty through Square Trade, for only $70 bucks, which covers complete parts and labor, no questions asked. that was a no-brainer!
This product has... An easy to change water filter, A quiet design, No hard to reach spots, Lots of door storage
About me... Looking for energy savings, Love to cook, Practical shopper
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: oldguyfred
from dayton ohio
on 08/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: features for price
What's not so great: packaging of unit by manufacturer
The unit has stainless steel doors with black case.This helps keep down overall cost of product as stainless steel is expensive.Electrical usage is lower than most others in this price range. Shatterproof pullout shelves are good feature as is the in door water and ice dispenser.Newer models locate ice maker in door . Freezer space would have been greater if this model had that feature. Unit could have included one additional door shelf and one additional slide out shelf in the refrigerator section.Extra shelves are $34 and $90 if one were to purchase them .Big negative is packaging. Whirpool places units in shrink wrap instead of cardboard packaging.We received three units with fork lift damage before local warehouse obtained one undamaged unit. Appliances are handled many times from manufacturer to local home delivery allowing plenty of opportunity for damage and no way to determine who is at fault
This product has... An easy to change water filter, A quiet design, No hard to reach spots, good value for the money
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Practical shopper
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

the look of product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: schuz
from watertown,wi.
on 08/08/2012
What's great about it: everthing
What's not so great: na
love the reg. and the stainless steel and easy to clean.
This product has... Design I love, A convenient ice maker location, An easy to change water filter, A quiet design, No hard to reach spots, Multiple temperature zones
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Love to cook, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Whirlpool - 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

bad

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BeniD
from Chapel Hill
on 06/29/2012
Do not buy any Wirllpool Refrigerator. it is very bad. I had one about 6 months ago. the tech came to my house to fix it about 5-6 times. not fix yet. they can not replace new one or give you someone when the refirgerator was fixing. just ask to fix, fix and fix. So you have to call geek and ask the teck come again. wait for another week to look at. we throw a lot of foods. they do not care about. it is very bad service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
7out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>