Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Model: 1201HAB-RBLK001X
SKU: 9556893
UPC: 884840517108
Access digital content on the go with ease. This netbook's 3-in-1 digital media reader transfers digital photos and other data, and high-speed 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN lets you surf the Web and check e-mail.
Average Customer Rating:
4.193 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 57 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
47 out of 57
)
Customer Reviews for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black
Review 1 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

POOR PERFORMANCE

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: WILLIEBOY
from LAKEWOOD, CA
on 05/17/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: PORTABLE AND VERY LIGHT
What's not so great: VERY VERY SLOW
VERY SLOW. IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO PROCESS AN APPLICATION. VIDEO CAN NOT CATCH UP WITH SOUND. IT WORKS LIKE A 486 COMPUTER. I RETURNED IT BACK TO BEST BUY STORE AFTER 14 DAYS.
I SPENT AN EXTRA ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS AND GOT ME A LAPTOP THAT IS 100 PERCENT BETTER.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Everything I wanted from a Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GFunks
from Boca Raton, FL
on 05/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size, screen resolution, battery life, portability, keyboard
What's not so great: its not a powerhouse... well duh!
I like to keep these reviews short and sweet because no one reads the long ones anyways. I have been looking for a Netbook for upcoming trip to Greece. I need a small PC that will fit into my camera backpack and I can upload pics to after a long day of shooting: I found it in the Asus 1201HAB.
Its small, light weight and doesn’t get hot in my lap, which is a huge plus. The 12” screen is leaps and bounds better than the 10” and the HD is a nice touch. I loaded Windows 7 ultimate onto it and after a few tweaks the thing flies (for a Netbook that is). I plan on upgrading the memory at some point but for my immediate purpose the 1GB will do fine. A helpful hint, if you are going to wipe the OS (and I highly recommend that) you should hit the Asustek website and download all the drivers so you keep the cool iphone-esque touch pad features among other things (graphics card).
I have been using it at home and its quick on my N network, no problems surfing with multiple tabs open on Chrome. Streaming is good too but don’t expect the HD to come in clear, if you want HD content you better load it onto a portable HDD. The keyboard is like that of a Mac book, all the keys are spaced out and its easy to type on, this was actually the reason I sent my first netbook back (Dell 1012). I bought the Asus Bluetooth dongle for $10 and can now tether with my phone and use my Bluetooth stereo headphones. Battery life is good but about an hour short of a 10” screen (got to pay to play). Has the built in card reader for my Canon XSi which is perfect for quick uploads. Keep you music, videos and pictures on an external but that’s pretty much a given with the small hard drive space.
There is nothing on the market right now that can touch this in the price range. You would have to spend in the $500+ to get equal or better specs and personally that is way too much for a watered down PC.
If you want a nice portable PC for surfing the net, emailing, word docs and video watching this is your machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Fit the bill

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TPChicago
from Chicago
on 05/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Worked right from the start; excellent screen
What's not so great: Mousepad is not as good as Dell
I bought it for a basic, connect to the internet machine. It works fine for that. I loaded Word and Excel and they perform well. Most of the time I use it for simple edits versus creating a doc from scratch.
Cost $300 and weight 1.5 lbs. What's not to like?
I like the 12" screen versus 10. And I am surprised at how sharp and crisp the display is.
I don't view this as a replacement for a more powerful machine. I don't do any gaming.
But for a basic, carry and connect, its the perfect machine. Very happy I bought it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Love the Asus Eee PC Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Edbear
from Harrisburg, PA
on 05/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The size
I bought this Netbook for my 19 year old Grandson. It is great for the size and power. In fact this is his second Asus Eee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

last of the 12" netbooks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: me4246
from central cal
on 04/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: screen size, keyboard feel
What's not so great: 3 usb ports
I've been looking for a larger than 10 " screen netbook. This ASUS fits the bill very well at 12". Everything works very well. Pleased to have made this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: netbookconsumer
from long island new york
on 04/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: all the functions of a full size laptop at half the price
What's not so great: battery life so-so
Bought this for daughter for school & personal use. Came with all the features she was looking for in a full size laptop. At first she wasn't liking the 10" screen but has gotten over that issue.Great performance, quick and easy to set up and utilize all functions.Has utilized this netbook for school papers, web chats with friends and family in other states, music, videos, pictures, and more. Has not disappointed,easy to navigate the web, great value for the money. Only draw back is battery life shorter than advertised but really that is an issue with any laptop,netbook,cell phone,and/or wireless device!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

nice netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DaMac
from fresno
on 04/07/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it's small to carry around and the screen is big enough for viewing e-mail,web sites,etc.
What's not so great: i was expecting a 'duller" black finish rather than the shiny black finish in the inside.it's hard to keep clean.
Great little computer to take along when out of the house,to check your e-mail,surf the web, etc. what i like the most besides the size, is the battery last up to 51/2 hours or more between charges. the down side it's a little bit to slow compare to other netbooks i've tried, also i wish the inside finish was't so shiny its hard to keep clean (finger prints, dust) but other than that it's a great buy, and i do reccomend this netbook.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

What I expected for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: garbonz0
from Minnesota
on 04/06/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice keyboard and screen, battery life
What's not so great: Slow at 1.3Ghz. Overclocking feature to 1.6GHz helps.
This is a nice little laptop for the price. It is slow, and the integrated graphics struggle with some flash videos. Overclock it to 1.6GHz and upgrade to 2GB of ram and it's a lot better. I'm also running windows 7 and with all the visual effects disabled, it's not any slower than XP. It's a perfect balance between price, portability and usability (nice sized keyboard and screen) for me. I have a desktop for media. If this is going to be your only computer, I wouldn't reccommend it. For a cheap portable solution that doesn't kill the eyes and hands, it's great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

The best netbook around!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Docbml
from Chicago
on 04/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is a small, speedy computer which acts almost like a normal laptop
What's not so great: the video card is not very good
I got this netbook after a linux version that i had from asus broke. This netbook is 1000 times better than my old one and is very helpful for work. I just recently went on vaction with it and it was great for watching movies, doing work, and even playing some games. My only complaint is that the video card has only 8mb of video ram which is not very good when trying to play a game. But asus did preinstall a program that can overclock cpu speed which doesn't help with image quality but does make games run faster. Overall i would says that this product is great for anyone needing a second computer or if you just need a small laptop. This netbook may be light in weight but not in satisfaction.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Works great when running the Jolicloud OS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Philadelphia, PA
on 04/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Weight, battery life, screen size, keyboard
What's not so great: Windows XP is horrible
I got this for netbook-level stuff- conferences, off-site work, writing dissertation in coffeeshops, surfing the internet. No serious games, no graphics software or statistical packages, but I wanted to be able to watch movies on planes/ in hotels, maybe play solitaire, basic stuff.
I like the bigger screen- the 12" is a big difference from the next size down. The keyboard is nice, too. Responsive, not too loud, and the little bit of extra space between keys is really nice.
Windows XP (comes installed) ran horribly on this machine. Nothing worked well, everything lagged. Watching a video would cause a crash every time.
I installed the Jolicloud OS (free) and it works like a dream. OpenOffice and Google Docs, Firefox, and VLC player all work beautifully. I don't really do HD video, games, etc, so I don't have anything to say except that I doubt they'll work very well on this under any OS. But for basic functionality, installing an OS designed for netbooks - in my case, Jolicloud- made it totally worthwhile. You don't have to uninstall XP, either, so if you really need to work in Windows software you can restart and choose to boot XP.
If you want the 12" screen, a pleasant keyboard, and solid basic secondary computer functionality, the 1201HAB + Jolicloud is a great $300 option. If you don't want to do Jolicloud or some other netbook-specific OS, I'd give the 1201HAB a pass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

BEST NETBOOK EVER......

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KELLYK81
from ALLENTOWN,PA
on 03/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: FAST, LONG BATTERY LIFE....
What's not so great: NONE.
IT IS A VERY NICE NETBOOK, THE BATTERY IS SUPER LIKE 8 TO 10 HOURS OF LIVE, THE KEY BOARD IT'S PERFECT AND HAVE A GOOD PRICE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Works just fine!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Inspector22
from San Antonio, TX
on 03/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick, easy on, easy off, quick recovery from "sleep"
What's not so great: Speakers, but that's to be expected
It's great for surfing. I haven't found the 1 GB of RAM to be lacking. Youtube videos play just fine. I call it my three pound TV when I'm streaming off Veetle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Great comp... except for the track pad.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ype
from Provo, UT
on 02/28/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light and small
What's not so great: Mouse pad dies sporatically
I bought this computer for my wife who is currently a college student. She likes it because it is light. Unfortunately at day 16 (the day after the return deadline) the trakpad started to act funny. It sporadically refuses to respond and the machine needs to be restarted to get it to work again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Netbook - works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lovesfamily
from AR
on 02/26/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small, fast, battery life
So far we have worked on netbook for 2 weeks, seems to show vids fast and battery life good. No issues as of yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Nice NetBook But Where Is The Camera Application?

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: madhatter7zero
from Opelika, AL
on 02/23/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very light, nice screen, great keyboard, minimal but great packaging (I loved that!)
What's not so great: Fingerprint magnet (for real!),
I have been wanting to buy a netbook for long time now but I really didn't care much for the 10 inch screen netbooks with their tiny keyboards. I just couldn't see myself getting anything productive done on one of those things since I do a lot of blogging and, now with this new netbook, a lot of journal writing. The keyboard on this netbook is excellent so far that I can tell. I have absolutely no problems almost whatsoever with typing on this computer. I absolutely love typing on this thing.
I bought this netbook mainly to have for a back up computer. I just wanted something small that I could store my music, pictures and documents on. It is basically going to be used for my portable jukebox, digital frame, journal writer, website editor, email checker... and basically that is mostly it....... for all I need it to do I think it will serve it's job well. I kind of wish it had a bigger hard drive but I think I can manage with the 160GB it came with. I can always buy an external drive if I need more space.
The size...... The whole netbook including it's body and it's screen I think is absolutely perfect for traveling, grabbing on the go for a trip to the coffee shop or mall where you can sit for hours without plugging it in to do your writing or check email and surf the web. The size of this netbook is awesome for all of that. You don't have to squint your eyes to read pages and the multitouch touchpad is kind of nice but the two finger page scroll is a little weird for me but I adjusted to it ok. I would have rather had the page scroll built into the touch pad like on my other previous notebook computers.... but that is just a minor gripe for me.
Fingerprints............ I do not like fingerprints all over my devices and I always dreaded the day I would buy a computer that would be a fingerprint magnet like this one is but I still like the computer. I don't understand why Asus didn't make a matt finish on the keyboard/touchpad part of the netbook like they did the top of it..... that would have made it so there wouldn't be fingerprints at all on it......... Asus gets a failed mark from me on that one.
Let me talk about my ratings before I go any farther:
Overall Rating: 4 stars..... The fingerprints subtracted a star.
Value for Price: 4 stars..... Since the release of the 1201N I think the price should have been dropped below $280 for this lower end model.
Display: 5 stars..... As far as I can tell it is bright, clear and I have not noticed any dead pixels.
Performance: I noticed while typing in AbiWord (a word processor) a bit of flickering between letters. I don't know if that is because of the slower processor it has compared to the 1201N or maybe it is just the AbiWord program itself. I haven't yet tried watching videos on YouTube or anything like that but there are tons of reviews about that regarding this model online that you can look up and read.
Convenience: 5 stars..... I have dreamed of owning a laptop this small since 1991... and that is the truth so I can't think of a better size computer to have to carry with me wherever I want to go with it.
NOW I WANT TO KNOW SOMETHING.......... WHERE IS THE CAMERA APPLICATION?
When I read the manual that came with this netbook it told me to press the FN + V keys to toggle the camera application. Well when I do that nothing happens.
Can anyone who owns this netbook tell me how to start the camera application. I haven't even been able to find any such software on this netbook. I do however know that the built in webcam does work because I tried it online at a social webcam site..... but it would be nice if I could find the camera application so I can take random snapshots to store on my computer from time to time.
Oh and one more thing I must add. When I bought this netbook I did not purchase any extended warranty but I had to return it to Best Buy for an exchange the next day after purchase and they exchanged it for me with absolutely no questions asked. I was afraid they wouldn't exchange it but they did and that to me is awesome customer service. Thanks Best Buy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Good NB

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wangb01
from Taiwan
on 02/23/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy
What's not so great: Mouse key not easy to operate
This is a simple and easy to use. Good for traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Perfect for my intended use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Whitmanpc2
from Westford, MA
on 02/18/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Longer battery life versus power-hungry, faster versions (1201NB)
What's not so great: Includes only 1GB RAM (I upgraded to 2), and no Bluetooth (but I don't need it)
I am delighted with this Netbook. As long as your expectations are appropriate, and the ergonomics are for you (try it in the store), you'll love it. What sold me is the battery life (I'm getting 6+ hours), and the keyboard felt perfect to me, and I tried over a dozen netbooks. As I don't play games, the processing power is adequate for my needs. I do have a desktop I use for photo editing, so using this netbook for what it's designed for is perfect for me.
I would recommend upgrading to 2GB RAM, as it's the maximum it'll take and does improve performance. If I did not have my desktop, I may not find this netbook appropriate. Any of the higher performing netbooks in this price range sacrifice battery life. Although those netbooks tempted me, I'd regret not chosing this one for my use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Great Battery Life, but Sloooow Performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: draysniro
from PA
on 02/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Battery Life and price
What's not so great: Really Slow
I was originally looking at a 13" laptop bc I wanted a small computer for travel. I then found this little guy at half the price (clearance priced at the store). I couldn't turn down the price. I got it just in time it seems bc I lost internet at my house for a day and I had a paper to finish for school. I spent about 5 hours working off the battery at a local wifi spot and had only used a little over half of my power when I finished. My only issue is the lack of speed. It is extremely slow with 1GB of RAM (which is the reason for only 3 stars in performance). I plan to purchase the 2GB stick which will hopefully fix my problems. As for portability, this this is great. It has an extremely small footprint and weighs next to nothing (compared to other laptops I've had). The built in webcam and microphone are nice features as I can have video calls with my kids when I'm away for business. If you're looking for something portable and you're not looking to play games or do anything other than basic computing or web surfing, this is the netbook for you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

GREAT NETBOOK!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Txflyguyz
from Houston, TX
on 02/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light weight, great screen display, great audio
What's not so great: Haven;t found anything wong yet!
Being a Flight Attendant I needed a very lightweight and great performing computer. This is it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Asus Eee PC Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Black

Asus 1201hab

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sg50
from lo
on 02/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Battery life, size of monitor, easy to use, keyboard size
What's not so great: slow performer
great small form computer, has larger key board than most
Comes with XP service pack 3
I installed Windows 7 pro with office 2007 pro
bogged down the machine with only 1 gb of ram, so upgraded to 2 gb
would not recognize the 2gb upgrade until i went the system set up at boot
Works like a champ now, just remember we're talking about a small netbook here not a full size laptop. If you're looking for permance for gaming or vidieo buy accordingly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>