Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Model: M17-048B-BLK
SKU: 9383758
UPC: 884116021445
This powerful gaming laptop features dual NVIDIA GeForce graphics cards, 2GB of dedicated video memory and an Intel® Core™2 Quad processor for rapid multitasking and lush images.Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with SP1 preloaded Which Windows Vista edition is right for you? Compare. Free Windows 7 upgrade.Learn more.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 12
)
Customer Reviews for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black
Review 1 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Excellent computer! No complaints here.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dominus2424
from Los Angeles, CA
on 09/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Beautiful computer. Definitely worth the money if you like quality. Runs very smoothly.
What's not so great: It's a bulky computer so naturally it's pretty heavy.
First of all, it shipped 9 days after I ordered b/c it was backordered. It wasn't too bad and although I had to wait 8 hours for UPS to show up it was well worth the wait.
This computer is definitely one of a kind. Some might think it's too pricy, but it's a pretty good deal considering what you are getting. Most people do not need such power in the form of a laptop. It's been nearly five years since I've bought a new computer, and when I do I enjoy quality b/c it's an investment in my eyes.
So far I really enjoy the various customizations you can do with this computer. The keyboard feels nice and comfortable as well as the lower area where my wrists rest; very nice. I was really surprised at how big it is, and it lives up to my needs of a desktop replacement laptop without question. It's real easy to switch between high performance for gaming and low performance to conserve battery or just keep the computer from running at high heat for long periods (I invested in the best laptop cooling pad so it really makes little difference to me). I'd highly recommend making an investment in a good laptop cooling pad like I did (Zalman NC2000) if you plan on purchasing this computer. It will greatly extend the life of it.
The whole package was nice. Came with various little items that I liked: an alienware cap, mouse pad, special manual, etc. I have no complaints, and I'm still exploring it's capabilities.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Not Bad

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: shogan
from Maine
on 09/08/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Very Durable, Excellent Design
What's not so great: Mediocre Gaming for a Laptop Specifically made for Games
Priced way too high. Great for multi tasking and everyday use, but 2000 dollars for an everyday laptop. Gaming on this laptop is major let down, i'd recommend a different brand of laptop for gaming unless you want to pay 4 or 5 thousand dollars for an alienware laptop other wise this is priced way to high for what is delivers
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Excellent Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Utahraptor
from Ohio
on 08/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Low Price for Alienware, Dual GPU, Lighted Keyboard
What's not so great: Heavy, Touchpad
First, the item says backordered, will ship in 1-2 weeks. Mine shipped 15 days after ordering it. It was well worth the wait.
This is my second Alienware system. Alienware knows how to build systems that offer great system cooling. Heat is the enemy of all computer components. I bought an Alienware desktop back in 2004, and its still going strong, even though three other computers bought since then have crashed and burned. Even though this system has 2 GPUs, it stays cool. Asus makes fast computers, but even when idling, you can use them to make toast.
Yes, it is expensive. But considering that it will probably last longer than other computers, its a good deal.
As for performance, I haven't had any problems out of the box. The battery lasts 2.5 hours plus if surfing the net (if the dual GPUs are shut down). I've only played two games so far, but I maxed out the settings and they still have great frame rates.
The touchpad is the only weakness. It feels good, but does not respond well and is jumpy. But, its a gaming computer, so you probably won't be using the touchpad anyway.
Had trouble finding a case for it. Nothing at Best Buy or Newegg was big enough. A normal 17 inch bag is designed for a laptop up to 1.5 inches or so thick. This one is 2.1 inches. Had to buy one direct from Alienware.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Insane

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: osxgp
from CA
on 08/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Duel GPU, Quad core
What's not so great: wasnt free
I love this laptop. I don't know why people are complaining about the price though. Go to Alienware's website and configure this exact laptop and you will see that it is over $400 more than the price at Besy Buy. Aside from that, this laptop is replacing my desktop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

To pricey

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Emeryville, CA
on 07/28/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
For the price it should have blu ray and 9-cell lithium-ion battery is ok but should be 12 cell. I belive the only reason it is that price because it is alienware, quad core and does have a 2 gig video card. I would rather wait get all the things it comes with plus blu ray, solid state harddrive and super speed usb 3.0.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

best gaming laptop ever made

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ailen
from VA
on 07/23/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: very fast, blazing display
What's not so great: price to high memory could be higher
This laptop is the best I have seen everythng super
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Really Fast, Great Looking Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JD505
from Philadelphia, PA
on 07/22/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Really fast, great amount of space, looks good, picture quality
What's not so great: price, battery life,
This laptop is really great for gaming. It could have been a little bit lower but it's still great at it's performance and graphics. Also, the battery life could also be a little longer though. Still, I would really recommend this to many gamers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Meh

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MDCIDHC
from IL
on 07/21/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: good for gaming, it looks great
What's not so great: price is not that great, short battery life
It's great, but it is way too much for a laptop in this range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

fastest laptop ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bjh196
from Mascoutah, IL
on 07/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very fast and lots of memory,also good for gaming
ok like i said it is very fast and it mainly made for gaming, i liked it alot and im it has a good batter and dual prossers and good cooling system, it never gets hot. over all i recomend it to all gamers. thanx for reading!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Best Sale Yet!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: phhsjay
from Parsippany, NJ
on 07/09/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The best sale yet!
What's not so great: heavy, uses more power
This laptop is one of the best laptops yet for quad core, but I would not get too hyped about it because a year or two from now, there will be newers models with higher core speeds, and would probably cost the same price as this now or maybe a little bit more. It is an ideal computer, especially for multitasking, but for gaming, maybe I would consider a dual core extreme. Since games only use 1 core, why not get a dual core with a really nice speed. In any event, this is a lot cheaper than the one on the alienware website, and if you are looking for a "future proof" laptop, then this is a good investment that would run you for the next 5-6 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

Bad..Just bad

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: booger007
on 07/08/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Better value here for what you get than at Dell
What's not so great: nothing
I like everything about this laptop from the design, features and hardware that is used. Feel that it is well desinged and made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor - Black

aliens have come for us!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ablulalah
from Ablulalah, Tara
on 07/01/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: it works great.
What's not so great: it is from aliens
aliens are going to brainwash us. but their laptops work the best in the whole entire world. just buy it you won't regret it
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.