Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Model: CG5275-AR003
SKU: 9699025
UPC: 610839083145
Take your gaming to the next level with this desktop that features a spacious 1TB hard drive and Intel® HD graphics with up to 1759MB shared video memory for lush images. The double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive allows you to create customized CDs and DVDs. Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 125 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
113 out of 125
)
Customer Reviews for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
Review 1 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nous
from stockton, ca
on 10/27/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fast
What's not so great: stated in comments above
wish I could use my speakers for games, emails, etc... works only on skype = can't seem to use my all in one HP printer V40.. why?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Excellent value for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gooddoc
on 09/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The speed
What's not so great: The incident described above, otherwise no complaints
This computer is super fast and quiet. Outstanding value for price! Only problem I have had is that one day when I turned the computer off, when I turned it back on, the computer would not communicate with the monitor or any other devices connected to it. I had to actually remove the plug from the electrical outlet in order for it to communicate when I started it up. This happened like 3 times so for awhile, I wouldn't cut my computer off. I got brave enough to cut my computer off again and now it hasn't happened anymore. Not sure what was going on. But outside of that problem, I love this computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

My first ASUS and it's AWESOME!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jrcmusic1
on 09/06/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up; lightning fast; great price; very expandable
Before I bought this computer I did a lot of looking around and research on a new computer. I knew exactly what I wanted as far as the specs and when I found this one, I had to jump on it. It is so fast and light years ahead of my old computer (of 5 years). Everything seems so easy and fast. Set up was a breeze. Definitely a great computer for not a whole lot of money. Yes, it is a big box, but it has so much room if you ever want to expand/add things to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
LG 22" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED Monitor - Glossy Black
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Poor design

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Alejas
from Pasadena, TX
on 08/25/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Fast, A lot of machine for the money
What's not so great: Poor design and not put together very well.
This is the 2nd machine I purchased because the first one wouldn't even start up. That should have been my first clue and my second clue should have been that this machine had been discontinued in many stores.
While there is a lot of performance in this machine the design leaves much to be desired. It comes with 4 USB ports on the front which is very nice but the door to access these ports won't open wide enough to use the bottom 2 ports.
The hard drive rattles and the BB rep told me it was probably because it was so fast. Yep, that's a good answer.
That said, if you can work around the USB ports (I did) this machine is fast, efficient, and seems to be working fine. The noise bothers me but I bought the extended service plan and I have a good backup. It if is the HD that is bad, I'll get a new on on BB.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Great PC for the Multi-tasker!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: msirish
from Wichita, KS
on 08/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, speed, ease of setup, Windows 7, being able to multi-task without hanging up the pc every 5 minutes!
What's not so great: Size of CPU is larger than normal, so it won't fit inside my cabinet. But, I can live with it on the floor.
I was losing my 6 yr old HP and needed something to handle the multiple windows I need to have open each day - all day long. So far, in the month since I've had this ASUS, I have been extremely pleased. I am not a gamer, but the young man who helped me told me this would handle all my needs. It was a great price, too!
I purchased the Dell 15" LCD Flat Panel Monitor to go with it. It is setup and running very quickly and easily. My old files and programs were transferred to it, and I am a happy woman!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Awesome!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lulu2010
from Coralville, IA
on 08/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed, reliable, easy to set up
When I first saw this my first thought was that it did not look that wonderful, it looks kind of plain. When I got it home and set it up I couldn't believe how easy and fast it was to set up and how it is able to run several things at once and do it quickly. I love this computer. Will buy again and have even told friends who trust me to know something about computers. Despite how big it looks it did fit into my space where my old CPU was and it actually looks quite stylish also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Easy to understand and look for files

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sharktress
from Pocono Lake
on 08/03/2010
My son helped me to choose this one and I am very happy with my purchase, the speed is awesome and I can multitask. I use this for all my educational classes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Can't end task from task manager

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NHUN
from California
on 07/25/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Task Manager
Everything has been good except this problem. While I'm on internet, and can't be connected to the website, a "ring" is going around and around, so I used to Task Manager to end the program, but I can't highlight the program because the ring is going around (No arrow to click the program) and end up logging off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

The product is as advertised and works well.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drblueeyes
from Chicago, IL
on 07/24/2010
What's great about it: More memory and a better processor for the same price
What's not so great: Nothing
The ASUS offered a much better processor and memory/RAM and Hard drive for the listed price versus the competitors both with best buy and at other stores.. There were no surprises and I have been very happy with it. In the past I used DELL for computers and custom made them. The customer service with the phone support has been much better, although wait times sometimes added up. I spoke to someone in the US who was understandable and knowledgeable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

very good for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Burt55
from Fostoria,Oh
on 07/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is a great running computer. I needed to add a fue other pieces of hardware for my needs vid. board and audio to run the way I am used to but what I paid for the system was well worth the add ons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

ASUS essentio desktop computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gerb
from california
on 07/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: features, memory, processor,
What's not so great: I have no complaints so far. It is a great system!
Loads of features for the money. It is fast, sleek. I have been recommending this to all family and freinds. This is by far the best computer that I have ever owned!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

ok machine, issues after purchase

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BusterK
from Jacksonville, FL
on 07/23/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: relatively good value
What's not so great: after purchase support from best buy
decided on this because of cost / value and performance. within 90 days onboard network died, option was to send computer off for repair, not an option in my opinion, purchased a nic card and installed for <40. onboard usb ports are poorly manufactured and week structurally. 2 pci ports, and had irq issues with added nic and add on usb port card. i guess if you just buy it and dont do anything beyond read email, surf the web, and play solitare, its an ok machine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Good once working

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DonInMichigan
from Michigan
on 07/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good for the price; Quiet;
What's not so great: Parts not connected; Needs graphics/power upgrade (if you game)
First time starting up the computer, display reads something like "no boot device found". Turns out the SATA connection to the hard drive was not connected. Reading other reviews, looks like I'm not the only one. Thing is, once you open the case it voids the warranty! I was going to put in a power supply and graphics card anyway, but still, don't they go through a quality check? There is no old IDE connections so the hard drive from my old computer will not install internally and will require an adapter.
Some other random thoughts: it IS very quiet; the ASUS logo in front lights up a bright white; power button on very top front right of case; CD/DVD opens by pressing lower right of drive bay door; Front of case rests on a small pedestal so if you press the power button to hard the whole thing tilts. You could remove this pedestal however;
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Second time's a charm

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gcm
from PA
on 07/21/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Performance, easy to customize
What's not so great: Pricey, DVD player/recorder door set-up
Had to return the first unit we bought, the mother board went bad after 4 days.
The second unit has worked flawlessly. My son is very impressed with its speed and responsiveness.
As others have said, Asus customer service leaves much to be desired, but the Geek Squad support at the BB where I bought it was better than expected.
I guess this is a case of "all's well that ends well".
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Great Deal for the Money if...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Atlanta, GA
on 07/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Performance/price point
What's not so great: Technical support
I was a little hesitant about this purchase at first because Asus is not a well-known brand to most. After doing some research, I found out that the company has been making high quality motherboards for quite some time. This machine gives you a lot for the money, but it seems geared for those who have hardware experience. The case is huge, but all the better to keep the machine cool and allow you to add componets more easily. I purchased a video card at the same time I bought the computer and installed it immediately. Start-up was fine, but my DVD drive would not work. After calling customer service (that's another story), I found that one of the cables to the drive was not plugged in. No problem after I found the issue. Customer service, however, is a nightmare. These people have zero knowledge of computers and the machine does not come with much of a printed manual. If you are familiar with computers, you should be fine. I installed a second DVD drive today. It was a bit cramped to get the drive into the bay (it has to be put in place from the back, not the front panel), and the slot was tight, but I was successful.
This machine is very quiet and a beast for the money. I priced comparable HPs and having one built privately, but couldn't match the price. I also like that the computer doesn't come bloated with a bunch of software that you don't need that only slows performance. Asus also gives you a system start-up CD; a rariety these days.
If you want an incredible machine for the money and are technically skilled, you can't go wrong with this computer. If you are a plug-and-play only person, you may want to think twice. I couldn't be happier at this point as long as I don't have to call their tech support again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Great computer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: stirling1
from CA
on 07/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast and cheap
What's not so great: not very expandable
The computer runs great. No problems with performance. The one thing worth pointing out is this tower may not be expandable enough for some people. There are only 2 PCI expansion slots. Since there is no firewire, sound card (sound is pretty good) or video card ( no complaints so far with the Intel HD), if you wanted to add a firewire card, a sound card and a video card you'd be out of luck.
Another slight annoyance is that the front media card and USB ports are behind a door that once opened makes it difficult (not impossible) to plug into bottom 2 USB ports because the door doesn't open far enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

A Real Steal at $660

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pueblo
from Omaha, NE
on 07/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: value and gaming with some additional hardware
What's not so great: not keen on the flip down access to usb on front, can be hard to use all of them
My computer got fried over the weekend by lightning and I needed something quick.
I do alot of gaming but am not one to spend a ton on a gaming machine. However, this computer, $660, paired with a good $200 graphics card and $100 Power Supply Unit make a very nice machine. Way better equipped than the $1000 dells or gateway "gaming" machines that Best Buy is selling.
I play alot of Microsoft Flight Sim, and this setup, with my old nvidia 250, is the first time that I have seen that game run smooth as silk with no hicups...Can only imagine what it would be like with a newer card. Amazing.
For those wondering, it comes stock with just a 400 watt PSU and does have a PCIe slot. I love the size of the case and plan on adding another fan as i keep my house pretty void of AC.
Excellent value if you can still find them around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Decent computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: magicalrose
from Houston, TX
on 07/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I bought this computer after I installed a bad graphics card in my old computer, which fryed the system. It was probably time for an upgrade anyhow. I am very happy with the computer itself. I did have Best Buy install a bigger power supply and graphics card before I brought it home. I was feeling a little gun shy because of the problem I had with my old computer and I was pressed for time that weekend. If I had to complain about anything, I would say the keyboard took about a week to get used to, but I do like it now. I am also not used to the virus program that came installed with Best Buy's plan, but I'm sure I will get used to that eventually too. I use the computer for college and gaming. It serves me well with both roles, especially after the power supply and graphics upgrade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

surpassed my expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cec090
from biloxi, ms
on 07/06/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed, quality
What's not so great: unit a bit bulky
This is a great pc at a really great price. It is probably more computer than I needed but the features for the price cannot be matched and Asus has been making motherboards and computer parts for a long time and they are know for high quality products. I am not dissapointed. It also comes with recovery discs which is another advantage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Asus Essentio Desktop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

The best computer for the best price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Radmehr
from Vacaville,CA
on 07/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very good price, fast, looks good
What's not so great: Didn't have a graphics card but can't complain for the price
I was going to build this computer but I found out there wont be a difference in the price!! Excellent computer it didn't have a graphics card but i just bought a nice nVidia GeForce 9800 GT and now i can play games like WoW and Modern Warfare 2. Great computer for upgrading. This computer is huge. If you are a gamer just need to upgrade it a little. Once again great computer for price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>