Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Him

Customer Reviews for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Model: WDG1S10000VN
SKU: 9341143
UPC: 718037745602
This massive DVR expander provides up to 1TB of storage space for recording up to 120 hours of high-definition TV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 48 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
37 out of 48
)
Customer Reviews for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive
Review 1 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Greatly Disappointed in DVR Expander

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ThreeDisneyFans
from Seaford, NY
on 07/09/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The concept of being able to record a lot of TV shows without having to rush to watch them.
What's not so great: We had two of them that kept freezing up on us and causing our cable box to freeze up.
Despite other positive reviews, I would definitely give it a negative review. We had trouble installing it until we followed someone else's directions to get it to work. We hooked up the DVR Expander to our Scientific Atlantic 8300HD while both were turned on. It worked for a little while. When we started having problems, we exchanged our cable box and then had cable come ot the house to check our wiring. they replaced from defective wires and the DVR Expander worked......for a little while. Then it started freezing up again and digitizing the picture both recorded and live. We had to constantly unplug our Cablevision AND the DVR Expander to get them to reset themselves. I exchanged the DVR Expander and it worked for a little while but then started doing the same thing. We even bought a better wire for it (at someone else's recommendation) and it still didn't work as described. It was a REALLY great concept but didn't work at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Scientific Atlanta users BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RevGary
from Milwaukee WI
on 04/21/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It looks good
What's not so great: It is miss repersented to work with more equipment then it is able to.
I bought this drive to expand my SA 8300HDC DVR from Time Warner. I followed the directions to the letter with the unit not responding. I had TW push me the latest firmware for my DVR, and verify that the SATA port was active. After this was done I attempted to reinstall the product with no luck.
I called Western Digital for help and was referred to their website where it states 2 things.
http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2516
1) Western Digital 500 gig drive is the ONLY drive that will work with SA DVR's. The 1 tb is not compatible. (even though the box says it is)
2) Western Digital drives will only work with 8300/8300hd/8300mr/8300mr-hd. If you have the 8300hdc THEY DO NOT MAKE A DRIVE THAT IS COMPATIBLE!!!!!!!!!!
The long and short of it is... If you have an SA DVR western digital is not the right drive for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

very good external storage

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RichT10203
from Worcester, MA
on 04/20/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Size could be 2TB
This item was purchase online and picked up at store. I was satified with the ease of the process. I have used this item for approximately 2 months with no issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: paul3347
from Cleveland
on 04/17/2010
What's great about it: easy to install
What's not so great: nothing
I installed this on a DirecTV DVR and it works great
After about 3 months the picture got choppy and i couldn't rewind.
I powered everything down, disconnected everything, reconnected everything and it works fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Forget about it

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RichardK
from Morganville, NJ
on 04/17/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing I could tell
What's not so great: Would not sync with my DVR
I have a Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD supplied by Cablevision of New Jersey. I was unable to sync the Western Digital Expander with the DVR after several attempts. I called up Cablevision and was told that there was nothing wrong with my DVR. I called up Western Digital and was told that Cablevision had to "unlock" the SATA connector on the DVR. Cablevision then told me that the Western Digital 1TB Expander was probably too much for my DVR to recognize! After going in circles for a few days, I finally returned the Western Digital Expander and purchased an Iomega 34508 eSATA DVR 1TB Expander Drive, which worked correctly on the first attempt. I have not had any problems with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Great upgrade for DVR's!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ken1720
from Allen, TX
on 04/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything! Price, ease of set up, quiet operation, no annoying bright LED light, and a lot of storage space!
What's not so great: So far, my only complaint is not being able to migrate saved shows from the DVR drive.
I was like many people, tired of running out of space and having to clean the DVR drive every couple of days. I found the recommendation for the WD DVR Expander on the Directv web site. Having several other WD products I considered it a safe bet. After looking around I found that these were in short supply, they are selling very well. I purchased it at a good price online and picked it up at a local store in about two hours. I followed the instructions and had it installed in minutes. It really is as simple as they claim! Power down the DVR, find a place to set the drive, connect the power to the drive, connect the provided eSata cable to the drive then DVR, power the DVR back up - Done!! It couldn't be simplier. You cannot hear the drive running, nor does the LED light shine and distract you - a lot of thought went into the little details. The provided eSata cable was a nice added detail. This drive works great with the recently released Directv multi-room beta feature. One item to note - DVR response is a little slow for the first hour or so as the schedule updates, other than that - no problems found so far!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Will die within 12-18 months with your HD TiVo

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: UnhappyWithKodak
from Salem, OR
on 04/15/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Provides superb additional storage for HD Tivo.
What's not so great: Expect it to die between 12-18 months after placing in service with your TiVo.
Two of my HD TiVos have this product attached to them. Excellent storage, but each Western Digital DVR expander had to be replaced within 12 to 18 months of operation. They are apparently not built to provide constant use in the TiVo atmosphere. You'll know when it dies. TiVo picture will start locking up and increase in frequency - each time requiring a reboot of seven to eight minutes. Then it is a trip to the store to purchase a replacement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Great TiVo expander.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PathfinderTex
from Midland, TX
on 04/14/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy install. TiVo gave on-screen instructions easy to follow.
What's not so great: Nothing
Great TiVo expander that is easy to install. Comes with esata cable. Can't use an existing hard drive. TiVo expander must come from WD with TiVo formatting. Connect in sequence given in instructions then follow TiVo on-screen and done in about 10 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

A must for High Def Recording

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: directorof10s
from San Mateo,CA
on 04/14/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Room for everything that I can record.
Easy to install. Your orginal hard drive will not be visible after installation of the extender.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Does not work with Scientific Atlanta 8300HDC

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: hallver1
from Illinois
on 04/10/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Installation
What's not so great: Recording is awful. Pausing and pixelation when taping more than 1 item at a time
Stuttering and pausing during recording of shows or movies. Use WOW cable and Scientific Atlanta 8300HDC. Despite claims that it works with this model, it does not. Can not tape more than 1 item at a time without interference.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Works as advertised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chperry
from Knoxville, TN
on 04/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ability to record much more HD content
What's not so great: None so far
Worked fine on a SA 8300HD on Knology cable system. Only setup problem was after selecting to format the drive for use on the DVR, the storage space did not increase. Powering down the drive and DVR and repowering worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

great piece of electronics

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hitawaah
from cocoa beach fl,
on 04/01/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very easy to set up, plug and play
What's not so great: you lose all pre-existing shows
I have the 1 TB model on each of my dvr's and they are a great addition. I have the directv HR20 and the HR21 models and the setup was very easy on both, just plug and play. The only drawback is that you will lose all of your pre-existing shows and settings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Great product!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nancyb10
from Ione, CA
on 03/31/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Much more room for DVR recording
What's not so great: Wiped my DVR during install.
Great item to expand your HD DVR recording. Installed easy in about 5 minutes, but the process wiped everything off of my DVR. Although with this I'll have more room to record with! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Difficult to get it to work, but works fine now

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AzCoupe
from Mesa, Arizona
on 03/31/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Works great - we love the extra space for recording movies.
What's not so great: Was very difficult to install. Followed the directions (over and over), but it wouldn't work. Just about gave up.
The directions were very easy, so we expected it to be easy to install. However, we kept getting an error message. We tried over and over and finally gave up. Tried again the following evening, over and over, and it still didn't work. So I gave up again and was going to ship it back. Fortunately I didn't unhook it, and for some strange reason, it started working the next day. Guess it has a mind of its own..... like my wife (lol). Anyway, its been about three weeks now and we love it. You don't even know its there, as you don't need to do anything special. The extra space is great for recording movies and all of our favorite shows. Awesome product, once you get it to work. Don't give up......
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Worth Every Cent!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Luke417
from Northeast, PA
on 03/30/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Storage space on the Tivo HD is limited. The product allows you to record tons of HD shows and still have plenty of room
What's not so great: Tivo tech services recommends reversing the cable if the DVR doesn't recognize the expander at first.
Love it! Very easy to connect; however, I had to call tech services at Tivo. The tech told me that the cable connections need to be secure and sometimes reversing the cables will help. It did! Worked perfectly since. The extra storage means not having to delete shows before you get around to watching them. If you take a while to get around to watching your favorite shows, you NEED this device!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

GREAT DRIVE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Drewzilla
from No. California
on 03/30/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plug and play at it's finest
What's not so great: Don't know the long term value but it's been great for the first 2 weeks
This was the best price i found after several hours of research. It was back-ordered so I did have to wait 3 weeks before it came in. I wanted to boost my Direct TV HD DVR's recording capacity and this drive has done that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Only Lasts 1 year

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TheBum
from Iowa
on 03/04/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works... for about 1 year..
What's not so great: Only lasts a little over a year-by DESIGN.
Was easy to install and setup. But after almost exactly one year, the Tivo started random rebooting. After researching online, was easy to determine that it was this hard drive failing. What is frustrating, is that it appears that this is by design by Western Digital. Will NEVER buy another WD hard drive after this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Super Storage Increase for My DVR/Cable Box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: akai88
from East Hampton, NY
on 03/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, clear instruction
What's not so great: none so far
The product operates seamlessly with the Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

Great expansion product TiVo HD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zeke009
from MN
on 02/23/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Instructions were accurate, additional space is fantastic, quiet operation, light is not too bright
What's not so great: Tivo actually reboots twice, but Tivo HD loads faster than Series 2 ever did
Additional storage for 120 hours of HD content (recording setting does NOT matter for HD) is great! Standard Definition content is as follows once this is added to a Tivo HD unit.
Quality - Hours:Minutes
Best - 244:09
High - 360:32
Medium - 569:21
Basic - 1444:47
These items are hard to find and I'm glad I actually found one today at my local store. I wasn't comfortable voiding my warranty with a custom upgrade and this is exactly what I was looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Western Digital My DVR Expander 1TB External eSATA Hard Drive

More recording than I have time to watch. Great !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Belton, Mo
on 02/21/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Gives me choice of programing to watch anytime.
What's not so great: No down side.
I only use an outdoor antenna for local broadcast in Kansas City and still have over 30 channels to choose from.
I record all my faverate programs and can not find the time to watch them all. That's ok with me because I always have good programs to pick from.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>