Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Model: GE083AD4-08
SKU: 9414671
UPC: 789286807731
This DSL modem features wireless-G connectivity and a built-in 4-port Ethernet switch for wired connection of up to 4 computers to the Web. A built-in firewall helps protect your network from virtual intruders.
Average Customer Rating:
3.346 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
9
58% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
15 out of 26
)
Customer Reviews for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch
Review 1 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

malfuntioning out of the box

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: lblasko1
from colorado springs. co
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
The DSL light has never come on but it is functional thus far. Had to be on the phone with internet service for 45 minutes to get it connected since following the included directions didn't work...
This product has... Unreliable connection
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Have to reset numerous times daily

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Aptop34
from Spokane, WA
on 12/26/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Poor modem--continually having to reset the router.
This product has... Unreliable connection
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Poor range

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Maricaibo
on 08/15/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Shiney black case?
What's not so great: Really poor range, difficulty with WPA network encryption
This thing was recommended by CenturyLink, and the range is less than half of the 2Wire wireless modem this replaced. Instead of a steady 48MB in my home office, this modem's connection speed wavers between 6 and 35 MB. Yes, I tried moving the modem all over the room, and the wireless dongle around downstairs, too. And I swapped out the antenna. Only if the modem is within 20 feet and line of sight does it connect wirelessly at a decent 54MB.
Could NOT connect wirelessly using WPA encryption using Qwest's own USB wireless dongle. Only WEP. It took hours to get it working.
The modem's Web-based configuration pages are poorly executed. What I took to be a frozen screen turned out to be a 'popup' at the bottom of the setup page and was not visible until I scrolled down.
Written documentation somewhat better, except the colorful quick start instructions failed to say that if you're already setup as a CenturyLink internet customer to skip using the supplied CD. That info was tucked away on a small, separate sheet of paper. At least I already knew what IP address to use to get to the config screens.
I got this in town at a Wal Mart so it's a quick return.
Avoid this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Doesn't work with Centurylink DSL over 1.5 Mbps

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Par10
from Albuquerque
on 07/24/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Didn't even open the package
What's not so great: didn't work
After I bought the router I called Centurylink to upgrade my service. That's when I found out that this router wouldn't work past 1.5 Mbps. I returned it with no issues.
About me... Budget Conscious
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

I does what it is supposed to do.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Goodgrief1234
from Utah
on 05/17/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up.
What's not so great: Expensive
It works well for my wireless products as well as for wired. SO far all is well and I hvae no complaints about performance. I just wish it did not cost so much.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Works like a charm.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ZorrosDad
from Albuquerque
on 03/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's performance and relative ease of installation.
What's not so great: It doesn't come in pink... jk! :)
Bought this unit to replace an old ActionTech that I had and it works beautifully. It seems more powerful and allows other units in the house to access internet reasonably.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

not for us on multiply systems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: couger25
from dayton wa
on 01/26/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything any other modem would be abil to service many systems
it works for just one pc wired or wireless or just one xbox wire or wireless but if you have one pc and an xbox or many pc and a few xboxs i will not let them all talk see and work together and niether qwest not actiontec. and both qwest nor actiontec know how to fix this nor want to (actiontec making a frimware update, qwest says would fix the problem)
This product has... Unreliable connection, Easy to set up
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Apartment
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Qwest

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: inqwest
from mobile, al
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
only reason i gave one star because the local dsl services does not recognize the brand Qwest; you must have a dsl account with century link for this to work.
This product has... Unreliable connection
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Great Modem like the 4 ports or being wireless

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nilknoc1
from Denver
on 01/13/2012
What's great about it: Works great with my phone Company
I really found it easy to install and to get my other computers tied into and up and running wireless. I also had 1 computer that had to be hard wired so I was also able to get it on line with no problem. This is a great product.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Not supported by CenturyLink

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: WI49ERSFan
on 12/19/2011
Bought this to replace my old DSL modem. The unit is packaged as a CenturyLink Modem/Router. The problem is that it not supported by CenturyLink. They have never heard of this model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Unreliable, constant problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SmaFru
on 10/24/2011
What's great about it: It's good-looking, I guess.
What's not so great: In my experience: Unreliable, frustrating, problem-prone.
I bought a PK5000 at BestBuy about a year ago, replacing a reliable old one provided by Qwest that finally died. With this one, we have very frequent speed problems, with speedtest results that flicker all over the map. Power-cycling the device -- i.e. unplugging it and plugging it back in -- will resolve the issues for a few days to a week, then the trouble resumes. Doesn't sound so annoying to powercycle it from time to time -- except that the problems usually reveal themselves in the middle of a Netflix movie, Hulu video, etc. Annoying.
We never had these kind of problems with the old modem. Qwest has repeatedly visited our home to check the lines, etc. The only variable that changed was the new modem.
I can't believe Qwest put its name on this thing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

What a piece of junk!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: rstevens49
from Colorado Springs
on 07/16/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: Constantly drops wireless connection; 1/2 the speed of my previous router
I bought this router to replace an 8-year old 2Wire router that wasn't compatible with a new printer. Qwest recommended the Actiontek PK5000. While it is terribly easy to set up, the wireless connection drops 4 - 5 times per hour, I have to continually power cycle the router and my connection speed is down to 54 Mbps (it was at 100 Mbps with my 8-year old 2Wire router).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

PK 5000 or 5000 Ways This Modem is a Piece of Kr*p

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SeattleSunshine
from Seattle, WA
on 07/04/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing comes to mind
What's not so great: Wi-fi seldom works, have to constantly power cycle and hope for the best
The first time I bought this wireless modem it was defective. Once set up it worked for a day, then could not access the wi-fi without power cycling the router several times throughout the day. By the third day it was even worse.
Returned it and got another one. Same thing. You have to power cycle it regularly to have any hope of using wi-fi, and even then there's no guarantee it will work. This is true for both our Macs and PC. I had to plug into the wireless router to write this review. It will get returned again.
Don't waste your time or money. Get something that works.
Note: This is the wireless router recommended by Qwest when you sign up for new service with them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

My wife was able to install without help!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Husker4Ever
from Omaha
on 02/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
My wife was able to install this wireless modem without any help from me or any computer IT experience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Wireless doesnt support DLNA or Itunes

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: bdac
from Denver, CO
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good basic DSL Modem. Very easy to set up.
What's not so great: Does not support DLNA used by internet TV or IGMP used by Itunes
This wireless is "mostly" good. However, after purchasing an internet television I found that many new features that the TV supports cannot be done through the wireless. First, the wireless does not support IGMP protocol that an Itunes server uses. So if you have an wireless Itunes device that connects the Itunes server, it will not work. (To verify this connect both devices directly to the PK5000 via cable and you will see the proper operation).
Second, and more importantly, devices that use DLNA for streaming will not see the DLNA servers over the wireless. Some reviews I have read is that the PK5000 only allows DLNA information out but not DNLA information in. As of this posting, I have not yet determined if it is with the whole PK5000 or just the wireless portion so I haven't determined if I need to replace the whole PK5000 or just provide an wireless internet router.
Qwest has only stated that they do not support this functionality. It is unclear if a firmware patch will ever be provided either (some rumors indicate spring of 2011, but if you are paying to have the functionality now, then spring 2011 is not soon enough).
In my case I bought the modem over a year ago, before I bought the internet TV, and was not aware of the short comings at the time. If you are not using the wireless for these functions, as I was not over the past year, then this DSL modem is good enough. However, as most technology is moving to wireless functionality this modem falls short.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Great DSL Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: larry7532
from Boone, IA
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of installation and it works great!
Great DSL Modem with built-in router. Installation was simple because instructions were easy to follow. Glad I purchased it, and would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

oustanding

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pepsi334
from south dakota
on 01/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: perfomance, ease of installation
What's not so great: nothing yet
Bought this to replace an older qwest modem and router. The other one would barely stay connected. This was easy to install and works great, has never disconnected. ok, I've only had it 2 weeks, but extremely happy so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tntree
from tacoma,wa
on 11/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick fix, back online
I would have had to wait a week for Qwest to send one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

I would recommend

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Macintucky
from Washington
on 10/07/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
I set up my new router. At first it was switching back to the previous page without me touching anything! I called Qwest who sent out a technician. He added some filters around my house and everything seems to be working great now. I have a feeling it was Qwests problem. I use it on two computers in my house (one obviously is using the wireless connection) and my printer. Everything is working well now. I'd say get it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CenturyLink - DSL Modem with 802.11g Wireless Router and 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Absolutely Perfect!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Grainger
from Inver Grove Hts., MN
on 07/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The install, functionality, looks...
What's not so great: Not a dang thing
I purchased this unit to replace an older Qwest modem that fried because of a nearby lightning strike last Friday. I purchased this new one from Qwest as well, since I was short of cash and could charge it to my Qwest account. Just got it today. Unbelievablely ease to install, except when it came time to the screen that said it was trying to check for available software. Got hung up there. I called Qwest and all it turned out to be is that I forgot to turn off my Norton firewall. I then restarted the installer and quickly finished it off. My bad! This modem has some convenient features too, like having a built-in filter for a phone. Looks cool too! Now I have a modem capable of the higher speeds that will be available in my area in October (presently have 1.5 mbps service). I highly recommend this modem. You gotta get one of these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>