Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Model: AE1000
SKU: 9770324
UPC: 745883589395
Provide wireless-N capability to a Windows desktop or laptop with this dual-band wireless-N adapter. Connect to the Internet in a few simple steps via the included Cisco Connect software. WPA2 encryption helps keep communications and information private.
Average Customer Rating:
4.096 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 114 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
12
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
91 out of 114
)
Customer Reviews for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter
Review 1 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter
  • Featured

Easy to install, great for my PC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MVBestBuyGuy
from San Francisco, CA
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Setup
What's not so great: N/A
Simple to setup. Has not failed me once. I like the addition of the stand, but you don't have to use it for the adapter to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Poor range not long range

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: greengenes
from Springfield, OH
on 10/28/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: Does not perform as advertised
Offered up to me by staff in store as an alternative to extend the wireless range of my laptop. Advertised on the box as such. Did not perform well at all giving limited coverage and frequent disconnects. Returned with no hassle but a waste of time nonetheless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Can't complain

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Satisfied2
from Jones, OK
on 09/25/2011
Works great for grandson's computer. He worked all summer to be able to afford a gaming computer only to find he needed additional help to get the internet into his bedroom. He loves excellent performance he is getting from this item. It was a little pricey, but was very easy to install. He is very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TomH221
from Syracuse, NY
on 08/13/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great performance
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Used on computer far from source; upgraded from G to N to go along with upgraded router and the adapter gave me the extra signal strength I needed for wireless connection; effortless installation. I would recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Easy installation and excellent performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RangerFan130
from Easton, PA
on 08/01/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Performance (connectivity and throughput)
What's not so great: Messaging provided during Installation
Had initial connectivity issues during the installation - no meaningful messages, just repeatedly was shown the screen to connect the adapter to the USB. Reconnecting, however, eventually located the router and successfully installed. While this adapter is a little pricey, the performance is well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chato
from Texas
on 07/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy
What's not so great: Happy with everything so far
I had some issues at first getting it loaded. I called Cisco's technical assistance and they were able to answer all my questions and walk me through what needed to be adjusted with my computer. (Virus Protection wouldn't allow me to load it). I would recommend the product to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

The best one yet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MostToysWins
from Tucson, AZ
on 07/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Once it's set up, you don't have to think about it again
What's not so great: They could have made the stand better.
I have tried several of these little gadgets to get my desktop online. It's an oldie but a goodie so going wireless was the next logical step. I've tried many and this is by far..the best one yet. Easy to install and using it is one of those "no fuss, no muss" situations. I never have to restart it or even think about it, just use it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Easy installation; works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Higginsthebutler
from Houston, TX
on 07/06/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: simple installation process
What's not so great: cap covering the USB port is loose and easy to get lost
Liked the installation process -- simple and easy. Pop the CD in, follow the directions, and shortly you're online. It works as described.
It's got a stand that you can plug it in to and leave plugged into your desktop, and it also comes with a loose protective cap to cover the USB connector in case you want to unplug it from the stand take it with you to use on your laptop. The cap could easily get lost, and there's nothing you can do while using it on your laptop except put the cap in your pocket, i.e. there's no tether that keeps the little cap around. Small issue though -- it's a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Easy to install and use; blazing fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rail8
from Omaha, NE
on 07/06/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, distance, ease of use
What's not so great: Nothing that I have found
This comes with a stand and a USB extender that I plug into my USB stick. Fully compatible with the vista operating system. It talks wireless to a router one floor down and two rooms over (30 feet as the bat flies) with no noticeable delay. Far outclasses anything that I have used by Cisco, KinkSys, or D-Tech..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Great device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Headama
from Phoenix AZ
on 07/06/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up has good band width on a wireless N Network
What's not so great: It can have connectivity issues if it doesn't get the power it needs
I bought the USB wireless N adapter to connect my windows media center computer to my home network. It works great with my Cisco e3000 router. The biggest caveats are if your computer is allowed to sleep there can be some connectivity issue. The other issue is this thing takes a lot of power to run. If you have a lot of USB devices on the same bus it will lose connectivity. I put in on a powered USB hub and it has be working great ever sense.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router
4.1 out of 5(306)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Overpriced for what you get

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: noobphobia
from Lafayette, LA
on 06/11/2011
What's great about it: Size
What's not so great: The funtion of the device
I upgraded my 6 year old wireless G network to a wireless N with this adaptor and the E4200 router.
After having it for a couple days I noticed I was actually getting WORSE connection than with the G. Come to find out, all the thumb drive style adaptors are all very bad and you will never get past fair-good signal strength. Never buying one of these again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Not for Windows 7 ???

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SomeoneNEW
from Sarasota
on 05/31/2011
What's great about it: nice and slick design.
What's not so great: Didn't want to install, like it suppose to.
I bought this product because I thought it to be one of the best.. Well usually these adapters are VERY easy to install, but in my case I have 2 windows 7 32 and 64 bit PC and was not able to install it either from the disc that it came with or by downloading the driver from the Website.. It maybe works great from windows XP, which I haven't tried but NOT for my windows 7.. Again these new windows operating systems always screwing up the PC experience for all of us by all of these Stupid NO DRIVERS SUPPORT or Programs incompatibilities ... I am returning today.. Do Not want to fool around spending time to install a product that it should be very easy to install.. Who knows, one day maybe we will have a easy and fun time using the computers like it was meant to be. but for now it just seems like it is getting bad to worse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

good wireless adapter

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: benl79
from Home
on 05/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good Price
I just got this when I got home ups delivered it to me Tuesday morning. When I got home it was in the office and then I open it up and installed it it took me about 1 minute to get up. I am telling this is a good product though linksys made a good product though. I am telling I am on the internet with blazing speeds. I am glad I got rid of dsl which is dial up this is 10x faster than dsl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Good for wireless gaming

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rockdpm
from NC
on 04/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to plug in and conects quickly to your internet
What's not so great: Nothing so far
IF you dont want to either have cables going from the other computer to your rowder or don't want to buy a new rouder to have to set up?. then look no further. this thing have easy installation and i mostly have 4 bars and can run games with little to no lagg at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Great router once you have customer support upgrad

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JERICO1
from Orlando Fl
on 04/09/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Fast speed once its upgraded
What's not so great: having to spend time and extra dollars to get it to work right
Lousy router until i called customer support and paid an extra 9.99 to upgrade a brand new out of the box router which i paid 139.99 for. I had to do the same thing for my wrt54g router. So figure on an extra 9.99 on price to get it to work proper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

quick and easy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: edgurrspaw
on 04/01/2011
quck and easy to set up
flawless to use
worked first time
workes every time
and fast too !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Easy enough

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kiawe
from Mililani, Hawaii
on 03/25/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of installation
What's not so great: none
Had almost no problem installing device. After running software and physically plugging in to open usb port the software installer instructed me to check windows automated connection where I simply keyed in my incription code and I was connected. It took longer to unpackage the device. I connected to a linksys wireless router with speedbooster. this is a wireless G network device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Good bargain

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sixeagles
from Bucks County, PA
on 03/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Considering that high quality wireless adapters are priced from $50 and up this refurbished product saves a few dollars and it performs well. I had daily problems lossing the connection to wireless router but since I inserted directly into the computer without the extention it has worked much better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Great device and easy setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Fairhaven, MA
on 03/23/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick install and and intuitive wireless software.
What's not so great: No cons thus far.
I would recommend this device to anyone. I have purchased two of these, one for each child's pc. The range is great and have not had an issue with disconnects like I have seen with other usb adapters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cisco Linksys AE1000 High-Performance Wireless-N Adapter

Don't buy this product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: lsmike
from Temecula CA
on 03/17/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nice package if it worked
What's not so great: poor sensitivity
This unit was purchased to add wi-fi capability to a desktop. Unfortunately, even with the provided usb extension cable, unit had such poor sensitivity it had a hard time connecting to a Cisco router upstairs, almost directly overhead. This was the most expensive adapter BB had and certainly wasn't worth the money. It's now at the landfill....................
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>