Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Model: EL6984A
SKU: 9576844
UPC: 023169125667
This compact, lightweight canister vacuum features a high efficiency 9-amp motor with ultraquiet operation and HEPA filtration for eco-friendly cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 10
)
Customer Reviews for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green
Review 1 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Wonderful machine!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jewelbabe
from New Port Richey, Fl
on 09/21/2011
What's great about it: Lightweight and quiet
What's not so great: No place for the attachments.
Extremely lightweight and very quiet! Even my husband loves the quiet motor. Great on hardwood floors and I can get up and down the stairs easily. Only wish the attachments had a place for them on the vacuum.
This product is or has... Enough suction that a single-pass does the job, Easy to carry, A light canister, Convenient to store, Useful tools
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Does the job and no complaints yet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: peperinc
from Chicago
on 12/14/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Quiet
What's not so great: Price
It is quiet and functional. It is small and easy to move around. This is good if you have a small space, I think the price is too high for this vacuum but wife wanted the quiet one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Great vacuum for bird owners

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mtnbirdman
from Pine Grove,CA
on 12/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This machine work very well. I've used Electrolux vacuums for a very very long time and this one appears to be no exception. It works great on hardwood floors and for cleaning our bird cages. I just hope it lasts as long as my past ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Compact, Light and Very Quiet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BarbieS
from Atlanta
on 10/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very light, easy to handle and QUIET
What's not so great: Accessory Tools not onboard. Best Buy doesn't carry the bags.
I bought two similar Electrolux canister vaccums and compared: EL4101A ERGO Space Green from Costco for $200 and EL6984A Ultra Silencer from Best Buy for $250. We needed something for bare floors other than our heavy upright after removing all the carpets except one room. Both vaccums are very light and use the same hoses, floor tools & bags. Ultra Silencer was definately much quieter than ERGO but had slightly less suction. ERGO's accessory 3-in-1 tool is flimsy but can be carried onboard. Ultra Silencer's accessory tools are sturdier but not onboard. ERGO came with an extra "turbo" floor tool with a rotary brush powered by the vaccum air flow but we tend to use the non-rotary floor tool with adjustable brush height which both vaccums come with. While these canister vaccums are no match on carpet for our upright, they are a delightful improvement on our tile & hardwood floors. And great for dusting and cleaning corners. We ended up keeping the ERGO and returning the Ultra Silencer but either would have satisfied our needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Really good vacuum

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LizM123
from FL
on 10/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quiet, HEPA filter, extender arm
What's not so great: can't get under beds, no caddy for attachments
This vacuum is very quiet (my cat does not even run out of the room!), and I love that it has HEPA filters. I gave it 4 stars because 1) the vacuum head does not fold flat so when reaching under stuff like beds, I can't get to the middle, and 2) because there is no caddy for the attachments. Other than that, I really like this vacuum.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Excellent vacuum for hard floors

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobmg
from Maple Grove, MN
on 06/30/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Quiet, great suction, energy efficient, long retractable cord, compact, sturdy
What's not so great: No power head for carpets, no onboard tool storage.
First off, this vacuum is not really intended for carpets. It has no power head with a rotating brush, nor even a suction-driven rotating brush. On the outside of the box, Electrolux describes it as the ultimate vacuum for bare floors.
But if you have hard floors, this vacuum is outstanding and a pleasure to use. It's very quiet. Turn it on and you will only hear the sound of air being sucked in the floor nozzle. You won't hear the motor unless you put your head right over it. The suction is fantastic, enough to hold the floor nozzle tight to my laminate floors. The motor is extremely efficient. It only draws 9 amps of power, but provides better suction than a typical 12 amp motor.
Like most vacuums, it's made mostly of plastic. It seems very sturdy, however. The telescoping wand is made of metal. It comes with three attachments: a floor nozzle with a retractable brush around its perimeter, a short crevice tool, and a third folding attachment that has an upholstery brush on one side and a small long-bristle brush on the other side (see photos). There is no onboard attachment storage. The cord is very long and retractable. Using the wand and floor nozzle, you can reach all the way underneath furniture with low clearance. The vacuum can be stowed sitting on its wheels or sitting upright. The wand with the floor nozzle will attach to the vacuum either way, so the hose/wand/nozzle won't fall over in your closet. The canister is fairly compact and follows along nicely behind you when vacuuming.
The motor speed is adjustable. You can reduce the speed (and hence the suction) if you are vacuuming a bath mat, for example, otherwise it will just pick the mat off the floor.
The bags sell for a couple of bucks apiece on the internet, so there's no big expense there to worry about. The efficient motor will save you enough money to offset the cost of the bags and you won't have the mess of a bagless.
As long as you don't have carpeting in your house, this vacuum is the one to buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Great vacuum

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mamaoftwo
from NJ
on 05/19/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's very quiet!
What's not so great: It's overpriced
Overall great vacuum. Alittle bit overpriced. My 9 monthts old loves it. It's extremly quiet. It picks up the rug, but I quess it's because of its power (which is a good thing).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Very Good Choice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DMJT
from Fairfield County, Ct
on 04/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great suction on the Vacuum and Perfect for Carpets/Floors
What's not so great: It uses disposabal bags
Recently purchased the Electrolux Vacuum and we are very happy with it. It cleans hardwood floors and carpets equally well. The engine provides excellent suction. It has excellent tools for stairs and crevices. I would strongly recommend this vacuum. It allows you to adjust the amount of suction you will need. It is lightweight and has an adjustable wand that allows you the flexibility for your requirements. It does require disposable bags and has a Hepa Filter- It operates quietly and is green.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

makes vacuuming fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kathie1202
from Warwick, NY
on 04/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lightweight, powerful, easy to use, excellent value.
I just love this vacuum. I had a bagless and no matter what you can't get farther away than the length of your arms when emptying it and everything you just removed from your floor poof's back in your face. This vacuum wand is extremely light weight and easy to manover. The suction has many adjustments and works extremely well on my wood floors and carpet. I love the fact that the wand stores on the back of the canister, very convenient as is the retractable cord. It is also very quiet. I can't say enough about it. I had planned to buy another Hoover windtunnel but I'm so glad I chose this one instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electrolux - Ultra Silencer HEPA Canister Vacuum - Black/Green

Worth the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RDC1
from Iowa
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performance, light weight, quiet
What's not so great: Clunky tool holder
I have owned this vacuum for a year. At first I thought the hose might be a little flimsy but it has held up well with frequent use. This vac is extremely quiet but the chief attraction for me is its light weight. I use it primarily for wood floors, dusting, and vacuuming upholstered furniture. It does a satisfactory job on area rugs. An attachment with beater bar that uses air suction for rotation actually works but I do not use it. It does a better job than Swiffer on bare floors. This vac has a longer hose than other canisters (i.e. Kenmore), making it easier to reach overhead without picking up the canister. My Kenmore is so heavy I actually separated my shoulder through repeated lifting. I have painful arthritis in my hands which the Electrolux does not aggravate. At first I thought this canister was expensive. After observing its performance and experiencing its ease of use for a year, I think it is a bargain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.