Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Model: AS5534-1121
SKU: 9640912
UPC: 099802274900
Create customized CDs and DVDs with this laptop's double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive. The built-in Acer Crystal Eye webcam and 15.6" widescreen allow you to participate in video chats with friends and family. Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 67 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
55 out of 67
)
Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black
Review 1 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great Laptop for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jlcinnamon
from Greenwood, IN
on 03/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great specs for the price, built-in webcam, separate numeric keyboard, good battery life, lightweight
What's not so great: No major negatives so far
First of all, this replaced a 6-pound HP laptop from 2002 so anything would be an improvement. Having said that, I'm really enjoying this laptop. I've had to get used to the wider (16:9) display, but it's big and bright. Very nice. I love the built-in webcam and built-in wireless card. They are huge improvements over what I had before. One little picky thing: it doesn't have any kind of light to indicate CAPS LOCK. I'm halfway through a sentence before I realize I'm in ALL CAPS. However, that may say more about my typing skills than the laptop. All in all this is a great machine. 4 GB of memory, a 320 Hard Drive, built-in webccam and mic, dual core processor all for about $400. How can you beat it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobg101
from boston,ma
on 01/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: lots for the price
What's not so great: how to work with windows7 vs my old xp
A real "State of the Art" value and a convenient purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

I love it!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: robin24
from camden,sc
on 01/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up,moves very fast,
i have been wanting a laptop and got this one for christmas and i love it.it is easy to use.fast loading pages
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

nice and thin, not bulky. easy to like this compu

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jb9618
from surf city, nj
on 01/14/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nice computer for price
What's not so great: the screen just keeps flickering. very annoying!!!
The computer works well except for the flickering screen. I don't know what the problem is but hopefully it is covered under the warrenty. Otherwise the computer is fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ncnsa
from Marlton, NJ
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast, great picture
What's not so great: nothing
I would buy this computer again today if I needed another lap top. It works fast, has a really nice picture and my son (23) loves it. I was leery as we usually buy Dell. I have not been particulary fond of that brand of late. Their customer service has gone done the tubes. We will find out about this company when and if we have have problem in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

DIAMOND in disguise!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kat1960
from Bossier City, LA
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent Price, great selection of programs preloaded.
What's not so great: No problems that I can discern at this time!
Perfect for beginner to intermediate users who are on the go and want a good general purpose laptop.
Plus: Intuitive setup. Wide keyboard for easy operation. Includes number pad!
Minus: I can't really discern any negative issues with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

quite satisfied so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: djgreg
from cleveland oh
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great price for all the features
What's not so great: dosen't latch when closed
So far everything's working perfectly. It is a great bargain for the price with all the features. Moves quickly. The only thing missing is a latch when you close the cover.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Good buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ltw
from North Dakota
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy set up, good price
What's not so great: nothing so far
Bought this laptop for my husband who uses it for internet surfing and email only. The display is really nice and does the things he needs very well. Happy with the price and mine has windows 7. Thought about buying a netbook, but for $100 more got windows 7, dvd, more memory, faster, bigger screen, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Very nice

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MissyLynn
from Dawson Springs, KY
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I like the ease of use, visibility and the features.
What's not so great: I've had a few driver issues, short battery life
I use my laptop for home use, emails, networking, picture editing, etc. I have loved everything about it. The only problem I've had are some driver issues. If I hadn't known a great IT specialist from work, it would have been a HUGE headache. It told me I didn't have a dvd/cd burner, because the driver was corrupt. I'm not an IT person, so I don't know exact details. I also had trouble with my picture editing software./ driver. Other than that the machine has exceeded all expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Budget friendly productive laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KITI98
from Silicon Valley, CA
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: For the price this laptop is great! Great features.
What's not so great: Petty...but the feel of the keyboards and the laptop does not secure when closed.
Needed a personal laptop other then my work one. For my home use it is great! Laptop camera is fine for Skyping and other video calling. The system is very quick and the quality of the display is surprising. So far no serious complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great buy for kid

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GA
from Hawaii
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I bought it for my12 yr old grandchild. It has been very reliable for him especially the price
This was the best buy I could find at any store for a first computer for a child. It was easy for him to figure out and use which is somewhat limited for his age. Good price and practicality is a must when shopping for an item such as this and I feel we bought the perfect item. Purchasing the extended warrantee was also a plus for price, the best deal around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

ok laptop but not the best

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ronaldandvo
from Wilnington NC
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: Not Hard Drive GB advertised
The Windows 7 is not what was as expected, also the wireless does not pick up as well as my Compac Presario ,the web pages blip on and off while wireless. I am happy though with its gaming ability I could not get some games on Windows Vista but I can on Windows 7. I need to use this computer more for an overall rating but for now its ok
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Laptop Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DJFor0524
from Perrysburg, OH
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and features, WIndows 7, dual core, 6 cell battery
What's not so great: Screen flickers during internet use when charging
Got this laptop to replace one I've had for 4 years. Works fast, easy setup, came with lots of features and all function well. Good price, would buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ksunda
from Burbank, CA
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Can't Beat Price -vs- what you get
What's not so great: Sometimes a little slow
I researched a long time before buying a laptop. This one comes with a lot of bang for the buck! And was cheaper than several others I found with less features! I recommended to several co-workers and they bought it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great computer and nice price...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Marsvolta84
from Delray Beach, FL
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice display, long battery, decent hard drive space...
What's not so great: N/A
Overall, a very nice computer. This is my 3rd Acer and I really am enjoying it. Far superior to the Dell Inspiron that I had a year ago in quality and software.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Seems good but

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Prabhu
from Manchester, CT
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: high end configuration
What's not so great: PowerDVD software is not working.
This latop seems to be a good buy for the price. The HD screen is good. The DVD software given as part of the package (PowerDVD) doesn't work. Otherwise the laptop is pretty good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mstngkid
from Howell, NJ
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, Great price, slim design
What a beautiful laptop, slim, clear screen, easy set up, good software, great memory, just an overall great latop for the money, no problems so far have the latop over one month
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Like it so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: psdotdotdot
from near the ocean
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great price, easy to work with, great looking, wide screen-overall great!
What's not so great: sensitive mousepad
this is a great computer! i was hesitant on buying it at first, but im so glad that i did! the comp was a gift for hubby and he seems to really enjoy it! mousepad can be a bit sensitive at times, especially when i'm trying to toot around on the internet. it tends to have a mind of its own and click on whatever the cursor is on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

Great buy for a loaded computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DonnaO
from Sacramento, CA
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and value
For the money this Acer computer is hard to beat. I have a 3 year Acer and have been pleased with it. This purchase was for nephew's Christmas gift. He thinks I'm a rock star.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Aspire Laptop with AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor - Black

good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: beauguapo
from Dallas, TX
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: many more features than a netbook at a good price
What's not so great: not blazing fast, no bluetooth
I wanted to get my parents (retirement age couple with very limited computer knowledge) an affordable, easy-to-use laptop that has a decent size hard drive and Windows 7. This one is not a high-end super-fast machine, but it plays DVD's and CD's smoothly and offers lots of features for the price, including a numeric keypad, good monitor, and built-in webcam. Most laptops with 4 GB of ram and 320 hard drive cost at least $100 more than what I paid for this one. Only drawbacks are no bluetooth or HDMI output and it takes a while to install larger software programs. Works well with wi-fi hotspots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>