Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Model: ADBCD17704W
SKU: 9530457
UPC: 883919177045
With your digital camera and camcorder, you enjoy capturing still and moving images of the world around you. Using the variety of tools available in Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 and Adobe Premiere Elements 8, you can do more with your photos and videos, all in one convenient location. Enhance the look of your still photos, turn your raw video footage into polished movies and even combine photos and video clips to unique effect to share your visions with the world. With Photoshop Elements 8, you can edit and enhance your digital photographs to correct common problems or adjust them to suit your needs. Premiere Elements 8 provides a variety of easy-to-use tools to help you turn your video clips into incredible movies you'll be proud to show off. And with the combined power of Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements, you can even blend photos and videos in new ways to create one-of-a-kind projects.
Average Customer Rating:
3.233 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 30 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
60% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 30
)
Customer Reviews for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows
Review 1 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Hard to use

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: jkcmagee
from Poplarville,MS
on 10/03/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: hard to use, not so easy for a beginner
I can not figure how to use this program. It takes up alot of space on my laptop and hard to use! I haven' t even really used it because I can't figure out how. I have done a little bit of photo editing on other programs(just the basics), but just can't seem to get the hang of this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Great for beginners !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sylvania1
from Nashville, TN
on 08/20/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
It is good for beginners with Windows XP system. It is hard to find the compatibility with Windows Vista or Windows 7
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Best software for the purpose

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MIK94
from Brooklyn, NY
on 06/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup
What's not so great: None found so far
I would recommend this combination of software for the starter photographers and also for everyone who would like to turn their photos and videos around from average to amazing.
The only hard part is that it has so many features that they need to be learned through the tutorials, otherwise it is hard to figure them out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Premiere Elements 8.0 is full of bugs

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: FairReviewOnly
from Westchester, NY
on 06/05/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Photshop Elements 8.0 seems okay
What's not so great: Premiere Elements 8.0 is the pits
I had high expectations for Premiere Elements 8.0 as I am a heavy user of Premiere Elements 7.0. This program should never have been released as it is. It is S L O W, crashes frequently, locks up and some functions do not work at all. I have a fast system (3.2 ghz, dual core, 4GB ram, excellent video card, etc) so I can't attribute these problems to my system. I regret making the purchase and will download the demo first before I make the same mistake twice.
If Photoshop was not included in this package, it would get one star in all categories.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Easy to Install a little complicated to use

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BigLen
from Addison, IL
on 04/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: A little complicated
I have not had a lot of time to use this product yet but when I did have time to use it, it was a little complicated to figure out certian features. I'm sure it will get better but right now I have to say it is not easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Version 8 is a bust

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SonarTechSubChief
from Desert Hot Springs, CA
on 02/27/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Makes a good DVD
What's not so great: It crashes about every 5 minutes.
I have been in contact with Adobe because Pre and Pse crash often. After almost 4 months I'm told a tech will get in touch. That was two weeks ago. I am running Win 7, which this product is supposed to be compatable with. This is the last Adobe product I will EVER buy. I'm now shopping for another program.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Best photo/video software out there

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tuwe
from Atlanta, GA
on 02/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: more than you need at a decent price
What's not so great: slightly challenging learning curve
I have the larger Photoshop program and have found that I can do all that I need or want in this Elements program. I really like how this latest version seems to have intigrated the organizer and the editor better. Takes some getting used to as it's got so much possibilities. The auto options do an excellent job.
Only used the Premiere side once to make a photo slideshow wth some video in it and it was great. Burned the project to DVD flaulessly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Hate it.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jea109
from oklahoma
on 02/01/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nothing.
What's not so great: It locks up, isn't easy, or logical to use.
I am going to replace it - not matter the cost. After months of trying to use this, I give up. I should be having fun with this, not being frustrated. I wish my husband had never had this great gift idea.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Do Not Buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ScoobysMyMan
from Atlanta
on 01/19/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Crashes, Freezes
I purchased Adobe Photoshop & Premiere Elements 8 from Best Buty and had problems in every facet of using this software including installation. The program constantly locks up my computer and freezes. My search for a solution of the lock ups/freezes gave trouble shooting instructions that involved editing your reg files(regedit) and start up files(msconfig).
Why is this necessary? I want a program to work out of the box without having to modify my computer operating system. I shouldn't have to concern myself with hardware & software conflicts when I put out a hundred bucks plus.
If you plenty of time on your hands, like to roll up your sleeves, and dig in to your OS, then this the program for you! Maybe you'll get it running as you need it to.
If you just want a program that works out of the box....STAY AWAY FROM Adobe Photoshop & Premiere Elements 8. I regret buying this software.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Very Pleased

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hoags1218
from Denver, CO
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It met many of my goals at a terrific price
What's not so great: I have a problem running it on my PC (whimpy PC)
I have around 12,000 family photos and videos from the 1800's to present. I was looking for a tool that could edit them as some are very old. I also wanted a tool to help me categorize them by individual, events, locations, etc. I wanted to create videos that I could share with my family. This tool allows me to do all of that.
It is an Adobe product so it is a little complex and not as intuitive as I would like but I can get around quite nicely after a few false starts. It is much better than prior versions. I am using about 60% of it's abilities now and expect to grow that to around 80% in the next month or so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Great programs but Sony Vegas is reccomended

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TF4Favre
from St. Louis, MO
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I would use Photoshop for any photo editing needs
What's not so great: I think Sony Vegas is better for editing and creating movies/videos
These two programs are great! If you're looking for both a program to edit photos and videos then I reccomend this product. I personally own this product as well as Sony Vegas Platium Pro Pack (which is strictly video editing). I kept this product and use Photshop for my photos and I use Vegas for my videos. I just personally prefer Vegas over Premiere Elements because it seems to flow a lil smoother and I own a Sony High Definition Camcorder. I like to make blue ray movies so I figured what better video editing program to have for a Sony camcorder than a sony video editing software.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Photoshop 8 Review

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cheezhead
from Iowa
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Set up is easy and incorporating my old program (M S Digital Image Pro 10) was automatic
What's not so great: opened the box and found out via an insert there is already a newer program (Essentials 3)
I was looking for a user-friendly software to replace my Digital Image Pro 10 since there are no longer making that software and it is not supported well (lots of quirks) with Vista. This program has been easy to use thus far and it automatically imported ALL my pictures - also my Videos into Premiere elements.
Had I known however that Essentials 3 was the newest version, I would have just purchased that first. Now I have to update.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Software purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Yardley57
from Yardley, PA
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great for amateurs and enthusiasts! Glad to have it available at Best Buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Can't go wrong with Adobe

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BrianTheScientist
from USAF, UK
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Does everything is says and that you've heard about
What's not so great: Doesn't come with at least a basic user guide
Very powerfull software for the price. Even if you are a photoshop novice (like me), you'll be happy with this product. There is a bit of a lerning curve to start using it, but it is well worth it to make the effort - you'll be very happy and suprised by the outcome.
I have not really used the video software yet, so I can't comment but this combo pack cost less than Photoshop Elements by itself (while it was on sale anyway) - but I am sure I will be just as pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

good, but no real improvement over 7

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kwmar
from Greenville, SC
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: adobe's usual high quality and functionality
What's not so great: ps elements: no real improvement over v. 7 - premiere requires too much power
I liked version 7 of both of these apps. Version 8 of ps elements adds very little in the editing department, which is all I use it for (no organizing, I do my own - I guess there are improments there; I don't know). premiere 8 is probably excellent (a lot more options are included), but it requires more power and resources than my older p4 computer likes to give it, and therefore runs slowly and jerkily. When I upgrade my equipment, I'll give it another try. Until then, it's back to version 7.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Complicated

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Dodge4u
from Gresham, OR
on 01/08/2010
What's great about it: Photoshop is pretty cool
What's not so great: I cannot get the premiere element video piece to work
Got this fo rmy girls for Christmas. One loves pics and the other loves video so I thought this would be great software for both of them. Unfortunately, they complain that the photoshop is too complicated and the premiere element won't even work. I'm going to try and return this to the store, but I'm worried I won't get my $70 back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

The best of the consumer A/V Suites

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OCK913
from Central Florida
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Loads of custom features
What's not so great: There is definately a learning curve
The product is great, but Best Buy shipping took far too long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Couldn't Beat the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JimaBestBuyer09
from Clifton, VA
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: An easy and very capable update at a reasonable Price
What's not so great: The email sharing does not seem to allow open source Mozilla T'Bird to integrate
I had purchased the same but earlier version Adobe suite at BestBuy some years ago and it had become incompatible with my Windows 7 software so I needed an update. I searched and found an excellent price on a new suite that replaced the old. It works well under the new OS and the price was much less than normal retail. The editing capabilities are great. And it cost me nothing to obtain the software as shipping was free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Adobe Elements 8

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TexStan77
from California
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Photo / VIdeo Editing
What's not so great: Not sure yet
Bought for a good price. Shipping took a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elements 8 - Windows

Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 / Adobe Premiere Elemen

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: RBC
from CT
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The box
What's not so great: Resource hog. Frequent crashes in capture. Buggy
Upgrade from 4.0 to 8.0. Attracted by the price of the combo pack. However, application is a resource hog...on a machine with 4G of ram, running nothing else, frequent "low memory warnings" and crashes while capturing video via digital video camara.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>