Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Model: IM10-3354DD5
SKU: 9568844
UPC: 884116028659
This Limited Edition netbook boasts a vivid, robot-inspired design to get your own gears turning. Its wireless mini card provides a wireless connection to the Internet, and you'll enjoy brilliant images while browsing online or working with other applications on the 10.1" antiglare widescreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
70% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 10
)
Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi
Review 1 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Great little machine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lori517
from Mason, MI
on 02/04/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size, battery life
What's not so great: unable to handle multple tasks quickly
I bought this to use when traveling and to use around the house when I am away from my desktop. The size is great and I can use it for extended periods of time without charging it. I love the HDMI hookup and I can connect it to my LCD TV. It does come with a lot of unnecessary programs, which I haven't bothered to uninstall yet. It is great for surfing the web, checking email, etc. The only problem I have run into with it is that the processor doesn't handle multiple tasks well. This is definitely not for a "power user". But it is great if you use it as it was intended, for web surfing, email and other lite tasks. I saw one other reviewer say it wouldn't work on facebook, but I have not had any problems with facebook, YouTube, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Nice Device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JavaSyd
from Sacramento, CA
on 02/02/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size (it's very portable), battery life, Easy to set up
What's not so great: Comes with Windows 7 STARTER, Adjusting to smaller keyboard
Overall I am very happy with my purchase. (Purchased on Nov. 30, 09) I only use my Netbook (replaced Laptop) for word processing, blogging, internet/email, etc. When on the go, it's easy to pick up and go and use in the car while I wait for my daughter. Battery life has been excellent--lasts me most of the day while on and off; letting it "sleep" in between loads of laundry, errands, etc. The keyboard is much smaller, so if you have big hands, I wouldn't purchase. I am adjusting, but still, while resting my thumbs near the space bar, I often inadvertently rub the touch-pad-mouse and move the cursor while typing--a bit annoying. I didn't like Windows 7 Starter, thought it was worthless, and spent another $80 to upgrade--so if you want control over your desktop background, etc. be prepared to upgrade. Adding additional software was a breeze (using home network/Flash Drive). Networking with Vista Desktop was not too problematic. I use it every day and have not had any performance issues with it. Recommend to anyone looking for a portable option for accessing the internet, working with email or word processors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Best Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pixiepuff2006
from South Haven, MI
on 01/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great Net-book. So portal able, easy to use, and a great deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Brilliant Worker, But Nothing Further

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Modeady
from MA
on 01/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Battery, keyboard, cover, size
What's not so great: You know it's small, so don't expect it to do big!
There are a few reviews down there I have no idea whether true or not, but I don't think that will do justice to overall products here. It CAN open high graphic website (is facebook even high graphic?..) and my mouse does NOT jump around. So maybe it's just bad luck for you two guys. Mine do anything perfectly fine, except for there are some conflicts with dell software and windows 7, making it impossible to open Control Panel. I fixed it myself and all you have to do is do a trial-and-error on *.cpl documents in system32. You certainly cannot expect it to work as smooth as MacPro, look at the processor and memory and graphic processor. But it's everything you buy it for--which is for work use. So light and portable (recommending a wrap of some kind or the cover design will be worn soon), with really long battery life (yes what's said in the first review is true, with only a little bit exaggeration). And I highly recommend the keyboard of it--the most comfortable one I've eve used, but it could be only my personal preference. Anyway, a co-worker you can't go without. But for family use? I won't say the same. For kids graphic performance should always stand on top. But for the netbooks. it's still not bad. It's really much faster than my friends' hp netbooks and I'm really happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

mini notebook not worth it

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: craig911gg
from michigan
on 01/14/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: size
What's not so great: SLOW RESPONSE
Not worth it as far as speed, typing on it lags bad. Slow booting up with windows 7.
Quality, screen is pulling apart on the left side. Had it for 3 weeks.
Buyer beware!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Dell Mini Inspiron

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ym
from Clinton, MD
on 01/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Whats not....small size with a big bite....
What's not so great: I couldn't afford 2....!!!!
I ordered this mini as a birthday present for myself and so glad I did. I was looking for a net book for a while and this one caught my eye. First, the design on the cover, then the 8 hr long battery, ease of use and most of all the affordable price. It was delivered fast and in tact...I just love it....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

JUNK

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TRP
from Camden, TN
on 01/14/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Its small and installation easy
What's not so great: SLOOOOWWWW in every aspect. Mouse jumps around making it impossible to type. Waste of money!
Bought as gift for 13yr old son for Christmas. He rarely uses it because its so slow and a pain to type on. Mouse constantly jumps around(which seems to be a trend from my experience with Dell laptops) and it take a long time to surf pages and start up. It is a waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Granddaughter's Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ben5445
from Rocklin
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is small for my grand-daughter small hands. Easy to carry.
What's not so great: For me - the small screen
What is not so great!!- For me - the small screen - my old eyes have a hard time reading w/o glasses. However, my Grandaughter absolutely loves it. I had to get her the hip "modern art" colored back. Had to have it!!! She really loves using it to communicate with her friends and making video of her singing and then uploads to youtube. Very portable and easy to carry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

It's an ok Netbook

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tkd4u2
from Seattle
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, great price, runs a long time
What's not so great: Very slow start up, changing between web pages is slow, and high graphic web pages just dont work
Bought two of these prior to Christmas this year. Out of the box these little things were awesome. Set up was so easy my 5 yo was on line and surfing the net.
That's when the awesome changed to frustration. As you know my kids are giddy about Facebook. This netbook does not work on Facebook or any other high-graphic web page that uses it. It freezes up, takes a long time to move the mose around, etc. Even going to average websites is a chore at times.
This netbook is great for email, writing documents. The webcam is ok too. Screen resolution is great but don't expect to be able to see the entire website in the frame of the screen. I've tried to resize but I would say only 50-65% of any site is available to see. You have to scroll to the side and up and down just to see the entire webpage. Frustrating to have to scroll all the time just to read text on the screen. I expected things would be smaller but web text and photos are hard to view like on a regular laptop.
No, I wasn't expecting the moon but I was expecting by advertisement and reviews that this would be a dandy web surfer and "Great for Students" as they say referring to college students. No way could a student with a full workload be able to use this in their studies. The reviews just don't tell you they suck on hgih-graphic websites...which by the way are a lot of websites these days. Would I buy it again...NO. Disappointed from a Dell product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Inspiron Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor - Multi

Awesome Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kmh21703
from Boise Idaho
on 12/14/2009
What's great about it: Awesome quiet keyboard, LONG battery life, sturdy feeling, Awesome colors make it stand out.
What's not so great: Wanted to use the free 4 gig SD card for Readyboost, but the card sticks out of the slot too much to leave in
This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. I have owned about 6 laptops in my life but never kept them because they were too bulky to move around and their battery life stunk,. This Dell is awesome because it is light and perfect for hauling around to coffee shops, libraries, and wherever you want. Plus the laptop has a 6-cell battery....I took it into the coffee shop yesterday and typed on it for 1 hour and there was still 88% life remaining. If you leave the power settings on power saver mode, you can easily get 7-8 hours out of this laptop. It's perfect for basic web-surfing and checking email, but gets a little choppy watching some videos and anything that is processor-intensive. I wouldn't use this for Photoshop, etc. but it is perfect for what it's designed to be used for. The keyboard is a perfect size...I am 6' 2" and have big fingers and didn't have any problems typing on it. I also love the color...gives the laptop a little pizazz that's different from the usual bland designs of most laptops. Also, fair warning...the laptop sits at an angle and has a protrusion at the bottom from the extended 6-cell battery. So the laptop sits at a slant from back to front...which is perfect for me anyway since it makes it easy to type. Plus it does come in handy when picking up the laptop...kinda serves as a handle. Windows 7 Starter is fast as well...once I took about 30 minutes to remove the programs I didn't want to include. You'll also get OS discs as well in case you have to reload everything (need a external CD-rom for this...although there are ways to do it with a USB cable - Google it up). Build quality is good too..laptop feels sturdy when picking up and keyboard is firm with out a lot of flex. My only disappointment is I wanted to use a 4 gig SD card that came free with the laptop as part of a deal for Readyboost, but the card sticks out of the machine too much to keep it in there full-time when carrying around, traveling, etc. It's no big deal...the next thing I'm going to do is get an extra stick of memory. One more thing, the power adaptor is small and doesn't consist of a "power brick" like most full-sized laptops....so it's easy to carry around. Overall I am VERY happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.