Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Model: DX-L40-10A
SKU: 9364742
UPC: 600603126000
This HDTV features wide 178° horizontal and vertical viewing angles and a clear 1920 x 1080 resolution for a cinema-style viewing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(281 Reviews) 281
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 281 reviews
5 stars
190
4 stars
69
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
7
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
260 out of 281
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Good set for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TiagoBr
from Orlando, FL
on 10/31/2010
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to start using, good menus.
What's not so great: HOT HOT HOT... It generates a lot of heat.... SD picture is average to low.
If you're looking for a cheap HD tv, this one could be good for you.
It has overall good image and sound... Nothing outstanding.
It generates A LOT OF HEAT... And I do mean a lot...
In a small room it could be used as a minor environment heater...
It has good performance in HD, not so good in SD. Gaming in it was great... Very good picture with a PS3.
I bought it in an open box promotion so my price should not matter here....
I would not pay more than $450 for this set.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Inexpensive, hard to set-up and of average quality

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Sausalito
on 10/04/2010
PS: I returned it and got the same sized Insignia which was easy to set-up, inexpensive and showed a clear picture.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great TV for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pierson2011
from New Haven, CT
on 09/29/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, speed, ease of setup
What's not so great: Sound still comes out the internal speakers when connected to aux speaker setup
This is a great TV, with numerous inputs and surprisingly awesome picture quality. I hadn't really ever heard of Dynex before in the flat-panel TV game, but they did a great job with this model. The size is just about right for the room, and it's quick to start up and responds quickly to changing channels and inputs (something which was NOT true for my friend's TV, which I used extensively last year - I forget the brand on that one). The only thing is this TV puts out a fair amount of heat when it's on. I don't know if that's common for a TV of this size, as this is the largest TV I've personally bought. Not really a problem, just something I noticed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Good TV for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chapeto
from Joplin, MO
on 09/18/2010
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good picture
Easy setup, plenty of features for the money. 3 HDMI ports come in handy- plenty of other input ports. Got on clearance for 475.00- great picture considering thisTV is at the lower end of the scale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

LOVE IT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: weewah
from lompoc, ca
on 08/30/2010
What's great about it: Price, Size, Quality
This is our first flat screen TV and we LOVE it. The price was perfect and the quality of the tv is great. Now we just need to add a blue ray player and we are set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Good little TV for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ThePs
from 42101
on 08/03/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of set up, Great price, Good picture/sound
What's not so great: Scratches easy,
We got this TV at our local Best Buy for a great deal. We got the the display model for 450.00, and still could add the protection plan, etc. We brought it home and we were shocked at how big it looks in our apartment, and the quality of the picture (apparantly we already have HD channels.) At first, I was reserved about the brand but now we really like it. We don't have to turn our sound all the way up to hear it? The picture quality is great, and it looks nice and sleek in our living room. It was a good first flatscreen purchase for us!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Pretty Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from OhiYO
on 07/25/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture/Video
What's not so great: Audio
Video is great, S-video to the pc works good, speakers could be a bit louder and sometimes the remote doesnt like to work too well. kind of annoying that the popup on the screen will stay for a long time and there is no way to make it go away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

cost of tv was at a good price

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from winchester va.
on 07/17/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: sound quality
I purchased a dynex tv about 4 months ago and I noticed that we have to put the sound all the way to 100% to hear it. The tv has a great picture but the sound isn't vary good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

A great unit at a fare price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DickA
from Rock River Estates
on 07/13/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: A good picture and a strong base
What's not so great: The lack of a choice on wall or base
This is a 40 inch unit that can be table set or hung from the wall. The instructions that came with the unit are thorough and easy to understand. The table base that comes with unit is massive and adequate to prevent tipping of the screen. No wall assembly comes with the unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great Tv for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: klbwarriors
from tulsa
on 07/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture quailty, Price for the size you get, hdmi imputs
What's not so great: 60hz but, still a great tv
I have 2 larger more expensive tv's, yet, this one is right their with those tv's as far as quailty and features are concerned. A great 2nd or 3rd tv to have
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Can't beat it for the Price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GeezerGeek
from North Idaho
on 06/24/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality, Price
What's not so great: Sound quality is fair. Volume at max is just barely loud enough. Other that that a great TV!
So, you want a 40"-42" HDTV and don't want to spend a fortune? Well, this DYNEX fits the bill. A wonderful HD picture. OK, so it's not a 120htz, but can you really see the difference? Maybe, but I don't. I got this as a gift and after we hooked it up...WoW!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Awesome for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mizditz101
from Midvale UT
on 06/18/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, overall good!
What's not so great: AM/PM cant be changed, sound could be better
I bought this tv, and then read the reviews. While some of them worried me, I'm very pleased with the purchase :D. I was running a 32" old RCA flat screen, so this is definitely an upgrade from the 6-7yr old tv (for the same price haha)
Only down side is what was mentioned before. I don't have a big problem with the sound, but I notice it's kind of poor. Also not being able to change AM/PM for the time is annoying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Excellent value for the price, the show piece of m

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: trektheusa
from Austin, TX
on 06/06/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 1080p, lots of real estate for using as second monitor for laptop, just looks huge
What's not so great: Speakers poorly placed for stand use
Well, as many have said, the speakers are not great. They are mounted on bottom facing down which does not radiate the sound waves very well. I rigged some curved pieces of plastic to direct the waves out front and that has helped some.
Other than weak sound, the picture is my main concern and it does not disappoint. For 500, you pretty much go in with the idea that you will be getting a sub par product but unless you are around different TVs all day, you won’t really know the difference.
The key point is that it displays 1920 x 1080 for my laptop. Windows 7 allows me to use my laptop's 1600 x 900 native on the laptop and extend to the TV in full 1080. Awesome. That is the main reason I needed the 1080.
For the same price range I could have got a Panasonic 32” or a Dynex 37”. Having that extra few inches really makes a difference.
As for TV, I am using off-air and its decent. I have a lousy antenna so I can’t really draw any conclusions based on that. For what it does bring in, it is better than my old tube TV.
I’ve had it for a week now so it’s a bit early to comment on reliability but I have been using it nearly nonstop since I’ve gotten it.
You got 30 days to try it out so you really got nothing to lose by trying it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great Investment for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GalavantBear
from Arlington, VA
on 06/05/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The picture
What's not so great: I have no grips
I have been putting off getting and HDTV due to the high prices. A friend purchased a Dynex and I was impressed with the quality. I read a few complaints about the sound but I personally have no problem with the quality of the sound. I purchased a home theater system to go with the TV but have not hooked it up. Though currently satisfied, I imagine the sound will be even better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

good value for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: stevo21
from arizona
on 05/30/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good picture
What's not so great: sound could be a little better.
what can i say, great for the price. the one down side is the sound, but for the amount of money i saved compared to some other brands, i went out and got a great surround sound system, so not really an issue.
some tv's that cost more might have a better picture, but for most people the difference isn't going to be that noticeable.
if i pay 100's more for another tv, i want to see 100's of dollars in difference in the picture quality! i didn't see that with a lot, so i think it was a good purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great Picture and Value for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GlennEm
from Fontana, CA
on 05/26/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Excellent price and value for the money
What's not so great: sound
It was relatively easy to set-up and use, although some of the features were not so easy to find. The picture quality is excellent for product at this price point and an excellent value. Paid $499.
Brightness and contrast is very good and the clarity is excellent.
Had audio breakup several times when I used surround sound output from my Uverse box, but have not experienced any problems with the Uverse output set to stereo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Love this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: komabear
from Owings Mills, MD
on 05/21/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, great price
What's not so great: Unable to set am/pm in the setup menu
This tv is wonderful. I bought it for my bedroom. I needed a larger screen due to my poor eyesight. This is perfect. The HD picture is fantastic. I love watching movies and this makes the experience wonderful. You can't beat the price for the features on this TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

not so great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: asti101
from greensburg, PA
on 05/19/2010
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: sound, green spot on screen ( a pixel went bad?)
I researched tv's for a few months before making a purchase. I bought this tv because of the price. I had it installed and after watching the tv a few minutes, noticed a green spot on the screen - i guess a pixel had blown out or something. Had to take it down, and return it - which is a lot of work and time. Purchased an LG and WOW, what a difference. You do really get what you pay for! The picture is awsome and the sound is great!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Excellent choice for inexpensive 1080p television

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Templar
from Cranberry Township, Pa.
on 05/19/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Both chrominance and luminance are strong.
What's not so great: The audio quality is average.
I was simply looking for a cheap widescreen TV for the den. A set the kids could watch while they're home from college. I wanted a 40 inch or bigger screen. I must say that aside from having only a 60 Hz. refresh rate, the image quality is excellent.
I got it on sale for $499.00 and even with the extended in home service plan, it still came in at under $600 While I found the audio quality to be merely average, I think if it's hooked up to a stereo or multi-channel receiver, it would easily provide a superb viewing experience for anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex™ 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

the sound sucks picture Great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: issaac
from azusa,ca.
on 05/14/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality
What's not so great: SOUND
The Picture is awesome but the Sound is terrible I had to buy a sound bar( $100.00) and that improved the sound, Mothers Day gift and she loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>