Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Model: WWSS2601KW
SKU: 9284491
UPC: 012505696367
This side-by-side refrigerator features a thru-the-door ice and water dispenser, so you receive cool water or ice at the touch of a button. The 3 adjustable glass shelves, 2 adjustable gallon door bins and 2 crispers provide ample storage space for your groceries.
Average Customer Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 17
)
Customer Reviews for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White
Review 1 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Great fridge but noisey

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ComputerIdiot
from Denver, CO
on 01/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great price, good product!
What's not so great: Noisey when compressor is running!
Love love love this fridge, great price, perfect size, easy peazy buying, delivery and installation. Only drawback...it's really noisey when cooling down. I'm glad it's in the basement as a back-up. If it were in my kitchen upstairs I would have called to have it checked. Works great though!
This product has... No hard to reach spots, Lots of door storage
About me... Budget Conscious, Always get the deal, Love to cook, Practical shopper
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

lots of ice, very noisy fridge

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: lakefront
from Tomahawk, WI
on 01/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: ice maker is one of the most prolific we've ever had
What's not so great: noisy
We got this at a great discount deal and can't complain. Makes more ice and faster than our expensive Samsung. We got it for our lower level as an extra fridge when we have company. Very glad, because it's way too noisy to be in the main living area.
This product has... A convenient ice maker location, No hard to reach spots, Lots of door storage, Multiple temperature zones
About me... Looking for energy savings, Budget Conscious, Practical shopper, All about design
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Great starter Frig

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sandune
from Louisburg, NC
on 07/14/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: cost
This would be a great Starter frig for a 1st time buyer. We are using it as a 2nd frig in the garage for overflow from the unit in the kitchen. Was a good value for the unit
This product has... Lots of door storage, a good second frig
About me... Love to cook, husband of loves to cook
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Good fridge for the price...when on SALE!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jcmarlow
from West Saint Paul, MN
on 07/14/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Set-up, extra equipment, loud, and not energy effiecient
This is a very spacious frigde. There are a lot of drawers, but its missing the door that lifts for the butter. It is not very quiet, nor is it an energy saver. It costs extra to set up the water and ice machine, plus to pay for the filters and equipment. Overall, this fridge does it's job....it keeps items at the correct temp! That's about it.
This product has... Design I love, An easy to change water filter, Lots of door storage, Multiple temperature zones
About me... Budget Conscious, Appliance snob, Always get the deal, Love to cook, Big Family, Practical shopper
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

good refrigerator for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jtcrafty
from freehold, nj
on 07/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: love side by side doors
What's not so great: loud motor
my complaint is that it has a loud motor when it runs. we can't take advantage of the indoor water and ice features. but for the most part is does its job well.
This product has... Lots of door storage
About me... Budget Conscious, Practical shopper
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Basic No Frills Side by Side Refrigerator

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TheButlerDidIt
from GA
on 06/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Not Engery Star Rated
No lunch meat drawer, no roll-down door for the butter tray, and no night light for the ice/water dispenser. I knew this before buying it, so I am pleased with this decision considering the low cost to purchase it. The quality exceeds expectations. The ice auger is metal and not plastic. Despensed ice is cube only, no crush option. The water could be colder, but acceptable. I haven't had problems filling tall glasses, the angle of the dispenser is tilted to accomodate glasses that do not fit over the drip tray. Only two shelves adjust on the right door, but I have plenty of height for 2 liter bottles and gallon milk jugs. The glass shelving adjusts easily and the freezer wire shelving is adjustable but limited. Setting the freezer and refrigerator temp controls to NORMAL (In the middle) provides 38F on the refrigerator side and 0F on the freezer side. The motor noise is some what noticeable, but not dreadfully annoying. Someone on-line commented that you could order the lunch meat drawer and roll-down door for the butter tray seperately, I have not found any sources. If you know where to find them, I'd like a reply! Overall, I am pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Disappointing

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: OldJarhead
from Ft. Worth TX
on 07/13/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Everything except price
First unit delivered did not function at all. Did not cool or freeze. Replacement unit has developed a problem with the water dispensing from the door after 3 weeks. All in all, a very disappointing product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Love the refrigerator

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Beachfan1234
from Tega Cay, SC
on 06/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price was great, and it works perfectly. Love the ice and water in the door feature.
What's not so great: The freezer, like most side-by-sides, seems a bit small. Hard to fit large items.
Very satisfied with this refrigerator. It works perfectly. The only problem I have with it is the size of the freezer. Like most side-by-side refrigerators, the freezer doesn't hold large items, and I have to rearrange when I stock up. Other than that, I absolutely love it. The ice and water on the door is really great, and the ice bin holds a lot. I would recommend it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

A big disappointment

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Mathew2009
from Los Angeles, CA
on 12/29/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Ice maker/water
What's not so great: durability/quality
In Feb. we will have had this product for 3 yrs. Two months ago, we lost everything out of the freezer when it stopped working. Within a few days, the refrigerator stopped too. After paying $200 to a repairman, the refrigerator and freezer began working again. That was less than 2 months ago and now the freezer has stopped and the refridgerator is making a 'whining' sound. We paid $800 for this at the time plus delivery. Very disappointing!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Refrigerator

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Snickar
from Cincinnati
on 11/16/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price,like the way it rolls around easily,which is good since it is so big
What's not so great: It is as noisy as the microwave
Bought this about 3 weeks ago for $630.The price was dropped to $595 the next day.Have not hooked up the ice maker yet(turned it off).I think it is a good fridge just wish it wasn't so noisy.
I would rather have a side by side without the ice maker and drink dispenser because they take up a lot of room in the freezer,but you can't find them anymore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Great refrigerator, great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jimstl
from Saint Louis, MO
on 08/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ice maker is fantastic
What's not so great: freezer drawers sometimes drop off the sliders
My last couple of refrigerators had ice makers that sort of dropped one cube at a time. Watch out with this one because the ice comes out really fast and can fill your glass before you know it! Large capacity for ice and it makes it fast. The arrangemnt of shelves is great in the refrigerator and the lights are well-placed. The water filter is right up front at the top of the refrigerator next to the temperature controls so it is very easy to replace (about once a year) without having to pull out drawers like some other models. Both water and ice are available without having to select one or the other. Light comes on above them when in use. Great value. I am buying another one for a family member.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

BEST for me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hanah
from Los Angeles,CA
on 08/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Noisy icemaker
I decided to buy a side by side refrig. when the old one starts having problems.
All I want was basic function of the refrigerator which is keeping foods cool.
This one was the cheapest, so I read all the reviews, the only bad thing about this was butter door? that I wouldn't need it ever.
When this was delivered, I was so thrilled about the space, that soon turned into huge dissappointment.
It was making weird vibrating noise every 10 to 13 minuites, so loud enough to be heard over the several walls.
I wasn't happy at all, I almost decided to return it or exchange with more expensive one.
It took 2 days to find out what was making the noise, it was ice maker that'd beed turned on from the factory.
I turned it off, and it's been very quite I don't even notice if it's working.
To be honest, if youre looking for a refrigerator to get cold water and ice cubes very often, this will definately disappoint you big.
But if youre looking for a basic refrigeraor with space, also affordable, this is right for you.
I don't need cool water or ice cubes that much anyway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Mixed bag

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Joopy
from Texas
on 07/22/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Has lots of room, price was very decent
What's not so great: Dairy shelf but no door for it, no meat drawer, ice dispensor in door too shallow
Ok, I just got this yesterday, so I can not address any long term problems that might crop up.
Let me start by saying that overall for the price, I am pleased, so far, with this fridge. It is very roomy and for the most part has very decent shelving. The crispers are very large, maybe too large.
What I find annoying however is that it does not come with the door to the dairy shelf, rendering the shelf pretty much worthless. To be sure, you can place items on it but as it only has a 1/8" lip anything you put in it will most likely slide off with a brisk door opening. No where does it state that this is an optional part but that is what I was told when I called into Frigidaire. I didn't find out how much it costs but another reviewer mentions that it comes out to about $30. I raised a fuss with them about it and they said they will send me one for free. The other thing I felt annoying was that there is no small 'meat' drawer in the fridge. I don't know what the proper term is for it but we have always had a small drawer where we kept our cold cuts and such in any fridge we've had. This one does not have such a drawer. Another nit I have is that the ice dispenser area on the outside of the door is too shallow such that you pretty much have to use very short glasses to get ice out.
To sum up, in spite of these annoyances I am happy with this model. Hopefully, it will remain so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

Great size for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: KPshop
from CHICAGO, IL
on 07/17/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good price, Great size
What's not so great: loud & no dairy bin cover
This is a great side-by-side fridge for the price, however, they did not tell us the top dairy bin does not come with the clear roll-bak cover...it costs about $30+s/h to get it from fridgedaire...yes, white westinghouse is a fridgedaire company. Also, I had no problems with the doors...they are aligned and leveled. The ice dispenser in the door dispenses too much ice sometimes, and the cold water dispenser does not dispense ice cold water on the first glass...it gets colder on the second and third continuous glass you fill. Also, no light on the ice/water dispenser on the door. However, I'd still recommend this fridge for the price and the size. Everything fits well and you still have space left over!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

White Westinghouse side by side

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: adrep
from Mobile, Al
on 07/10/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price for the size
What's not so great: Did not state that the butter plastic cover not incl & one of the smaller drawers that come in every fridge not incl
There will be ADDITIONAL COST to have a butter drawer plastic cover and smaller drawer is additional as well. Can not find that information in any of the specifications that it is not included - did not know it was not included until they installed the refrigerator.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

fantastic value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ron2929
from Mpls
on 07/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: No gimmicks....works great
What's not so great: no meat drawer
This is a fantastic value. Large side by side. Has milk jugs in door, frees up shelf space. Water and cubes in door. Has replaceable filter.
Clean no nonsence styling and features. Why pay more????
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for White Westinghouse 26.0 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - White

You get what you pay for

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Cellochimp
from Albuquerque, NM
on 06/20/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up. Low height. Most inexpensive of side-by-side fridges
What's not so great: No option for crushed or cubed ice, uneven door height, bad water dispensor angle, runs loudly
This is one of the few side-by-side fridges to meet the 68 1/2 inch maximum height we can purchase because of a cabinent at 69 inches over the fridge space in our kitchen. It is also the least-expensive side-by-side refrigerator option I have found in the color white with a water and ice dispensor. The good news ends there.
We purchased this model to find it didn't have an option for crushed or cubed ice, and the water dispensor has an extended lever which makes it difficult to fill narrow glasses or water bottles without splashing water all over the door. There isn't a light on the door front by the water dispensor like many other side-by-side models either.
The doors are neither horiziontally nor vertically level with each other, and although we pointed this out to the installation team they could not get the doors to align even when adjusted to the maximum options. The fridge is also really loud when the compressor is running. My advice is to spend an extra $50-$100 and get a better refrigerator so you won't have all the little problems rub you the wrong way until you end up returning or exchanging it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.