Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Model: S7PIBN-BZ
SKU: 9466339
UPC: 878615004412
Charge your iPod while listening to your favorite tunes using this speaker dock that features 2 full-range stereo speakers with a 35mm driver for brilliant sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 13
)
Customer Reviews for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone
Review 1 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Great product, but not described accurately

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Tulsacub
from Tulsa, OK
on 06/16/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Compact size
What's not so great: Nothing wrong with product... was just advertised incorrectly by Best Buy.
I love the small size of this product. I like to listen to music while at work and this doesn't take up much room on my desk. I just have one big problem. The product description says it is compatible with iPhone. Nowhere on the product packaging does it say that it is compatible with iPhone. While yes, it does play, you get the standard cell phone/speaker intererence noises as you would from setting a phone next to a radio. I think I will be returning it to purchase a product that is truly iPhone compatible.
Best Uses: At work
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Enjoying ALL my HITS on the PIPE!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JohnnyWishbone
from Philadelphia, PA
on 06/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Portability, Sound Quality, Price
What's not so great: Ability to switch apps while docked, online only!
I decided to give the PIPE a go after doing some careful consideration on an appropriate speaker that would suit my needs to use with my 4g Touch, and I'm VERY pleased so far (just received today from BB.com!). My main criteria in this search was something smaller in size, with reasonable sound quality & inexpensive ($100 or less), that I can easily move with me from room to room.
It is small - approx 2/3 the length of standard paper towel roll, with similar diameter. For it's size, sound quality & volume seem decent enough for my purposes - helped by the fact it primarily will sit on an open cabinet shelf, which creates an enclosure of sorts, and a resulting "bigger" sound. I purchased the PIPE while on sale for $50 - a fair price, imo.
Only issue for me so far is switching between apps while ipod touch is docked - "home" button on ipod difficult to access due to depth of opening on the PIPE. Just need to undock ipod to switch apps. This is only a minor inconvenience, and probably unique to ipod touch and iphone as well. Also, while no fault of the product, I give a BOOO!! to BB for NOT carrying in stores! Would've been nice to snatch one up in store to avoid paying a shipping fee, but that's nit-picky....
If your looking for an ipod speaker to use as a main sound system, with expectations it will do the job in a large space or entertaining a large group - this product is NOT FOR YOU. But, it just might be the perfect choice to hear music while your cooking, studying, showering, doing office work, entertaining smallish crowd, etc. I'm really looking forward to bringing mine with on vacation!
I'm feeling like I nailed it with choosing the PIPE over other options, so thanks to people who took time to write reviews on this product. And for those considering the PIPE: do your own research! ...while taking reviews here into consideration :)
Best Uses: When I travel, At work, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Rickybobby88
from St. Louis, Missouri
on 03/30/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Compact size, battery operated option
What's not so great: sound isn't the best
This product just arrived about 20 minutes ago at my office. I immediately opened it and tried it out. My IPOD didn't fit in the slot for the product because of my case so I had to remove the case. Not a big fan of this but wouldn't have worked otherwise. Product is great for traveling but isn't a sound blaster by any means. Its more of a lower volume for listening at work. Seems to not have any bass to it at all but gets quite loud for the office environment. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone wanting something small for travel or office use. I wouldn't say this is something to have at home. In my case, I have a Bose Sound Dock at home which is the best. I might exchange this for something with a little bit better sound. Just because I'm use to the Bose sound.
As for warranty on this product, Skullcandy does a great job with that. Before I purchased it I contacted their customer service about their limited lifetime warranty. THey will cover any defects during lifetime of the product and if I decide to run this over or throw it to the ground they'll give me 50 bucks towards a new speaker from their site. This only got me $60 so I'd say that's one great deal.
Best Uses: When I travel, At work
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Great product....but

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JRyder1
from California
on 02/05/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything but the manufacturing quality that seems to plague Skullcandy
I bought this product after my friend purchased one on a Vegas trip from one of those BB kiosks. It was awesome for Vegas room pre-partying. We also used it for our hockey locker room for pump-up music. This thing has great sound! Remote is handy too.
So I bought one for myself. I wanted to use it for the living room in my one-bedroom apartment when I am cleaning since I have a more permanent heavy-duty speaker system in my bedroom with my desktop that is not easily moved. Also wanted to use it as an speaker extension for my computer for when I hook up my laptop to my TV with HDMI to watch internet TV feed (mostly NHL gamecenter). The Skullcandy pipe is perfect for this use since I didn't want to spend the money on a soundbar for my flat screen at the moment (I've found neighbors don't appreciate loud home theater systems in apartments). Also use it for when I am camping, or at the beach (battery option is great!), or whenever. It's so portable and small and the sound is awesome for its size. So basically this is an awesome product except....
When I bought it I was already skeptical of Skullcandy's quality. I have heard about plenty of problems with their headphones not lasting more than a year...that they cut out, break or whatever. I have had lots of friends have problems with their headphones breaking. Lots of negative reviews on other websites besides best buy for Skullcandy (esp. Steep and Cheap, Dogfunk, etc).
So after using this thing for a few hours, which I was thoroughly enjoying, all of a sudden the thing started getting a power surge of some sort. The light on the power brick was flashing and it sounded like thumping base surge when their shouldn't have been. I took off the AC adapter and put in batteries and it worked fine. Then put the AC back in and same problem. Thinking it was maybe an apartment wiring problem, the next day I took it to work, but I had the same problem. Returned to Best Buy store and they seem to think there was a defect with the power brick. Bummer.
Basically I will end up ordering another one of these because its pretty awesome and I'll have to hope I don't get another defective one. Bottom line, purchase Skullcandy products with caution!
Best Uses: When I travel, At work, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Compact with great sound quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nedder
from Summit County, Colorado
on 02/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's big sound and small size
What's not so great: Prone to fall over backwards when using a full size ipod 16gb
I love my PIPE! It is so compact that I take it from room to room with me. I bought it based on the reviews I read and they we all raving about the great sound. When it arrived and opened the box I was VERY skeptical that I would be pleased with the sound. Once I turned it on I was blown away with the sound quality for such a small unit.
Best Uses: At work, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

A GREAT SPEAKER SYSTEM FOR THE IPOD

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: anndy
from staten island, ny
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: SOUND AND SIZE
What's not so great: N/A
SOUNDS GOOD, AND YOUR IPOD LOOKS GOOD SITTING IN THE SPEAKER
Best Uses: At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

awsome sound for such a small device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tgab
from Warwick, RI
on 01/20/2011
What's great about it: sound, size and remote
What's not so great: can't think of anything
worth the money, sounds better than a lot of the other compriable devices out there which are bigger and more clumbsy, very easy to travel with. remote is an awsome feature to have, would strongly recomend to anyone
Best Uses: When I travel, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Quality very poor

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: papaFred
from Las Vegas Nevada
on 01/07/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Not a thing
What's not so great: Sound and quality
I recieved this product as a Christmas gift. Worked for about two days now the right side specker is making its own noise and at times dosen't work at all. The small remote control also has a hard time operating this product. Baterry compartment keeps falling open on the slighest bump.
Best Uses: When I travel, Gym / Working Out, At home
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

I'm impressed!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: likewhoa
from Somewhere, Texas
on 07/23/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sound quality, compact size + portable
What's not so great: a tad pricey (but you have a lifetime warranty) + my remote didn't work
This is an awesome little speaker. I was a skeptic at first, but though I'd give the Pipe a chance, I lemme tell you, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. The sound quality is absolutely great! Don't let the size fool you - the sound quality from the Pipe is extremely crisp and the sound can fill an entire room - no problem. The Pipe also works as a speaker with any other mp3 player or as an alternate PC speaker. If you are purchasing out of the store, I recommend you inspect it before you purchase - some tend you have scratches, etc. or items missing. My remote gets cranky & doesn't work (but Skullcandy replaced it for FREE - no questions asked) - no worries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Skullcandy 2-Piece Slider Case for Apple® iPod® touch - Green
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Great speaker docking system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dawn0108
from Chicago, IL
on 04/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great sound quality for the money, very portable
What's not so great: Chrome shows finger marks
I use Skullcandy headphones exclusively and think they are the best so when I saw this - had to get it. But when I went to the store and compared I ended up buying the IHome. Got it home, it is NOT as easy to set up and couldn't get it to work with my IPod. So went right back and returned it for the Skullcandy. I should've just went with my first instinct. It is easy to set- up, great sound quality and love the remote!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jsnt
from alabama
on 02/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: sound quality is excellent for such a small product
What's not so great: price was a little high
great product, sound was great better than expected. far surpassed other products we had tried and had to return.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

Only one I'll ever buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cerebrus189
from Albuquerque, NM
on 10/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great sound, shielded speakers, great portability
My husband bought me this speaker system for my iPod touch and I was skeptical about the sound. But when I tried it out, I was amazed. Its such a good product. I'm buying one for my best friend too. To think that such great sound can come out of such a small speaker is incredible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Skullcandy PIPE Speaker Dock for Apple® iPod®/iPhone

AWESOME!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lilangel8932
from Wilson, NC
on 08/31/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Sound
What's not so great: a little pricey
I love this product. I tested it out just looking around and the sound is amazing. I have owned Skull Candy products in the past and loved them. Its the only type of headphones I buy, so when I saw this I already had high expectations. This didn't let me down. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for something with great sound, but portability. That is what I like about this, is the fact that I can carry this thing anywhere, even stuff it in my purse. LOVE IT. can't say it enough. Also comes with a remote and handy case. Can't ask for no more than that. Only thing is I wish it were cheaper but compared to other products I've seen, this is a great buy none the less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.