Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Model: BFGR981024GTGE
SKU: 9339192
UPC: 876758003705
This graphics card employs an EcoIntelligence low power design to provide lush images and brilliant graphics while conserving power.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
20 out of 21
)
Customer Reviews for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card
Review 1 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Power Supply First!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Orbsters
from NH
on 03/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Just as good as the 6 pin plug-in version
What's not so great: nothing
People! You can't just plug this into motherboard with a standard 250 watt power supply. If your fans are whirring away, then your causing the video card to work too hard to get the necessary power consumption. In every computer I have seen with video cards that are too loud, it's because someone has not put in an adequate power supply unit. This one needs 350 watts. I use 500 watts in all of my PCs. Less than what the specifications call for means a loud and sooner than later, burned out video card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

No big problems encountered

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: kulpmaster
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 02/15/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Does what is expected.
What's not so great: Somewhat noisy fan.
At present, I'm not a huge gamer so I don't take much advantage of the rapid refresh rate and memory afforded by this card. However, the PC I bought this for only had an analog video output that was attached to the motherboard and could not even run my 21" flat panel monitor with the maximum pixilation that I desire. I do games sometimes and presume that this card will work well when I do start doing some gaming. Like most video cards, this one has its own fan. My Dell Inspiron (quad core, 8Gb RAM) was silent before installing this board, now I can definitely hear this fan. My experience with video cards is that fan noise rarely (if ever) gets better, rather it usually gets worse with age. On my older PC, the fan on the 2 year old video card is now quite loud and sounds horrid, like it's dying or something like that. I'm hoping this video card won't do the same but only time will tell. The fan on this one is not unduly loud but isn't real quiet either. Overall I'm fairly pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Amazing, definetly worth it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: playsgames
from NY
on 02/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Graphics are amazing, and is super fast
What's not so great: loud when is taking in a lot of information but still performs great
I have a, i7 920 2.67ghz, 6gb tri-channel ram, 500gb hdd, 360w power supply, and my old card was a ati radeon hd4670 520mb, this card is a huge upgrade, i went from medium settings at 17fps~, to nearly maxed out graphics at 35fps~ on GTA IV!! I can only get view distance to 28 and still have max graphics on GTA Iv but that is still great and I'd assume you would need multiple graphics cards to go any higher, all other settings I have at max and It runs incrediblly smooth, I play Crysis as well and get about 20fps on enthusiast textures and gamer to all other settings, which for that game is pretty awesome, there is no noticable lag at that fps, it is on the loud side especially when you are installing the drivers and such but it calms down after a minute or so, amazing card considering I can not upgrade my powersupply and needed one that would run on 360w or less and this works perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Good Card for price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: headkill
from Dallas, Texas
on 02/06/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Decent graphics for gaming however some of the newer games this card struggles slightly to play.
What's not so great: This card is not a low profile card so ensure you have adequate space in your tower before purchasing.
Great performing card for gaming graphics. Mainly for games released from mid 2009 and previous. Do not expect to play newer games on ultra high settings unless you use SLi. The price is fairly decent if you are working on a budget. However, for $7 less you could purchase the GTX-250 that hands down outperforms this card. The only down side is that the GTX requires a better power supply. Some of your older computers also may not have the ability in their ICH (appearently the problem of one of the other customers that could not get it to run on his pc) to run the GTX so the 9800 is definately the best option for lower PSU's and older pc's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Didn't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AndyE2010
from Atlanta
on 01/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great features for the price
What's not so great: Received driver errors every 30s, second BFG card to have to be returned
The positives: BFG offers a good spec for a good price, that makes them very attractive. Installation was easy too.
The negatives: The product manual is generic, it covers AGP, PCI and PCI-e interfaces, but this is a PCI-e card. Not much help at all. The driver disc wouldn't load the drivers, but fortunately I already ran an Nvidia 8600GT and the drivers are the same.
The biggest negative was that the driver kept timing out in Windows 7 every 30s, making it unusable. The same driver worked fine on the 8600GT card, but the BFG 9800GT didn't.
I have previously had a BFG GTX295 which also didn't work and had to be returned, so personally I can't recommend BFG as a quality manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Best video card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ron13954
from Lynnwood, WA
on 01/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good value, Great output
Great graphic output; quiet fan as compare to my noisy graphic card 9500GS; easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

A Must Have For A Home Entertainment PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Obfuscate2009
from Sheridan, AR
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Runs all games i play with maxed out graphics... also plays all my blue rays with excellent performance...
What's not so great: i gave 5 stars for value for price, but i do feel its is a lil over priced but you get what you pay for
I bought this card for my home entertainment pc which is in my living room... installed with ease and can handle anything i throw at it... Blueray, Games,etc... i did, however, have to install an extra case fan.. as these energy efficient cards do run a lil hot.. but with the extra fan and the EVGA precision graphics tuning program i downloaded i get really cool temps under heavy loads...
my system.
Windows 7 Ultimate
AMD Phenom 4x quad core 3.0gz black edition
Geforce 9800 gt 1gb ddr3
8 gb of geil ram
Blueray drive
750 gb hard drive
300 watt power supply
1 120mm case fan "on the side with lil bitty blue LED lights" =) for massive intake air
2 80mm case fans positioned 1 in the rear and one in the front for maximum exhaust flow
55' Samsung LED 8500 series at 240hz screen refresh rate
"equals"completely AWESOME! =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Amazing card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Elyria, OH
on 01/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Amazing performance, great price, easy setup
What's not so great: Absolutely none
I am an ardent PC gamer who desperately needed an upgrade (I was mainly seeking an affordable card that could manage Crysis at high resolution and graphical settings). I bought this card to replace my faithful but obsolete 8400, and WOW, was it an upgrade! This card runs Crysis and Crysis Warhead at highest settings at 1280x1024 (no AA, obviously) with an average of about 20-25 FPS...beautiful. I have also been able to enjoy the excellent multiplayer Crysis Wars with settings maxed out. It also runs Mass Effect, Assassin's Creed, Far Cry 2, and SC Double Agent all on the highest settings perfectly. I had to play Assassin's Creed at a pitiful Med-Low settings at 800x600 to get decent framerates with the 8400, and now it runs perfectly. My Windows Experience gaming graphics score went from 3.5 to 5.9. The price was also very reasonable too.
I was really surprised at the size of it, even though I knew it was big. Some judicious rearranging of cables inside my case was required, but I could care less about that...I was looking for a card that could run on 400W or less, because of my pathetic 400W PSU...needless to say, this card was perfect. Someday I'll get a new mobo and PSU and buy another one of these so I can SLI, and then things will be perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Absolutely Killer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nawtee
from Lago Vista, TX
on 12/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Incredible game play!!!
What's not so great: Nothing!
It has made a huge difference in my gaming experience. My favorite game is rather intense at times, and before my PC would always falter. Now I can game away and take on as many foes as I'd like.
Simple to install. Card has lifetime guarantee if you register in 30 days and an upgrade program!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great bang for the buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jstro
from Lindenhurst, IL
on 12/09/2009
What's great about it: Huge performance increase over old Asus 256 MB GeForce 8500 GT
What's not so great: Nothing to report yet
I originally bought a GeForce GT 220 1MB to replace the original card in my HP m8330f (256 MB GeForce 8500 GT, 2.2. GHz AMD quad running Windows 7 64-bit), but the performance increase was marginal at best (as judged by MS Flight Simulator X). I could still only run at low frame rates at low-med quality without lagging. To add insult to injury, the Windows performance index for Windows desktop Aero performance actually went down! I returned the GT 220 and decided to plop down a little more for the 9800 GT based on price vs. video benchmark information. It was night and day. I'm running Flight Sim on max quality at 30 fps and it's smooth. The card fan seems to be no louder than the old 8500. Note that I did replace the original 300W power supply with a 650 W unit so that I could upgrade the video. Also, I downloaded fresh Windows 7 64-bit drivers from BFG.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

So far, so good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ButchieO
from Columbus, OH
on 12/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good card for the price
What's not so great: Some of my older games (COD, RTCW) stopped working after installation
I upgraded from a GeForce 8600GT with 256k of RAM, and the increase to 1gb was a welcome boost, although it appears I need to upgrade my other core components to realize the full advantages. Overall a good value, and a worthwhile purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Much faster/better/stronger than expected.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cole83
from Seattle
on 12/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Pros: great value for price vs. performance, no secondary power source needed, fast and lovable
What's not so great: If there were any cons, I'd put them here.
When I bought this card I was replacing a nVidia 6800 and was a bit worried that I need to get a new power supply as well. After doing a bit of googling I found that this card needs no secondary power connector. GREAT. I ended up having to replace my motherboard and get a new power supply after purchasing this card, and the performance has just gotten better. I run Borderlands at 1600x900 max gfx and it plays smooth as a babys bottom. I cannot say it enough, this is the card to have if you aren't in the market for an expensive SLI setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great card

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Exploit
from Olathe,KS
on 11/24/2009
What's great about it: Unbelieveably easy to install. No 6 or 8 pin connectors needed.
What's not so great: lower core and shader clocks than my old 9600gt 512mb..
The card is very easy to install than any other video card I have worked with. The design is much more compact than the original and draws power from the motherboard. Performance on the other hand is a trade off. For this card it gets lower clocks than cards below it that use power directly from the PSU.
Performance: I can't really complain here because I don't believe it is the card itself.
Guild wars: Average of around 70 FPS.
Source games (HL2,L4D, etc.) 20-40 fps. This is my problem. Everything says that I should be able to run source games without a problem. Although often I get no more than 25 fps on counter strike and Garry's mod. But then again I do not believe this is a problem with the card.
Temperatures: 60 degrees C at idle. (for those of you who don't know Celsius, it is hot to the touch.)
Although these cards are known to run at this temperature i did not like it. I used a tool to increase the fan speed manually so now my card runs at 48 degrees C idle and around 60C load.
Other than the ranting about low frame rates, the card is a great buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

I love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Newyork
on 11/07/2009
What's great about it: Easy to set up nice and fast
What's not so great: Alittle pricy
Alright, firstly I'd like to address to mr. Receescup. Sir that has NOTHING to do with this card, your talking about your new harddrive and PNY. THIS IS NOT PNY THIS IS BFG...
Anyways, the card is wonderful I recently had a 500mb nvidia 9500 from BFG and I figure it is time to upgrade. It's easy to setup and it is worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great Card, Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: yankee370
from Antioch, IL
on 09/24/2009
What's great about it: Easy installation, fast, good value
What's not so great: Nothing
Upgraded from a PNY9500 GT 512. Saw immediate improvement in graphics performance, WEI from 5.6 to 5.9. Very easy to install, up and running in 15 minutes.
The card went on sale 3 days after I purchased it, Best Buy credited the difference back to me, thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

This Graphics card Supercharges your computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GraphicsOwnage
from Los Angeles
on 09/19/2009
What's great about it: Cheap, And makes your computer 10 x faster
What's not so great: NOTHING!
This Graphics card will turn your cheap computer into a gaming machine i bought my computer for 200 and i lagged in every single game now i can run them on high graphics. This Graphics card is very good as in cheap and one of the best upgrades that you can make for your computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Amazing Graphics!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brian420
from Greensboro, NC
on 09/19/2009
What's great about it: Price, Graphics, low power supply needed
What's not so great: loudish fan
So I was getting mad that Fallout 3 was really laggy because my system couldnt handle the graphics so i bought this and a 400w power supply since it requires 350w and my computer only had a 300w power supply. Installation was quite easy for both of them, and once i was done i was running fallout 3 on the ultra high settings without a hint of lag. Amazing! Worth the purchase, cant wait to get left 4 dead.
Only bad thing really is the fan which is louder than my power supply's but i wear sound cancelling headphones so i dont notice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Question: Minimum power supply?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cheeup
from Massachusetts
on 09/08/2009
What's great about it: n/a
What's not so great: n/a
One of the reviews says the box calls for a minimum of 350W power supply, yet the Best Buy specs list says 250w. My computer is right in the middle with a 300W. So what's the right minimum requirement?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

What a great card!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bkings
on 08/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Incredible value for the price, very reliable, setup rocks
I highly recommend this video card. I have used BFG many times in the past and this is the greatest bang for the buck so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

The "Sweet Spot" of cards in this price range.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jrors93
from Joplin, MO
on 08/10/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: graphics...Graphics....!!GRAPHICS!!
What's not so great: Overall.... Nothing.
"Wow!" Is pretty much all I can say about this card. This card is truly unmatched in terms of graphics output per dollar. Very good purchase at $159, and to see this card in action is a very gratifiying experince.
First off, the PC I have is a Dell XPS 430-121, that I purchased less than a year ago, also from Best Buy. It is powered by Intel's Quad 4 setup, 6 gigs of RAM, with a 375 watt power supply, and it came with a ATI Radeon 256mb card. The card at best was "ok".. but I do play alot of games, in particular, World of Warcraft. I could never play that game with the ATI on maxed settings, because my frame rate would drop to about 8 fps... which is very bad. so, what I did a few days ago was buy a ATI Radeon HD4350 with 1gig of DDR2 from Bust Buy, for $79.99.
I thought that card would be completely awesome in terms of graphics... but man, talk about a serious letdown!! That card, even with better specs than my standard ATI, was just as bad as that one, when I tried max settings on World of Warcraft.
So, I went back to BB, bought the Nividia instead... and it was like night and day! I couldn't believe my eyes! I used to get on regular settings on either ATI card, like 25-30 fps... but this Nividia card, with settings maxed to ultra is getting anywhere from 30fps in heavily populated areas, up to 215fps in almost any other area!
Talk about about a awesome card!
I reccommend to anyone in the market getting a new video card, to try this one out. it doesn't use a extra power supply card, though the unit is "kinda" on the long side... and it even has what is called "EcoIntelligence", that states this card is 30% more power efficient than the standard GeForce 9800 card. WORTH EVERY PENNY!
So, give this card a go... you cannot go wrong with this "Sweet Spot" of video cards:).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>