Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Model: NWZS639FBLK
SKU: 9281699
UPC:
Store your favorite music and movies for quick access on the go on this 16GB* MP3 player. The large 2" LCD screen and 4 built-in Clear Audio technologies allow you to easily reference and enjoy playlists and watch movies in stunning clarity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
14 out of 15
)
Customer Reviews for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black
Review 1 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

BEST AUDIO MP3 PLAYER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Phonecollector
from Seattle
on 02/18/2010
What's great about it: Awesome sound quality; ease of use; excellent earphones; long-lasting battery; etc.
What's not so great: Screen a little small.
There's not much more to say that the other owners haven't said already. Simply, this is the best MP3 player, as far as sound quality goes, that I've ever owned; and I've had Zunes, Ipods, Sansas, Archos, and more. I like this one the best for sound quality and my Archos for features. If you're looking for sound quality, you can't go wrong with this Sony S-series.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

walkman16gbplayer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigdawgfan
from sc
on 10/22/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: anyone can use it
What's not so great: nothing really
At my age, I'm considered "old" and out of the loop of modern electronics, but I know what I like and this product gives me the performance that I expect for the money. It provides the ease of transferring my music onto a device that is very portable and easy to use.The provided earphones compete well with another set purchased and are comfortable.
Operating the player is logical and easy to understand. Finally, you can buy into to the trend and purchase the I-Pod, but you will spend too much for the same or lesser quality.
I can only encourage the industry to recognize that I-Pod is not the only quality product out there and provide better accessories, ie docking stations, for the Sony product. Buy it, you will not be dissappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Excellent value for a excellent player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MadMonQ
from Midwest,USA
on 09/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound Quality, Intuitive UI, Small Size for performace
What's not so great: No accessories, i.e. cases, docks. Can't delete music on the fly like podcast.
When you look a the size(memory) for the money this can't be beat. I own many different players and when I lost my Sony A816 a month ago I was bummed. The sound of a Sony Walkman doesn't compare to what is out there (although Sansa Clips are very close,) it is head and shoulder above anything else.
The sound: With DSEE it takes lower bit rates and boost the hi-freq. to make the track sound like it should like an old Mini-Disc player. Especially when playing them on a Home Stereo. Clear Bass keeps the bass tight and natural sounding. There are two adjustable eq.'s to tailor to your needs as well as six other settings. VPT allows to set the environment you want to listen your music in it works well with some live recordings. These features make this Sony better than the Sansa Clip (which I love as well).
Sony has always done well in providing long battery life times. This player is no exception. Which is one reason I like Sony players.
Video is easy than ever like the A816 you can drag and drop. Though the screen is small the pictures is quite clear and crisp. Like a VCR/DVD you can FF @ 2x-32x speed. Though I don't use it for movies it is nice for small video clips. I uses Content Transfer which is not include with the player but available from Sony for Free and is the easiest way to transfer music,photos, and Video. You can drag and drop with Content Transfer from iTunes and other media players or from your files.
Photos like the video is easy as well there is no converting here. You can make folders unlike the Nano and 5.5 G Video which put all the photos in one file.
Podcast are nice that you can delete them on the fly.
Sense Me is a nice feature but has a tendency to really slow down transfers. The A816 was very fast in transfering music. I found that Sense Me took up 5x as long to transfer music so I turned it off.
FM radio is nice and has great reception but I don't listen to FM that much if at all. I wish they would offer AM as well. (A small complaint)
Playlist are real easy if you know how to organize the files to play in order. Which is easy but you have to got into the player from your computer to make it happen. These comes in handy when playing Audiobooks. You can't do this with Apple products.
Sony has had a history in the past in making players that you had to jump though hoops to use it. This is not the case any more and are easy to use and navigate than Apple products these days.
The A816 only had 4Gb of mem. which wasn't enough. 16 Gb is the right size for people with files with larger bit rates and still have a good amount of music. For a while you could only get a 8 Gb in America in stores if the stocked it; which most didn't. This unit was only available in UK until Best Buy got a hold of them. The Sony units they have offered in the past 1.5 yrs. didn't have Clear Bass, Clear Stereo, DSEE, or VPT. Features I find essential to provide to best sound from a Sony Walkman. Other wise I would recommend a Sansa Clip because without these features there is no difference between a Sony and a Sansa and the Sansa is cheaper. The Sony is better built though.
While Sony has come out with newer players. The touch screen is too big and pricey. The speaker on the S-series is un-necessary and adds to to the size. The S639F is very light weight without being flimsy and the size is barely noticeable in my pocket.
If you are only interested in good music this is your player. If you want a TOY buy an Apple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Amazing sound and small but sharp LCD screen.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: QuintusDogimus
from Southeastern US
on 09/10/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Beautiful sound. Easy set up and sync. High res - for it's size, LCD screen.
What's not so great: No voice recorder.
My main concern when shopping for a new MP3 player (after the failure of my Sansa E250 after 2 years) was clear, full sound that had some warmth to it and had a mid-range that was full but not tubey sounding. I checked out the Ipods but Apple seems to focus on giving the user everything except grade A sound (In my opinion they are very average sounding). When the Sony NWZS639FBLK went on sale I decided to give it a try. In my opinion this is one of the best deals I've seen in an MP3 player. What's kind of interesting is that this unit is not, to my knowlege, available in the US outside of Best Buy. That's a shame, because outside of the missing voice recorder, it's worth every penny I've spent. The sound engine has some of the new Sony audio enhancements and they really do work. Now if you only listen to MP3's encoded at 320 kbps then you won't be able to tell a tremendous difference with the DSEE engaged, as it's main function is to take lower kbps settings like 128 kbps, fill in the digital gaps and make them sound more like 320. And it works well, as do the other enhancements. The equalizer works really well, especially the two 5 band (plus the Clear Bass) custom settings (I can't stand it when a manufacturer only gives you presets with no customization options). Compared to my Sansa, this thing is a breeze to load up with both music and pictures. If you use Windows Media Player 11 (I refuse to use I-Tunes) nothing more than a simple drag and drop will completely set up both the music and the album covers. My Sansa required me to use conversion software to transfer digital images to the unit. With this Sony, it's also just drag and drop. The player converts everything automatically. Same with video - very simple. The battery usage is better than any other player I have seen. The Sony specs state 40 hours for audio playback which may be true, but only with straight audio; no use of the buttons, no video screen usage at all. I have owned the 639 for 1 month now and I would say I probably get 20-25 hrs out of it, but I also access the buttons a lot (changing music, volume, eq settings or maybe just looking at the album covers, which look pretty cool on the screen).
The FM tuner is GREAT -- no joke. It sounds great and reception is very good -- much, much better than the Sansa E250. Mainly though the purpose of the Sony NWZS639FBLK is playing your MP3 files with a clarity and tone that rivals anything out there and is far superior to most. Sony worried me for a while regarding their Walkman MP3 line. Their designs seemed to be lacking for a the first few generations but now they are clearly back on track, giving people what they really want in a music player -- great sounding music.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Sony has out done themselves this time!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Funkvector
from Crown Point, IN
on 09/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Audio quality, materials, picture quality, price, headphones, battery life, features, ect.
What's not so great: Not able to delete music, video, ect. without computer.
I congradulate sony for creating such a great product at such a phenominal price. My biggest favorite is the player's amazing audio quality. The headphones that come with it i am prety shure you can buy seprately from Best Buy for 50 something dollars. make shure you keep your ears clean when using the headphones, the ear wax could clog the sound port. The player has excellent battery life and the LCD picture is sharp and crisp. The buttons are nicely layed out and you dont have to guess what each one does. Correct me if I am wrong, but i am pretty shure that the front and rear panels of the player are metal, probably aluminum insted of brittle plastics. I really like the volume rocker button on the side of the player because it eliminates the hassle of accessing the main dail if its in your pocket or in some other confined space. Now, i figured out that Best Buy dosent carry any kind of case for the 16 gig version and i was kinda bummed, but here recently i figured out that you can choose from a couple different kinds of cases at Sony's web site. The silicone case for the 16 gig goes for about 10 bucks there. My only complaint about the player is that you can't delete files without your computer. Thats it. Besides that, this player is flawless. It blows the Ipod Nano out of the water, no doubt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Great mp3 Player with So-So Syncronization

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FormerAudiophile
from Glen Ellyn, IL
on 09/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size, sound quality, durable build, attractive appearance, plays AAC format
What's not so great: Will not sync with iTunes 8.0 or 8.1, slow synchronization, battery life estimates not accurate
I've owned two iPod nanos (1st gen & 3rd gen) and purchased a 4th gen iPod nano for my wife, but I was looking for a new mp3 player with more capacity. I didn't like the idea of overpaying so much for an iPod, and after my daughter bought a Sansa Fuze for herself recently, I discovered that there are other viable options than iPods. The Sony Walkman S639F 16GB player immediately caught my attention -- because of its price and the fact that it could play the iPod song format (AAC), in which resides my entire digital music library. I don't want to have to re-rip my music...ever! So, the Sony Walkman seemed to have everything I was looking for.
I've owned it and played with it for three weeks now and I like it a lot. But, I am frustrated by its inability to sync playlists with the latest versions of iTunes. I would say that this player delivers everything it promises except for two things:
(1) Battery life is not nearly as long as advertised. The battery life is decent -- don't get me wrong. But, if you use any of the equalization features (of which there are several to choose), or the "Clear Stereo" setting, or the surround effects (several of which sound quite good), the battery will last only half as long as advertised. On my favorite settings, which include equalization and a surround sound effect, the battery lasts around 15 hours (for music) -- acceptable, but well short of what Sony advertises. Of course, I expect that battery life will be shorter when using the additional features, so I wasn't terribly disappointed by the battery life, but just want to share what I've found.
(2) Syncronization of songs. If you are migrating to this player from an iPod and all or most of your music is in iTunes, you should know that this Walkman does not sync with iTunes newer than version 7.6. So, if you're using iTunes 8.0 or 8.1 (or any version with "Genius Playlist" -- a feature I really like a lot), you're out of luck. You will be left to add songs manually with Sony's convenient "drag and drop" file transfer widget. This works reasonably well, but it is a bit slow, and it's not truly a "sync" application -- it's simply a file mover and it is very manual in its operation, putting the burden on you, the user, to remember what you've already loaded on your Walkman and what you haven't. As a former iPod/iTunes users, this is somewhat of a pain in the neck. If you want to sync your iTunes playlists, the only option is to "downgrade" your iTunes from the current version back to version 7.6, which isn't as straightforward as you'd want it to be. And, you'll lose all of your Genius playlists in the process. I should mention that this player syncs just fine with Window Media Player 11, including playlists. So, that's a possible workaround for former iTunes users -- convert your entire library from AAC to mp3 and use WMP. I also tried to sync the Walkman with the beta version of SongBird, because I saw a post online that it would sync with Sony Walkman -- this is NOT true. The Walkman will mount (be recognized) by SongBird, and it will attempt to sync and give the appearance that it is working, but in truth, all it will do is ERASE all of the contents on your Walkman, but fail to transfer anything. So, stay away from SongBird until they come out of Beta. For the moment, I'm resigned to using the Sony file transfer widget, and foregoing playlists, hoping that they will update the firmware before year-end so that it syncs with iTunes 8.1. (But, I'm not holding my breath!)
While iPod truly reigns supreme in terms of ease of file synchronization, I have to say that I really like this Sony Walkman. The SenseMe feature is pretty cool (and fairly accurate), and takes the place (sort of) of not having playlists. The equalization and surround sound settings work well and really sound good (and I used to be quite an audio "snob"). The headphones that come with it are certainly respectable, although I prefer using my Sennheiser ear buds. Videos look great and it's relatively easy to create a compatible format (I've settled on using the freeware "FormatFactory" to produce mobile-device compatible mp4 files and have had no problem). I like that for videos, you can select how you want the videos to display -- "portrait" (small) or "landscape" (larger and you view them by holding the player sideways). There is no apparent loss of quality when viewing videos in either format. Some buyers of this Walkman have posted that the volume isn't loud enough -- I don't understand these comments. I think the player plays plenty loud, even at less than half of it's maximum volume setting. I wonder if these users have inadvertently activated the "volume limitation" feature, or their hearing has degraded over years of listening to their music too loudly?
At the end of the day, this is a great player and sells at a great price. Sony only needs to work harder at making file synchronization easier for buyers who are migrating from iPods/iTunes.
(By the way, this IS a U.K. product and is not listed on Sony's support website as available in the U.S. Interesting...)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Outstanding little player!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: madpostman
from Kuttawa, KY
on 09/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Equalizer adds the extra punch and easy to use, long battery life!
What's not so great: Buy you some screen protectors.
I've owned 2 of the 8GB models and always seemed like I could never get all the music I wanted on just one player. When these came available, I jumped all over it. Basically, you can download close to 1450 songs on this and still have room left over. Blows the Apple iPod out of the water, literally, as far as durability and battery life. You can't go wrong with this player!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Super Compact! Super Easy! and Classy!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ugorlma
from san antonio, tx
on 09/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything...easy to use /without/ looking at the manual
What's not so great: nothing
i like the noise cancelling earbuds! simple folders....can drag and drop when connected to any computer without the sony software!!!! battery life appears awesome!!! was much smaller than I imagined!!!! so happy since i had to kill my creative zen w because of their software issues(computer not recognizing the device!!!). Check It Out!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Awesome!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chickenlips
from Halifax, PA
on 08/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: excellent sound quality, easy to use, solid feel.
What's not so great: Absolutely nothing.
If you are someone that likes to tweak or customize the sound of your favorite songs, I highly recommend this MP3 player. There are 6 EQ settings (2 can be customized), 6 surround sound settings, and several sound enhancement features. Videos need to be converted to .MP4, but play just fine. Radio works well and the picture viewer is standard. This MP3 player targets audiophiles on a budget. Navigation thru the player and file transfers with Windows Media Player couldn't be easier...I'm very pleased!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

I love this device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: heemy1
on 08/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great easey to use menus, display clarity
What's not so great: nothing yet
This is a great MP3 player, it's compatible with many of formats. The display is amazing, a little small to watch a lot of video but yet a very good picture. Even the detail on album covers is excellent. I am also impressed with the easy to use menus, since I use it mostly while driving I don't have to deal with difficult menu navigation. I also like the fact that my podcasts all end up in one easy to find folder. There is also built in equalizer with some presets or you can set your own custom sound. I cant say enough about this device, and for the price compared to other 16G players you cant beat it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

IMO, here is the iPod killer and then some!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TaaDow
from East TN
on 08/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, AWESOME sound quality, LONG battery life, fast responsiveness, great earbuds, great menus, FM radio, everything
What's not so great: Nothing negative!
I'm not one who usually gives something a full 5 star rating but this little player deserves it! Sony got it right with the NWZ-S639F!
First off, I have owned an iPod Classic 160GB so I know how they sound. This little Sony blows the iPod's sound quality out of the water... period! I'm not one who gets caught up in Apple's "hype" like some do just because something is an Apple product. I know better than that. The iPod is a great player but there are other players that top them and this Walkman is one of those players.
The bass is deep and rich, the mids are nice and smooth and the highs are crisp! If you have a "true" ear for quality audio I highly recommend testing out one of these to see for yourself. For the price you pay here you're getting a heck of a deal! I'm a FLAC/lossless kinda guy but when it comes to MP3 I only work with 320kbps files (encoded with LAME) so it depends on the quality of your audio files as far as how great they'll sound. I use a Numark TTXUSB to record my vinyl into Sound Forge to convert to FLAC and MP3 (for backup and DJ use with Torq and Traktor) and they sound terrific on the Sony!
I read and watched many reviews on this little gem before I purchased it which I recommend anyone doing just to get some idea of what you're purchasing. I don't fully base purchases on reviews alone but I do like to get some information to know what to watch for. The reviews were dead on with this little bad boy.
A reviewer below me was complaining about volume level with headphones other than the included earbuds. I'm not sure which headphones Greg999 is referring to but if you're using 600ohm headphones you need to be using a headphone amp (if you don't have one already) that will drive them enough to get proper volume if you're not getting enough from certain devices. Then there'll be no low volume issues. I'm sure little players like this aren't targeted at audiophile type listeners or super high-end headphones.
At home I use my Audio Technica ATH-M50's @ 38ohm (which aren't cheap but aren't Grado's or other really high-end phones) and the volume level is plenty loud enough at 15-20 and it goes up to 30. I pumped the volume up to 25 and it was too loud for me. Everyone's hearing is different so it depends on the person. I've been a house DJ for 13 years and have been in some very loud environments so I'm sure I have some hearing damage but the volume levels are great with other headphones for me.
Now, to the included earbuds. Sony didn't hold back and throw in some cheapies. They have included some very nice earbuds that fit very nicely in my ears and stay in while working out. The noise canceling on them is also great. They are also very comfortable to me but that all depends on the person. Something that's comfortable to one person may not be for the next.
Now on to the software that comes with it. I ditched Apple quite a while ago so I use this player on my Windows machines. I don't use the software that comes with it and have zero use for it. All you need to do is plug it in a USB port and go into Windows Explorer and transfer to and from the device. It's that simple. I have various other audio tools that I use to create my mp3's, videos, etc and then just cut/paste them onto the player.
As far as durability, this player is solid! It doesn't feel cheap in any way. It fits nicely in my shorts pocket while working out and is as light as a feather.
All in all, I'm very satisfied with this Walkman and for my use I have no negatives to point out. I have no idea how the Sony deals with that DRM protected garbage you get from iTunes or other places so I can't comment on that. It has superb sound quality, superb battery life, it supports MP4 video so I can slap movies, music videos or any other video on it and they look great, it has a nice and crisp screen and it slides nicely in my pocket.
If you're looking for a 16GB flash based player I highly recommend passing on the iPod Nano and Zune. This Walkman is cheaper and sounds better than both of those! I'm all about quality and not about what's the most "popular". Sony wins here in my opinion!
:-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Not the best around

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Greg999
from central New York
on 08/27/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plays HE-ACCv1 files at 64k so that provides lots of storage
What's not so great: Volume is far too low on many headphones.
This player looks nice, functions fairly well, and sounds good with some headphones. As the impedance of the headphones goes up, the volume level decreases to where it is no longer loud enough. 40ohm headphones may be OK for most people, 600ohm headphones are just far to quiet to be of any use. Also this player does not sound very good when plugged into a line input for my home or car stereo.
If you intend to use this with anything besides the included earbuds, then I suggest you look at a different product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Thank You Sony!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Oldhickorytony
from Old Hickory, TN
on 08/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: NO loosey goosey scroll wheel to mess with
What's not so great: No voice recording
I've been struggling for a long time with an otherwise nice enough Sansa MP3 player but one having an increasingly loose and abominable scroll wheel... just setting the volume, trying select Music rather than the FM radio, or scrolling down to find Van Morrison had become like a scene from Night of the Living Dead or Saw IV.
I search for reviews voraciously on any tech I'm thinking of buying... so when I came across this particular model NWZ-S639F at Best Buy I looked for reviews. Long story short... I don't know how Best Buy got a hold of this particular S series 16 gb model, as it's not supposed to be currently available in the US. Even the Sony site told me this when I tried to look up the price at their site... I finally found a couple of UK reviews, one most notably was on the CNET UK site. They loved it, giving it an excellent (8 out of 10), and couldn't say enough positives about it.
All of the Sony MP3 players at both the US and UK Cnet sites consistently get rave reviews for their sound quality.
Oh yeah! Kiss your scroll wheel good-bye! Even if you've got a reasonably good scroll wheel, you won't miss it at all! Button layout is intuitive and user friendly, even with my larger fingers. There's a physical lock switch on one side, and (best of all) physical rocker controls for volume adjustment. It's an incredibly simple player to use, with a clear icon-driven interface and super intuitive menu layouts for finding your music fast and painlessly.
Although, with my old eyes, I won't be watching many videos on the smallish 2-inch screen, it's super sharp 240x320-pixel display has excellent color and thus has vibrant menus, photos, and videos.
The player has full support for podcasts with a dedicated button in the main menu. It comes with Windows Media Player for file management. Or you can simply drag and drop files via Windows Explorer. With my old Sansa, I had already gotten using Window Media Player for syncing up so loading my new Sony was painless.
I didn't expect to, but really ended up liking the dynamic playlist function called SensMe. It analyzes the musical content of each song and puts them in playlists such as 'Energetic', 'Relax' and 'Extreme.' Setting up the SensMe was painless, too...
Oh yeah... comes which some pretty good ear buds...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Awesome Walkman

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rob13
from IRAQ
on 07/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great price, lightweight, awsome features, SenseMe, great battery
What's not so great: Transfer of Video's
I've always been a fan of Sony Walkman since my Brother bought Sony's first Model when I was still in Grade School. Since then I have been through many Walkman's of my own, a dozen MP3 Players that I've either broken or out grown. I figured after my last MP3 Player It was time to upgrade and after alot of searching on the web, I came back to the Sony Walkman, awesome Sound quality from the stock headphones equipted with this Walkman. Great features and I especially enjoy the SenseMe Feature which makes song selections easy while at the gym or running. Awesome battery I've been listening to music all day while working and the battery is still reading as full. I would definately continue to stick with sony and this great product. ON a side note: get the cover for it, because of the simple design of the player the cover is also user friendly and protects the unit because the outlines of the controls are screenprinted on the outside of the sleeve. I would definately recommend this to my brother who started me on Sony.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Video Walkman 16GB* MP3 Player - Black

Amazing! Beats iPod all over

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bslwo
from Ubiquitous
on 06/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compatibility, Sound Quality, Fast User Interface, Battery, Radio, SenseMe
What's not so great: N/A
WOW!! This is a great product. My ipod broke and instead of immediately re-jumping on the Apple bandwagon I decided to look at some other competitors. I came across this. This model is apx. $40 cheaper than the 16gb ipod nano and you get much more. Advantages over ipod: no more click wheel (it's just up-down-side-side buttons, way easier), radio, external volume rocker, surprisingly good stock headphones, amazing sound quality, universal compatibility (even works with iPod's AAC format), super long battery (goes about a week), SenseMe channels which are really good, etc. It's such a good product. Build quality is great, made of metal. There is a hold switch. ID3 tags are supported along with album art. Works with many programs including but not limited to: Windows Media Player, MediaMonkey, SongBird, WinAmp, and yes, iTunes via the included Content Transfer software. I personally use SongBird which imported my iTunes and I built my library in SongBird from that point on. Switching out of Apple and iTunes was easy because the Walkman accepts AAC format. Nice work Sony.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.