Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Model: 010-00786-00
SKU: 9301089
UPC: 753759086398
Easily find your way out on the open road with this truck-friendly GPS that features up to 6 million points of interest, so you can easily find restaurants, gas stations and repair facilities along your travel route. This model meets our Professional Series criteria Shop all products in our Small Business Center
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
62% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS
Review 1 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Trucker GPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hotfoot
from Mississippi
on 02/02/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easiest feature is setup n its fast on program
What's not so great: the mounting bracket that comes with it.
It works good,but needs to be registered and a map updated quickly. Mine had routes that weren't up to par but still a really nice unit .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

top of the line gps

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: animal1
from portland,or
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it gets me where i want to go.
What's not so great: n/a
n/a...............................................
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Garmin Nuvi 465T GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Botelho
from Fall River
on 12/01/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is my second Garmin, my first portable unit. The GUI is simple and easy to navigate. It is a great unit for both automotive and truck use since it prompts you to tell it which vehicle your driving every time you power up, so you dont make the mistake of driving a truck route in your personal car, and you can also save different preset truck information if you have to jump between different trucks. Another great thing is that it has the NTTS database built in
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

2nd garmin i owned... it will be the last!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: davc27
from monroeville, pa
on 11/19/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use?
What's not so great: died after three months of just sitting on my dash, with mind you a shock proof mount!!
I have owned 2 garmins in the past year, they worked great while they lasted. 1, nuvi 205w and the last a 465t. both started out well, but then i started noticing glitches 3 months in the nuvi lasted 7 months and the 465t only 3! i didn't abuse them either! i drive truck so i use it a lot but that is no reason for failure like this especially for the 465t wich is a very expensive unit! from what i have seen of these gps if you use it a lot id go with a net-book and gps software or just buy a cheep one which will most likely have all the truck stops in it because most are travel centers, and just use it as a reference against your rand mcnally.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Not dependable

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Woody13
from Crooksville Ohio
on 06/28/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: mapping
What's not so great: everything else.
I've had 4 of these in the past two months trying to find a good one. Problems with them losing the screen needing to be re-booted for the maps to come back and two of them shut down a few times and then restarting and then shutting down and not able to turn back on. Dead in the water. With Garmins reputation, I just knew I would get a good unit if I kept trying but after four of them, I just gave up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

not worth the price - very poor truck features

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TRUCKER
from MELVINDALE MICHIGAN
on 06/15/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: all police stations listed with phone numbers, rest stops, weigh scales, tire repair services,
What's not so great: truck routing sucks
if your buying this for help with truck routes,
it is not very good
does not allow you to specify how many axles you have
if a road has a sign on it no more than 4 axles
it will redirect you, i was driving down
8 mile and i needed to make a right turn on livernois, and this thing
passed livernois and had me turn on woodward, took me 10 miles out of my way. i turned the truck feature off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

NOT FOR GEOCASHING

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TonyZ13730
from Afton, NY
on 04/12/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: HAS ALL TRUCK'N STUFF (POI) PRELOADED & and you can download even MORE!
What's not so great: Maps can be off from 1/4 mile to a hole country mile - Great choice for experionced trucker with a map when in question
Nice unit, easy to use after playing with it for 2 weeks... tried to use it off road, and for geocashing, NOT recommended... maps are off - BUT if you know the concordances, your right on... UNIT HAS FLAKY MAPS out of the box- YOU WILL NEED to hook up to computer to update maps for a FEE (NOT GARMIN'S FAULT - it is there mapping server*) , or just carry a road atlas with you and do it old school...
* = 3ed or 4th party involvement
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

It Works well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Shane003
from Georgia
on 03/29/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: it is easy to set up and get you right to work
What's not so great: Screen is a little small,icons are not changeable
i use my garmin daily.i enjoy the ease of finding new places.i wish you could change the arival time to totaldistance remeining on trip.it would be nice if one of the mounts was a srew down type or add some holes to do this with on the stick down style mount.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

great gps unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigpete
from worcester ma
on 12/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use great features
What's not so great: early software problems
hi all this is a great unit mine had problems shutting off then restarting spoke to garmin they had a firmware update that suposedly fixed it mine was great for awhile but started shutting off again but found out it was the plug socket in the truck not the unit. I am upset that people want a big screen i drive a T2000 and screen size is good if you people want a 15" scree go use copilot on a laptop or turn your bob marley loud music down and listen to the prompts BUT i first always check my rand mcnally truckers atlas for low clearance and restricted routes again the acuracy of the gramin is only as good as the people inputing the info IE: dont set height at 13' when your 14' and as for truck stops people read the manual you can for free use POI loader and get updated truck stops rest area ect GREAT PRODUCT
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

impressed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tejas
from Poughkeepsie, NY
on 11/16/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very good about low clearences, and most restrictions
What's not so great: doesnt cover as many rural weight limits, and bigger screen would be great
overall, no complaints, it hasnt done anything wrong as of yet other than minor mis routing, but this is far and few between, as with all of these I never rely 100% on them but this is by far the closest to perfect that Ive seen for big trucks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Truck GPS Good but not Great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Roadtoad
from Whiting, Indiana
on 07/25/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, was great for finding breakdown service and love the built in traffic
What's not so great: poor routing, low volume, speed limits set for cars not trucks, price to high
It is great that Garmin has finally released a GPS made for truckers but, it does have some flaws yet in which I hope Garmin will fix in future updates as there are always bugs in first releases.
First the volume is way to low, it is very hard to hear unless you have everything else in the truck turned down. I did address this problem with Garmin as I also have a streetpilot C-340 which has a much louder volume and have no problem hearing at all. Garmin advised they have reduced the volume on the 465t by 25% to extend the life of the speaker. Evidently they have never been in a big truck before they designed this unit.
The screen size is ok and works for me but a larger one would have been better for us truckers.
The routing I am still deciding on. It does have some poor routing but also mostly good routing. It does have secondary roads marked as non designated and wants to try and re-route you back to the interstates even though you may be on a designated highway. That drives me nuts but that is also why I always carry an atlas to verify the GPS route. Most truckers should know to never just rely on the GPS.
The speed limits on this unit are set for cars not trucks, this may throw an unsuspecting driver off in unfamiliar territory.
The built in traffic receiver is pretty good but needs to add more service areas for the smaller metropolitan areas. It has got me around some pretty good back ups.
Also another plus I forgot to mention is I pull hazmat tankers and it has been accurate with the hazmat routing.
I have to say for what it is at this time I cannot justify this price for what you get. Maybe if and when they get all the bugs ironed out in future software updates i would say good price.
At this time I am borderline on recommending this item to a friend. I think once i have seen the bugs worked out then I would say yes.
I will re-post if I see some positive software updates.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

this really works

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: badnut
from Columbus, OH
on 07/22/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very easy to use
What's not so great: gps for semi-trucks- where is the big screen?
Well, Garmin has come closer than any other manufature so far with this new product based for semi trucks and large RVs. It is much easier to use than any other brands and has some extremely good features with a few minor blimps. First and most important is the lack of a larger screem, seems the design team at garmin didn't sit in a semi going down the worn-out roads in this country and try to read the screem while bouncing up and down. The truck stop directory needs to be updated and more precise. But if you are looking for a GPS to direct you CORRECTLY with your big truck, this is it! Need to work on the price, to many truckers to pass up because the price is too high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

GPS FACTS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DUNKINDONUTSDCP
from WESTAMPTON , NJ
on 07/13/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EASY USE / MANY FUNCTIONS
What's not so great: BATTERY LIFE / CERTAIN ADDRESS FAILURE / QUESTIONABLE TRUCK ROUTING
GARMINS 1ST TRUCK GPS , IS A GOOD GPS BUT NOT GREAT. BETTER THAN MAGELLAN AND TOM TOM . I AM STILL OLD SCHOOL , STILL A MAP GUY BUT DON'T FIGHT THE TECHNOLOGY GO ALONG WITH IT. USE BOTH IF NEEDED. DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN I WOULD BUY A CAR GARMIN GPS $ 150-250 DOLLARS AND FOLLOW THE SIGNS OF TRUCK ROUTES AND FOREMOST "COMMON SENSE " GARMIN WILL ONLY GET BETTER , NOTHING IS FULL PROOF .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Incomplete information

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: harleyman1075
from Limington, Me.
on 07/10/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The GPS itself is great easy to use
What's not so great: Truck information greatly lacking, fuel stops and truck stops not in. Poor truck routing
Traveling secondary roads NONE are preferred truck routes, and most I travel are designated truck routes. A lot of fuel stops and truck stops are not even loaded in and many businesses that went out of business 3 years ago are listed and other information is lacking. Not recommended for truck use, save money and buy a regular GPS and get same product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

So excited to finally have a trucking-based GPS!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Aili
from St. Louis, MO
on 07/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything! User-friendly, accurate, good screen size
What's not so great: Nothing! Wish it was here sooner!
This unit is awesome. You can put in your Height, weight, load specs, haz mat. etc. Has bluetooth capability which is a great feature for hands-free talking, and all of Garmin's units are just so easy to use. I recommend this highly to anyone that has been frustrated with other GPS not giving enough information. You'll love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin nüvi 465t GPS

Finally a GPS for truckers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Doug480
from Mesa, AZ
on 06/30/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fianlly a Truck Route GPS unit. Tell ya about low clearances and tunnels that dont allow hazmat. This is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.