Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Model: 010-00781-01
SKU: 9560003
UPC: 753759094874
Garmin Dakota 20 Handheld GPS Navigator - Refurbished - 2.6" - 65536 Colors (16-bit) - Touchscreen - Turn-by-turn Navigation, Voice Prompt
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 18
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray
Review 1 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Weird01
from Livonia, MI
on 05/29/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Dead on every time
What's not so great: A little pricy
I've only had the unit a few weeks but it has been great for Geoching. As long as the person placing the cache gave a good location, it takes you right to the spot. Tree cover doesn't seem to be much of a problem with this unit, I know soem that are cheaper have the better sensitivity too but I have not checked them out.
I've found this unit a great buy but a bit more than I wanted to spend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
42out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

So much more than Geocaching!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MarcusT
from Titusville, FL
on 06/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Touchscreen, Great Features
What's not so great: Battery sink, You may never want to go home.
I bought this GPSr with the goal to have a nice geocaching GPSr with some neat features, but I ended up with so much more.
The unit has no problems acquiring a signal in the vast flat-lands of Florida.
Nice tracking detail.
Almost every data screen is customizable, changing the "Time of Day" field to a "Sunset" field, as you are walking.
The touchscreen is very responsive and seems to have a built in lock function.
Bring extra batteries if you plan to up the brightness on the unit.
I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+64points
64out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great for my various hiking trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hiker21
from Washington State
on 02/04/2011
What's great about it: It is easy to set up and find the satelites really quick
What's not so great: A belt clip would be nice
I bought this GPS unit to determine how far I hike each day. It is real easy to program and use while on the move. The screen is easy to use and read, even in the bright sunlight. The only real feature that I use every day is the trip computer. You can customize the screen to record all kinds of data, including your exact coordinates. I like the size of the screen and it fits in my pocket. Even in my pocket, the GPS tracking works without any problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+33points
38out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray
  • Featured

Excellent for Geocaching.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve877
from South Shore of MA
on 05/07/2011
What's great about it: Accurate, easy to use, light, small and ultra portable.
What's not so great: Nothing yet. Still in love.
About a month ago my family took up the hobby of geocaching. (Some people call it a sport, but I am not one of them.) If you are not familiar with the term, please check out www.geocaching.com and learn a little. Once you try it you will quickly become addicted. Short version- items are hidden, their coordinates are posted on a private website and people use hand held GPS units to find them. Sounds lame, but in practice it is amazingly fun.
When we first started I just downloaded an app to my iPhone that used cellular signals to emulate a GPS, but the accuracy left quite a bit to be desired. I could count on getting within 100-150 feet of a cache and then we were pretty much on our own. My sons got very good at fanning out and finding the goods. Let me tell you what happened this morning...
I went out to hunt a few caches with my new toy..I used my phone to access the geocaching website and determine what caches were in my area and plugged the coordinates into the Dakota. The nearest on was just under a half mile away at a small park. I drove to the park and used the Dakota to take a small hike to ground zero. According to the hint on the cache listing I should "step up" to the challenge, but watch my head. There was a fairly large rock directly in front of me, so I stepped up on to the rock and banged my head on the branch that the cache was hanging from. I laughed out loud, signed the log and walked back to my truck rubbing my head smiling the whole way.
My new Dakota led me to two more caches before I had to head home to get ready for work and it pretty much just walked me right up to both of them.
This unit has loads of capabilities that I haven't even come close to touching yet, but I had to share that little story with you. If you are looking for a small, accurate, easy to use device to go treasure hunting in the woods, or anywhere else for that matter, please consider the Dakota 20.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+47points
73out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great GPS for geocaching. Very user friendly.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Poland, ME
on 08/22/2011
What's great about it: Ease of use and reliability
What's not so great: A little too bulky for my pocket
I use this GPS primarily for geocaching and it works great. I've added topo maps and also street maps, so I can also use it to navigate in my car. This unit is very easy to use and has given me no problems at all. I also highly recommend this unit because of its ability to accept a SD card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
26out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great little handheld

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: digitald00d
from Auburn, IL
on 11/21/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use. Geocaching built in. Easy to operate.
What's not so great: Should come with SOME type of case, even if a cheap one.
Great little device. Everything I expected from a Garmin device. I use for hiking and Geocaching. Geocaching "field notes" can be entered in the device while in the field and uploaded later to your Basecamp program or what ever you use. Not disappointed so far. I would recommend highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great little gadget!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 71CGAgrad
from Kerrville, TX
on 07/28/2012
What's great about it: Lots of great features
What's not so great: Sometimes a bit difficult to see screen in bright sunlight
What a great little gadget. It has lots of neat features built in, and a pretty easy learning curve. Garmin provides free software that makes interfacing with PC very simple. Lots of maps available (by subscription or purchase), but there are also a lot of free maps available on the net that work just fine. I got this GPS unit in anticipation of a trip to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, where we intend to do a bit of hiking. I have made some practice runs with the unit down here in south Texas. I don't expect any problems with my new GPS gadget.
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Straight forward and easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MIKingbird
from Jackson, MI
on 06/28/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of use, durability
What's not so great: unable to store more than 1 point in memory
I bought it for navigating Biological Transect Lines at a local Audubon Sanctuary. It is easy to use and set up and fairly accurate. I just wish I could program all the 18 transect points into the unit before heading out into the field.
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2010488496
My Best Buy number: 2010488496
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great Unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jsteal
from Madisonville, Ky
on 08/02/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: light and easy to use
What's not so great: still a little pricey
Great unit if you want a hand held unit. This is not a unit to put in your car, so make sure you know what you are purchasing.
This product has... Simple controls
About me... Business Professional, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

good gps for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bobfish
from aurora, il
on 08/16/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: very easy to use
What's not so great: sometimes the touch screen doesnt respond on initial touch
this gps was very easy to use right out of the box. It is very accurate and initializes much quicker than my previous one was.
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2740470334
My Best Buy number: 2740470334
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Good GPS for Geocaching/other Outdoor Activities

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PghCacher
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 08/18/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots of capability, flexibility and accuracy. Got at a good price.
What's not so great: Awkward combination; required to exit application and use compass for details.
I replaced a Dakota 10 with the Dakota 20 so I wouldn't have to learn a whole new system. The Dakota 20 has more capability and features. The screen size works well and the color provides good contrast. The one feature that seems awkward is that after you identify the geocache you want to locate, you need to exit Geocache and enter Compass. It takes some getting used to, but works well and provides accuracy. The Altimeter is a great feature on the compass to easily show changes in altitude. A marked improvement over the Dakota 10, overall.
This product has... Large/easy to see screen, Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2797155116
My Best Buy number: 2797155116
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Very clear screen items

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RailBird
from Miami,FL
on 08/24/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Compact and Durable
What's not so great: Hard to find specific maps
I purchased it to use in china. There were no maps for Beijing, shanghai, Chongging, the 3 biggest cities in China. It did work with distance measured by how the crow flies. The compass was accurate along with trip meter.
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2845131291
My Best Buy number: 2845131291
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Good Trail or Bike GPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Raven014
from Boise
on 08/24/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Lots of features.
What's not so great: Maps are needed.
Love the size. Great on the trail or on a motorcycle. Maps are needed to use it effectively. I spent another $200+ fortopo maps and city streets. Once the maps sets were uploaded, it worked great. If you are in to geocaching, this is what you are looking for.
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0906167845
My Best Buy number: 0906167845
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Good rugged device

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: GPSFoxValley
from Fox Cities, WI
on 08/27/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Heavy duty
What's not so great: small screen, no rechargable batteries.
I like the product, but it does have some drawbacks. It would be nice to have a way to charge it in your vehicle instead of having to carry "AA" batteries around. It is also difficult to use the small touch screen.
This product has... Short battery life
About me... Frequent traveler, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0548429110
My Best Buy number: 0548429110
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Very easy to use. Needs better maps.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Geocacher107
from St. James, NY
on 09/02/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy to navigate around pages.
What's not so great: Poor base map!
I just spent a lot of money for this, now I have to spend another $70-$80 to get a detailed North American Map. Sorry, I see that as a rip off!
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Frequent traveler, Parent with kids, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Worth the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: User15468
from Grand Junction, CO
on 09/06/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It Simply works!
What's not so great: at time the screen can be difficult to read usually in direct sun light
It has tons of options, and they all work. this unit gets you within one to two feet almost every time, and is reliable! before buying I read alot of reviews saying battery life was not good...As long as you turn it off when not in use the batteries last for several trips, however the more juice in your batteries, the better the accuracy!
Garmin also has a computer program called base camp, to load on maps and points and it works really well, i personally use it for geo-Caching, and it has not let me down yet.
This product has... Simple controls, the option to enter coordinates
About me... Parent with kids, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), Use for long distance sports (i.e. bicycling, skiing, running)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960532849
My Best Buy number: 0960532849
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Great device for geocaching.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: presszilla
from Grand Rapids, mi
on 09/20/2013
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: incredible accuracy.
What's not so great: small screen
Wonderful gps for geocaching. Incredible accuracy, and the price was cheap considering all the features. Will have to get city maps to make it even better though.
This product has... Simple controls
About me... Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing)
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1058424046
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin - Garmin Dakota 20 2.6" Handheld GPS Navigator - Red/Gray

Useful took

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: schmind
from Texas
on 10/05/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Accurate, easily portable, easy to upload date points to Google Eart
What's not so great: No topo map, screen could be larger
Used this to get some data on a piece of land. It was easy to get the data uploaded to Google Earth. The shape would be a little awkward to carry on your belt; meant more to be held in a hand or pocket.
This product has... Simple controls, Easy to read
About me... Budget Conscious, Use for outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, hunting, fishing), casual user, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2285387234
My Best Buy number: 2285387234
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.