Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Model: TC-P42S2
SKU: 9761068
UPC: 885170003118
This 42" plasma HDTV features a 600Hz screen refresh rate for crystal-clear images and reduced blurring during fast-action scenes. The NEOPDP panel and AR filter deliver a cinema-like viewing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 127 reviews
5 stars
92
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
3
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
116 out of 127
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV
Review 1 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV
  • Featured

Superb - Settled on this after a lot of research

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Filmcaptain
from East Coast, USA
on 04/27/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Color, Inputs, Ease of use, lack of online features brings cost down if you already have a console (this is good)
What's not so great: May require some calibration if you don't like default settings, but frankly it's fine out of the box.
This TV really is something else.
I did research for months before finally settling on this. I was strongly considering the Panasonic G20 and G25 TV's, the 2010 steps up from the S2 series (which is a 2010 model as well, to be clear), but ultimately picked the S2, here's why:
First, only the G25 and S2 series have a 42" model (rumors of a 42" of the G20, but as of this review they were not available). Anything larger than 42" wouldn't fit properly in my space, so that knocked out the otherwise attractive G20 for me.
Let's talk about what features it doesn't have compared to the bigger brothers: First, it lacks the Panasonic 'Looks superb. The G25 series has the Panasonic "Infinite Black Panel" - the S2 does not, but I swear after watching the G25 in store and then watching a properly calibrated S2 at home, the average consumer cannot tell a difference. The blacks on this TV are very black, and merge well. The contrast ration on this is 2mil:1 vs the G25 5mil:1 if you want to know the numbers.
The other major features that this doesn't have over the G25 are the Viera Cast (youtube, netflix, twitter, etc) online features (there is no internet connection of any sort on the S2), and it also lacks the THX mode that the G20 and G25 have. Let me tell you why I'm not missing these, even as a filmmaker who might otherwise seriously consider the THX mode.
First, while the Viera Cast features sound nice and are convenient, they're essentially negating what my PlayStation 3 can already do in terms of online access. All I mean to say here is, if you're willing to use an external device (console, computer) to access these features a different way, then you can pay less and get this model. If you don't have a console or want the convenience of having these built in without another device, then set your gaze on the G25 (or a blu-ray player with the same features that the TV's have). Also, the THX mode does sound nice, but if properly calibrated, this TV looks masterful on it's own and is a true bargain for the price.
In the three days I've had it, I've tried PS3 games, Blu-Ray movies, Standard DVD movies, and streamed Netflix (one of the films they stream in HD, and let me tell you, it looked like Blu-Ray) and all three have looked truly superb. No shuttered motion (thanks to the 600Hz), great color reproduction and, folks, the brightness is fine. It really is. While this TV ***WILL*** have some glare if you have it in a room with TV's in the background, when the TV is on, any minor glare/reflection from lamps (etc) in the room will immediately be overcome by the image.
The sound is not masterful, but in no way is it bad. It's on the high end of "normal" from a TV, if you will. Absolutely worth listening to until you can get a sound system later, if you need or want to wait. I "want" a sound system, but it's not a priority, for what it's worth.
This TV does NOT have USB ports, but again, if you have a console you shouldn't miss it. A PS3 or XBox will substitute almost any need for a USB port. The Wii looks/works fine (I have one) but overall extended use should come from one of the HD systems if you have this TV (purely because the Wii lacks HD output, is all. Not knocking it!).
Some of the Picture modes are a little weak ("standard," for example), but with some adjustments or a true calibration you'll be fine. Nothing to shy away from at all.
Finally, ***BURN IN WORRIERS NEED NOT WORRY***. All the 2010 Panasonic plasmas have a pixel shifting technology that helps reduce burn in. They also have a "white wash" feature that erases burn in, and although I have yet to have need for it (burn in is worse typically in the first 100 hours of a plasma) - some other reviews I've read seem to think this feature will operate well as intended, IF you even need it.
My last thought is this: If you don't want to pay more for features you already have via another device, this TV is your best bet for 2010 model plasmas. For the cost of the 42" G25, I bought this TV, a Logitech Harmony One remote, an HDMI cable, a 4 year protection plan on the TV, and the Logitech device that makes the PS3 work with the Harmony One remote. All for under $1,200. That's outstanding, in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+490points
553out of 616found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

In-depth review by an enthusiast

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LouieD
from Denver, CO
on 04/29/2010
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Excellent contrast, great picture quality, simple remote and menus, amazing value
What's not so great: Somewhat lacking in features, some color quirks, terrible out-of-box picture, speakers
As an A/V enthusiast, I am extremely observant and very picky. Features and ergonomics always take a backseat to picture quality. So of course, I will start with...
Picture Quality:
First of all, EVERY picture mode aside from Cinema is absolute garbage.
The TV comes set to Standard mode as default and it looks terrible. It's horribly dim, full of snowy video noise and colors are way off.
Vivid mode is a bit better but still has poor color and lots of snow.
Game and Custom modes seem identical and are much cleaner(no snow), but far too bright and no improvement in color.
Cinema is the only mode that does not crush brighter details. Colors are much improved, there is no snow, and light output seems very appropriate. From here on out, I will be addressing only Cinema mode as it's the only acceptable choice.
Picture settings are not stored independently per input, which is kinda lame. I, however, use only the HDMI inputs so it's no biggie.
I have found the best results with HDMI YCbCr709 color space(also known as YCC4:4:4) and standard video range. I've tried RGB Full Range but saw only diminishment in color accuracy and black levels.
The CONTRAST setting is most accurate at the 50 mark(dead center), but the panel achieves max brightness at a setting of 70. I would recommend using 50 for movies(Blu-ray) and other high quality sources. I prefer to use 70 for games and animated movies or sports. Anything over 70 will not increase light output and will instead simply crush brighter details.
The BRIGHTNESS setting is somewhat strange. Full shadow detail is realized at a setting of 60, but this very obviously disrupts the linearity of the grayscale and washes out the picture. Setting it to 50 results in a much more powerful picture with minimal loss of dark details. I stick with 50, but some may want to use 55(for balance) or 60(for full dark detail).
The COLOR setting is(predictably) best set at 50. Red color decoding is perfect. Blue decoding is accurate at 48, so using 50 is nearly perfect. Green, however is quite weak. For proper green decoding the color setting would have be around 80. I've left it at 50 and simply tolerate weak greens...much better than bleeding reds, no?
For the TINT setting, I've found the best results with a setting of +8. I've chosen +8 for accurate yellows and skin tones. The default setting of 0 leads to pinkish-tinted reds and yellows.
SHARPNESS should be set to ZERO, no question.
As for COLOR TEMP. settings, all 3 choices are terrible.
-The Warm setting seems to have a decent red/green balance(green is a touch too high), but blue is far too low resulting in an overall yellowish picture.
-The Normal setting has a better blue balance(actually a bit high, but people like blue), but the green is overpowering and leads too poor color clarity, especially with skin tones and black/gray shades.
-The Cool setting seems to have an excellent red/green balance, but the blue is waaayyy too high.
-However, too much blue is better than the yellowish(warm) picture and the green tinge of the Normal picture setting is unacceptable, so I must reluctantly choose the Cool setting.
All other settings(aside from Blur Reduction) are best left off.
As you can probably see, this plasma suffers from lack of picture control options. Notably, color temp adjustments, color decoding adjustments, and a Panel Brightness setting that is separate from the contrast adjustment(such as found on the Panasonic G20).
While all of the above may seem a bit negative, the final settings actually develop a mighty fine picture. Overall contrast and "pop" is magnificent. Far better than any LCD I've seen.
Motion quality is also superior to any LCD without resorting to gimmicky 120hz or 240hz mods. While there is a Blur Reduction feature on this plasma, it does not significantly interfere with the source quality and I can actually recommend its use.
Shading smoothness is also far superior to LCDs.
The screen a less reflective than older plasmas and the picture is quite powerful when tweaked. Aside from the color quirks, I can't imagine finding a stronger picture outside of Pannys own higher-end plasmas and the king Kuro.
The screen is 1080p and is naturally razor-sharp, helped along with a welcome no-overscan option. I noticed minute traces of image retention within the first few hours of use but have yet to see anymore. It's virtually worry-free, especially with the contrast at 50.
A few feature-based gripes would be the lack of some simple things like USB ports, VGA input, poor SD-card picture quality, PiP, etc...
So......a bare-bones 1080p plasma, with a great picture, decent color, wonderful motion quality and an unbeatable price? I highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+44points
46out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Amazing Picture, Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kill3r8
from Geismar, LS
on 05/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Picture, Great Price
What's not so great: Not so many connection types (One Audio Out for Digital sources), Color Options are limited.
So, first off, I did SO much research beforehand about buying a new TV. Going from what I wanted, an LCD, Plasma, LED/LCD? Finally decided to go with the Plasma, on account of my extreme love for deep black levels and great contrast/brightness. Needless to say, my purchase became justified as soon as I got this TV out of the box.
Picture Quality: In one word, Amazing. The Contrast, Colors, and Clarity achieved with this set is great. I played at least 12 different Blu-Rays/Games with my PS3, and they all looked ridiculous. The Black Levels on this set are the best I have seen from a Plasma, in person.
Settings/Features: The settings leave something to be desired. There are only 3 Color Options, Warm, Cool, and Normal. All look sub-par except for Cool. There is also no option for individual adjustment of the primary colors, just a Tint setting. The set already does a great job with most colors, so this isn't a huge disappointment. The Brightness of this set is also a weird thing. When placed above the default (Cinema) 50, the image loses its depth, but gains dark detail. Its tricky, but I found that 51-52 suited most of my viewing material.
Another thing about the connections, the set has an extreme lack for Audio Out. I wanted to hook up some external speakers, only to find the only way to get audio out without using a component or composite connection, was to use a Digital Audio connection, which my speakers do not have. Only a small disappointment, I plan on purchasing new speakers down the line.
Also, for gamers, there are several extremely useful settings this set provides. There is a HD Size option, that lets you turn off the 5% Overscan on 1080p signals ( 720p still gets a little OS). The Game Mode, is completely useless, it washes out the picture, and crushes all detail, avoid that at all costs.
My Settings, for anyone wondering what they should start at. These were used after a DVE Calibration Disc (TV is in a Semi-Dark Room), with some adjustments (Too bright IMO after test patterns):
Picture Mode: Cinema (The best one)
Contrast: 65 (any where from 50-65 is perfect)
Brightness: 51 (Like I said, anything above this in the 60's will wash the picture out).
Color: 50 (Perfect)
Tint: +7 (I found anywhere from +5-+7 was satisfactory).
Sharpness: +5 (Pretty much pointless to have it past 10, not really any noticeable difference.)
All other settings: OFF, except for Motion Blur Control.
With the settings that I have now, I really see no reason to pay a ISF Calibrator to come to my house. I have a feeling that I would end up not liking what he did, and I would eventually mess with my Settings again.
Overall, this TV for the price, is a steal. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

GREAT VALUE, Plus Workaround for Internet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SLADHK
from Fresno
on 11/20/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality, Full Features, Adjustability, 600 Mhz Refresh, etc.
What's not so great: Sound is less than desired without separate sound system, but better than most
This is a GREAT TV for the price, especially considering I purchased it from Best Buy as a package along with a Panasonic DMP-65 Blu-Ray player which (when you purchase the rather expensive and Panasonic exclusive #DY-WL-10 Wireless LAN adapter for the Blu-Ray Player) provides you access to VIERA CAST online - if you have broadband internet access and a wireless router - both of which I have. NOTHING BAD AT ALL TO SAY ABOUT THE TV - however, some points to consider when your goal is connecting this TV to the Internet whether that be direct through the Blu-Ray's Ethernet port or its USB wireless adapter port, or other "outside" device. .
1. This is NOT a Viera "Cast" TV - no Ethernet Ports or Wireless Adapter Ports to access the Internet from the TV directly. If you want to access Internet features via the TV as a monitor -- either directly buy a TV with these Internet access features "on the TV" (at a MUCH HIGHER PRICE) OR use this TV and connect it to a device, such as this Panasonic Blu-Ray Player with an ethernet port and wireless features and access the Viera Cast online menu. See Other Reviews for how to access Internet using other types of connected devices, example PS3s.
2. The bundled Panasonic Blu-Ray Player DMP-BD65 BLU-RAY PLAYER DOES NOT COME WITH the required wireless adapter to access your "wireless router" signals used with one's Broadband connection & the adapter is between $69 - $99 by iteself, (DMP-BD85 does), but for the price I paid for the bundle, it's still cheaper to buy this TV/Blu-Ray bundle plus the DY-WL10 LAN adapterseparately and basically get the same result.
3. GOAL for me was to be able to stream NetFlix over my broadband connection to a full featured 1080p HDTV with a HIGH REFRESH RATE (IT HAS) and I didn't need the more expensive Panasonic G model to do this with this Blu-Ray player and the separate adapter. Course, if you have a PS3 you'll use a different route to Internet connect.
4. Also since we have DUMPED Cable TV, now with NO monthly fee for TV at all, and HAVE SUBSTITUTED CABLE/SATELLITE with an upgraded & omnidirectional Indoor antenna (Terk - Best Buy ) to pick up most available OTA (over the air) channels -- we get many HDTV 1080 HD broadcasts that are UNCOMPRESSED and beautiful on this TV , unlike compressed cable and satelite pics. GREAT PICTURE! Adding Netflix, $9.99 a month -- can't think of a less expensive way to see great HDTV, movies and other available Internet content via OTA combined with Viera Cast options and this VERY WELL PRICED TV/combined with Pan Blu-Ray w/ internet capability. As an aside, the upscaling in this Pansonic Blu-Ray player is great
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies, connect to internet via another device
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

For the price, it's one of the best out there!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ANi4ANeye
from Cerritos, CA
on 08/02/2010
  • Top 250 Contributor
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 1080P, 600hz for under $700, that is VALUE!
What's not so great: Panasonic's in general have ugly exterior designs to their TVs
I got this last week on sale on bestbuy.com for only $649.99 (I found out that it was cheaper than employee price) So for this price, I couldn't pass it up. And when I took it home I was pleasantly surprised.
The picture quality is great head on. I noticed a little ghosting when viewing from an off angle (slight double image due to reflection from the glass panels) But was not bothersome or noticeable when turning off the lights to watch my movies at night. I also have a window right next to the TV and was pleasantly surprised to not see too much glare from the outside during the day time.
Black levels are good, colors are really rich but not overwhelming and not too saturated and fake looking. I put it on "Cinema" mode which I found to look the most realistic and natural. (I can't wait to see how much better it will look once I get it calibrated)
I would have given the picture 5 stars had it not been for the ghosting, but other than that, it's REALLY good!
Sound quality is really good too and I was impressed! I'm not using a sound system so sound quality was really important to me. Plenty of bass when watching The Book of Eli.
Style-wise, this is my only complaint about Panasonic TV's in general. Panasonics are like the "Mercedes-Benz" of plasmas (they use the panels from Pioneer which make the legendary Kuro plasmas) but they have a "Chevrolet" design to them. While LG, Samsung, Sony and even Sharp are out there making stylistic, artful TV's that compliment consumers mindful of design and flow with their living rooms, Panasonic is using "old" year 2000 dated design to their sets. Which really sucks! Luckily this set is just for my bedroom. For my living room, I'm going with the LG 55LX9500 because that is the standard of form and functionality for what a modern TV should aesthetically look like!
Overall, I do recommend this TV because of the quality of the picture and because at the end of the day, that's what really does matter. But I'm still docking Panasonic's company when it comes to design of their sets, they're hideous. I'm sorry to say.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Best kept secret; and trust the research

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Damonzu
from New Jersey
on 03/17/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Beautiful picture, anti-glare, orbiting pixels, and great value
What's not so great: No headphone jack; no vga port, only sufficient sound
First of all, thanks to BB for providing a great selection of Plasma TVs. I explain this somewhat odd opening below:
Plasma v. LCD? The consensus is still plasma. Don't freak out! Just do a little research - at worst - they are on par with each other.
But my point is this: you wouldn't know this by simply comparing them on BB's walls. Standing there, under the bright lights, LCD - hot like fire (bright and exciting) on the left and Plasma cold like yesterday's pizza (dim and dull) on the right. Seriously, Plasma's seem out classed on the store display wall. But my research from several sources convinced me differently.
For instance CNET states that "entertainment specialists will tell you that for basic home theatre-like usage, plasma screens have a slight edge over LCDs. This is because plasma screens can display blacks more accurately than LCDs can, which means better contrast and detail in dark scenes. The nature of LCD technology, where a backlight shines through the LCD layer, means it's hard for it to achieve true blacks because there's always some light leakage from between pixels. This is steadily improving with every new generation of LCD, though." http://www.cnet.com.au/plasma-vs-lcd-which-is-right-for-you-240036500.htm.
Now please LCD purist, I'm not bashing. LCD's are - as I said - hot like fire, especially the LED. But when you compare Plasma and LCD feature for feature - Plasmas often are the best values: they're generally less expensive and have - in many experts' minds - a superior picture.
But I promise this is not about which has the best picture - the point is that they both have great pictures. And enough pundits give the nod to Plasma (and of course some to LCD) for one to compare Plasmas and LCDs on other grounds (price, screen size, design, power consumption): note - Plasma stll loses on power consumption - despite great improvements - particularly with this TV.
But again, you wouldn't now that looking at Mr. hot-like-fire and Mr. cold-like-pizza - side by side in BB. Why this seems to be the case is a mystery to me.
Despite the cold-pizza presentation in BB, I had to trust my research an go Plasma. And folks, my picture is amazing. Mind you, I plopped down $810 for this thing: I could have gone LCD right? right? of course I could have. Just look at BB's price list. See Samsung LN40C630K1F, LG 42LD520, and Sony KDL40EX500.
I'm very happy and I feel that I have a superior product. Note: my caveat would be for those interested in Plasmas to look at Panasonic first and then Samsung. This is so, merely because Panasonic has a long history with Plasma: we all know about Samsung's prowess in LCD - I'm sure they are excellent at Plasma as well.
And finally, those who are quick to dismiss this review because outdated technological concerns about plasma (burn-in, screen life, power consumption, etc) will quickly find - if they research just little - that those concerns are a thing of the past if - in my mind - you go with Panasonic or Samsung. This model, by the way, address those concerns, as the models before it, and then some.
Okay, I may by rambling now. But I can't stress enough how counter intuitive it was selecting Plasma over LCD while in BB. Folks, THIS WILL BE A PROBLEM (very tough for the average joe like me - but just remember this review and give it shot. I'm done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

First Plasma!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Matt350
from Franklin, IN
on 05/25/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality is excellent!
What's not so great: Anti-glare is not all that its made out to be
This was our first plasma HDTV purchase after our 32" standard tube tv blew. Great buy. Yes, you do need to "break in" the tv and avoid pausing movies for long periods of time, video games with static lines or any channel that has their logo in the same spot for about the first 100-200 hours of use. Truthfully, if you keep this in mind, you do not have to avoid all of those situations. Within the first 24 hours we watched Avatar. It had the black lines at the top and bottom of the screen and the tv was just fine afterward, and that's a 3+ hour movie! It's a great tv and I would definately purchase another Panasonic. It handles movement great; alot better than LCD or LED. I so cannot wait for the NFL season to start up!! Black color is crisp. Colors are brilliant. You do have to set up the video, i.e. color, tint, bright, etc. But once you get those settings down to your liking, the tv is wonderful. We read other purchaser's choices of settings, but found our own that works for our eyes.
For the price, this is a wonderful Plasma tv!! I may have to go back and get the 55" and put this on in our bedroom!
Setup right out of the box is simple. 1 HDMI from the cable box into the tv and a few channel scans and you're watching tv in HD!
Now, we've only had the television for about a month and a half, so we haven't experienced any negetive issues that some other purchasers have experienced.
We do have a ceiling light at the end of the room in which the anti-glare function I thought would handle. Unfortunately, it still shows the glare from the lights. But I figured no television would block that glare.
The Vierra function looks very interesting and when I do purchase a Blu-ray disc player, it'll probably be a Panasonic. The tv will transfer the settings straight to the Blu-Ray. Sounds like a great feature.
All this being said, for our first HDTV, the Panasonic Vierra Plasma is a wonderful purchase and we couldn't have asked for anything additional; well, ok, maybe it could be bigger, but beggars can't be choosers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

I'm loving this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TaterM
from Charlotte NC
on 07/18/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, pixel orbiter, ease of setup
What's not so great: Nothing yet
The picture on this television is outstanding -- at least in Cinema mode. (The other modes were pretty useless, in my opinion.) Vivid colors, black blacks, and I really like the pixel orbiter feature. I used the built-in speakers for all of 2 minutes, before I hooked it up to my A/V receiver. But they sounded ok for integrated speakers. So far I'm very happy with my purchase. I had it delivered first thing on Sunday morning, and the delivery guys were right on time and very courteous. I wish the remote had a button for changing the aspect ratio -- apparently some others models' remotes do -- but thats not a big deal, since I don't change it very often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

GORGEOUS PICTURE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: theanarthrous
from Columbia, SC
on 11/13/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Beautiful picture
This was my first full-HD TV purchase and I am supremely pleased that I waited. I had been shopping comparatively for features, prices and packages between printed ads and internet shops for 4-6 months time. The package deal with the Blu-Ray player from Best Buy was an astonishing deal for value.
The 600Hz refresh rate and 1080p definition is perfect for live sports, which is the primary reason I purchased this TV.
I like the black design with underlying blue accent at the bottom of the TV.
I have had no problems with this TV.
Best Uses: Sports, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Use Cinema Setting for full 600hz

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Internationalspy
from New Orleans
on 09/23/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: color clarity
What's not so great: of course, the sound!
Great picture, but make sure to use the Cinema setting for the full 600hz sub-field. Check the Panasonic website to confirm the setting. Here is a cut and paste from the website
>>
600Hz Sub-field Drive*
Crisp, clear moving pictures
600Hz technology lets you view superb full-HD motion and still images with 1,080 lines of resolution. For even greater clarity with motion images, Panasonic uses its own unique image-analysis technology. This technology converts the motion in each scene into dots. And each frame is practically displayed for a shorter length of time than in previous systems, to reduce aftereffects.
*When using cinema mode.
>>
Personally, I think it is a little misleading to mark the 600hz clause with small print "when using cinema mode" because you assume that you will get the full 600hz on any video setting. You will need to set the video setting to cinema mode before making any calibrations to get the full benefit and you will see why plasmas are far above LCD HD tvs or LED HD tvs. (It will be a couple of years before LED HD tvs get all their own issues resolved)
The website also lists and audio upgrade/patch that you can download that helps with muffled or garbled sound.
I love this tv!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

You will not be dissapointed!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: elPrez
from Forest Hill Md
on 10/26/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Perfect picture for all viewing ie: movies, sports, regular shows
What's not so great: Nothing that I know of
This is actually my second Panasonic Plasma set. Last year our Sony tube set died after only 4 years and I wanted to go Hi Def in the family room. I got the 42S1 and it was my first plasma set. We have had a 73 inch Mitsubishi DLP in our basement for about 3 years and I love that set as well. I just can't jump onto the LCD bandwagon for picture quality. The plasma is just breathtaking . When our bedroom started acting up (a 23 yr old Sony set) I started by looking at the Insignia LED LCD and nobody in the house liked the way the picture looked. We have FIOS High Def receivers and I work in television so I'm not totally out of the loop as far as how a set should look. Took the Insignia back after 4 days and got the Panasonic 42S2. It's what I should done in the first place. Every time we watch it we comment how great it looks.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great Plasma at an Even Greater Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: C2dalo
from Turlock, CA
on 09/30/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality is Amazing!!!!!
What's not so great: Nothing Yet!!!
In the market for a TV with 1080p and smooth motion. I purchased an insignia 37in lcd with 120hz that the salesman sold me on because it was a good deal at $599. Brought it home and it seemed fuzzy n only when I played xbox it was really nice but normal TV wasnt nice at all or netflix streaming. Took it back and since I had been wanting a plasma because of the richness of the color and the smooth motion I had to get at least a 42in so I bought this one and man!! This TV blows that LCD out of the water. The richness of the color and the clarity is way better then an LCD. I bought the blueray and tv combo for $800 n let me just say the BlueRays look so crip, clear and great. Xbox plays great as well with vibrant colors. If ur looking for a LCD TV forget them and go Plasma ive had both now and Plasma is the way to go. More then satisfied with TV great price and even greater picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Just Great - Fantastic Set!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shezzam
from Long Island, NY
on 12/04/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Crisp picture...Great contrast...Exceptional viewing angle...and it just looks great!
What's not so great: Really not much! May be a bit heavy, compared to LEDs but it sure has better picture!!!
It's hard to go wrong with this set. Just make sure you use the custome settings to adjust the picture and fine tune it a bit(~70 for contrast and ~50 for everything else and turn of the light sensor) - Amazing contrast and crisp picture. Very solid unit at a great affordable price. Returned the Westinghouse LED set (42") and picked this one and didn't even look back...Very happy with my decision!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Excellent TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Worom
from Arizona
on 05/12/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Amazing Picture, Easy Setup, Decent Price
I bought this product about a week ago and I have been enjoying the tv ever since the first set I had of this model I did find a flashing area on the set which is rare on plasma. So I exchanged it out for another set of the same one that has not had an issue since and I have throughly enjoyed the set with its excellent picutre and relativly good sounding built in speakers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Nice picture, poor sound quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: acjohnson
from Lynnwood, WA
on 07/30/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The picture
What's not so great: The sound
When looking for a new TV, I considered LCD types, found that slow refresh rates blurred what was on the screen for fast moving action. The LCD types have a refresh rate of 60, 120 or 240. A plasma has a refresh rate of 360. This inclined me to a plasma, then I found that the plasma has a glass face that is harder to damage and easer to clean. So, I chose the Panasonic VIERA 42S2. (The 42S1 is an older version). Was not happy with the sound, distorts, changes level with no reason, lacks bass and has a harsh sound. So I thought I would get around this and bought a Panasonic VIERA Blue Ray 5.1 channel Surround Sound system. The VIERA features integerate the two in nice ways. However, I cannot make these features work. Bought an optical cable to integrate the sound and all that did was to make the picture and the sound out of sync.
So I use the TV sound as is. Unhappy about it but have not yet contacted Best Buy to see what can be done. (I did buy the 4 year extended warranty, a necessary purchase and when I have time will get the Geek Squad to see what can be done about the sound, or replacing the TV.)
Best buy has been great to work with. Would buy from them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Picture is beautiful, software lame

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EmeraldKnight
from NY
on 12/10/2010
What's great about it: TV is priced right and looks great
What's not so great: Software
HDTV is beautiful, set-up pretty pain-free, software for connecting to wi-fi/ internet, and remote interface for entering data for internet/Netflix use are primitive and annoying.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great plasma. Awesome picture.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RonMexico
on 11/04/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: PRICE, QUALITY, PLASMAS ROCK BETTER THAN LCDS!
What's not so great: Lack of a vga input, but if youre geek enough to mess with that than you know a way around it. (converter box)
Picture is bright and colorful. HD is great in crisp 1080p. Wish it had a VGA input or SVideo but oh well, i got a converter box now so its cool. Way better picture than LCD and more responsive than LCD (movement on screen with video games). May not have as many bells and whistles as the samsungs or the sonys (vga inputs) but still a great tv for the price. And i think panansonics are supposed to be better in plasmas than samsung or something.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies, everything
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Awesome TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LoyolaProp1
from Dallas, TX
on 10/15/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, price, ease of use and setup
What's not so great: Sound quality, no internet apps
Just got this TV two days ago in the bundle that included the Panasonic Blu Ray/Surround Sound system. So far I love this TV. I have played Xbox 360 and PS3 on it, both look incredible. Popped in Dark Knight on blu ray and it looked incredible. The image is incredibly sharp, deep blacks and vivid color. All of the features, especially when paired with the home theater work perfectly in sync. I was happy to see an optical audio output from the TV and input to the home theater. It makes it easy so there is no switching between channels on your receiver. No matter what device is on, the sound goes through the home theater. The TV is really easy to navigate, and the remote is clear to use. I had a Samsung flatscreen before this, and construction wise the Panasonic seems really well built. There is no internet connectivity, but considering I have a 360 and PS3 hooked up to it, I have all the apps I need through those.
Pros:
Image quality
Ease of use
Construction of the unit itself
Synchronization with the home theater is a snap
Cons:
Without a home theater, the sound is weak
No internet connectivity
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Panasonic - 1000W 5.1-Ch. Blu-ray Home Theater System
4.0 out of 5(41)
 
 
 
Rocketfish™ 8' HDMI Cable
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
Rocketfish™ 8' Digital Optical Cable
4.2 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Great Plasma picture for Bluray and Sports

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dkurtz42
from Barberton, OH
on 08/23/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture clarity, fair price for a high quality product.
What's not so great: Sound is average at best without a home theater.
After deciding that plasma was the best choice for me I ultimately ended up with this Panasonic Viera 42" based on the sale price being offered by Best Buy. With a final price of $650 I felt the value could not be beat.
I bought an off brand mount kit and had the TV mounted and ready to watch within one hour. The intial picture with over the air HD channels was impressive. I believe that the "Cinema" setting provides the best picture without taking a lot of time (or money) to adjust professionally. The 600Hz refresh rate is much better than my previos LCD with 120Hz. I also purchased a a Panasonic Home Theater system (reviewed seperately). I had that setup and instantly decided that the television sound alone was not good enough to satisfy my needs. The TV does need some sort of home theater system if you really want to enjoy what you are watching. The ARC technology between the two Panasonic components makes connection very easy.
The first Blu Ray I popped in had an amazing picture. I hadn't used Blu Ray previously. A huge difference. In a dark room I don't know that LCD with LED can touch the clarity of the plasma. Overall I am very satisfied.
My only concern after about one month of viewing is I notice a very slight bit of burn in after letting the Blu Ray sit on the Main Menu screen for a while. The TV claims to have pixel shifting technology but the burn in is obvious until the movie resumes and then is less obvious.
Overall for the price I am very satisfied with this purchase. I will definitely consider Panasonic next time I need to purchase something in this category.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / Plasma / 1080p / 600Hz / HDTV

Cautiously Optimistic

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Freedoms
from Pittsburgh, Pa
on 05/04/2010
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good picture after tweaking
What's not so great: Fear of burn-in, pre-sets are mostly unwatchable
Beware of the dreaded screen "burn-in."
The documentation for this and other Panasonic models only contains general information about it.
What I have learned is that during the supposed "100 hour break-in period," the CONTRAST setting should be set no higher than 50%.
(I got that information from a Panasonic Technician, after having burn-in nightmares with another model.- the Panasonic TC-P42U2 )
Yet, none of the pre-sets have a CONTRAST setting as low as 50%. In fact, the STANDARD setting, which has one of the lowest CONTRACT settings (69%) looks foggy and nearly unwatchable.
All of that said, after looking around for the proper (and safe) settings, I'm quite pleased with the results so far. All of the HD channels look crisp and have rich colors, without appearing to be too dark or too bright.
Overall, I'd seriously recommend this model, but with the warning that you should do a little tweaking and you keep the CONTRAST settings lower than the pre-sets to avoid burn-in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>