Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Model: CB867A
SKU: 9760254
UPC: 884962535523
This printer features fast print speeds up to 28 ppm* in black and up to 22 ppm* in color for crisp documents and vibrant color photos in minutes. The built-in 10/100Base-T Ethernet LAN provides a simple connection to your home or office network.
Average Customer Rating:
2.933 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
47% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 15
)
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

I keep thinking about returning this printer.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: kazbels
from Maryland
on 04/12/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Print speed
What's not so great: won't wake up from Sleep Mode; small ink cartridges which are not easy to replace; have to push too many buttons
The HP4500 has some nice features. Once it starts printing, it's fast, and I like the wireless part. But those are the only ways it's better than my old HP Officejet K60 printer.
But the negatives are slowly outweighing the positives.
1. The ink cartridges are small, so I'm constantly replacing them.
2. The ink cartridge is not easy to get to so they can be replaced.
3. The paper tray is very finicky and doesn't hold much paper.
4. Too many buttons to push to accomplish a simple print task. On the K60, you just pushed one button to copy. Now I have to wade through a menu of choices before I get to "Copy B&W". My husband will NEVER be able to handle this.
5. Once the printer goes into Sleep Mode, I have to unplug it and then plug it back in before it will wake up. Totally NOT acceptable.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Good for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jammi42
from Ohio
on 03/14/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Had this for a month now and had no problems with it so far. Clean quick printing, and scanning. No software incompatibility problems. Good for a small home business.
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Only lasted two months before problems began.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Fabby
from Lutz, Florida
on 03/09/2012
What's great about it: The size is perfect.
What's not so great: Printing
I have a small business and do not require a lot of printing. The first problem I had was to wake up the printer to begin. I have to unplug the unit to reboot it. Now four months out the gears to not pull the paper into the printer. The status of the printer is for ever popipng up on the computer monitor when ever it wants to. Not a good deal at all. Looking for a new printer.
About me... small business owner, Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GraveEater
from Murrieta, California
on 01/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Document feeder is awesome set your document hit pint without going inot your computer come back you copies are waiting
What's not so great: no problem or complaint s about it
Well i got his at a bargain price during black friday weekend my cannon printer died on me. Needed immdeiate printer so went with hpt offciejet omg best 40 bucks I ever spent on best deal this machine rocks my world I colates automatically so i just go and pick up my paperwork.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Conflict with Microsoft Office (Word) margins

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: JeannieB
from Madisonville, LA
on 01/11/2012
When printing a 8 1/2 x 11 portrait document with 1" margins set, it prints landscape and shows bottom margin of 5.3'. I went to HP Help and they said it was a Microsoft problem. Now what do I do? I can only print if I save the document to Adobe Acrobat and then it prints normally.
About me... Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Great value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BobOtoo
from Buffalo NY
on 01/10/2012
What's great about it: easy read display
With the correct paper it will do any ob I require...
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Poor Quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: EastBankJack
from East Bank, WV
on 12/18/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I print about 50 pages per week. So thats very little. First one of these printers lasted only 3 months before it started chewing up gears inside and stopped drawing in paper. Replacement one only lasted 3 weeks before doing the same thing. The HP 5610 theses replaced lasted almost 5 years. Dont waste your time or money. These are way overpriced and are disposable. Also eats ink like a kid with candy.
About me... Frequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Great Printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ALHOGFAN
from Alabama
on 11/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up. Hooks to router easily.
What's not so great: Nothing noted as of yet.
Wanted a printer that could be placed on network without having to be tied to PC. This ethernet version of the HP4500 fits the bill. Great printer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Perfect all-in-one printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Klash69
from Bronx, NY
on 09/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I use this primarily at home, and I've not had a problem at all with it. It prints, copies, and scans perfectly. the colors are great. For what I need and for what I use it for: its perfect. And the price was right, too. (I have not yet used the fax function on this yet, though-and don't think I will in the near future. I wanted to option, though, just in case).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

This is really good for a low price printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Doc500
from Princeton
on 08/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Print quality--amazing for the price
What's not so great: Software setup is clunky in typical HP fashion
Print quality is excellent. Set-up is clunky, but this is in common with other HP printers I've set up. However, you don't buy an HP printer because it comes with slick software. You buy it because it does a really good job printing. This does a really good job, amazing for the price, but at a moderate speed. More expensive printers run faster, but this one would be fine for light duty printing. You will be pleasantly surprised by how well it prints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Nice HP All-in-one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bsimonian96
from Clovis, Ca
on 07/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price
Very good product, especially for the price. Nice scanner and copier, very fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

worst printer, black ink cartridge has short life

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Whljr
from Myrtle Beach,sc
on 02/13/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: speed
What's not so great: cartridge use
Black ink cartridge lasts for only fifty ( 50 ) copies.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+24points
39out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

good manufacturer - fair product

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: rgt1039
from siler city nc
on 01/31/2011
What's great about it: easy installation
What's not so great: paper tray and noisy
got this hp all-in-one because i do like hp products and have always like their printers. this particular one was very easy to install and it took only a few minutes. but afer downloading all the 'extras', i found that most of them i just did not need. finally got it configured the way i wanted. have been using it for a few months now and i have two things on my mind: 1) it is noisy in its operation and i kept getting this notice that there was a 'paper jam' when there was not one. deleted some more of the 'extras' and it vanished. 2) the paper tray is a disaster. there is a place to put the paper but there is no place for it to go when it has been printed. it just seems that it can go on your desk and this was thought out by hp. all in all...not too thrilled with this but it was on sale and i fell for it. caution...look for another model or a similarly priced model from another manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+54points
58out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Do not like

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Trevorton
on 08/26/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Print quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: prints good
What's not so great: is a real hassel trying to fax with if you have a code on your line
The old HP printer had no problem with the code we have to put in on the phone line, This new printer you have to put it in at 4 or 5 times for it to go through with the fax, drives me nuts, sometimes I want to through it out the window. Copies very good but trying to fax with it is a real hassel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+75points
92out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 4500 Network-Ready All-in-One Printer

Don't Buy the 4500Series HP

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Madatit
from Atlanta
on 07/10/2010
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I was never able to print more than 30 pages to one ink cartridge. HP Desk advisor would annoy me constantly until I deleted it. My computer would tell me the ink cartridges were full, but the printer would suddenly stop working telling me my cartridges were incompatible. The machine was accusing me of using cartridges other than genuine HP when I took them out of an HP Manufacturers' box and foil pack. I had many and various problems with it from day one and could never depend on it when I needed it. I am tossing it in the trash today and I regret opening that last tri-color cartridge yesterday, because it didn't work either. It will also have to be trashed. Purchased it in August 2007. Bought 6-7 Cartridges, I only print on average 4-6 pages/month.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+171points
202out of 233found this review helpful.