Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Model: NS-KDTR2
SKU: 9540703
UPC: 600603127397
Keep tabs on your child at all times with this small but sophisticated device that combines GPS and cellular technology to provide you with real-time location updates. The small and lightweight Little Buddy transmitter fits easily into a backpack, lunchbox or other receptacle, making it easy for your child to carry so you can check his or her location at any time using a smartphone or computer. Customizable safety checks allow you to establish specific times and locations where your child is supposed to be — for example, in school — causing the device to alert you with a text message if your child leaves the designated area during that time. Additional real-time alerts let you know when the device's battery is running low so you can take steps to ensure your monitoring isn't interrupted.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 27 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
20 out of 27
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue
Review 1 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Invaluable peace of mind

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FuzzyPuppy
from Los Angeles, CA
on 02/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price and works well.
What's not so great: It's not water resistant and I wish it was smaller.
I did a lot of research before buying this GPS device and I'm satisfied with the results. It has great potential for tracking children as it is designed to do, but I use it to track my dog.
When he was a puppy he managed to get out of the house and was lost for 3 hours until a neighbor spotted him blocks away, but it made me realize that microchipping him wouldn't have helped me find him. It would only tell me if he ended up in a shelter (If they had the correct chip reading device) and how long would that take, assuming he even made it to a shelter? If I had this tracking device on him at that time, I would have found him instantly.
Now, I keep the device on his collar and only track it when necessary. It's always within a few yards of his exact location.
I don't have a problem with the battery life because I charge the device every night. The only problem is its inability to resist liquid damage, so I simply made a waterproof case for it. (He is a dog who loves water.) And I wish it was a bit smaller, but for the price I can't really complain.
When I travel with him, I pay the monthly tracking fee of $15 so I can receive the alerts and set boundaries, but most of the time, I don't need to track him so I pay the $1 fee per track if I need to know where he is.
It's an amazing device for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Very short battery life, but works great

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: redi
from tx
on 01/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great locator service and good price
What's not so great: ridiculously short battery life
The downfall of all these devices is battery life. I have tried several and this one is ridiculously short (about 24 hours idle, and no one will tell you this in advance). Therefore you need to be constantly charging it for any log term use like I do. (I keep it on my bike so I can find it if it wanders away).
Other than that it works great. It runs on the Sprint network (Wavemarket's service that is the foundation if this and several other of the 'family locator' cell services) and just like Sprint Family Locator, it is highly accurate and reliable in my area, often down to a few yards.
The price for the service is very good - probably the best of any of the locators I have tried.
But the real key to this technology is the battery life. This has the worst battery life of any I have tried (again about 24 hours). The Zoombak is about twice that at best, which is still lousy. The best so far I have used is a Sprint phone where the standby time is almost a week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Amazing gadget for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OcassionalGadgetUser
from CT
on 12/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cost, ease of use, features
The Little Buddy offers many of the same features as tracking devices that cost $300, $400 and $500. Not only can you view history, but you can track in almost real time - all for $30 and $15 per month. It offers peace of mind and is quite easy to set up and use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Best piece of mind out there

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IncLwyr
from Orlando FL
on 12/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ability to track 6yr old
What's not so great: can be easily broken if not careful
I use to have the GPS watch for my son when he was an infant but it was too large/heavy so we attached it to his stroller. One day we saw (through gps tracking) that our Nanny had our son on 120th street in the Bronx eventhough she stated she was near our home on 52nd street in Manhattan. Needless to say, we told her to return and dealt with that issue but from then on tracking was the #1 focus for us.Now my son is 6yrs old and I travel often so I bought one for my son. This device is the best and both my wife and son LOVE knowing that I know where they are should something happen. The best feature is the auto notification. I set specific areas so when - for example - my wife and son leave home for school in the morning, the device notifies me they left home. When they arrive at his school I get a ping telling me they arrived at school...etc. Of course I can track my son to see where he is at any time and its piece of mind to see him - via sattalite coverage - in the car driving home when the device pings me to say he left school. Its very accurate and he loves knowing daddy can always 'find' him
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Great tracking device for my fleet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ocexecutivelimo
from Newport Beach CA
on 11/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Inexpensive
What's not so great: Nothing
I have a Limousine company i recherché for long time to get some kind on tracking for my fleet all was very very expensive unit and the service for each device when i got little buddy i was so happy with so little investment for each unit and monthly service all my vehicle has on and with one button i can locate each of them.If i want to get a fleet tracker would cost me over $1000.00 and monty service of $140.00 per unit. this device is great.I am on first month of free i am paying $14.95 i have several device on that the only thing i don't know if they charge my per unit or just one account if it is per account and unlimited device would be great and saving me thousand of dollars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Very Smart Purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: spygurl
from Eyez N tha Skiez
on 10/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: The bright color, but oh well, hide it in a dark sock or something lol
I purchased the blue little buddy and I was overly excited about how easy this device was to work with. You can actually charge it with a cell phone charger if it fits, otherwise it conveniently charges from your computer's usb port. This item is much smaller than I had originally expected (very nice) this makes it easy to secretly place it somewhere. The accompanying website is very easy to understand and use, and the views "birds eye" are amazing and accurate! I live at the end of the earth so to say and it picked up my location right away within 40 yards (dead on) without even being fully charged. I just want to thank bestbuy and insignia for marketing such a valuable and true to its word device, I look very much forward to continuing my use of it. Perfect for locating your children or seeing if your significant other is really where they say they are...just saying, this thing works, and for under $50 who can beat it? Nobody can! I have searched the internet for similar products and they are all over $100 and for the money this thing by far exceeds my wildest expectations...Seriously, do yourself and your worrysome mind a favor and get this thing! It is so worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Terrible, cannot use

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jasmine09
from homestead, fl
on 10/16/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The advertisements that I hear
What's not so great: I cannot use it
I bought this item 2 weeks ago and because the only way that it can be used is for you to register as a new user; that portion of the website has produced an error message for two weeks I called customer service more than once daily for the first week and a half and then gave up. I threw away the box and now an stuck with a useless forty dollar object and alot of empty promises.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Great little gadget

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Miss007
from Riverside, CA
on 04/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, Location reliability.
What's not so great: Color, I would like it to be a more discreet color like black.
Ladies do you need to do some spying on a significant other or crazy teenager? This is the gadget you need. I Highly recommend this, I've already caught my teenager red handed. The first month is free then you pay a monthly fee of $15.00.There is no contract to sign like other trackers that I have researched. you pay only for the months you need it. Location reliability is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Does not work as advertised

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: YupItsMe
from Virginia
on 03/23/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: If it worked as advertised, I would love it.
What's not so great: The Safety Zone does not work at all, I can set it up, but I don't get alerts.
Setup was faily painless. Manual locate, worked. Scheduled locate, worked. Continuous 1 hour tracking, worked. The Safety Zone (which is what I wanted it for) does not work. I can setup a Safety Zone, but I don't get any alerts when I leave the area. I tried setting up the Safety Zone's at least a dozen times in different areas, Nothing. I emailed Tech. Support, still waiting. Got an email back saying that "Due to our higher than normal volumes, we will respond to your inquiry as soon as possible", 2 days and waiting. My guess is, Lots of problems with this product. If I don't get resolution soon, I'm going to have to return it, and probably not buy any Insignia products again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

My lil blue thing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nick3333
from Philly
on 03/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
I love this lil gadget it is great!! There are alot of options out there that are more expensive, and trust me you dont need them. this gadget does exactly what is says it does, I need it for my husband (make sure he doing right!!) and i can locate him where ever he goes, i just hide it in the car and with ease i have a locator, lil monthly fee and easy to use very reliable and i love it, good for the kids too. Well worth the money, good product and price!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Why would I buy this and pay an extra monthly fee?

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: birddoggjr
on 02/14/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Small and easy to hide
What's not so great: Extra fees and ugly user interface
Why would I spend an extra $15+ per month for this when I can get a simple cell phone added to my existing plan and drop that in the diaper bag. The newer droid devices with one of the several apps for gps location like Inner Circle would do the trick and serve other purposes. I'm irritated that I bought this and now have to pay an extra monthly fee to get the value for it!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
7out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Good Peace of mind

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: supercleaner7
from Denver, Colorado
on 01/16/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Peace of mind
What's not so great: not 100% accurate
I puchased 3 of these for my children and they work great. There is a safety zone feature that will alert you when the child arrives and leaves the area chosen but it does not seem to work much. The location on demand tracking works great and the scheduled checks work great too so I would recommend this to someone for sure as it has provided me with peace of mind. I took them to the geek squad at Best Buy and they told me after about an hour that the problem appears to be a glitch in the software program itself as it is fairly new and needs to have the kinks worked out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Reasonably useful

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 0Steve
from Chicago, IL
on 12/11/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It does provide location services
What's not so great: There are ongoing costs
The LittleBuddy does what is advertised, namely provides its location to authorized users via the Web. (Whether your child leaves it someplace and then goes off elsewhere is a different matter.) The location finding seems fairly accurate and is within a reasonably small radius. It also keeps a charge for quite a long time. The main problem with long term use of it is that after having the first couple of months free it costs $14.99/month or $0.99 per location request or $4.99 for each tracking request. Also, it only operates in areas where there is cell phone coverage (see map at https://www.insignialittlebuddy.com/finder-bestbuy-family/mapCoverage.htm). I'm pretty certain it wouldn't work outside the U.S. Otherwise, it's an interesting device, but probably not as useful as most would like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

An absolute necessity if you have kids!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ODaniel
from San Diego, CA
on 12/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Setting it up was a breeze. The tracking website is easy to use. You can set up a safety zone.
I have 2 toddlers who are watched by a full-time nanny all day. The tracker is kept in the kids' backpack/diaper bag which the nanny takes with them wherever they go. The very first time I checked up on my kids using the online tool while they were with the nanny, I was shocked by how far out of the neighborhood she had taken them for a walk! (Of course it was alright, but shocking none-the-less!) I was scared by how little I had known about where they go all day. With the LittleBuddy I'm much more reassured; I'm able to keep tabs on them every minute of the day! This device is a must for everyone with kids!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Didn't see the charge coming

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jpack
from socorro, nm
on 11/29/2009
What's great about it: works
What's not so great: charge for the real time gps
I thought the price included everything. Would not have purchased it if I had known there would be a monthly charge!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Little Buddy = peace of mind

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Auntie1185
from Chicago
on 11/28/2009
What's great about it: Easy to use, reliable information
This tracking device is an awesome way for my daughter to rest easy when her 3 year old is bussed from school to daycare. She gets a message letting her know that her son has arrived at daycare and the device even sends her a message letting her know that it needs to be charged! Peace of mind = priceless.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

LittleBuddy works

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cliont
from North Caroklina
on 11/28/2009
What's great about it: Protects valuables. Easy to activate.
What's not so great: Nothing negative so far
I purchased three of them and hid them undetectable in things I don't want stolen, cameras, computers, etc. Document everything as you do it so you'll remember as well as dates you charge the devices. If I ever get robbed Little Buddy may lead me and the police to the criminals. You could put in your car when parked in high crime neighborhoods. Not a bad way to find out where your sometimes wild significant other is either. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Works great for me!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nftynut
from San Francisco, CA
on 11/23/2009
Yup, it works like you'd want it to - can locate and "follow" the buddy, and the battery seems to last at least 4 days.
Haven't had any problems with signing in or resetting my password.
Wish it came in pink!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Worthless Monitoring Website

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ThePI
from Twin Cities, MN
on 11/21/2009
What's great about it: If you can get into the website, it works great
What's not so great: Evertime I try to log into the website, it gives me a message that my password is wrong!
The few times that I can access the monitoring website, the device has worked extremely well. However, I can not get into the website more often then I can. EVERYTIME, I try to access the webiste, it tellls me that password doesn't match my email address, so I have to reset my password. About 10% of the time this works, the other 90% of the time, it doesn't work. And customer services was of no help, and just said they were having problems with the website....well, that's great if my child is missing. Until the website access works, this product is worthless and should not purchased.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insignia™ Little Buddy Child Tracker (Blue) - Blue

Works very well, small design, simple setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: aviator20
from normal,il
on 11/13/2009
What's great about it: Works great. Inexpensive plan options.
What's not so great: Usb charge only. No AC plug option.
Setup in 5 minutes. Two plan options.
1. 15.00 month unlimited searches for device.
2. Free - pay as you go .99 per search.
Simple design. It gives me some comfort when sending my 3 yr old to school. I get text messages when they go for walks out of the facility etc. This is some technology that I really appreciate, good job Insignia.
Highly recommend this to parents for children or even for pets, example hunting dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>