Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Model: NS-L55X-10A
SKU: 9372154
UPC: 600603122507
Enjoy your favorite movies, games and sporting events on this Advanced Series LCD HDTV that features a 15,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio and 500 cd/m² brightness for brilliant images. The 4 ms response time and 120Hz refresh rate ensure quality reproduction of high-action scenes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 147 reviews
5 stars
92
4 stars
29
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
7
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
125 out of 147
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Had doubts, but GREAT TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JollyCAL19
from Washington DC
on 09/21/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price and Picture
What's not so great: Setup is a little wonky and the instructions are a bit uclear
Price was right on this one. My gf bought a 42" Insignia purely on price. Went home, hooked it up, and was amazed by the picture. Yet, I had it in mind that I was going to buy a Samsung 60" LED on Labor Day sale prices. I went back to Best Buy to get my TV and as I was checking out the Samsung, I stepped back and rested my hand on the first thing it touched. Lo and Behold it was 55" Insignia with all the same specs as my gf's and on CLEARANCE for 60% less than the Samsung. It was an offer I could not resist. I have not been disappointed by the TV. I love it. Don't be afraid of the generics!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

AMAZING!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: eagle5269
from Parker, CO
on 03/23/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EERYTHING!!!!
What's not so great: That I did not get it sooner.
This TV is amazing. The price, quality, and everything else.
It looks beautiful off and on. When on picture Quality is remarkable, so life like.
I have this hooked up to a home theater av receiver, and the two work amazing together. You don't have to spend a lot to get a huge, top quality picture.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Pretty Much Perfect

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: acceptable28
from Orono, ME
on 03/16/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The fact that it's Massive, Play NBA 2k 11 on it and you'll think it's real people
What's not so great: Big and Heavy, but isn't that the point?
I love this TV, though 5 HDMI ports seems a little much. Running my PC through this TV on HDMI feels a little slow, but it's probably just an adjustment of some sort of mode. X-box 360 run's well on it but you need to remember to plug it into Component 2, Component 1 doesn't work on game mode.
For the Price, 1080p Quality with 120HZ Refresh Rate is awesome. Buy it.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Insignia 55" HDTV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: volts
from Omaha, NE
on 03/08/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Absolutly Everything!!!!!!!
What's not so great: Not Buying this TV the FIRST TIME AROUND!!!
Hi Again folks! first off I replaced the 55" Dynex I had previously with this Television. Let me tell you the difference is like night and day! for only $100 more I now have a Television that performs as good as the top brand TV's, in fact, in some aspects better than the top brands.
First off, unlike the Dynex 55", there is absolutly no Motion Blur what so ever, with the same HDMI Cables and same Cable Box setting, second I now have full control over picture adjustments, TINT in particular, unlike the Dynex 55" where this was only adjustable in one Mode, Third the sound!! WOW!!! the sound quality is so good, the only time I use my Home theatre System is when watching a Dolby Digital 5.1 Movie, yep thats how good the SRS Surround is on this TV!! and last but not least, no more long turn on time, unlike the Dynex 55".
Folks, this Insignia 55' truly is the BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK!!! and with a 2yr warranty its unbeatable!!!! Save yourself the headache of going through what I went through, spend the extra $100 on this TV and Forget about the so called Bargin you think your getting with the 55" Dynex!!!
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Best TV for value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pacric
from Michigan
on 02/23/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Excelent TV and the cost is so low that I do not think you can get anything better
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Great TV for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Runningwoman
from Portage, MI
on 02/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This TV was so much better than we imagined. Its picture quality is great. It is better than other comparable brands.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mets05
from Riverhead,NY
on 02/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great TV for the price. No other TV came close in price and the picture looks just as good. Also, five (5) HDMI inputs, which is nice.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Great tv for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: White
from Littleton, CO
on 02/11/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Picture, Great Sound, Great Price, BIG!!!
What's not so great: The blacks could be a little bit darker
I was looking at 55 inch tv's. Compared a ton before making my decision. The picture was pretty much just as good as all of the other 55's. Im impressed with the sound as well! The only difference between this tv and other brands, is the name. If you dont want to pay for the name, and get the same quality, id recommend this tv just as good as the big name brands. 120hz is awesome. The only thing that can be a little better is that the blacks could be a little blacker. Also, this is one of the only tvs that includes the 2 year warranty! Cant beat that!
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

please save yourself from suffering...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: eric230944
from pittsburgh
on 02/08/2011
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: you think your getting bang for your buck but...
What's not so great: rear projection tvs have better qaulity
i bought this tv about 10 days ago... ive been using it every night for just watching tv, sports, ps3, and movies. its the 10th day and im still messing with the picture settings because NONE of them are good/work. when watching fast paced sports, the people in the picture lag and change colors by where they are on the TV. has color bleeding 10th day in on the right upper side and bottom left side. AUDIO backround is too loud to hear what people are saying unless you crank it up high. THIS WAS MY FIRST HDTV AND IM STILL SAYING DONT BUY IT. my 1995 rear projection honest to god looks better in standard def and on my ps3. changing tv channels takes soooo long, changing inputs basically "freezes" the TV. just cant believe how BAD this TV's qaulity really is. STAY AWAY.
Best Uses: tv shows thats it, dont even try to watch a sports game horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

No particular problems

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BftRam
from Beaufort, SC
on 02/07/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
No particular problems, but have trouble getting used to everyone being so short due to the ratio when not in HD.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Casual user, sure. Videophile, no way.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: wdgr2
on 02/07/2011
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: motion shuttering w/ action scenes
Okay for the price, but the motion shuttering made me return the tv after the first week. It should be said that I'm way too picky with TV's. Any quick movement in HD and the picture looked like it couldn't keep up properly. a note to those who buy it and it works good for them, HDMI 4 (W/ THE GAME MODE ON) IS THE INPUT FOR GAMING OR HI DEF USE. I also experienced pretty bad sound lag, but using HDMI 4 fixed the problem. I wouldn't recommend it if you're ridiculously picky like me, but for casual use I say it's worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Service

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Zama
from Green bay, wi
on 02/05/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's not so great: Service
Remote failed within weeks. Insignia customer service sucked. If you buy an insignia, pray nothing breaks!
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: spmn406
from montana
on 02/04/2011
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: big and cheap
What's not so great: not good resolution
i bought this tv cause i wanted a 120 hz tv and it was a good deal for the size got it home and hooked it up to my xbox and it gousted and draged so bad it was no wher near as good as my samsung 60 hz so i took it back and got another samsung but with the 120 much better
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TVLover2
from Dallas, TX
on 02/01/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I have had this TV for 2 months. I have not signed up HDTV service yet through DirecTV (not a big sports fan) & I am very happy with the picture quality.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Could Not Use With Home Theater

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: PhilTucson
from Tucson AZ
on 02/01/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price picture and sound
What's not so great: Sync problem
Picture and sound are good with this product. The problem arose when I played a DVD and put the sound thru my Sony receiver. Major problem with lip-sync. Tried to fix this by adjusting the delay in the receiver; still a big delay. I then saw reviews which describe this problem and also similar with gaming systems. Returned to Best Buy and they were good about refunding my money. Replaced with Sony Bravia LCD 55" product; a smaller delay was noted but it works fine after adjusting delay in receiver menus. Also a Phillips HD TV worked well with this home theater with no sync problems. If you are just using for cable TV, this could be a very good buy. There also may be a way to better compensate for the delay in newer home theater systems.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Excellent price, fair picture quality

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: x3brian
from Douglasville
on 01/31/2011
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent Price, good entry level for HDTV
What's not so great: Not so good for movies
If you want a 55" LCD TV that is the most inexpensive, this is the one you want. But be aware that it will be a compromise in picture quality. The onscreen menu to fine tune your color, contrast, etc. will be very easy and speedy to use, but will require fine tuning to get it to your liking. At first, you will notice that pixels will appear in black or dark moments during a movie. If you adjust the onscreen settings to enhance blacks and darker movies, you will lose color. This monitor works best with vivid shows, games, and sports. But once you adjust the screen and learn to compromise for movie watching, it is possible to enjoy this 1080P HDTV, especially the price. Additionally, if you are a first-time buyer in the HDTV market, this monitor is certainly a major improvement. We like how it automatically switches resolution to match programs of different resolution. I am sure other competitors do this as well, but is is a welcome feature.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Great picture quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thanasi
from tampa
on 01/31/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: awesome picture
I bought the tv a month ago. Great price, great picture!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Great product for casual use plus Wii

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gonnahaveit
from MD
on 01/29/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, picture quality, cheap 4-year plan
What's not so great: PC to TV HDMI issues
Before I bought this item I read tons of reviews on BB and Insignia website and was somewhat skeptical about the quality of this product (you have to check Insignia website before you buy this product!!!). Now I've been using it for about a month and I'm very pleased so far.
I'm using it to watch HD movies via BR player or through my PC, and to play Wii with my kids. Most issues other users had with this product were related to sound problems when used with Xbox or home theater/sound enhancement systems. I don't have this systems thus cannot speak on this matter. One issue I did encounter was with HDMI connection from my PC to TV: sound didn't work at all. When I switched to VGA connection the issue was solved without drop in picture quality. Actually, colors were even better through VGA than HDMI.
Again, great TV for casual use plus Wii without home theater/sound enhancement systems. For PC connection I recommend to use VGA cable.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Its good quality for under $1000

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Wildhog3213
from Fort Worth, TX
on 01/28/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Playability of PS3 (COD-Black Ops)
I love the size and picture, although sound is average not unlike any flat panel LCD. The only drawback was that I couldn't play Call Of Duty-Black OPS. The TV has a bad lag and makes it difficult to play the game. I had to return it and instead tried a Samsung "58 Plasma. It had no problem playing Black Ops on my PlayStation 3. Again if your looking for a set to watch TV it's a good unit.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: N/A
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insignia™ Advanced 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV

Insignia 55in TV

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Billiards630
from Florida
on 01/25/2011
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sporting events
What's not so great: Poor pic quality in non HD filming
If this is a purchase you simply can't wait for after saving then buy. Key to the statement is "simply can't wait for!" It's how I was and regretted it and I had to upgrade! I was planning on spending more money and found this on sale. GREAT for sporting events once the picture settings are adjusted. Fuzzy pic with HD movies and sitcombs, things like that. Really fuzzy on standard broadcast. I upgraded spending the money I was prepared to spend before I saved for it.
So wait and save more if you can and get one you will like for a long time.
Best Uses: Sports
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Sporting events
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>