Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Model: A3100 Silver
SKU: 9766837
UPC: 013803120066
This digital camera supports 12.1-megapixel resolution image capture for preserving special moments of family and friends. Optical image stabilization and face detection technology help ensure images are clear and detailed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 130 reviews
5 stars
79
4 stars
33
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
6
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
110 out of 130
)
Customer Reviews for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver
Review 21 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera for ease of use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Canton, Georgia
on 02/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
Amazing. I used to own a camcorder. This camera works just as well as the camcorder or better. Great camera as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Good for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Natwelz
from Chicago, IL
on 02/07/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use, good price
What's not so great: Bulky, lacks certain features
Bought this camera because it was on sale and was in need of a new one, it was bulkier than I had anticipated but the images were good and for the price I got it for I couldn't complain. However, it didn't have some of the newer features I was hoping for so after keeping it for a month or so I upgraded and gave this one to my mom and she loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

I am still learning how to use the camera.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shreve
from Wheeling, WV
on 02/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and quality photos
What's not so great: User's manual
A few of my photos have been blurred, but that's my fault, and not the camera's. The ease of use is much better than others I have used, but it does take studying the directions. In other words, I was told it was a "point and shoot" camera, but it is more involved than that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Canon A3100 IS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mice9999
from Illinois
on 02/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Easy to use, good image quality and cheap price
What's not so great: no carry case come with the product
This is a perfect point to shoot camera for me. It is easy to use and provides good image quality. Plus it is cheapest Canon camera in the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera that is easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lumix
from Jacksonville, Fl
on 02/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease and size
What's not so great: nothing
The camera takes great pictures and easy to use. Pictures are very good and the portability is so nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great camera for everyday

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JimiJam
from NYC
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: No wide angle lens
Photo quality is really good. Very easy to use. I would spend the extra $20 and get the 1300. It has a wide angle lens. Not having one on this camera greatly takes away from the range of view. "ok everyone get closer together".
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great upgrade from Cannon Power Shot A570 is

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: scandog
from Ma.
on 01/29/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's not so great: Little to small for the hand
I bought this camera for my wife at Christmas to replace the Power Shot ans she loves it. She has been taking pictures weekly and updating her on line album to share with friends. Great camera for a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

great camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jeffsut
from staten island, new york
on 01/29/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: for a small camera it is easy to use and takes great photos
What's not so great: nothing, can't find anything that is wrong with this camera
I have a canon SLR but some times I don't wanna carry this big camera and every thing that i had to carry with it. So staying with canon i wanted to find a nice little camera that i could carry like in my pocket. My wife has a nice little nikon 12.0 meg point & shoot ,its takes nice photos for the type of camera it is. but i wanted something better. So i checked out the canon powershot A3100 12.1 meg And WOW this is just what i have been looking for. nice and small, and it takes real great photos So if you are looking for a nice little, camera this is the one you wanna check out.
From Jeff, staten island NY
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

good overall camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SaltyWench
from sarasota fl
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: can't say anything bad
I bought this camera for my son as a Christmas gift. It is super easy to use and takes great pictures. Thinking of buying one for myself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great for my mom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mld3742
from Lafayette, LA
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
My mom needed a new camera, so my sister put me in charge of finding her a good one. My friend with camera expertise told me to look at the canons. My mom loves the camera. Extremely easy to use, especially since she is not computer savy. We are very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

good camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ssminn
from MInnesota
on 01/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, takes pictures quickly
I am very happy with this camera! I am definately not a photographer but the camera has worked well for taking pictures of my children. It actually takes the picture pretty quickly - sometimes if feels like it takes a while to save the picture though. This is my first experience with this kind of battery (I have always used the rechargeable AA batteries before) and I love how long it lasts! I am very happy with my purchase. I haven't tried out too many of the extra features but I love the auto focus. As I said I am not a skilled photographer so I like the "help."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great Camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Juice1
from New Orleans, La
on 01/25/2011
What's great about it: Price, Size and Pictures
What's not so great: Have not found anything not to like!
Great camera for the price. I recommend it for those looking for a good compact camera that has a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Great Camera, great pictures, easy to use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Albaricoque1970
from Miami, FL
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality of Pics, easy to use, got a great deal on the price.
I feel I got a great deal on this camera. The pictures are of great quality and the camera itself is really easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

I'm happy with this purchase.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Robert21212
from Maryland
on 01/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Good purchase. It is a fine camera. I would recommend this camera for any non-advanced user.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Excellent for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: urkmail
from afton, wyoming
on 01/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Great camera and adjust to light far better then both our sony and fuji film cameras.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Truly a great camera for a beginner.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ccin
from Canton,OH
on 01/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact & easy to use.
What's not so great: Nothing.
This camera is easy to use & takes great pictures. I like the way you can manipulate the pics after you have taken them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Average camera

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: CincyThomas
from Ohio
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Our little one broke our Kodak so we went and tried something new that had good reviews. There are no real benefits to this camera and with little ones we like to take lots of quick pictures. This camera takes a long time to take shots. We have already missed lots of cute kid pictures because of the delay. There is nothing wrong and the pictures are good quality... it is just slower than our past 3 cameras of about the same price range.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Excellent Point and Shoot for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: p114
from New York State
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent Price, Good quality, User friendly, Easy of use, Quick set up
What's not so great: Very little light can yield indifferent pictures, Users manual a little narrow
I am have yet to venture to DSLRs, so by no means am I a professional. This is replacing my normal camera which was a Kodak C160 which proved to be a grand waste of money which replaced a C300 which is why I stuck with Kodak, they used to make decent quality point and shoots at a modest price, and I loved the C300 back in the day. This is my first Canon, and it was a huge step worth taking. I chose this over a Fujifilm JV100, just by preference and feeling more secure with jumping from a Kodak to a Canon.
The picture quality is fantastic. Be sure to hold the camera steady to enjoy the best of the image stabilization and get the clearest picture. The camera has an icon that will flash if it thinks you should put it on a tripod because the conditions may leave that specific picture blurry and another indictor if the picture WILL be blurry because it cannot focus. Auto mode will often be your quick choice I would presume, and this camera you can press your luck because AUTO is smart for the average user, being it can even detect when Macro mode is needed!
What's good?
-Good for the price, good build quality as a whole, feels solid, and no fingerprint magnet-type surfaces where you hold the camera like my previous Kodak.
-Fairly constant picture quality, but if light is too low, it will suffer, but it's no big deal and it certainly handles slightly lower light situations with ease where many other cameras in it's price range fall short.
-Pretty good battery life, I recommend if you stick with this camera you pick up a spare battery, always do so when the battery is proprietary (i.e. a battery pack)
-Quality overall in general and for general pictures is something you might not see in an average camera this price
-The price compared to some Sony and Panasonic camera I looked at that cost much more
-Custom timer, you might love being able to make some quick tweaks besides the preset ones already set.
-Easy of use, GREAT little features that really show Canon cares about what a user of a camera of this model and what I can do might want, tweaks aren't made for being all flashy and nice looking, it really makes it quick, simple, and a camera worthwhile.
-Uses a Lithium Ion battery, which if the user likes this, can benefit in both slightly warmer and cooler temperatures, and good battery life.
What's not good or should be noted (not good or bad)?
-Indoor Macro, forget it, flash washes it out, no flash can be blurry, but this is not subject to THIS camera. indoor macro can be pain because natural light is necessary.
-When light is really low or camera is not steady, like any camera, regardless of image stabilization will cause a blurry image.
-The cover to the battery compartment seems very loose and poor in quality like after 3-4 years it might just break off.
-A user might want to remember, Lithium Ion batteries can die a sudden and painful death after sudden years and should not the age of their batteries if they keep this camera for an extended period of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

Easy to use, good value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: starrburst1014
from Shoreview, MN
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use and durability.
What's not so great: Shared battery-memory card compartment
I bought this camera as a Christmas gift for my mom who is, shall I say not so good with the small electronics (I still have to help her with her cell phone occasionally). The manual is easy to read and understand for both me and her. Even before reading the manual, it seemed pretty easy to use.
The only downside I have found is that the memory card goes in the same compartment as the battery, so you can't have the camera on while swapping cards, but it's a pretty easy thing to overcome.
Overall, my mom and I are very satisfied with this camera!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Canon - PowerShot 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Silver

replacement for older Powershot

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: swabby
from Westland,Michigan
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: compact, great shooting features.
What's not so great: Dial hard to turn.
The camera has all the old features of a Powershot .Somewhat hard to access them with the dial, but still takes great pictures. Was not happy with the rechargeable battery, but it seems to hold a good charge.
For the price I got an excellent camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>