Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Model: VPCCW21FX/W
SKU: 9705355
UPC: 027242792210
This laptop features a built-in MOTION EYE webcam with microphone and face-tracking technology, so you can enjoy video chatting with friends and family. Create customized CDs and DVDs via the double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive. Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 98 reviews
5 stars
72
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
88 out of 98
)
Customer Reviews for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White
Review 81 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Nice Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: andy1985
from modesto
on 01/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, nice keypad, nice looks,
What's not so great: Battery could be better, sound could be better,
Very nice laptop for the price. The blue ray would have been a nice compliment for $750. Looks and feels better than the 4 HP laptops I have had in the last 3 years. Windows 7 is a difference maker though. About the HPs. On my first the screen and the charger broke after 10 months. The second, the screen broke and the charger broke as well in 8 months. My third the screen broke, the charger broke and the battery died after 11 months. My last one that I bought 9 months ago still going strong but I cant trust HP anymore and I will be selling it soon before it breaks, lol. Hopefully Sony last me 2 years at least.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Good bang for your buck!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: radar06
on 01/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything. Windows 7, the display, size, etc
What's not so great: Speaker volume/ quality
This is a great computer. I have had Dell for years and finally decided to try out Sony. After some researching and and hands on use at the store, i decided with this one. Ive had 15in screen laptops forever, and was a little worried about the smaller size, I opted for a little more ease of portability over a larger screen size. It took a little time to get used to the smaller screen size but no i dont even notice the difference. All in all good build quality, it feels, and looks well constructed (not a huge fan of white, but they didnt have any other in stock, plus i didnt want to pay extra for black or silver). Windows & is great, performance is great, Screen looks great, keyboard is great, mouse pad is very responsive. The only issue i have is the speaker sound quality/ volume. My 5 year old Dell has better sound and much louder volume. But its not horrible. and for normal listening while watching a video, or listening to music close to the computer is fine, but you wont be able to blast music from your itunes from across the room. Windows & is a big difference from XP but in good ways. there is a little learnign curve coming from XP though. Well worth the money. Good for students and for the office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

I'm in love!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Davey06
from Eau Claire, WI
on 01/26/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works well and looks good doing it!
What's not so great: Nothing as of yet
I've owned many laptops from brands including Gateway, HP, Toshiba and finally my Sony. The laptop has a great combination of looks, performance and features. The keyboard is very "Mac-ish," the battery life is better than average, I just wish that it had a Blu-Ray player. All in all this is an excellent buy for the money and for anyone who's looking for an above par experience I highly recommend this laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Fast Processor, Battery Life Great, Small & Light

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ChevyCavalier2003
from Christiansburg, VA
on 01/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
Fast Processor, Small, Light, Nice screen resoloution, confortable keys, perfect for anyone. Looks amazing, sleek design and preforms better then most upscale computers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Insane deal for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kah303
from Denver, CO
on 01/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super fast processor, great speakers, great screen clarity.
What's not so great: short battery life.
I still can't believe I got this computer for such a great price. Fastest laptop I've ever used, much less owned. As noted above, pretty short battery life, but I'm often multi-tasking (music, video, word processing, etc.) which accounts for a lot of it. WIthout a doubt, best laptop for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

absolutely LOOOVE IT!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bridgee
from baltimore,md
on 01/22/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: SOO cute, easy to use, newest features, similar to a mac in that it's stylish, but WAY better!!!
What's not so great: uhhh... nothing so far... just always debating what size is best... but i like the 14inch
So far I absolutely have been sooo satisfied with the beauty and performance of this machine.
i would DEF recommend to a friend.
THANKS and good luck
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Another Stunner from Sony

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CTECH
from Washington DC
on 01/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Web Cam, i3 Chip, HDD, Windows 7
What's not so great: little heavy for 14 inch, no Blu-Ray
I have a HP of almost similar config and I was just amazed that this machine is faster in all aspects. Apart from that Bluetooth Software is simply amazing. My Nokia N97Mini(which is quite new to US) got connected without any device drivers installed + I was able to listen thru Laptop Speaker without any issue. When I tried this with HP(DV4 series), aaahh after 30 Mins of workaround I was able to get through what i wanted.
Motion Camera is not best in business when room is dark...but works beautifully in daylight....not a big miss I would say.....Kids would love the camera software which comes with it.
If you have a Best Buy card , than there is no better deal than this one (18 months/ 0 interest)....not even HP and Dell website have deals or models as this one.
The laptop now shows 799, however I bought this machine right on the day when it arrived in store, so got it for 749$.
I would strongly recommend VPCC23FX series if you want Blu-Ray reader and Black Piece with same price as this one.
However, if your case is similar like mine...were you love Whites, have PS3 so no need of Blu-ray....than I would say buy it before it is gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

possibly the best laptop for the price...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dougp
from chico
on 07/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: so much bang for the buck!
In a nutshell, this device has EVERYTHING you could need, and at a decent price. I have found it to be very reliable and it can handle whatever I throw at it.
I wish I had purchased a Vaio over the other brand of laptop two years ago!.
I had purchased an ipad at the same time I got this. One for portability, and one for other stuff. But the ipad doesn't have half of what this does, and it cost less too. Sure the ipad weighs less, but this Vaio really doesn't weigh that much and I can deal with a little extra weight to have the convenience of being able to do everything I need to do. Not to mention with the bigger hard drive I can store more movies, games, photos, programs etc.
This beauty has it all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Excellent Computer for the Money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cp55
from missouri
on 07/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Display, Processor Speed, Looks
What's not so great: Nothing!
I bought this computer about 3 months ago and have not had a single problem with it yet. It does everything I need it to do and more. I run many programs at once and the i3 processor works beautifully. This computer is very slim and easy move. The battery life is just fine. I wanted a Mac, but decided to go the cheaper route, and I am so glad I did! This is definitely the closest PC to a Mac there is. I love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

pretty strong notebook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lcruiser2
on 03/06/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast, strong, lightweight, portable, GREAT graphics card
What's not so great: for some weird reason it doesn't work well w/my audio interface. it creates static noises every 20 seconds...
Bottom line this is the best notebook for everybody. It's fast, strong, lightweight, and just plain powerful. This notebook has most things that I look for to meet my needs. My only problem is that this model doesn't comply well with my audio interface. It creates static noises once in a while. This is terrible when I'm recording music. I've tried my interface on many other brands and desktops. 2 HP laptops of the same model have a terrible static problem while connected to the interface. Another HP model has no problems whatsoever along with a 7 year old Gateway PC. My old Sony Vaio before crashing had no problems with static noises, but this one just has an unsolvable problem to it.
It doesn't make sense that some laptops/notebooks can connect with my interface without any problems, but some other laptops/notebooks like this one just has a problem with delivering the audio without coming with static noises. This is very frustrating if you plan to record music.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

good computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: yuliu3
on 02/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fast speed
What's not so great: the appearance not good
sony is always good at doing the computer appearance! but this not looks good, good at using, the speed is really fast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

great laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mechstat
from Philadelphia
on 02/18/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fast parallel CPU processing
What's not so great: the computing speed for single CPU core
It's a good product at this price. When it's used to process multi-process simultaneously, it performs very good. But when you check the speed for every procedure, it's just similar to a core due Intel CPU.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Great computer!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tmhd
from Ohio
on 02/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price (at $749), fast processor, keyboard
What's not so great: Graphics driver doesn't work with Windows 7
I've had this computer for about a week, and I really like it. The processor is much faster than my Duo Core 2, and there is ample memory. The HDMI feature is also wonderful and requires no setting up: just plug in the cable to the laptop and the television, and it's all set. I've read some reviews noting that the keyboard is difficult to get used to because the keys are spaced a bit apart, but I find this keyboard much more comfortable than the full-sized keyboard on my 12" Dell XPS. The keyboard on this computer is much like the new Mac keyboard. There's also a satisfying little "click" with each button pressed, an albeit quiet noise that some may not like (teens and twenty-somethings especially, having grown up with near-silent computer keys).
There are no dedicated volume buttons, and this can be annoying. There is, however, a "Display Off" button near the screen that let's one run programs (such as music) or download software without the screen on, thus saving battery power.
The battery is not wonderful, but there is a larger 9-cell battery for sale from Sony that would take care of the problem for those who want or need longer battery life.
Windows 7 is also quite sleek in design. The only difficulty I'm having is that the Aero function in Windows 7 (which provides the cool transparency effects and many functions on the task bar) keeps giving me a message that says it is not compatable with the graphics driver on the computer. I reloaded the driver direct from Sony (for free), but this seems to have not fixed the problem. I'm not sure what to do about it now.
Also, do NOT pay Best Buy an extra $69 for a restore/recovery disk. Just get one or two recordable DVDs and make the disk(s) yourself in less than an hour. You'll find very easy (single click, pop in the disk) instructions in the "Getting Started" section.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Great Value Premium Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MGonline
from Cary, NC
on 02/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Perfect size, Great specs (if you don't need blu-ray...I don't), Great value !
What's not so great: You need to make your own software recovery disc. Not a big deal, but would like factory disc with the computer.
I have been a Mac since 2002. I recently decided to upgrade my Mac, since I do some freelance web-site work . Well, Mac's start at $ 1,000.00+ and quickly climb the price ladder. I love Mac Computers, but I needed to find a suitable, equally capable laptop below apple's entry price point. I did some research and this Sony VAIO was it ! I love my new VAIO and I'm very impressed with it's specs., performance, style and design...and yes, it's price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Sony Book

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: formerMacUser
from Seattle
on 01/20/2010
What's great about it: Good Price, Best Features
What's not so great: no blu-ray drive
I have got to say I am not disappointed when i bought this "Sony BOOK" It works well and is so much faster, more stable, and easier to use. The LED screen is the best, 4gb RAM, 500gb of HDD and the new i3 processor and so many cool features. You will not be disappointed when you buy this laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Good Machine

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FlyingBanana
from Flushing, NY
on 01/20/2010
What's great about it: Fast speed, decent price, great look
What's not so great: Battery life
I got this laptop on the first day it came out (by the way the price was $749.99 on bestbuy.com). I have been using it constantly for almost 3 days now. So far I don't have any problem with it. This machine runs fast with i3 processor and quiet. I had a hp laptop before this one, I have to say Sony really did a great job on its laptops. Even if I keep it on for the whole day (8-10 hours), it still doesn't make a huge noise and you almost don't need a cooling pad for it! :D Plus it looks great with the color icy white,very neat! It makes me feel like I am using a Mac! Besides a little more than 2 hrs battery life (if you always keep it plugged then I guess its okay) I cannot say anything bad about this machine. Buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Awesome Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jman2
from Michigan
on 01/19/2010
What's great about it: So far It has not irritated me once.
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
I got this laptop a week ago to replace a Toshiba that had served me well for over 4 years. I did some research on a few laptops, one HP and the others were Sony. I was not completely sold on anything until I got the chance to see them in person. I went to Best Buy and was looking around and did not see any of the Sony machines on display, they were transitioning over to this new series and had them behind the counter. I asked a guy to pull the two newest ones out for me to see, this one and a silver one with blueray. As soon as I saw the LED LCD I was sold. I put her on my BB card along with Kaspersky AV (highly recommend Kaspersky for win 7).
I got it home and followed the salespersons instructions to immediately do a backup image of the factory setup. This was easy and took about an hour and 5 DVDs to complete. These laptops do not come with a restore CD you must make your own as soon as you get it up and running. I then uninstalled the stuff I did not want and did a Disk Defrag.
I have NOT had a single glitch, crash, freeze, or irritation with this thing since I got it. I have read about other sony computers having mouse problems, nothing with this one at all. Windows 7 runs AWESOME, It boots kinda slow yet resumes very fast. The computer overall speed with the new I3 processor is unexpectedly fast, especially for the price.
In my opinion, if you want a solid running lappy, that looks like a Mac, that blows the price versus options of a Mac outta the water, go with this or any of Sonys new line. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Sony VAIO Laptop with Intel® Core™ i3 Processor - Icy White

Flipping Fast!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MarcusMc
from Saratoga Springs, UT
on 01/18/2010
What's great about it: The Speed, The Looks
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I bought this laptop thinking that it was a normal run of the mill laptop that you paid a little more for because of its stunning looks, however from the moment you turn the machine on you notice the speed like crazy. My other laptop just a few months old is also only 4gb ram and I just expected the performance to be about the same but it is not. This new i3 processor makes such a difference.
If your looking for very strong performance, great looks, and value for your money this is the machine for you, you'll not be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5