Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Model: 8230-30001-01
SKU: 9714459
UPC: 613570226659
Make your own custom movies using this video capture cable that lets you record video from a video source and edit it using the included video editing software. Share footage on the Web or transfer it to a portable device to take with you on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.973 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 37 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
81% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
30 out of 37
)
Customer Reviews for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable
Review 1 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Move On!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: opto88
from San Diego
on 10/14/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy install.
What's not so great: It stops working very soon after purchase
I bought this DVD recorder to copy my VCR tapes. I was thrilled at how nicely it worked. Three tapes later, it stopped recognizing the Dazzle device. I worked on solving the problem for over 6 hours, to no avail. Next was the Customer Service comedy. Try to contact them and speak to someone. No can do. First, you must fill out a new case report. You are told they will respond within 48 hours. I'm still waiting 3 days later. I tried to activate the phone chat but you must first fill out another case request. I never was able to reach a human by phone or chat.
I guess this is a terrific product if it works. However, Pinnacle (Avid) Customer Service is the pits, if you need it. They are being very shortsighted as I am now returning their product for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Awesome recorder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheRealBestBuyGAMER
from Las Vegas, NV
on 09/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great price, easy install, good quality, everything else
What's not so great: Nothing that I can think of.
I was stuck on getting some kind of capture card for my XBOX 360 and I found 3 choices: this dazzle, the HD dazzle ($79.99), and this huge HD one ($199.99). Honestly, I only wanted one to record gameplay for my website, and this one did all that plus more. The quality came out great, even for a composite connection. I was able to use what component cables I had and everything in the box, so no extra accessories needed (But I have the original XBOX 360 component cables that also have the composite with them). If you do not have these cables then you will need two extra accessories: 3 RCA-Y adapters/splitters and composite A/V cables.
The only thing that stumped me was editing the clips a little and actually getting my video to play on my PC. Then I found all I needed to do was switch my A/V settings to standard TV instead of HDTV. In closing, this was definitely worth the little money it costs for good videos, either on DVD or posting to YouTube.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Pinnacle Dazzle Video Creator Plus HD Video Capture Cable
2.9 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
Rocketfish™ 8' Composite A/V Cable
5.0 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Good to start, but not for high-end gaming.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rockersk08
from Las Vegas, NV
on 09/02/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cost-effective for starting out, good for lower quality capture.
What's not so great: Tends to drop frames, not for high definition gaming capture.
When I first wanted to start capturing my Halo: Reach gameplay for YouTube, I decided to invest in this. It was fine for starting out, but the quality sacrifice is a little too much for current generation consoles.
However, when I recorded older consoles, such as the Nintendo 64, the quality was good enough. When I wanted to preserve my old home videos, it also did well.
Buyers that invest into the Dazzle and Pinnacle have to remember to buy another composite cable set as well as three splitters in order to be able to observe what is being recorded.
The capture card does tend to drop frames during recording, but occasionally it will drop hundreds of frames and result in screen lag, which can destroy a recording session. The editing software Pinnacle tends to slow down a computer and requires online activation for more video effects, but once that's done, the editing software is decent, but not high quality.
While it is a good starting ground, I would recommend going for the Dazzle HD bundle so you can have the higher quality editing software, and then getting the Hauppauge HD PVR for the superior capture quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

wow just wow

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bestbuynickname
from Wisconsin
on 08/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
What's great about it: great price, descent graphics
What's not so great: it did crash once when I was using it
Well when i was deciding on buying this I saw alot of people giving low reviews. So it made me unsure if I wanted to get it, but i got it anyways. And let me tell you this is great for what I use it for, which is xbox 360. Now it did crash once, which was a slight problem but I was impressed by the graphics when I uploaded it to youtube. I do have a link to the video if anyone wants to see it "in action". http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYQS49DgPLg Now if I have future problems with it i will update this review, but so far i would recommend this to someone looking to capture gameplay on xbox and upload it to youtube. Thx for reading!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Works well once able to get it uploaded

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OakReader
from Philadelphia
on 08/24/2011
I had some initial problems uploading the software for Pinnacle Studio 12 because of some error, so it was not as easy as advertised (is it ever?), but after a couple attempts everything was up and running
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

BUYER BEWARE - DOESN'T WORK WITH WINDOWS 7

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Vinoxyz
from NY
on 07/16/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Doesn't Work with Windows 7
I tried using the product to transfer my VHS tapes onto my PC. After the initial install (which went easy), i tried to fire up the software and got the BLUE Screen of Death!!! I figured it was a one shot deal but it happened everytime i tried to get the software to work. My PC is relatively new also and has plenty of memory. I tried to get it to work for 3 hours and it never worked once. I am on my way back to the store now to return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
11out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

It's okay...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: AJZ22
on 04/14/2011
I bought this hoping to record my xbox360 gameplay, and it does. Unfortunately, the quality that it outputs is terrible, I even have it on high quality settings. Also the software it uses to record the footage requires a lot of processor power. So you will need a really fast computer to record with.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+28points
42out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Make sure you save your receipt

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: StuckonStupid
from Connecticut
on 04/11/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: When it works it's fantastic.
What's not so great: High failure rate, am on my third in 4 years, very little use (< 50 hours)
This is my third one of these in a little over 4 years, don't use them much, but the last two failed the same way. Started to get more and more frame drops, then started to see ghosting on the picture, then picture became all gray, the audio remained perfect. Of course I didn't save my receipts that's why I'm "stuck on stupid", saved it this time, let's see if it makes it thru the two year warranty period. The company must know of this problem and I can't be the only person this has happened to. I'm hoping they have made changes to the hardware. I'm an electronics technician so am not totally out of the loop here, called technical support and got the typical bs runaround about latest drivers, etc. Total waste of my time, went to Best Buy and bought another and am back in business again, but for how long? Who knows. Save your sales receipt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Great Product for beginner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wow6599
from St. Louis, MO
on 04/07/2011
What's great about it: Very easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing
I have 8 years of miniDV footage to transfer into my PC for editing and burning to DVDs. This product is so easy, it was plug and play and amazing how quickly I learned how to use it. The software that comes with it for editing your videos is easy as well and a great value! Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
22out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Great for uploading analog video tape to computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KenwoodFan
from Cincinnati, OH
on 03/11/2011
What's great about it: Does what it says, easy to use
I bought this to convert our Hi8 and mini DV tapes to the PC. It easily does the job. All I needed to do was install the Pinnacle software that came with it, connect the video camera to the dazzle, and connect the dazzle to the PC.
I read reviews on another site that it does not work with windows 7. We have a windows 7 computer and it captures the video just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
23out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Dazzle Recorder

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jmc2793
from Los Angeles, CA
on 03/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple input outlets for recording anything with composite AV
What's not so great: Not in HD, no Mac software
This recorder is great for recording analog signal from composite audio and video (red, white, and yellow cords) and s-video to digital video via usb. Composite video is not the best quality, but it beats trying to record the tv from a digital video recorder, and it still looks great on the computer. I recommend this product for recording video game footage, dvd and vhs movies, and anything that uses composite audio and video cables for output. This package includes software for PC only. This product does work for mac, but you need to find additional software that will recognize the device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Easier than I thought to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BussBoy
from Indianapolis, IN
on 02/08/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of Use
What's not so great: Processor capacity, and the ability to run other programs simultaenously
The A/D converter and software is amazingly easy to use. I have not used the editing software, but the dubbing application has worked. I have had an issue with running any other applications during dubbing, since the process of transfering from tape to DVD takes quite a bit of my processing capacity. Thank goodness that blank DVD's are cheap since I have had to abort about 40% of my attempts due to processor overload.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Hard to beat for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jeepman68
from Flowery Branch, GA
on 02/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything- cool product
What's not so great: It doesn't make your dinner...really, nothing!
I purchased the Pinacle Dazzle because I had quite a few old 8mm and MiniDV tapes that I recorded over the years. I have updated my video camera several times and I no longer have the camera to watch the movies when I have the desire to, not to mention it is so much easier to throw a DVD in the player than it is to wire up the RCA jacks and use a camera as your player.
The Dazzle made it so simple to convert these tapes to DVD that I was quite surprised. The included software allows you to make a simple, no-frills DVD that you just put in and play, or have a disc with scene menus just like a store-bought disc, all the way up to a disc where you produce your own video with all kinds of cool but simple editing tools! You can add sound effects, background music, intro and exit effects, sound effects, etc. It is very simple to learn and use and you will be making DVD within minutes of the install. I can't really find any downside or negative aspects to this product other than I wish I had more time to dedicate to mastering all the things it will allow you to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

To the wall

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HomeJames
from Angola, IN
on 01/29/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This software is fantastic. I thought I would need to replace my camera because of compatibility with Win 7. I am over 50 and prone to connecting peripherals incorrectly. That issue was resolved, for free, courtesy of the Geek Squad. Then they turned me on to Dazzle*. For around fifty bucks, this software includes so many features I haven't even begun to wrap my head around it. Some experiments took me a couple of shots, but everything worked exactly like the Help function described wnd gave excellent results. My PC isnt much, and the software had to shut down a couple of times during editing. When restarted, the project was there, as it was at the moment of the crash. No matter how hard you work for your money, if you can afford a camcorder and computer, this software is an excellelnt value. I've been blessed and cursed with an imagination that sometimes just won't stop. I am looking forward to where that and Dazzle* takes me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Great for making DVDs out of old home videos!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thisismynickname1234
from Carrboro, NC
on 01/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: not as many editing options as I would have liked
I use this for my hi8 sony camera, I am making DVDs of the old videos and love it! The editting software is basic, you can add transitions in the videos and titles and such, but you'll need the higher end product if you are looking to do anything other than homevideos for family members...
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Pinnacle Dazzle Video Creator Plus HD Video Capture Cable
2.9 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
Pinnacle Studio Ultimate Collection - Windows
3.1 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: trace70
from ohio
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
super tool to create digital videos from tapes! easy to install and use...priced okay, but I used a coupon
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Great for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gosumom
on 01/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
i didn't expect this to be that good but wow this changed my mind its awesome for game plays and other stuff to i bought it to record my game plays and it works excellent not the best quality in the world but certainly the best quality for the price. in other words this is a must buy quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Great capture card to start off

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Watsurname
from Delaware
on 12/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Good Price, Good Quality
What's not so great: Nothing
well if you know your setting's then you can make this look like a HD PVR which is $250 ill leave a video to show you how thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder
3.2 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
-4points
8out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Easy to use Capture Card !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: youtubedragzjayl
from 19o4
on 12/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Very Nice Quality
What's not so great: Nothing
Great product with easy installation !
Great quality and best to record your Gaming !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pinnacle Dazzle DVD Recorder Plus Video Capture Cable

Just what I needed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rebus
from Michigan
on 12/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install and use
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I needed to transfer a bunch of family vhs tapes to dvd. This product worked great for that. It was very easy to install (I have windows 7) and hook-up to my vcr. I do have experience with Pinnacle software, so the editing was easy for me as well. You can just drag and drop for the most part anyway. Picture quality is what I would expect from transferring an analog tape to a digital image. I am very pleased with my purchase !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>