Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Model: 2701HG-B
SKU: 9387086
UPC: 764964410564
Set up a secure high-speed network with this wireless router that features four 10/100 Mbps Ethernet LAN ports that accommodate up to 4 computers for sharing Internet access. Built-in firewall protection keeps private information secure.
Average Customer Rating:
2.806 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
10
45% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
14 out of 31
)
Customer Reviews for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem
Review 1 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Absolute Junk!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: vlbszuni
on 02/23/2014
If I could've given this a zero rating, I would have. We are on modem #4 of this model. The only reason I still have one is AT&T keeps giving me another free one when I call in and complain. If this is the best they can do in a modem/router, they need to get out of the business! Every one we've been given has failed in no time. They constantly drop the DSL connection, and have to be constantly reset. Don't waste your money on this!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Drops internet connection when any laptop turns up

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BobBQ
from Cary, IL
on 01/07/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Decent price
What's not so great: Drops connection everytime another laptop is turned on
My wife works from home and depends on her internet connection. The original modem began dropping the internet connection anytime another laptop was turned up in the house. AT&T spent an entire day trying to troubleshoot the problem. They finally replaced the modem to fix the problem. Yesterday the replacement modem totally failed, so I replaced the old modem to enable my wife to finish her work day. Since this original modem still causes the dropped internet problem, I need to either purchase a different brand of DSL modem or totally drop AT&T DSL and switch to the much more expensive Comcast cable option.
This product has... Unreliable connection
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small office
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DubG
from Cleveland, OH
on 12/26/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Fits great in my garbage can where it belongs
What's not so great: Everything
If you have read the other reviews then you are going to know what im going to say. I have had this modem for 14 months, I started having problems with it about 6 months ago where it would start rebooting itself while i was surfing the web, it did that about 4 or 5 times a day everyday. If i was lucky it would go a week without rebooting but that was few and far between. I called AT&T and they would say it was a software issue and take me through some steps, it would work fine for a few days then do the same thing again. Now I have to by a new modem because it has gone from rebooting itself 5 times a day to 8 to 10 times an hour. I can not be online longer than 3 mins without the modem rebooting itself. I CONTACTED AT&T and they know about this problem and said its nothing they can do about it, THEY NO LONGER SELL THIS MODEL, and I have to buy a new one. I have had 3 modems in the last 8 years and THIS IS THE WORST MODEM I HAVE EVER HAD. This model has been replaced by AT&T 3 times in that 1 year warranty period. DO NOT BUY THIS MODEM
This product has... Unreliable connection, has a rebooting problem, is a waist of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

macbook user

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sixsensory
from Norwalk
on 12/03/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought a netgear modem and it would not go online for me to set it up. I brought it back and got an AT&T wireless modem which was $99 instead of just $53 but it worked. I did have to use the filter on my phone bc there was static and the wireless wasn't working until I did. (the one that comes w/ modem). It took about 45 min to install but only bc I never have done it before. I read once in a review that someone had one of these and it didn't last long. But I needed it right away so I got it at a store. In a pinch it works.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

AT&T 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Mode

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: manrob
from Grand Prairie, Texas
on 11/28/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Don't last but two years
I got this router about two years ago and it worked great for the first year and then it started to fail. It over heats if you lay it flat. Witch they say you can. Started losing connection slowing down my speed to 0.41 up and down. AT&T can't see it in there test, They just say you have a bad cat5 cable. After replacing all 4 cat5 cables and phone cable I found myself that it was the router. This is the only router that I know of that you can use for AT&T. For $100 you would think you would get three years or more from this router.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Heavy media streamer, heavy gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Worked Great for 18 months, then Failed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: VanillaShake
from Irvine, CA
on 10/28/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Affordable
What's not so great: It won't last more than 12 - 18 months
I was an AT&T subscriber until the company discontinued service in our area (yet they still advertise service is available at my address). As it turns out, they were apparently sub-leasing to Covad. This is not the modem that was originally supplied with new service, but when I wanted to add a wireless connection for my laptop and printer, I was totally confused with the lingo and none of the suppliers (Covad and Linksys) could supply support for the other. Out of frustration, I went to Best Buy and found this modem with the AT&T logo on the box. An all in one solution would solve my headaches and it did.
Unfortunately, the modem started acting up a few weeks ago where every night (never during the day, only at night), the modem starting re-setting itself. It would go down starting around 6:30PM – 7:00PM and continuously keep resetting itself. According to tech support at Covad, who are great by the way, the modem had reset itself hundreds of times within the last 24 hours. They suggested I have an electrician check the wiring in my house thinking the power was unstable?
Researching new modems I found a review on this one citing a failing power supply so I ordered a new one from AT&T. Just $10 so I figured I would try. No good. I’m convinced this modem is just built to last so long before it burns out.
I did purchase a new Motorola with wireless for just $99 and all is working fine, even after 6:30PM. I liked this modem up until now, but what a shame nobody can build anything that lasts anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Works great, but may not last long

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: techie60
from Cary,NC
on 10/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great performance, strong wireless
What's not so great: long term reliability.
bought this 2 years ago, works great. Used on Bellsouth/ATT dsl in NC.
Performance excellent. BUT about 6 months ago, started to have DSL failures that I blamed on ATT. They checked the lines and said 'their' end was fine.
Then my dropouts got more frequent and I concluded this unit was failing...for periods of up to 2 hrs. before it rebooted and cleared itself.
Never heard of electronics that fixes itself....but with glitches that ATT won't fess up to, and outages happening couple times a month, I bought a new modem...this time the Actiontec with wireless. So far that is working fine, no dsl outages after a month. BUT the 2Wire, while being a great performer, seems to have reliability problems, as you see by other reviews. However, ATT DOES support the 2Wire (they supply them too to new users). You have a tough decision...buy the extended warranty for a good performing device. Maybe they make them better now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

This is the WORST Router you can Buy!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RealTech
from Vero Beach
on 09/22/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Everything
Stay away from this Modem Router Combo!
ATT has no Business Making a Router, This thing Drops your connection constantly, the more computers you have on the Network the worse it is. It is very Poor when it comes to managing IP address. You will constantly see the Router Restarting itself because it overloads. I remove one of these from customer houses once every two weeks!
Your better off getting the ATT Modem only ( not listed on here, but is carried in bestbuy stores) then get yourself a nice (FASTER) Netgear or Linksys Router. You will Thank me Later, Trust me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Trouble right from the start

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jchasp59
from Knoxville, TN
on 08/24/2011
What's great about it: Looks nice.
What's not so great: Will not maintain a connection. No customer support.
I experienced the same trouble as reviewer, "jhammermil2008", except mine were immediate. Also experienced the same problems with 3 other examples of this model that were replace under warranty.
In short, my problem is: Several times an hour while surfing the internet I'll get a message saying that I am not connected to the Internet. I'll look at the lights on the modem and it looks to be resetting itself. The Internet light is off and the DSL light is blinking. My connection gets restored, but only for a few minutes when the modem resets itself, again. AT&T tech said they'd had many problems with this modem, yet AT&T continues to provide it to customers. Avoid if at all possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

2wire dsl modem/router unreliable

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jhammermil2008
from hattiesburg, ms
on 07/31/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: compact and takes very little space
What's not so great: unreliable
I purchased the DSL modem/wireless router about 3 years ago. The past six months the dsl just keeps disconnecting and reseting itself. Seems like this happens every 10 minutes or so although sometimes I can go a few hours without problems. I tried everything. Changing settings, cords, etc. I went online checked all the forums and tried all the recommendations including tech support, etc. I found that many other people were having the same problem. Finally I just bought a new actiontec modem and used my old linksys wireless router. Problem solved!! Everything works like a charm. The only good thing I can say is that it combines the wireless router and modem all in one. However I found that integration is not always a good thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Actiontec 1-Port Ethernet Broadband DSL Modem with Built-In Firewall
4.0 out of 5(54)
 
 
 
Linksys - Wireless Router - IEEE 802.11b/g
4.5 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

works great........while it works!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: mrabysmal
from chicago
on 05/27/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: when working, no connection issues
What's not so great: short life, will have to be replaced eventually
i have one of these at my office, and one at home. ive had them since switching over to at&t 4 years ago. i've had to replace both of them in those 4 years....they just "die". at&t rep tried to blame it on power outages, overuse, blah, blah, blah. they only give 1 year warranty from manufacturer. the at&t internet is far better than comcast (at least here in chicago), so i suppose i'll have to get another one. the product works great...until it decides to die! which isnt a question of "if", its a question of "when". gotta wonder if they manufacture them that way?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

18 months ago...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MykGio
from Buena Park, CA
on 05/04/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy and small
What's not so great: only last about 18 months
This week my internet started to stop working. This will me the third modem i bought so far. They only last about 18 months. My IT guy told me to stand it up. disable the wireless and use a wireless switch and not the router or wireless. It tends to over heat and stop working.
If you get this one, buy the extended service, its well worth it. Oh yeah... 18 months is not covered my MFG warranty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

NOT FOR MACS

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CJDHOU
from Houston
on 04/16/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: It's just average at best.
What's not so great: Dropped Connections
Do not buy this router if you have a Mac, according to so many of the AT&T DSL reps I've spoken with the Mac's security is more advanced than this router and what that causes is constant outages for DSL and Internet. And today I even lost the whole router... went out totally for a few minutes. With my MacBook it goes about for about 30 seconds every 10 minutes. That's 5% down time. Unfortunately, it's the router AT&T sells with their DSL service, and they won't be any help. This week the repairman was supposed to call and schedule a time to come out (after 20 or so calls to AT&T in the past 6 months, but all I got was another recorded message saying to call back if I'm still having problems... they will do NOTHING to resolve this problem other than a remote line check. In fact I also can't recommend AT&T DSL either. NOT FOR MACS
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Easy to use and does the job

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tiento
from San Francisco
on 04/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Powerful Wi-Fi and easy to install
What's not so great: Nothing yet.
Having used separate modem/router combinations for years, I have to say it was a pleasure to install this all-in-one device. Set-up was easy and quick, and the wireless signal is far more powerful than the old Linksys router that it replaced. I can now use my laptop in any room and on either floor of our two-story house. I have used it for more than six months with no problems at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

do not buy

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: joetheone
from atlanta
on 04/01/2011
What's great about it: easy to install
What's not so great: coverage area is very poor
I bought this wireless router after the At&t rep. suggested to me. I bought wireless so I can use it in different rooms in my house. I loose signal once I leave the room where the router is.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

JUNK

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: chinkums
from Lawrencville, GA
on 02/21/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it was free from ATT
What's not so great: It does not work
This modem was given to me by ATT. I work from home and when my internet is down I can not work. I noticed problems where my modem was cycling. Green light > red light > green light > red light... Basically my internet would connect and instantly drop over and over. I ran diagnostics, spent hours online with ATT, had a technician come out to my house. No one could figure it out. So they said it must be the modem and sent me another. Within weeks the same problem was occurring. So when they were mailing me a third I decided to go buy a new modem from the store to connect while waiting for the new free modem from ATT. Low and behold I did not have the problem anymore with the new store bought modem (that was only $50). Once the new ATT modem arrived we set it up and the next day the same problem. So I decided to forget using it all together and have been using the store bought modem for months now. It is night and day difference. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS JUNK!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Great wireless router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DACHIBEARS
from Chicago, IL
on 12/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Hasn't drop any connections
What's not so great: Didn't know about it sooner. lol
I've tried several wireless routers and none match up to this one. Thanks for great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Great Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BFB1
from Bartlett, Tennessee
on 12/21/2010
What's great about it: Easy to connect
What's not so great: So far so good. I have no complaints.
I love this modem. I had a 2 Wire modem which was purchased through my phone company AT&T and it stopped working. I went to BestBuy.com and priced their modems and found their prices to be very competitive. This modem is very easy to connect and it is both compact and lightweight. I've owned it for only 2 weeks but I haven't had any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

Not for Mac users

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Hoosierbear
from Missouri
on 11/01/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great for PC users, easy to set up
What's not so great: Doesn't work well with the Wireless N on Macs
If you are using Mac, save your money. This unit continually gives a red disconnection light while using the internet. It worked fine for two months on my Toshiba laptop. The day I brought my Mac home, I began having connection problems. I have to turn Airport off and back on before I can reconnect. Resetting the router does nothing. I will be purchasing either a Netgear router or saving my money and getting a Time Capsule or AirPort Extreme. I have no problems connecting using my iPhone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AT&T - 4-Port Ethernet Wireless Router with DSL Modem

If you have problems - check power supply.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: PiotrS
from Champaign, IL
on 10/25/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of installation and use
What's not so great: Faulty design of power supply, rather high price - but for AT&T there are not many solutions.
I've installed my first box 5 years ago. After 2 years it stopped working, so I've thrown it away and bought a new one – but I’ve saved a power supply. Now the second box stopped working, but I’ve read new posts about problems with power supply – so I’ve tested box with power supply from the old box. It also didn’t work. I’ve bought third box and checked second box with a new power supply AND IT WORKS! Apparently 2 years ago I’ve thrown out good modem, but saved faulty power supply.
Otherwise I didn’t have any problems – coverage and speed are good, even with 3-4 laptops running at once (when kids are visiting). Installation was very simple, even for me (close to retirement).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>