Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Model: 47LH90
SKU: 9318623
UPC: 719192174689
Enjoy rich and accurate reproduction of high-action scenes, thanks to this HDTV that features a TruMotion 240Hz refresh rate and 2,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio.1
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 97 reviews
5 stars
72
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
86 out of 97
)
Customer Reviews for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV
Review 1 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great Picture Quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CJKK
from So IL
on 11/07/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
The pictue makes you feel as if you are right there with them, no distortion,I believe that is thanks the 240Hz refresh rate.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

You won't find a better LED TV for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TMAC636
from St. Louis, MO
on 09/14/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality, Picture customization, Price
What's not so great: Not a lot of features or customizations outside of picture quality.
I did a lot of research before I decided to buy a TV. I saw that the main complaints with this TV was the lip sync problem and images ghosting/blurring on certain channels or movies. I went ahead and decided on this tv for the quality of tv for the price.
I have had NO issues with the lip sync problem. At first I did see problems with the picture quality with images ghosting. It was very annoying and I almost returned the tv. I did some research and found a picture setting on cnet's website and it fixed the problem. The picture looks GREAT now.
You won't find a better LED TV for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: anonymous1248
from WI
on 07/18/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Great picture with HD programs. The sound is not as bad as other people make it appear. The sound is as good as can be expected from integrated speakers. Having a/v, component video, and HDMI inputs is a nice feature.
The only downside is that it doesn't have a picture-in-picture feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Husband loves it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Putzyangel
from Blairsville, GA
on 03/16/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent color & picture quality with no glare glass
What's not so great: Nothing
We bought this TV to replace an older LG that required a $200 replacement
buld every 2 years. It had a fantastic picture but we got tired of paying
for the buld. We planned on purchasing a Samsung when we went to Best Buy but none of the Samsung had non glare glass. We have windows
across the whole wall in the great room and had to have nonglare glass. We decided to go with the LG and LOVE it. It has a great picture, color and clarity. We have no complaints and would recommended it highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Not so good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Datatelg
from Olathe, KS
on 03/14/2010
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The product has great features to compete with it's competitors
What's not so great: The cinema view is not nearly as good as other manufactures,
the high end Blue Ray 24 PPS features doe not do justice like the other products do you loose alot of the WOW from the 240 Mhz that this product is suppose to have.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-27points
3out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

LOVE THIS TELEVISION!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RodFam1983
on 03/08/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: No component out ports
This TV is absolutely great. Our whole family loves it. So happy we upgraded to this TV!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Phenomenal TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JayCT
from Enfield, CT
on 03/07/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plenty of connections, beautiful picture
What's not so great: Tinny sound
I have had this TV for a month now and I am amazed at how beautiful the picture is. I was originally looking at the Samsung 6 series LED, until I saw this next to it in the store. The backlit LED is so much nicer than the edgelit, and the Samsung expected you to connect everything via HDMI. The LG had a sharper picture and plenty of connections for HDMI, component, and composite. It is also an inch bigger, and they were both on sale for the same price. It was very easy to setup out of the box, and HD and Xbox are both crystal clear.
Alot of people complain about the sound, but you cannot expect much out of speakers this size. They do give off a nice surround feel, and they sound pleasant, they just dont have much in the way of low end. I have mine hooked up through digital optical line to a Kenwood receiver, and the entire setup is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Best TV computer monitor combo

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TxTopher
from Austin, TX
on 03/07/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: High def and the ability to use it for the PC
What's not so great: DVI connect would be a nice touch
I was looking for a TV that would double as a computer monitor as real estate in the house is tight. This monitor has multiple connections for cable, multiple game consoles and the PC. This is the best picture I have ever seen on my PC - I will never go back to a "standard" computer monitor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Mixed rating

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ba44
from san jose, ca
on 03/05/2010
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price for LED, general picture quality in HD
What's not so great: watching high-speed sports, SD channels
This was my first big-screen TV, replacing a 27-inch HD CRT. Hockey is my favorite sport, and it was almost unwatchable because of blur (I tried all kinds of settings; 240 tru-motion didn't help). It was particularly disappointing since this model was ranked so highly by CR and cNet. I returned it and got a plasma for half the price. Much happier with plasma.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Excellent out of the box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fixitjim
from North Carolina
on 03/04/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: I pulled this tv out of the box, hooked it up and haven't touched it since. Outstanding picture with no adjustment.
What's not so great: No analog out to run through my existing stereo system.
This tv is excellent and has an outstanding picture. I was prepared for a "not so great sound quality" but was plesently supprised to find the sound was very good. It is inside an entertainment center and maybe that helps the sound. I had to run the sound out of my dish box to get sound to the stereo system and there is a short delay between the tv sound and external speakers. No problem, just turn down the tv sound. Minor problem. Got this tv just in time for the olympics really enjoyed the beautiful picture. I have owned it about a month and have had not problems what so ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Awesome TV 47LH90

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stiggy1965
from Redlands,CA
on 03/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Set up, awesome graphics, great Price
What's not so great: I haven't found anytyhing yet.
Before purchasing this LED-LCD TV, I looked at Samsung and Vizio line. I am totally satisfied with my purchase. Paying $1499.00, the price was excellent. With the Full back lighted LED panel, compared to edge lit like the Samsung and Vizio, the graphics are off the hook. Watching TV as well as Blu-Ray disks gives you the feeling that you are actually there. Video games bring on a new meaning of "LIFELIKE".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Excellent View

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DonOH
from Ohio
on 03/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Bright vivid clear color
What's not so great: Sound so-so
I've had mine for 6 months now and love it. The picture is out of this world. The sound is ok, but it's not a sound system. I just wanted to report that over the past six months I've had no problems except the voice being out of sink (using HDMI cable). Side angle viewing no problem. I have been surprised the price hasn't come down much. Got mine for $1299.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Best TV I ever bought!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jeremy270
from Elizabethtown, KY.
on 02/28/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent picture, great sound, and many great options.
What's not so great: There isn't one thing that I can find wrong with this TV.
This is not the TV that I set out to purchase. I had originally purchased a 47LH55, and was told that there would be a period I would have to wait for it to arrive and be delivered. I was told the wait was going to be 21 days. For a product that nice I was willing to wait. I was waiting because there were no units at the warehouse, and Best Buy was waiting for LG to make/ship some more. Two days before it was slated to arrive in the store I got a feather up my rear and called customer service to see where it was. I was placed on a very long wait, and then informed that I needed to go to my local store and pick a different TV. I went, and I was less than thrilled about it. I told them what I had been told they surprised me by automatically upgrading me to this model and they told me I didn't have to pay the difference. The difference was substantial. They really impressed me by doing the right thing without having to be told to do so. They will be the only store that I will but technology from for the rest of my days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Love this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Colder
from Lemoore, CA
on 02/28/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Setup, A ton of connections, Cool Features
What's not so great: I'll let you know if I find something.
This is a great TV! It's my first flat screen/ HDTV. I upgraded from a 32" tube and I'm very impressed. I was holding out to get the best model and I think this is it.
It has all of the connections I was looking for: HDMI, PC, Component, USB. I wasn't expecting it, but I was really glad it can play DivX movies, too. And it has a lot of cool features I wasn't looking for but were cool to have.
I can't tell much difference in the TruMotion, ClearVoice, and Auto Volume special settings. That's why I only rated the audio at 4 stars instead of 5. But then, I don't have anything to compare it with since I stopped using my old 32".
Overall, I think this is a superb TV and I don't think anyone will regret buying it. At least, I didn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Amazing LCD at an affordable price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joynerbiz
from Stockton
on 02/24/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Terrific picture and decent sound make this a top choice! LED backlight creates plasma-like contrast levels!
What's not so great: It lacks features that other TV's have
Okay, here's the deal. I've been researching for almost a year regarding TV's (I know, how pathetic, right?) and the various technologies behind them. Now that standards have been adopted like 1080p and HDMI, it's easier to narrow things down. After doing a lot of review between Plasma and LCD, I decided to go down the route of LCD. Given that the biggest differences between the two technologies is black levels, contrast, glare and motion blur, I decided to look at an LED-type LCD to give me more of a Plasma-like picture. My room isn't very dark and I play a LOT of games.
Unfortunately any back lit LED TV on the market is pricy! After doing the research, I found an excellent CNET article in which they rated this LG as high as the Samsung B8500! Now that's impressive and the price is about half of what you'd pay for the Samsung. This LG is also featured in Best Buy's Magnolia area. Just for contrast, I went to a regular Magnolia store in the Bay Area and it was there too! I went for it and boy am I happy!
The black levels are BLACK, the white is bright and crisp and there is very little blooming that goes on (blooming is what you'll typically get on an LED back lit display). The biggest qualm of this set, for most, will be the lack of internet connectivity and interactive features. Let me say, I was not deterred at all. If you have a PS3 or XBOX 360 or even a TiVo, you are not missing A THING!
So buy this TV and relish the though that you picked it up for only 1500 bucks and enjoy the picture quality! The THX settings are nice (although they need some adjusting for your room) and the amount of inputs this TV has is great! The sound system is pretty good given what it is, but hook it to your home theater system. Have fun with your new TV!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Love the LG 47inch

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Croman9
from Cleveland, OH
on 02/24/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The picture is great
Our first HD TV and it's been a great purchase, excellent picture and at the time the only one that was 240Hz for that size in LED/LCD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Absolute best TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Beaver Dam, WI
on 02/21/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Beautiful picture, Great price, Great overall TV
What's not so great: Leans to the right with base on, Needs to be mounted. TRU MOTION 240 HZ causes juttering. Best kept in 120 HZ settings.
After lots of shopping around, this was my choice. It was definitely the right choice. I love this TV. At $1499 nothing else comes close in overall value. Didn't take me long to calibrate the picture to look amazing. PS3 games are spectacular, blu-rays are awesome, and even standard def cable looks great. The colors seem to be very true thanks to the LED backlighting. It does have some minor flaws which is probably the reason for the lower price. It leans to the right when the base is used because of a weight difference internally. This is a common problem with this TV but is fine when mounted on a wall or a stand. Also, the TRU MOTION 240hz causes juttering on the edges of objects. Best when just the 120hz setting is used, which is just fine. The sound isn't the greatest, but with a TV like this why wouldn't you have a home theater system?
I'll gladly take the few downfalls this TV has in exchange for the gorgeous picture and awesome price. I would definitely recommend this TV to everyone who isn't looking to spend a fortune on a TV and wants a great viewing experience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fire1177
from Fullerton, CA
on 02/21/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great color, awesome sound
What's not so great: Not very many additional features
Overall the TV is great, the picture is great, you get occasional blur with the trumotion but not enough to turn you off of the tv considering most 120hz tv's do the same and this tv is 240hz so you should expecting a little of it. Blur-ray looks outstanding on the tv. I do have a surround sound system (5.1) and the sound is great with it, but it also has great sound and clarity from the TV's own speakers. The one down side is the features, most of the newer TV's (especially sony bravia, samsung) offer a way to access internet TV (youtube etc.) or weather and news updates. This TV does not have any of those features. Overall though I would recommend this TV to anyone. Sports, action movies and HD channels all look great on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Everythng is good but there is a flaw on mine...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Benjamin1313
from Everett, Wa.
on 02/18/2010
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The colors, The look of the TV, Most features...
What's not so great: The picture when TruMotion 240Hz is turned on.
Well first off. Its a nice TV. The colors amazed me alot. I like most of the custom features it lets you do to make the picture look how you want it. Set up was simple. There is one thing that has been bugging me though, and that is the TruMotion setting. When its turned on Low or High. It has this wierd blurriness around fast moving objects. Like People and other things. I thought it might be just my cable. So I Decided to get a Blu-ray player to see if it was. Yes, it was alot better. But I still got a little blurriness on a few objects moving fast. I might of got a defective TV. Not sure. So I'm going to exchange it for another. To see if i did. Also it says its a LED TV, but i don't really notice. But I did at the Best Buys display model.... Strange. Otherwise, I love this TV. And I'm a big time LG fan. ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG 47" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Way worth the money!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MattC1984
from bakersfield ca
on 02/18/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: makes movies and even favorite shows look great!
What's not so great: nothing
My wife and I just bought the tv about 2 weeks ago. It works great, has great picture and sound. The set up service is also great. They went above and beyond to set up our surround sound, wii, and blueray where we can use it all at one time with only one click of the a button. EXCELLENT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>