Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Model: AS5532-5535
SKU: 9555769
UPC: 099802302887
This laptop features a 15.6" CineCrystal LCD widescreen display with 1366 x 768 resolution and ATI Radeon HD 3200 graphics for stunning movie and gaming detail. Customize multimedia discs with the double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(725 Reviews) 725
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 725 reviews
5 stars
434
4 stars
206
3 stars
34
2 stars
17
1 star
34
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
650 out of 725
)
Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor
Review 1 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Can't go Wrong for the Price! Great Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joejoe23
from chicago,il
on 10/18/2009
What's great about it: Easy setup, windows 7, quick, lcd hd screen, price lots to say
What's not so great: battery life isnt the greatest but what laptop is.
No issues here one squecky key that went away after a few weeks, great computer for the price its excellent i bought mine before windows 7 came out but acer sends you one for free! I would recommend to anyone looking for a computer to surf the net or store pictures im sure it's not a gamers computer but it works great for us and where in our 20's
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Great value!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lrerpm
from Missouri
on 10/20/2009
What's great about it: Good price, easy to use
What's not so great: short battery life
This is my first laptop, and I love it. I was surprised I could get a full size laptop for less than $350. It has a good sized display screen, a dvd/cd drive, and a memory card slot so I can upload pictures from my digital camera. Absolutely everything I was looking for and more, for a VERY reasonable price compared to other laptops of its size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Best Laptop for price.....Ever.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rukus55
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 10/22/2009
What's great about it: Cheap, 15" beautiful display, wireless N technology, dvd burner, Windows 7, Doesn't run hot, efficient battery,
What's not so great: no built in webcam
I preordered this laptop since they had a special, if you order it Oct 21 they ship it overnight and you get it Oct 22. They did just that. Ordered it Oct 21 and UPS guy shows up Oct 22 with my new laptop with Windows 7 on it. You're not gonna find a laptop like it for anywhere near the same price, and I do mean anywhere. It has exceptional functionality and it's a joy to use. It's also a very sleek laptop. You would think for $350 you would get a square box that doesn't do much, hah, not here. I am truly blown away by Acer's ability to manufacture this machine and sell it at an awesome price. Hats off to those guys. Bestbuy was fantastic on shipping and sending e-mail updates also. Highly recommended to family and friends. I don't think I'll put it down anytime soon =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Good laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gwtx2
from TN
on 10/22/2009
What's great about it: memory, screen sharpness, keypad, 802.11n, price, 64bit Windows 7
What's not so great: short screen (vertical)
Great laptop for the price. You get 64 bit Windows 7, 3GB RAM, and plenty of HD space (if you don't plan on storing lots of pics, videos and installing lots and lots of apps.). The screen is super sharp but as with all wide-screen 15.4" screens, it is short. This may be aggravating for those who need to see more of a web page without scrolling. Battery life is a good 2hrs, which is about the norm.
Bloatware was less than I've seen on some laptops. Comes with trial versions of Macafee, Office and some games. These can be uninstalled for more HD space.
Definitely can't beat the price for what you get with this laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Pretty good for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SkippyZippy
from NY, NY
on 10/23/2009
What's great about it: Inexpensive, relatively quick
What's not so great: Odd mousepad buttons and mousepad location
I'm overall pretty pleased with the performance of this laptop for the price. It started out sluggish but after I got rid of most of the pre-loaded unnecessary software, it become much more efficient. I like the widescreen and it serves its purpose well for a third computer to do basic Web-based functions and Office work (I use my old Office 2003 program and it serves me well).
Now the bad - well not really bad - just odd. This has a full keyboard, meaning it has a number pad to the right of the QWERTY keyboard as do most desktop keyboards. I like the number pad, but the designers made a very odd choice in the placement of the mouse pad. If you look closely at the photos, you'll see that the pad is centered under the QWERTY keyboard - but that means, because of the additional number pad, it's NOT centered on the laptop. It's offset to the left. Odd.
Also, the mousepad buttons are a little strange. You have to click on one side of each of the buttons to get them to respond. If you click the middle of the button or on the wrong end of it, you may not get a response.
So basically what ends up happening, since I'm used to keyboards that have centered mousepads, is I often end up clicking the right click button when I mean to click left and if I don't click in just the right place, I get no response. It's frustrating and a real design flaw.
I understand where they were going - they figured the mousepad should be located centered under the QWERTY keyboard because they assume most people will have their hands positioned over that portion of the keyboard. I don't think that's true for a lot of people. When you're on the web a lot, there's a great deal more pointing and clicking then there is typing. So if you're like me, you may find the mousepad frustrating.
Also, my wife has a laptop and I have a second laptop, which both have their mousepads centered, so when I jump from laptop to laptop, I need to rethink where the pad is.
If this is your only laptop, you may get used to it. I don't know if I ever will.
Other than that, it's all good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Excellent value for the money spent

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Guru1965
from Mebane, North Carolina
on 10/23/2009
What's great about it: Good Configuration
What's not so great: no webcam
Thanks to BestBuy for delivering the pre ordered as stated.
Acer tried to compete the other products with reasonable config and succeded. This is a very good quality laptop wich meets day to day computing. The less weight is also a plus point considering portability. The picture quality with the combination of ATI raedeon is wonderful. Can't believe the performance of Single core to this extent, thanks to Acer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Excellent Budget Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Walrusmaster
from Inland Empire, CA
on 10/23/2009
What's great about it: Screen, speed, video card, keyboard, price
What's not so great: Fingerprints, dimensions
I purchased this laptop as an emergency replacement for the netbook I had been using, and was on a strict budget. I wasn't expecting much, but my fears were unfounded. Although this laptop isn't designed for 3D gaming or processor-intensive rendering, it is more than up to the challenge of everyday tasks. I was worried the 1.6 ghz processor would be inadequate, but I was proven wrong. The video card is great for the category, and, together with the CPU provide a quick and beautifully rendered image. Even though the graphics card is intergrated, I've never seen any drop in the framerate, which I'm sure can be attributed to the 3GB of ram-that much memory is immensely helpful. The screen is great, beautiful crisp picture, perfect for watching movies, and the width allows you to comfortably view 2 different documents side by side. The keyboard is full size, and inculdes a numpad. The screen is glossy, so for those of you who want a matte screen you may want to look elsewhere. The to of the computer is glossy as well, so it's a fingerprint magnet. Because it's a 16:9 widescreen, it's noticeably wider than it is long, so finding a laptop sleve/case may be more difficult than with standard widescreens. Despite these (minor in my opinion) issues, This is a great laptop, and an excellent value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Great Laptop at a Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OnlyPS
from Denham Springs, La
on 10/23/2009
What's great about it: Build Quality, Great Value for the money, Runs Smoothly
What's not so great: Low Speaker Volume, Touch Pad is in an odd location
Over the past several years, I've purchased 3 laptops, a Dell, a Toshiba and now this Acer. Of all of the 3 laptops I've purchased this one is by far the best. It's solid and well built. It runs great. I wasn't expecting much when I bought it especially at the price I purchased it at but it far exceeded my expectations. This is an extremely nice product. It's sturdy, runs great and feels like a product that would cost well over $600 I'm a computer instructor and I would highly recommend this particular laptop for all of my students. Windows 7 is a huge improvement over Vista. I also do graphic and web design on this particular laptop and it is able to handle those programs with ease.
The biggest drawbacks are the positioning of the touchpad and the low speaker volume. The touchpad would be well suited for a left handed person but it's a little awkward for a right handed person like myself. The other negative would be the speaker volume which is rather low.
My previous laptops which I paid significantly more far are nowhere near the quality of this product.
You won't find a better laptop at this low of a price. I'm amazed at the quality of this product at the price I paid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Quality + Price Can Not Be Beat

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EL
from New York,NY
on 10/24/2009
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: n/a
I was searching for a netbook because of the price range and this is the price of a netbook. There just simply isn't a better bang for the buck. Acer is not a brand X name. It may not be as sexy as some other machines but it is more than useful if your looking for a machine that will let you surf the net, type up documents, burn dvd's/cd's, watch movies and play around with photos. If you are like me looking for a machine that can let you do those things, this laptop simply can not be beat. Spending more on a machine amounts to you just giving money away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

THIS ROCKS!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JayBird85
from Augusta Ga.
on 10/24/2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Price, HD intergrated grapics, Athlon CPU, 64 bit Windows 7
What's not so great: no webcam, could of had a dual core CPU but for the price it doesn't matter.
I preordered this laptop on Oct 21 they shipped it overnight with free express shipping, got it Oct 22. Best features about it... AMD Athlon 64 CPU instead of a Celeron, 3 GB DDR2 of ram and upgrades to 4 GB max, DVD dual layer burner, 160 GB Hard drive, 64 bit Windows 7 better then 32 bit and future proofed, Radeon HD grapics chipset with Direct X10(can run games on low setting)ALOT better then a sucky Intel GMA grapics , has a numeric pad on the keyboard, 16.9 HD LCD. For the price 349.99 it can't be beat.It doesn't get hot and is made very well...In the same price range as this you can get a netbook but I would rather have something that can do more...On the flipside Toshiba has a laptop that is the same price as this but it has a Celeron and has 32 bit of Windows, it can be upgraded to 8 GB of ram (it only comes with 2 GB) but with 32 bit installed it windows won't recognize no more then 3 GB... and it has a Intel GMA graphics which just sucks it don't even have HD so you see the Toshiba is not as a good of as a deal as the Acer. Buy this Acer Aspire you will not reget purchasing it and for the price it can't be beat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Fantastic value for money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nkk
from Clemson, SC
on 10/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: no lights for caps lock, num lock
Very happy with this laptop.
I was doubtful about the gaming performance, but for the games that I'm crazy about (colin mcrae 2,3 and Richard burns rally) the laptop delivers excellent performance. Not a whole lot of bloatware (you can easily get rid of trial-softwares and other non-essentials through add/remove).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Fantastic Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AllNicknamesTriedWereTaken
from CA
on 10/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: All those features at dirt cheap price
What's not so great: missing webcam
After i saw the features at the price i was expecting a catch say shoddy build quality...but gladly build quality is good...better than some expensive ones i have come across...
If you want a no-nonsense laptop to check mails, browse the internet, edit documents, watch movies on the fantastic display(It even handles HD movies withoug a hiccup...because of the better ati graphics chip instead of that the underperforming intel gma)...this is just perfect.
I would like to add that i am a web developer and this computer handles web development softwares well with its generous memory(3 gb RAM)...People looking for serious content editing (read video and image editing) and playing the latest games look elsewhere (it can handle older games though like medal of honor allied assault and age of empires 2) .
And the good stuff doesnt end there it comes with the latest and greatest windows 7 ...positive reviews so far about that.
If i do have a criticism which i do is that i doesnt have an inbuilt webcam. I wish the manufacturer added a few dollars (It doesnt cost much) to the price and hadnt skimped on that. shouldve made video chatting a breeze. lugging an attachable camera isnt convenient.
Other than that touchpad appears to be oddly placed...but i am nitpicking here. I understand the manufacturer in this regard as we usually keep our fingers on the qwerty keyboard and the position is perfect for that. i found it convenient from the get go but might take some getting used to for some though.
All in all i would say a brilliant product...worth every single penny and more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Best laptop for 350 dollars!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Luminest
from Virginia
on 10/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: For 350 dollars, it is the best quality laptop you can find, ANYWHERE! wireless,ram,display,keyboard,windows 7
What's not so great: an integrated webcam would be nice (I would have paid more money for it to be integrated)
This laptop is the best you can get for 350 dollars! It is well worth the money, and is by no means cheap. Acer created a high quality, high end laptop that is sure to fit everyones needs. The wireless is awesome, the keyboard is perfect, the screen is bright and can adjust to however you'd like it, charges easily, easy to connect to wireless LANs, windows 7 runs smoothly, and the 3GB RAM it has makes playing video games and listening to music at the same time no problem! It also has an ATI Radeon HD3200 graphics card, which makes all the games I play look stellar. For 350 dollars, it is a steal! Seriously, if you are not sure whether or not to buy this laptop, GO FOR IT! You won't regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Good decision

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Virginia Beach
on 10/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: low price, but nothing cheap about it
What's not so great: touch pad is hyper-sensitive
So far, so good. Couldn't be more pleased with this product. Great graphics and finger friendly keyboard (except for hyper-sensitive touch pad). If I find something troublesome or defective , I'll get back in another post. Right now can't believe I paid only $350.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

THE BEST LABTOP EVER...GREAT FOR THE PRICE!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SEABASSS03
from LONG BEACH,CA
on 10/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the wide screen..windows 7..speed...
What's not so great: no web camera
I just got this labtop today, and wow it blew me away...im loving every minute of it...the windows 7 is a great plus..and im loving the speed and big bright screen...i already played a HD movie on here and it looks crystal clear...for $350.00 its the best buy i have bought all year...go get one!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Great for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: borch
from Minnesota
on 10/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, speed, easy to set up, excellent screen and color,
What's not so great: nothing so far
Just picked up today and I'm not very computer savy. Always had my grown children set up for me before this, but this one I did myself in less than 10 minutes and I was on the internet. I've only used for a few hours, but just love it. Speed is excellent. Works great on my old router (G) so I didn't even have to upgrade to a better one. Using all over my house and no problems connecting. Best Buy sales people were great and took all the time I needed to pick out the right one. I've been at their store 4 times and last night I decided to buy a Toshiba for $599. but when I went to the store the clerk asked me what I was going to use the laptop for and said I should check the reviews on this one and save $250. Plus, if I was not satisfied, I could return within 14 days and upgrade. Try this one if you just need internet and photo transfers and a few games. ITS GGGRRREEEAAATTT
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Great "inexpensive" computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tariq
from naples,fl
on 10/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price for what you get
What's not so great: Touch pad up/down sroll freezes every so often
I use this laptop for surfing & email,was looking to spend $500 plus,SO
glad I decided to go with this computer instead,trust me,when I say,unless you are looking for some serious computing,no need to spend the extra dollars.
The "only" thing I don't like is the vertical scroll,sometimes the pointer
does not do anything,quite annoying,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Excellent Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HTguy
from CA
on 10/30/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Low price, very respectable performance for everyday tasks
I'm a college student and this laptop was a quick buy for a class that uses a PC-only process modeling program. I chose it simply because it was the cheapest laptop in the store, and I wasn't expecting it to be very enjoyable to use - just something to get me through the class. Wow have I been surprised! While this laptop is no speed demon, it easily handles all basic tasks (web surfing, word processing, my modeling program, etc) and can even run some games on low settings. I already have a Macbook as my main computer, but I've found this laptop to be fun to use as well. In fact, the larger screen has actually led me to prefer it in some situations.
Unlike many consumer PC's, this laptop came with very little bloatware, and after uninstalling a couple of unnecessary programs it's performed very well and is much more responsive than I thought it would be. Obviously, it's not a high-performance machine; serious gamers need not apply. But for those who require an inexpensive laptop for everyday tasks, I have no hesitation recommending this Acer. It's far better than I expected it to be considering its rock bottom price. Well done, Acer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Acer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: susannahGS
from florida
on 10/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: not a lot of bloat, clear screen, great laptop lots of bang for the bucks
What's not so great: very low volume, touchpad is very sensitive
This is my first laptop, and I didn't want to pay for a lot of stuff I will never use, and this one fits the bill. I was nervous that it would be a cheap piece of junk, but it is very solid and works great. Has a really clear screen and the battery, so far, is giving me about three hours.
The volume is really low though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ Single-Core Processor

Great Laptop 4 the price!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tone5646
from phila
on 10/31/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Value for the price and much better than the defective gateway laptops that i told back
What's not so great: So far so good!!
Had a problem with 2 gateway laptops my son and i purchased, They started to over heat 15min brand new outta the box. Bestbuy was great with the easy no hassle return. We pick up 2 Acer Aspire Laptops and oh my god they are fast. Even tho they are Single-Core Processors the Window 7 and the 64bits make a big difference. Neeed a good fast cheap laptop look no more. Head on down to your local Bestbuy and get one. Walmart sell a slower Acer at a higher price. Stay away from Walmart. Good service and a good laptop at a great price. Well done Bestbuy!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 37 next>>