Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Model: 110c-1105DX
SKU: 9576933
UPC: 884962582121
Video chat with friends and family with this netbook that features a built-in webcam and microphone and a 10.1" antiglare widescreen LED display. The 5-in-1 digital media reader lets you transfer photos and files quickly and easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 71 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
64 out of 71
)
Customer Reviews for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor
Review 1 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

GREAT NETBOOK

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Narddo
from Honolulu, HI
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 250 GB hard drive, Windows 7 Ultimate, 2GB expandable memory
What's not so great: N/A
pick this up on black friday, it's a Great netbook!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Great machine for basic and light duty tasks

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JPinBham
from Birmingham
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, Weight, Keyboard, Portability, Price
What's not so great: 3 cell battery, Windows 7 Starter
This netbook is a great little machine. For the money and the features it cant be beat. Great size, and useability. The Atom processor isnt overly powerful so dont expect to get multi-core speed and throughput out of it. The hard drive is huge for a machine this small! The only downside, if you can consider it a downside, is the windows 7 starter edition on the unit, but with a few minuets of work I am now running Windows 7 Professional with out any problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

LOVE IT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Riveralara
from Atascadero, CA
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I love being able to take this computer everywhere. It is well worth the money. Space is immense and runs perfectly.
What's not so great: No complaints....use it everyday and love it
I use the netbook to keep track of my finances as well as writing and programming. The hard drive space is larger than I would ever use but thought it is better to have more than enough than not quite enough. The speed is good and the keyboard is easy for typing. The keys are not too close together. The resolution is good as well. I bought it in november and have used it every day since. I love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

110c-1100

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tim111
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Small size and good price
What's not so great: Web Camera is poor in the 110c-1100
I bought a 110c-1100 and 110c-1105. The 1105 has a better Web camera then the 1100. The 1100 comes with XP and runs slower then the 1105 with WIn 7. Buy these with Win 7!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

excellent mini

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cscott1226
from Genoa, OH
on 01/10/2010
What's great about it: easy set up, fast, fun, priced right
I got this netbook for Christmas and I have a hard time putting it down. It's so convenient to keep with me and log onto the internet quickly. I can check my email quickly and easily. I have 3 years of pictures on it and my itunes loaded. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Great Little Computer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: betheny
from San Dieg, CA
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, function
What's not so great: Windows 7 Starter, needs full Windows 7 version!
Windows 7 Starter sucks, needs full Windows 7 version! Cant playback DVD's with external drive on Windows 7 Starter
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Mini notebook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BrownB
from Minneapolis MN
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: So easy to use and set up
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet that we don't like
This notebook is great. Easy to use, bought as a gift and he loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

great computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TupperwareLadyKBraden
from Wheaton, MD
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and take along anywhere.
What's not so great: Has Windows 7 Starter and cannot (ever) change the desktop background.
I got this to help me in my business and that it has. Being able to take it anywhere with me and access the internet has been wonderful. I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

its AWSOME

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: marybeary2229
from Hagerstown Md
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its little and you can take it with very easily
What's not so great: 3 - 4 hour battery life
its a great net book i love it its cute and very portible
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Fun Little Laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TL69
from Maine
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots of functionality in a little box
What's not so great: Windows 7 Starter!
I bought this laptop for my 10 y.o. son who had been after me for a while for his own little computer. The price was hard to beat at $250, and my main concern was effective parental controls. I did some research on Windows 7 and it sounded like the way to go (normally I'm a Mac user).
The machine itself is great, with a bright screen, functional keyboard, webcam, card reader etc. What lets it down is the OS, which I find really frustrating. IE8 is a bloated monster, that is forever trying to add toolbars and closes without reason. Managing parental controls and web content requires needless sign up with MSN and constant jumping on and offline to make adjustments.
I love the machine. Just wish I'd got the XP version.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Great Little Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RegularGuyToo
from Pennsylvania
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very well made
What's not so great: Web Cam could be better
I bought this Netbook on Black Friday for my 11 year old daughter when I originally intented to buy a larger Notebook. Afterward I found a good deal on a Notebook and was going to return this item. After much consideration I decided to keep it, and I'm glad I did. It's perfect for toting around, very well made and have not had any problems with it (as it should be with anything you purchase new). I was hesitant to buy it because it's a Compaq and I had issues with Compaq many years ago. Now owend by HP, I decided to go ahead.
For the last month and a half it's been used regularly by my 11 year old and myself.
This Netbook has the larger hard dirive a definite plus. A 3 cell battery for adequate use when not plugged in. The web cam is adquate but a web cam with better resolution would be better. Performance is great. It's been dropped from the lap once, and did not have any effect on it (Whew!).
Intel is making a better chip (than the N270) now and for a few more $$$ it may be worth checking into.
I'm very satisfied with this Netbook.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

What a deal!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JaneM
from St. Paul, MN
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lightweight, normal sized keyboard
What's not so great: Short battery life - came with 3-cell battery vs 6-cell battery which has longer life
Easy to setup, purchased a slimline DVD drive accessory that worked slick with this Netbook. Got a GREAT deal on Black Thursday with bulitin webcam, Windows 7 and 250Gb disk configuration. Std sized keyboard and keys where many of the netbooks have slightly smaller keyboards. Memory expandable to 2GB, but only one memory slot so installed 1GB memory has to be replaced by the 2GB memory card.
Purchased for soldier in military. Lightweight, small enough to easily and conveniently pack with all the other gear my soldier carries when going from location to location. Webcam allows us to chat face to face...a big deal when separated by miles and for long periods of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Nice Netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: micfwk
from CA
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: as well as Hp Netbook, but Cheap price.
What's not so great: We need to contact HP Customer service to get the recovery disks
as well as Hp Netbook, but Cheap price.,i need to contact HP Customer service to get the recovery disks
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

AWESOME

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Smandy
from North Miami, FL
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: The mouse pad
I purchased this computer on Black Friday for a bit over $200 and like McDonald's... I'm lovin it! Its my new best friend. I carry it everywhere, was easy to set up, speed is awesome, so is picture and sound quality. The only downside that I've noticed, and its not really a huge problem just a little uncomfortability is the mouse pad and the alignment of the right and left click. Other than that, its great. What more could you ask for. Webcam was pleasantly surprising in regards to quality. Love this netbook.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Great Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rbby
from Gilbert,AZ
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great size, and weght
What's not so great: Needs more RAM
Great little computer. Battery life is about 2.5 hrs small enough to carry in backpack and lite enough not to notice it. Need to upgrade RAM I think cost is about $60.00.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Nice inexpensive portable netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ArdenH
from Oakland Gardens, NY
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light weight, great price, lots of memory, portable, pretty easy to use
What's not so great: Short battery life
This is a light weight, inexpensive, portable netbook with lots of memory. It is easy to use and actually got my non-computer user husband to learn how to work the internet and write his own reports! He loves it! It will be useful for going on vacation and having internet access available to us. The battery could be better, as it tends to go down faster than I would like and needs to be charged more often than I would like, although not that often. I ordered a mouse to go with it, as it is easier to use (we are more accustomed to a mouse) and am satisfied with it. You probably could get something better, but would have to spend a lot more. I am satisfied with this netbook, and it provides everything I need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

just you normal netbook

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gmasters
from Baltimore
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: lightweight and easy to pack/carry
What's not so great: AS WITH ALMOST ALL NETBOOKS- the 1024 x 600 screen resolution- the 600 needs to be 800 - things get ccut off!
Can't complain as it is what it is and I sort-of knew that before buying.This comment is not dirrected to this specific netbook, But i will not be buying ANY netbook with the normal 10" screen that has 1024 x 600 resolution again- it would be SO WORTH IT to pay a bit more and get one that has the 1368 x 768 or similar screen. The 1024 x 600 chops the bottom off some dialog boxes and if your button to click 'ok or cancel" is below the chop off (like is is on my printer setup dialog box) you have almost no way out !- not worth the frustration even if it is ok for normal surfing.- get the better screen ! (you will see more 11-13" screens with the better resolution in 2010 I predict !) Hopefully the price difference will shrink a bit (unfortunaetly Intel has some guidelines about which price processor can go whith which screen which is boloney, but that might keep these low price units as the teaser or bait & switch marking ploy and might keep the decent screens at too big of a premiul- time will tell .
My button saying 'I would recommend" is conditional- must know what you are getting, and only recommended if you must have a cheap machine and the better screens stay high price. This model is no better or worse than others with same type screen.
Last note- battery life is not great due to the cheap price too- cheap units have the 3 cell battery- need the 6 cell to make a netbook last longer than a notebook (I only get a notebook like battery life of 1.5 to 2.5 hours)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Definitely get what you pay for..

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: esv8984
from Kansas
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small, light, and fairly powerful,
What's not so great: The screen is a bit annoying as it won't show HD and I wuold love to have a dual core processor
You definitely get what you pay for. Works well for what I need. I upgraded the battery and added another 1gb of ram so hums along pretty well. The screen is a bit annoying as it won't show HD and I wuold love to have a dual core processor. As the Atoms get smaller I will probably upgrade that also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

It is little!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SSari
from Indiana
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It starts up quickly!
What's not so great: It is really tiny!
I know it is a netbook, but it is really tiny ! ~~~
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Compaq Mini Netbook with Intel® Atom™ Processor

Great buy!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TechNut76
from Columbia, MD
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The size, bright screen, hard drive space 250G, very light weight
What's not so great: Nothing!
I bought this Netbook with the understanding that the screen would be smaller and performance would be slower, the cost of the small size. However, the screen size is more than adequate for average use. The netbook has been very convenient when taking it to a coffee shop or on a trip overseas. The small size and light weight doesn't make it so inconvenient to carry around. My wife even throws it in her purse to use at coffee shops to browse the net and check email. The battery also lasts a lot longer than our $1500 Dell laptop. I wish we had gotten this computer earlier. The LED screen is bright, we also got the 250Gig HD which is plenty for a lot of use. We do not miss not having the CD ROM because we never use it anyway (but we did buy a USB CD ROM for $20 on Ebay). The price was $217 (or there abouts) back in late November 2009- Couldn't be happier with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>