Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Model: NP-R580-JSB1US
SKU: 9748386
UPC: 036725722781
Watch your favorite high-definition movies with this laptop's Blu-ray Disc-enabled drive. The built-in wide-range wireless LAN allows you to connect to the Internet without wires.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel. Take a product tour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 172 reviews
5 stars
147
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
165 out of 172
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black
Review 1 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Lots of punch for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: annuityman
from Holly Springs, NC
on 09/07/2010
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price
What's not so great: short battery life, mouse pad overly sensitive
Fast, lots of memory & hard drive, looks great! Bluray and nvidea video card, but doesn't really need it if you are not gaming. The picture is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

nice but no longer available

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PennyPincher
from Alexandria, Louisiana
on 08/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: value
What's not so great: no longer available
i got this right before they ran out so my review is pretty pointless i guess. it WAS a great value for the price. i can't be ordered anymore unfortunately. if you can find one snatch it up. i have no problem with the screen or anything else that others mentioned. and recovery discs are your responsibility with pretty much any cpu you buy these days. they come with recovery software built in and you have to burn your own. i notice a few previous reviewers complaining about the lack of discs being included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Very Good Performance Especially with pictures

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: beergal
from Morris County, NJ
on 08/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: speed, editing images
What's not so great: battery life
I upgraded from a desk top to this lap top. I have a digital SLR and the files are huge. I was looking for something that would allow me to scroll through the pictures and manage and edit the images without hanging up and taking forever. THis computer is super fast - I can have 100s of images open at once. The display is great, too, very large. It is light and convenient to carry. I also love Windows 7. My complaints are 1) battery life is very short, maybe 1.5 hours. I compare this to my work laptop that lasts twice as long. I checked and there are no battery upgrades available. 2) Sound isn't that great or loud enough. OVerall, I love it, despite these issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Excellent value for its price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tcarb
from Derby,NY
on 08/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Overall value for price
What's not so great: Sound Quality, gaming graphics and hard drive speed.
The internal speakers provide solid voice quality, but poor music quality. When hooked up to external speakers or headphones, the sound quality becomes top notch. This is not a gamers laptop. The graphic chip is adequate for all but the most demanding games. Hard core gamers should look elsewhere. Considering its price, this is not a mark against this product. The ability to play blue ray movies is a nice bonus and is rare for a less than $1000 unit. I doubt that you could find a better unit at its price of $779.99.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Great computer average battery life.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sams7
on 08/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Easy to set up and good price. The only negative to computer is the battery life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Very good laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Valley Grande
on 08/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Looks and performance
What's not so great: Shows fingerprints.
This laptop performs very well. It does everything I need it to. The case looks fantastic, but the shiny surface shows fingerprints allot. I have installed the Zagg InvisibleShield covers on it and now it looks good and is very well protected. The keyboard is very comfortable to use and the processor performance is very good. I have not used the blue-ray drive yet but look forward to the great video from this drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Fast laptop with bluray at an affordable price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kanehi
from Honolulu, HI
on 08/06/2010
  • Top 250 Contributor
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, screen, lightweight, bluray, volume, keyboard, separated number keys, i5 CPU, fit and finish
What's not so great: battery life
Got this laptop on sale and it's worth every penny. I got this prior to going on vacation and it performed flawlessly. It's lightweight, the screen is bright and evenly lit and it runs silently and cool. I was looking at other brand name laptops with bluray but they cost almost $200 more which I don't see any justification in buying and their screens were slightly dimmer too. When I buy a laptop I take into consideration how loud the speakers are since if I watch a video or play music at least the volume is adequate to listen to which this laptop passed. The only down side is the battery life. Watching a movie with wifi off and medium brightness on power saver mode is around 2hrs and 15 minutes. I purchased another battery so that solved the problem. No extra capacity battery available as yet but I hope Samsung would consider producing one. Lastly the fit and finish is excellent and solid. No flexing or play and feels like Samsung used thicker plastics compared to other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Awesome Computer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Syracuse, NY
on 08/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The look, good price, reasonably loaded with features
What's not so great: Easy to get finger prints on, charging port is on the side of the computer instead of back, no backlit keys
This computer is definitely awesome and I am proud and happy with my purchase. It looks great and functions even better. I switched to Samsung from a Sony VIAO and really do feel like I have another top of the line computer. It is fast and the battery life is reasonable (nothing extravagant). I use it primarily for school and music, so it definitely works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Wow, great computer !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Neta
from Mokena
on 08/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: blueray, a hugh hard drive and super fast
What's not so great: finger prints all over the cover
bought this computer when they had ti on sale. I have had it over a month now and it is great. bought it as an extra computer as the wife and I were fighting over time on our old tower. This is super fast and has a great display. I can hook it up with a HDMI cable to my HDTV and watch bluerays. Tons of storage space. Ok battery life. Well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

This is a great laptop for the price!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jp1450
from Memphis, TN
on 08/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lots of laptop for the money!
What's not so great: A back-lit keyboard would be nice. Finish is a fingerprint magnet.
I purchased a new R580 with the i5 processor and dedicated nVidia graphics after doing a LOT of research. I looked primarily at Sony, Gateway, and Toshiba, and a little at Dell. All had some great machines, but nothing with the combination of features that I found in the R580 for the price.
Now, I will say that I am not a techno-dweeb, but I do like quality features and bells and whistles. I use my laptop every day quite extensively, and the R580 fits my needs very nicely. It is primary used for general family computing, internet surfing, word processing, and the occasional game. It sits on my coffee table and gets used by the entire family on a daily basis and travels with us on trips.
The pros include dedicated graphics, a blu ray player/dvd burner, and decent sound for a laptop. The keyboard feels solid and is designed much like a Mac or Sony, and includes a number pad. The display is great and really brings out the details on a blu ray movie, although you may have to adjust the angle of the screen a little to get the best picture. It also has an HDMI out, wireless-n, plenty of USB ports, an SD card interface, and built-in web cam.
I have had this laptop for about three months now, and battery life seems to be between 3 and 3.5 hours, depending on the type of work I am doing. Games like graphic-heavy shooters, tend to limit it to around 3 hours.
The only real cons that I can find is that it does not have a back-lit keyboard, which is really more of a convenience issue, and the finish is a fingerprint magnet. Both of these are minor in my book.
Overall, I am very satisfied with this machine and would recommend it to anyone looking for a solid, everyday laptop for work or home use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Jury is still out.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jimalan
from Dallas, TX
on 08/01/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: i5 processor
What's not so great: Rare reboot due to freeze up.
Have had some slow start-ups and reboots. Computer froze twice. Other than rare occasions computer seems to be a nice buy. HD nice for streaming church services.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Great Laptop for everyday work or for gaming.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lightningstorm
from Phoenix, AZ
on 07/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and a great value.
What's not so great: So far I have not found anything wrong.
No problems encountered. Works great straight out of the box. The I5 processor with the 310 video card are a great combination.
I had read reviews where some said they could not backup the system to disc. I had no problem at all doing this.
I bought this for my wife. I would not hesitate purchasing another.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

way happy with product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: andrew06
from orlando, fl
on 07/27/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed, quality, abilitys
What's not so great: nothing to complain about
every time I use this thing it way more than meets my expectations and then some
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Great computer in this price range

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dadelapama
from Los Angeles, CA
on 07/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: East set up, good price, clear screen, works great, fast speed
What's not so great: not the longest battery life but sufficient, fingerprint magnet, keyboard is set up a little funky but it's not awful
Did a lot of research and this laptop looked to provide the best product for the price. Not many options at this price with a i5 processor AND a blu ray disc drive. Screen is very clear and is a nice size, and initial set up of the computer was extremely easy, it almost does it all for you. Son bought for college and is very happy with it. Case feels solid, keyboard is a little funky but once you get used to it, you should be good. Fingerprint magnet but who cares really? I'd recommend to friends and/or would purchase again..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mausi
from Houston, TX
on 07/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: BluRay, speed, aesthetics, weight, HDMI, memory, price
What's not so great: a little noisy when playing DVDs
I bought this computer for school and entertainment (blueray and minor gaming). Some of the complaints against this computer are true - the DVD player makes noise and it does show finger prints, but for the price it's excellent and these negatives don't bother me at all. Other complains, such as DVDs not playing or volume issues, I have not found to be true.
I have become quite fond of this computer. I love the color (a beautiful maroon) and the specs. The speed is incredible, and I have room to add on more RAM! (How do I add 4 GB more of DDR3?)
AND... the price is just right!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

We've enjoyed our Samsung laptop so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EaglesFanInVA
from Midlothian, VA
on 07/26/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Fingerprints on screen/casing
We've had our Samsung laptop for 3 weeks now. My wife loves the speed at which web pages and programs load compared to our 5 year old desktop. We use this primarily for email, web surfing/social networking. We have played some games and viewed some movies, and they worked well. I've taken it to a few wifi hotspots (ex. Panera Bread), and it worked fine connecting to the internet.
We have been able to get between 3 and 4 hours battery life. The keyboard takes some getting used to, but not a big deal. The screen and casing does tend to retain fingerprints a lot, but the included cloth helps with that.
Overall, we have been very pleased with our purchase. We're hoping this computer will last us quite a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Nice system, but...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Daystrom
from Mechanicsville, VA
on 07/25/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Solid performer, good price
What's not so great: Potential hardware issues
This was actually the second of these for me. The first one appeared to be a happy machine for the first couple of weeks, then mysteriously began shutting down randomly. Evaluation by the Geek Squad resulted in a replacement due to suspicion of hardware issues. I note that this particular model has been discontinued, so I now use the system with my fingers crossed. As long as the replacement system remains error-free, I will consider it good value for the money. It is quite fast, and the separate video card allows for some pretty serious gaming. Even under high load, this system does not suffer from the high heat output found in comparable systems from other manufacturers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Powerful Machine for Good Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Leggs1982
from Naples NC
on 07/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very fast machine for small price
What's not so great: Battery a little too short
I bought this computer after having a poor experience with another brand that was a bad model to begin with. I chose this computer because of the I5 processor, the computer I replaced had an I3 and in comparison to this computer it was SLOW, I run virtual machines for classes because of my major and this computer with the combination of the dedicated graphics card and I5 processor flies even when I have three or four operating systems running at one time. I love it! I can't say that I really have any complaints about the machine, it runs smooth, doesn't get hot even when I am working the processor to what I would think is its limit. I have only had it a few weeks so I cannot testify to the sturdiness of the case or anything of that nature, but I have a feeling that I will be using this computer for quite a while. It is an attractive machine, well worth the money, I am very surprised for a manufacturer so new to the market of the computer world. I do not doubt that the quality will be anything less than their screens and TVs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Extremely Satisfied is an Understatement!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: collegestudent587152
from Washington D.C
on 07/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything!
What's not so great: webcam could be better
I am not the type of person who usually writes reviews for products but for this laptop I will gladly make an exception.
I've had this laptop for a couple months now. I researched for over 3 weeks before deciding on this laptop. What sold me was the unbelievable low price ($779) with all the features it comes with! I read all the reviews on this site before buying it but even then I was still a little leery considering that Samsung is not a known laptop brand. I wish I knew then that I had nothing to worry about!
As a college student, the keyboard encourages me to type all my notes in class. The multi-touch is really cool even though I'm still learning how to use it. I have received a lot of compliments from my friends on how "CUTE" my laptop is(: The graphics, blu ray player, and low heat/fast performance are AMAZING! This laptop is VERY portable and easy to carry around campus.
The price went down to $729 and Best Buy gave me a $50 refund. EVEN HAPPIER with my purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 Processor - Red/Black

Nice unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Coolio1969
from Worcester, ma
on 07/24/2010
What's great about it: Ergonomic
What's not so great: Short battery life
No problems. Great display and touch pad built to last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>