Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Model: A505-S6033
SKU: 9705203
UPC: 883974369584
This laptop features a 16" high-definition widescreen display and a webcam for video chatting with friends and family. The double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive allows you to get creative by customizing CDs and DVDs.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 128 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
9
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
109 out of 128
)
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Satisfies my needs!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DD156T
from Salt Lake City, UT
on 08/27/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fun to use.
What's not so great: A little too heavy.
This is much nicer than the computers I used at Salt Lake Community College.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Awesome all around computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 2010MJ
on 08/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, nice size, easy to transport
What's not so great: More battery life is always nicer, but this one is good for its features.
This is a nice computer for a beginner, an expert, and everything in between. It has a sleek look and is easy to take with you wherever you need to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Great all around laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: shoppingjohn
from Willmar, MN
on 08/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I needed a laptop for school that could handle the computing power my web design classes required but also was portable so I can take it with me on the go. This computer met both requirements wonderfully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

EXCELLENT, great price, bang for the buck 4th Tosh

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DRFLASH
from Buffalo NY
on 08/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price/Speed
What's not so great: Nothing
Has everything I was looking for. Love the keyboard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Amazing processor for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ToshibaOwners
from Utah
on 08/02/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Processor size/speed
What's not so great: Battery life
The speed of the computers processor and RAM are great. The processor eats battery life so I usually get about an hour or so out of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Wonderful value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lubejockey01
from Reynoldsburg, OH
on 07/27/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: good value
What's not so great: short battery life, charge port breaks easily
You get top of the line performance for a low price. Easy to use, attractive, and great performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Excellent product and a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ringneckblues
from Colorado
on 07/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast speed and with plenty of features
What's not so great: standard battery life is a little short on time..
The pre built system was what I was looking for. Fast processor with the added graphics card and enough ram to handle my 3D software.
It is a lap top with desk top features
The Toshiba brand was recommended to me by a friend who is in the IT business. Toshiba has made great improvements in their quality..
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Toshiba - Canvio 640GB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Rocket Red
3.0 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

My Toshiba has performed flawlessly so far.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Swampdoctor
from Marietta, GA
on 07/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: I would prefer a different keyboard configuration.
The unit is energy efficient, fast, quiet and has a great display and web cam.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Not bad for the base line i7 processor.....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cbart13
from Mesquite, TX
on 07/04/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Cheapest with the new i7 and dedicated graphics....
What's not so great: Not a gaming powerhouse... price point a little high for what it does... should have put in a better graphics card....
As I have found with most Toshiba Laptops, they have a slow load up time. This one also does. With the i7 processor i expected the start up to be faster, but that seems to be the only problem. To counter this I just leave it on and plugged up all the time and just close it and let it go into sleep mode and it results in a little faster load up. I have had a few problems with programs not loading and programs crashing, but happens randomly, but not too often. I also have not gotten the Blue Screen as others have. This was my biggest concern when buying it.
Heavy and 2 hours battery... not the most portable but if you are looking for a desktop replacement what do you expect.
Now on to the good.
The 310M graphics card is not the best but I can run Dragon Age on high at the 1366x768 resolution. I would not plan on using this for high settings on Call of Duty or a game that requires a high powered graphics card. Overall the computer runs fast when running basic programs and internet browsers but the computer seems to use all of the RAM available very quickly and freezes up if you try too much multitasking. I would have figured the 4 cores would have taken care of that. I will probably upgrade the RAM after a while, but the downside is that is only has the 2 ports for RAM sticks. But also this is not a bad gaming laptop for under a $1000 and I got it at the outlet price of $854.99.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Nice computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jdacord1
from Kerrville,Tx.
on 06/20/2010
Only thing is I just paid $45.00 more for this computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

great laptop...awful battery!...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JJnCali1977
on 06/16/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, great processor, speakers.....
What's not so great: Very short battery life.....
I've had this laptop for about two months now...the only issue i have is the battery life...i will be replacing it with the High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Battery Pack .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Beware Video Capture

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: JustReviewed
from Jacksonville
on 06/16/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Fast
What's not so great: Poor video capture!!!!
My first review ever!
Love the laptop. Fast, fast , fast
Works great with Adobe CS5 video programs.
However, I can not get it to capture clean video. Either HDV or SD. I have tried via the 4 pin connector. (the reason I bought this laptop in the first place.) Also tried a Dazzle with same poor results.
Ruled out the Software -tried several now
Ruled out the 4 pin - works fine on desktop
Ruled out camera - works fine on other computers
I have been unable to find any solutions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Great laptop for a college student

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tandm
from California
on 06/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Graphics, drive space, features
What's not so great: Weight - a bit heavy
The only con I can see so far is the weight. Graphics are great for a laptop. On board 10-key is quite handy. Everything is convenient and easy to use. My son is using it for college and really loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

likes to randomly shut down for no apparent reason

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: grubmonkey
from holland, MI
on 06/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: cheap, high speed, great processor, good video card, harmen kardon speakers
What's not so great: random blue screen of death
I bought this computer a couple months ago. I like it's speed and the fact that you can finally watch streaming video (hulu.com, etc) with zero buffering pauses. I also play Farcry 2 on it with very good results (without any video card tweaks). I have very little to say when it comes to bad news, except that it wants to randomly give me a blue screen of death. I surf the web for the problem and it appears that Toshiba models are infamous for this sort of thing. it's more of an annoyance than anything else, so it's not a biggey for me, but aside from that, it's a GREAT computer for the money! it would be a solid 5 star machine if not for said annoyance...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Love this laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DragonWind
from Lafayette, IN
on 06/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: i7, DDR3 ram
What's not so great: Battery life
If your looking for a gaming laptop thats affordable, this is it. I play Unreal 3 at 45-50 fps. it handles MW2 at around 30 fps. This laptop does have a short battery life, i get at most while playing higher end games 45 min. The i7 is awsome, and its not slow like every 1 says, the wireless card doesnt have any probs connecting via n networks, its one of the best laptops i have ever had the pleasure of owning. I hate Toshibas in general but this 1 has proved that they can make a laptop with awsome performence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

A great laptop for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DStave
from Iowa City, IA
on 06/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, i7, speakers, pretty much everything
What's not so great: battery life, bloatware, cpu gets hot
This laptop is so cheap for what you get: i7 processor, 4gb ram, nvidia 310m and a 500gb harddrive. What is really amazing on this laptop is how well the speakers perform. They are easily the best laptop speakers that I have heard. A little slow on the start up, and the fact that there are still programs out there not optimized for quad core cpus really stinks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Toshiba A505

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bass2
from NJ
on 06/08/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: display screen
What's not so great: battery life not even 2 hr and toshiba support not very helpful
1.Internet explorer, from my favorites list cannot create shortcut to desktop by right clicking and then send to
2.When trying to bring computer out of hibernation screen stays black. Only way to get it back is to hold down power button to shut it off and then restart it.
3.I have Google as my default home page. I have added and customized it. It loses these setting and reverts back to the default page
4.I have 4 e-mail addresses, I have saved each ones passwords, and sometimes it forgets them.
5.I have a wireless mouse however sometimes I want to use the touch pad, when I turn it on it does not work. Again I have to reboot the computer.
6.The wireless network connection is slow as compared to other (work) laptop sitting next to it. My work laptop will always connect at 54Mbps. This laptop however only connects at 48, 36, or 24 most of the time unless I am next to the router. I have spent a lot of time with both laptop next to each other and it is always the same.
7.Internet upload speed is very poor at 2.054Mbps Download at 33.744 is ok. This not through the wireless, it is connected by cable. My 10 year old desktop with single processor and 2M ram runs consistently at 17.048Mbps upload and 33.893 download. My Verizon account is 35/35mbps.
8.I also get some weird screens that seem to overlap each other. I have seen this before in older computers and was told it was a memory issue.
9.Some times when I shut computer off and at some point start it some icons will not be where I placed them on the desktop.
All toshiba says is reinstall recovery disk that has been done twice. Now they want me to send it in said hardware issue. I dont think so
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
8out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Great performance for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: yurilong
from Arlington, VA
on 06/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, super fast, high quality screen, nice price
What's not so great: short battery life
This is a great value. Everything simply works flawlessly out of the box - partly due to the much improved windows 7, and partly becasue toshiba really know what they're doing in putting together a machine. You're not going to find a machine that can multitask for a better price, and after two months I have no complaints on that end. watching movies, listening to music, working in office, and surfing the net all work splendidly - even at the same time. It even runs audio (Propellerhead Reason and Record, Ableton Live), video (Abode Premier), and photo (Photoshop) editing software without a hitch, and the large screen really makes it a joy to use.
The only downside is that it's not the most portable option. The battery life with the 6 cell battery it comes with is not very good. Initially I was getting less than 2 hours though over time it did improve and I can now go for about 2.5 hours before the battery runs out. Moving up to the 12 cell battery makes a big difference, but also increases the already substntial weight of the thing. Not to mention the added cost of buying a new battery.
Still for my purposes - mostly using it at home, it works great. Of course, I'd love blue ray and a firewire port, but to get those you're going to have to spend a lot more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

good, reliable laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lola666
from 78253
on 06/06/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Reliable product
What's not so great: low speaker voulume
TOSHIBA IS RELIABLE PRODUCT. NO PROBLEM YET.
*SPEAKER OK; NOT GREAT. YOU MUST MAX OUT THE VOLUME TO WATCH DVD MOVIES.
SPEED IS OKAY. AS OTHERS POINTED OUT, IT DESIGNED FOR MULTIPLE APPLICATIONS; NOT FOR SPEED.
*COOL BACKGROUND: NEW BACKGROUND COMES UP IN EVERY SO MINUTES.
* DVD NOISE WHEN IT RUNNING. SYSTEM IS HOT WHEN PLAYING DVD.
* NEW FEATURE : CAN CREATE VIRTUAL HD.
* SYSTEM PROTECT ITSELF FROM SHAKING. GOOD FEATURE, BUT CAN BE ANNOYING BECAUSE YOU CAN NOT MOVE IT AROUND.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 Processor - Quantum Black

Didnt Keep!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: NomadVagabond
from Ohio
on 05/29/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Perormance, Fast, Screen Size
What's not so great: Battery Life - It's Next To Zero!
I was a 2 time Toshiba Laptop user prior to this. My first one lasted many years, the 2nd one was a lemon. I tied this one because I prefer this size in laptops due to the amount of time I am online researching with it. The performance was excellent. So So Fast! However, the battery life for this computer was so bad it was a deal breaker! It doesnt claim a lot, however the actual (with the power eco saver thingy used) was a low 30 minutes! Where can you go with that? As it ages you'll be lucky to get 5 minutes. This renders the laptop useless. If you keep it plugged in 24/7/365 you may as well get a desk top. The purpose of laptops is portability. 30 minutes is not a portable feature. Very sad, as I loved this laptop otherwise. I took it back, tried the Toshiba E205 after recommendations. That was too small and I was unable to actually read the tiny text on the screen. You can zoom, but who wants to constantly adjust. Back it went and I tired the Samsung A505. It is the one I am using right now. Its the best I've used & owned! If you want a fast computer and dont care about battery life then this Toshiba will make you happy because it is indeed a fast performer. If you want portability, then avoid it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>