Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Model: VPC-CW17FX/W
SKU: 9528996
UPC: 027242783683
Enjoy video chatting with friends and family using this laptop's built-in MOTION EYE webcam and microphone with face-tracking technology. An Intel® Core™2 Duo processor provides advanced dual-core multitasking with breakthrough power efficiency.Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 122 reviews
5 stars
97
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
111 out of 122
)
Customer Reviews for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White
Review 1 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

I love this laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Midazolam
on 04/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Best display I have ever seen. Bright and crisp.
What's not so great: Hot sitting on my lap.
I love the LED back light bright and clean looking display. Over all the best laptop I have ever owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Best Deal for Sony

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Action
from Texas
on 02/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Blu-Ray, HDMI, 500gb Drive, Speed and Value
What's not so great: Non-Sony Bloatware (AOL, Norton, etc.), battery life
This is the most bang for the buck in a Sony laptop. Huge hard drive, plenty of RAM, fast processor, exceptional display, true 1080p HDMI output, and Blu-Ray with BD-Live is all included. Also comes with bluetooth.
If you have Sony cameras or camcorders, you'll find your Sony laptop to have included software that interfaces perfectly with the cameras. So do not accidentally delete that software thinking it is bloat-ware. It is not, keep it. You especially need all the Blu-Ray specific software and player software.
Sony stuff LOVES Sony stuff. We plugged in an HDMI cable from the laptop and into our Sony HDTV and they worked in concert with each other.
Battery life is okay, but I doubt it would play a full-length Blu-Ray title on battery alone.
Tip: The instructions tell you how to create "rescue DVDs" -- Do it and save them. They really work and can come in handy later, as I found on my older Sony laptop when I upgraded the hard drive. Along those lines, Sony laptops hold the new, physically larger (thicker) 1TB laptop hard drives. These new drives won't fit in Apple laptops. When these bigger drives become mainstream, your laptop will have room for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

great stuff

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ellomoto9
on 01/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: best purchase ever
What's not so great: battery life could be 2 more hours longer. it still gets up to 4 hours though sometimes more
great graphics, fast computer.if you take good care of it it will take good care of you...you can do lots of fun and cool stuff with the graphics especially if you need it for autocad. The camera is motion sensitive and can focus on a number of objects at once.
to sum it all up this laptop is as good as the colts offense.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Good Laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: miah2
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast and everything works well together
What's not so great: It is white
Well made but there is a lot of junk programs installed on it (AOL, etc).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Love this computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: feliciab
from Las Veas, Nv
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and use, great graphics, light and portable,
What's not so great: camera sometimes skips or freezes okn video chats
I love this computer. I have a busy schedule and needed something that was easy to pack up and go, and this does it. The webcam is mostly good, sometimes freezes or skips in video chat but overall a great computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Love this laptop!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KarenSW
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet.
I love everything about this laptop! It's great...not too big, great screen!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: quackdt
from Brooklyn, NY
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: keyboard, color, windows 7, blu ray disc player, doesn't easily heat up
What's not so great: no s-video connection
Love it so far! I love the white color. I come from 3 horrible relationships with 2 HP's and a compaq. The switch to Sony has been good so far. I love the keypad, it very much resembles the mac laptop. Windows 7 so far has been great compared the horrible Vista. I do find myself cleaning it often since it is white, I like to keep it clean.
What can I say, it's a great laptop so far. The price...what can I say, wish I could've gotten it for $200 but let's be realistic. Good bang for the buck. It's definitely a good buy.
I do a lot of stuff on photoshop and like to run video editing programs like Pinnacle. It has been able to handle it great! Over all, good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gokouvang
from Minneapolis,MN
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy and fast
What's not so great: price
the Vaio laptop is good, fast, easy, and fun. I can browse through the internet quickly and can store a lot of video, pictures, etc. Its light and easy to handle with windows 7 program.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Really nice laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Burhan
from Norfolk, VA
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very fast, silent, high performance
What's not so great: screen is a bit small
I bought this laptop for my wife as a gift. Its design is elegant and performance is considerably high.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AGCT
from Stamford, CT
on 01/12/2010
What's great about it: Great looks, feature rich, amazing feel
What's not so great: Getting used to the mouse, White color
I think this is a great laptop for the price and features that it offers. I was pretty much looking for a laptop with my specifications in mind, and not a standard built laptop - and was looking at HP, and Sony's website for customization options. I think apart from the processor bit, where I was aiming for a higher config, this was the best laptop I figured.
The screen size was 14, which I wanted for easier working when seeing TV, travelling etc. Love the white color, the compact keyboard, and the Mac feel which it gives me at a better price. The keypad and mouse can take some time to get used to, but not a massive change.
Has a great memory size at 500 Gigs, good RAM, very responsive, quiet, decent speakers. Cant comment on battery because I use it when it is plugged in mostly. No complaints - Go for it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Would of been best computer ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JRAM45
from AZ
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Every thing was great about it
What's not so great: didn't have the chance to play with it
this was a christmas gift that i had to return because there was a dead pixel on the screen, but there were not any more so i just got my money back. but the performance was great, keyboard felt really good, the touch pad worked great. just that dumb dead pixel in the middle of the screen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Sony Vaio Does Not Disappoint !!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Raf84Bar
from Norwalk, CT
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Looks Great! Performance and graphics are excellent. Blue-ray!
What's not so great: Speakers are small and quiet but what do we expect from a laptop?
I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.
Great display and graphics.
Blue-ray.
Design and looks.
Just perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Great computer !!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Beto333
from Atlanta,GA
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Reliable machine to own it !!!
What's not so great: Price could be better !!!
I recomended this computer if you want a Windows only operating system !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Excellent Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dado847
from Houston, TX
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super fast; fast start-up; resonable price; HDMI output great for TV
What's not so great: None yet
This computer is excellent; it is super fast, looks great, and its price doesnt leave me feeling abused. I usually run multiple programs, including the entire Microsoft Office Suite, multiple browsers, Itunes, and more, and this computer is able to handle all of it without a hitch. The computer startup is impressive (less than 2 minutes), and wakes up quickly as well. Programs open extremely fast, and i have yet to have an issue with slow performance.
The HDMI output is excellent (allows you to watch Hulu, Netflix, Itunes on the TV) and looks great. Also, Windows 7 is a vast upgrade from previous versions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Good choice for a computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Graptharshammer
from Utah
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Runs fast,, great display and does what I want it to.
What's not so great: There is no startup cd or instruction manual or anythign of the sort.
I've really enjoyed the past few weeks of using this computer. It works well and is fast. I haven't used it for much gaming yet, but it seems to handle what I've given it to do very well.
I was annoyed to see that the computer didn't come with a startup disc and there were no instructions at all. Don't get me wrong, I am unlikely to read most instructions, but I didn't have any idea what the software programs on the computer were or even how to access the camera until I spent a long time just trying to figure that stuff out. It took about 10 min to find the program that ran the webcam because I searched for what the camera was called and not 'webcam.'
Some of this has to do with Win 7. I really like using it, it's is a big improvement over XP, I skipped out on Vista, but it's taking a long time to figure out how to properly navigate through it as efficiently as I was able to in XP. I really like win 7 and the Vaio and spent most of this review griping, but that is because it's a great laptop and there really isn't much else to complain about. Let's be honest, if you are reading this review, you want to know whats wrong with it anyway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jassie
from Maryland
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and great to use
What's not so great: short battery life, scraches easily, white colour
Sony is alwasy a great company and always number one in electronics. I am a huge fan of Sony. After buying this laptop i was so eager to open that i didnt even wait to reach home, I was setting up my laptop in the car while i let my wife to drive. Performance is good, colour combination, weight, running capacity, features and with windows 7 it make it more reasier and useful. I am really happy and satisfy with the product and will recommend other people and my friends to buy.
Thansk Sony
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Sony Laptop with Intel Core2 Duo Processor - Nice

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MOst
from Cincinnati, OH
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Concise, powerful all in one laptop
What's not so great: small screen
Fairly easy to use and set up. So far it is meeting expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Great laptop with excellent performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drs097
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: hard drive capactity, price, looks, nice screen, very fast perfromance, can be used for gaming
What's not so great: nothing i can think of
This laptop is by far the best for the price. It has 500gb of storage, dvd burner/player, blueray player, and great perfomance. The nvidia graphics card allows you to even play gameson it. I am a student and this computer is soo much faster than my old one and it feels like a mac but with better specs for the price. I easily play Empire total war on it and i also use it's really good webcam to do skype video chatting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

after a week switched to macbook pro

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: macconvert
from washington dc
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nvidia screen was great
What's not so great: bulky feel, slow startup, slow processing, wishy washy internet access
After having a vaio for 4 yrs and loving it I decided to upgrade. Only this new vaio I bought was slow. I was completely underwhelmed. My old vaio worked better. It was a shame. So I finally decided to switch to mac for the first time in my 33 years and, wow - I recommend everyone switch!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - White

Give this laptop your consideration

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WaynesWorld51
from Nebraska
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice size, light weight, super led backlit display
What's not so great: The touch pad and I do not get along well (yet).
The white color seems strange but grows on you. Nice size as the wife has a 17 inch and it is hardly portable any more, It is much lighter than the 3 year old HP it replaced. One problem that I have is the wireless switch is very easy to bump and turn off. The touch pad does everything I don't want is to. It scrolls when I dont want to and will not scroll when I do want to. I will get it sooner or later. This plays great looking dvds but I am looking forward to trying a blu-ray soon. This is a good value packed laptop that does stay cool on your lap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>