Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Model: FILM2SD
SKU: 9372341
UPC: 855960000481
This high-quality 5.0-megapixel scanner lets you transfer film images directly to digital media cards to preserve your memories into the future.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 57 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
43 out of 57
)
Customer Reviews for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner
Review 1 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Good for sharing memories, Not for preserving them

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ilovetripods
from Baltimore, MD
on 10/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Straight forward and easy to use. Cheap solution to get digital versions of your images.
What's not so great: Quality of images reminds you of early digital cameras. No automated feeder.
Ion Audio jumped into a market with low competition: an easy-to-use consumer friendly product to get your old memories onto your computer. Similar products jump into the $500+ range (although they actually provide the maximum possible digitized version of a 32mm [about 2700dpi])
The real problem with this product is that Ion Audio doesn't realize the importance of the product's purpose: to forever preserve your memories. The quality of the scan is mediocre; quality reminds you of the time digital cameras first started gaining momentum. It's by no means an unacceptable result, but not sufficient for something you are trying to preserve. Everything is manual in this device, you will have to load and unload a strip of negatives, slide in slot, lock in and scan, push, scan again etc, repeat. On the plus side, the instructions and steps are easy enough for the non-tech savvy to understand, and it even comes with a memory card for you to get started. If your desire is to spend as little as possible to digitize a few boxes full of negatives\slides to share on facebook with your family and friends, this is the product for you. If your intention is to gain a digital copy of all of your old photos so that you can throw away all printed materials with no remorse: then you need to look elsewhere and be ready and willing to lighten up that wallet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tom56
from Moses Lakw WA
on 11/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality, fast, easy to use, very good results
What's not so great: Nothing I've found
I tried a top name scanner designed for slides, which was slow and poor quality, so I returned it.
I purchased an ION FILM 2 SD for less than the scanner had cost and was amazed at the speed and quality of the results.
Most of the slides I copied were over 50 years old. The FILM 2 SD copied them almost exactly as they are and I copied at a rate of 90 slides an hour.
The 1GB SD card provided holds several hours of copying, then I transfered the SD card to my computer and in a few minutes I was watching a slide show on the TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Very good job for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reast
from Springfield, OH
on 12/04/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, good quality scans
What's not so great: Slow Process
I was looking for an inexpensive, quick way to scan in my Dad's slide collection from my childhood. I've found the system very easy to use with good quality scans. On the minus side, there really aren't any instructions with the unit and it can be slow and tedious making sure the slides are facing the correct direction and aren't in a mirrored position. Although it is able to flip or mirror the slides on demand, the lcd is of too poor of quality to really tell if you have the slide the right direction or not.
Overall, this is a good product and great value for the money. It could be better, but then how much are you willing to spend?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

need better instructions

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: huck
from PA
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Scan quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the ability to take slides and put them to pictures and slide show
What's not so great: the instructions were not helpful
the product is valuable if it completes it service. It took several times to understand the instructions by trial and error. the instructions wete not complete. I have not been able tocapture the pictures for a slide show as I would like to do. The company should review their instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Don try It Poor transfer quality!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: rwoodruff
from St Louis, Mo
on 01/08/2010
  • Top 500 Contributor
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Scan quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: extremey poor transfer quality
I had hi hopes of transfering my familys slides from the 60's with this simple small device. I was extremely disapointed. The capture quality from this camera is similar to takeing a white colored LED light shinning it through a slide and capturing it with a web cam. The back lighting dosnt adjust for the brightness or contrast of the slide, so what happens is colors are washed with this LED back lighting and can not be repaired with the color correction software. The quality of even the best slide from the camera was minimal at best. I recomend spending your money on a flatbed scanner with the transparrent media adaptor or film adaptor. I purchased the cannon 5600f and have been very impressed with its slide scanning capability!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Quick and Easy Transfers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JPsMom
from Severna Park, MD
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, good price, good quality
What's not so great: Instructions were not very understandable
This slide scanner was easy to use once I figured it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Great Affordable Alternative

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rk1
from Dallas
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy of use
I bought this product for my dad for Christmas 09 for him to convert all of his old slides to computer (although I knew I would be the one doing the converting:-) Since he has hundreds of slides and the camera store wanted $.95 per slide to convert to a disk, this was a much cheaper route. Although I initially had it on the wrong setting (I had it set on Negatives), the ease in using this product and the quality of the output is well worth the money. Since the slides are over 50 years old, I figured the output would not be so great. I was wrong. The pictures look great on the computer and we were able to transfer them to disk and send to several of dad's friends. I would recommend this product first before taking your slides to a camera store. It takes a little while to transfer all the slides but at peak speed, I was doing around 120 slides per hour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Decent Enough Product

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: timmyp4021
from Palo Alto, CA
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Scan quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy enough to use
What's not so great: all manual, and only does 35mm film
It's a pretty decent scanner if all you need to do are slides and 35mm film. It's a manual feeder, so you are going to do all the work yourself. But if you're OK with that, then this is a pretty good product to get you by.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Works great. Documentation sketchy with the unit.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ray4000
from Seneca, SC
on 01/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Quick and easy to use after a few minutes.
What's not so great: Needs more info in the "Quick Start."
I used the scanner to scan 600 35mm slides that were over over 48 years old. It took me approximately 1 hour to do a tray of 80 slides.
To have this done by a photographer would have cost me $300, so the payback on the investment in the Ion scanner was less than 24 hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Best device I've seen in ages

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sand64
from St. Joseph, MI
on 01/21/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Scan quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I have old picture slides that I am able to convert into pictures that I can print and fix defects
What's not so great: The picture viewer is on the small side and is on the hard to see the pictures
This is the easiest product to use and it is computer compatible. I have had slides taken from the early 1960's and I have been wanting to fix and print them and this device gives me a way to do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Very pleased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sue2U
from Houston, Tx
on 01/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good quality, good reproductions EZ to use.
What's not so great: A bit time consuming if you're transferring alot of pictures. But for the money you're not going to get better.
Slides that would have oterwise sat in their boxes never being seen are now accessable on the computer or TV anytime I want them. Only transferred a few 35MM negatives but it worked great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Returned it

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Sue2010
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 02/04/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Scan quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Can convert old negatives to digital form
What's not so great: It fell apart; poor image quality
I had high hopes for the product, but was disappointed. The quality of the first few shots was poor; it couldn't pick up low-light shots at all. There seemed to be a lot of lint on the glass on the inside, that was picked up on the pictures. Then when I tried to reinsert the negative holder, a square piece of glass fell down on the inside of the unit, with some sticky tape on the edges. I couldn't get it back into place thru that tiny slot, so I returned it. It is a good concept, but not executed very well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

A few quirks, but overall a good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Trick414
from Texas
on 02/14/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Scan quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good scan quality for the price
What's not so great: Unintuitive menu system
I have never used a device like this, so I wasn't expecting good quality scans compared to the thousand dollar professional units. However, I think it will do a great job for the majority of the people out there.
The LCD screen doesn't do any justice to the unit, but once I transfered to my computer I was pleasantly surprised.
The manufacturer tried to make it a one-button operation, but that only makes it hard to get around in the menu. There is some clunkiness there, but once you get it set up for what you want you can go for hours scanning slides just by pushing one button.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Mac or PC, This Scanner Gets it Done!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TCSBOY
from MidWest, IL
on 02/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very simple to use, fast scanning and flexible usage without or with SD/MAC/PC!
What's not so great: Power cord is short, Menu is not the best, but it works.
I think the manufacturers of the earlier ION units heard loud and clear from Mac users... deliver a unit that can be used for Macs! This unit delivers! No, this is not a professional unit, but if you're looking to scan for home use, this unit does a good job. When you read the reviews, you'll see comments about plastic usage, dust etc... but truthfully, this unit, like most things nowadays is what you pay for, good enough to get the job done. Before buying this unit I did quite a bit of research with most of the famous brands. Since I can't mention brand names, let's just say, I've been to all of the main professional photo stores and in the end, the ION film2SD unit at Best Buy won me over with it's display, SD memory card saving format (with direct Mac/PC option), and it's including of three different types of trays. The most important point was the quality for the price. I converted a bunch of 1970 photos from my childhood and must admit, with a little care to blow dust off, and cleaning of the negatives/slides, you can get near professional results. Also, this unit is not like the older ones which takes about 30 seconds per scan... this unit is about 5 seconds in total through some menu options on each scanned photo. There are only a handful of Mac compatible scanners out there... even the ones on Ebay are not as good a value as this unit... trust me, ION figured it out with this unit. Photos are accurate in colour representation and brightness of the LEDs is strong enough to saturate a 35mm film negative properly for scanning. Until I see a better unit that delivers bang for the buck like this one, I'm going to rely on this unit for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

K.I.S.S.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RKGlenn
from West Virginia
on 03/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: simple easy to use
What's not so great: nothing I found so far
I have had a almost 1400 slides from the 1950's to the 70's with all of my family photos. I had tried several different types of systems on flat bead scanners, but the task was so tedious that it would take forever. Finally I came across this little gem. Within just a few short hours I had every single slide converted 1370 of them to be exact. Yes, the quality of the pictures aren't Hi Def quality but you have to look at the age of what your working with. The slides from the 70's looked better than those from 1954. If you have a bunch of slides you want to share this little Item is the way to go!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Great time saving device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ricky60
from Kailua, HI
on 03/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quickly Scan a large volume of work
What's not so great: Occasional it will "hangup" usually because I pushed the buttons without waiting for the next screen
I had been trying to copy slides on a scanner, two at a time, a slow, painful process. With this equipment I was doing about 200 hundred an hour and have done around 2000 slides. Interface with my MAC is flawless as usual.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Surprising Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BytheBay
from Middle River, MD
on 03/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Scan quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: viewing screen is smaller that I would like to use
A great scanner to digitize 35MM slides, black and white negatives as well as color negative. All pictures will display positive for review and saving. The pictures are saved to a SD card and can be downloaded to your computer when you are ready. The scanner can be connected directly to the USB port however there is only so much you can put on a computer table before you have problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Reasonably good, but not worth the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EricF
from Chicagoland
on 04/09/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Scan quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Pretty easy to use, good quality with some pix
What's not so great: Small preview screen, not goot with high contrast pix
Does a good job with pix with good lighting and normal levels of contrast. High contract pix (for example, night snots taken with a flash) the quality deteriorates significantly.
With any of these devices you need to take some time to remove all dust from the slide or negative. The preview screen won't show it, but when you look at the images on your PC the dust really stands out.
The holder for slides is pretty easy to load but the one for negatives is kinda cumbersome. It takes several seconds of fiddling around to get the strip loaded properly.
I'll be returning mine. For this price I can get a lot of prints made and scan from them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tony100
from Chicago
on 04/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent scan quality for the price. Easy to operate and transfer to PC or Mac.
What's not so great: Instruction manual could be more detailed in covering features.
This is a great little unit. I have tried others in the past and was disappointed in how poor picture quality was. This does not disappoint - very accurate rendition of color and luminance values. Capture is very fast and you can go through a stack of slides in short order. Very easy to transfer to PC or Mac - comes up on the PC or Mac with no fuss or software fiddling.
Small display on the unit means you do not have to be connected to the PC to capture slides - setting up for each shot is easy with the display. And the unit has a large built-in memory so you can fill up a large number of slides before transferring them to the PC.
Great product design by Ion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ion Audio - 35mm Slide and Film Scanner

WORKED GREAT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thomas152
from Coshocton, Ohio
on 04/30/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Scan quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: better then advertised
What's not so great: nothing
It was everything advertised and more used to copy 35mm slides and did great job..good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>