Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Model: 5301V
SKU: 9347815
UPC: 093207088346
This remote starter lets you warm up your car in cold weather and cool it in hot weather for added comfort and convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 121 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
9
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
103 out of 121
)
Customer Reviews for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System
Review 1 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

it works good.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vb48
from boston ma
on 04/15/2014
What's great about it: it works
I don't have any complaints at all. The service tech was great install. teach me everything I needed to know.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0540819346
My Best Buy number: 0540819346
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great Addition

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dezkms
from Phoenix, AZ
on 03/30/2014
What's great about it: nice addition
This product is a great addition to be able to start your vehicle in advance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0963909068
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lwysbrk
from Peoria, AZ
on 03/13/2014
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: it doesn't cook dinner
Simple little 2-way remote start, it was a bonus that it can actuate the trunk release. Good range and no problems yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0570535469
My Best Buy number: 0570535469
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Remotely starts the car

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MNpolarVortex
from Duluth, MN
on 03/12/2014
What's great about it: 2 way confirmation
What's not so great: Buttons can be hit in pocket/purse
Installed in a GM vehicle with Theft Deterrent. After waiting to get installed we started driving away and the theft deterrent light stayed on the dash. Took it right back to Best Buy and they did fix it for free but we had to wait another hour because they didn't know what they were doing. Searching computer documents and calling help lines.
Product does work fine though. Comes with two responders but only one remote has the two confirmation, I was not aware of that when I purchased it. The one way responder, when unlocking the car and opening the door before using the remote start sets off the alarm. Not the case with the 2 way responder. Have had it installed for less than a week so I need to research this a little bit more but I don't think I'm doing anything wrong, just poorly installed or not the right product for a vehicle with theft deterrent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0540576218
My Best Buy number: 0540576218
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

great toy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Edolino
from Chicago
on 03/06/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: good price
great toy for great price and I would recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2863826377
My Best Buy number: 2863826377
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Bought it for my Mom - so far so good!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jenniferya
from HOUSTON, TX
on 03/03/2014
What's great about it: convenience of starting the car to warm up is great
What's not so great: the horn beeps to unlock and lock - and it doesn't work on the trunk for the Toyota
I was just thinking this morning that I wish I had bought one for my car! I would definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1002925766
My Best Buy number: 1002925766
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great easy to use system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NYISLES19
from New York,NY
on 03/01/2014
What's great about it: Long range remotes make it easy to lock and unlock car and 2 way responder makes sure it receives command
What's not so great: Only one 2 way responder remote but it is really not a big deal
We purchased this system and have loved it since. It is easy to use and the installation crew at the store gave us a great rundown on how to use it. Very happy to have purchased this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0303227838
My Best Buy number: 0303227838
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Best Buy install was great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bestbuyrx
from onalaska,wi
on 03/01/2014
Nothing like a warm car on a cold afternoon after work. BB install was great as advertized.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2852065855
My Best Buy number: 2852065855
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Has great range and BB Geek was very professional.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: K9Onyx
from Fargo
on 03/01/2014
What's great about it: BB Geek
What's not so great: Only one of the Fobs is two-way
Works great very good range. BB Installer very profesional and kept me up to date.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2525169880
My Best Buy number: 2525169880
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great love the way it tells you if it turned on.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jcmpj
from Midlothian,Illinois
on 02/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to use . Lights up and makes sounds .
What's not so great: Back comes off easy.
I really like this unit. Helps on cold Chicago days
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0219156932
My Best Buy number: 0219156932
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dbarnes13
from Knoxville, TN
on 02/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to use & reliable
What's not so great: None so far
Love this little device and it's very convenient. I could never imagine life without a remote start!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0568610765
My Best Buy number: 0568610765
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great remote starter

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WhoKnewWhatIKnew
from Richmond,va
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Ease of use and features
I chose this remote start unit because of the Viper name and quality features of this particular system. You will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1053860689
My Best Buy number: 1053860689
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great item.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ricklois
from Chesterfield, MO
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use & great range of start.
Love it & would recomend it to everyone. It has come into good use with the winter weather still coming on strong in this area. Also great if you have your hands full when shopping etc. you can start it up & unlock it w/ the remote.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0037276546
My Best Buy number: 0037276546
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Great Remote Start

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scottieboy
from Missouri
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Lets you know if the car starts
I really like the 2 way communication of this unit. The car dose not have to be visible to know it starts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2856747894
My Best Buy number: 2856747894
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Good product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Soldier4Life
from Fort Knox, KY
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Distance
What's not so great: Wish both were 2 way starters
This is great for cold mornings just wish the remotes had better capabilities. Remotes are dated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2521144263
My Best Buy number: 2521144263
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shellybell
from New Albany, Ohio
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Great Price
What's not so great: Figuring out the many different functions
I love this. I don't know how I lived without it. Everyone should own this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2100401213
My Best Buy number: 2100401213
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Exactly what I needed for this cold winter!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jijomo
from columbus
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: Great price, included install,
What's not so great: Remote buttons hard to see at night
Other than the remote buttons hard to see at night, this is a great product. Works from 2000 ft away and vehicle does not need to be in site. There are multiple buildings at my work site and I can be all the way at the far end of the furthest building and my car will start. The remote feedback with beep lets me know my command was followed through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2862529972
My Best Buy number: 2862529972
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

ease of operation

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Freddymacs
from Lancaster, CA
on 02/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: very easy to use
What's not so great: The buttons on the remote are open and often get pressed unintentionally
The system works very well. My only flaw I see is the buttons on the remote are very easy to press unintentionally.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1015518597
My Best Buy number: 1015518597
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

The remote does not work consistantly

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ChicagoMan773
from Chicago
on 02/28/2014
What's great about it: So far not much
What's not so great: I cannot get the remote to start the car consistantly from inside my house when the car is parked on my driveway
The package I purchased was supposed to include Geek Squad installation, but the installation was only for the remote starter not any other modules or connections.. The cost for installation including door locks, trunk lock and alarm system including additional parts for my Toyota Camry cost $129 more than the purchase price. There should be a way for a customer to look this information up BEFORE buying the item.
I would be more satisfied with the item if the remote was able to start the car and open the door locks more consistently. I am going to take it back to the Geek Squad and see if the tech can troubleshoot why the starter doesn't start the car from within my house---about 50 feet from my driveway. I realize that walls might cause interference, but I moved to a direct line of sight where I was looking directly at my car through the window and it still wouldn't start the car.
It is possible that I might be doing something wrong or that something has to be reconfigured, so I will try to update this if possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0776521389
My Best Buy number: 0776521389
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Viper 5301 Responder LE 2-Way Remote Start System

Works great (once tweaked to turn off "horn honk"

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rick0714
from Woodbridge, VA
on 02/28/2014
What's not so great: Keys are too easy to accidentally depress. Have to put "key lock" on causing extra work to use control.
The Viper remote start covers quite a distance and works great. Had to get the annoying honk turned off, after that I was happy with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2119620971
My Best Buy number: 2119620971
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>