Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Model: HTCT150
SKU: 9770697
UPC: 027242780033
Revel in lush audio with this speaker system that features a sleek soundbar and a subwoofer that deliver crisp highs and stunning lows for an intense audio experience. The sleek monolithic design blends into your space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 155 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
44
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
8
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
136 out of 155
)
Customer Reviews for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer
Review 1 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

A nice little soundbar setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ThisIsNot
from Cincinnati, OH
on 08/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, sound quality better than most soudbars, array of inputs
What's not so great: Display is hard to read, it is still a soundbar
I purchased this unit along with my 46" LED LCD HDTV a week ago. I had a 1000 watt (peak power) Logitech 5.1 speaker system from back in 2004. It has been great as it has a digital optical audio input and works with both Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS 5.1. Having said that, I also moved into an apartment a couple of months ago and hardly ever use my surround sound system. The subwoofer just booms throughout my entire 1 bedroom apartment (and it is 1000 ft^2) even on the lowest sound level.
The built-in speakers on my LED LCD HDTV are rather dreadful but that is to be expected with a TV that is 1.3" thick. So I decided to purchase a soundbar instead. I wouldn't have to run any wires, I can get "simulated surround sound," and I don't have to worry about waking up the guy above me when I am playing through Red Dead Redemption at 2:00 AM on a Saturday while still getting much better sound than through my HDTV.
I think Sony did a really good job with this sound bar setup. The subwoofer provides more bass than the typical sound bars you see around, the 3 HDMI inputs are nice allowing me to run all of my HDMI devices (PS3, Xbox 360, and HD cable receiver) through one connection, and the sound quality is a lot better than what I was expecting.
The surround sound effects get the job done but, as always, a dedicated 5.1/7.1 speaker system will do much better. I can easily hear the dialogue with my Blu-ray movies and the music/sound effects do not overpower the mix. I often have to adjust my TV's speakers and my Logitech's for varying levels of sound from movies. The dialogue will be quiet and then an explosion will happen that rattles the windows. Not the case with the sound bar.
Stereo music sounds decent coming out of it as well. Again, it isn't going to sound as great or as loud as a 1000 watt dedicated home theater setup but, for $270, it is really hard to complain especially whenever this Sony sound bar setup easily beats out my HDTV's speakers.
I can fully recommend this for people living in an apartment and for those who don't want to run wires throughout their rooms. The sound quality is great for a sound bar (good when compared to a dedicated surround sound system), there are a ton of inputs, it supports both audio and video pass through with HDMI connections (and even 3D pass through), it really blends in with my current setup of black electronics (I don't even notice the soundbar and subwoofer), and the entire experience is an extreme upgrade over the speakers built into LCD/LED LCD/Plasma HDTVs.
My only gripe is that the display on the subwoofer can be hard to read (especially when sitting 7 ft away from it) and you really have to get used to having a non graphical way of switching inputs and adjusting a few other options.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+56points
58out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

I like this system.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ViperCommand
from Fresno, CA
on 06/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Clear sound, Out performs built in TV speaker hands down.
What's not so great: could use a larger font for the manual.
In Short, The HTCT150 does what it intended to do and does so very well.
When you get a flat panel TV, you also get somewhat anemic sound. I think they make the internal speakers on flat panel TV’s from refrigerator magnets wrapped in strip off network cable copper, glued to the back of half a Dixie cup. The HC150 will fix this by allowing you to turn off the TV’s internal speakers.
Once I got everything hooked up and dialed in, I got a 100% improvement over the TV’s internal speakers. I can hear the voices clearly and back ground sounds no longer drowns them out. It is Plenty loud if you what if to be so. I ran a few satellite radio stations off the TV feed, and again I saw a huge improvement. It will never blow the windows out of their frames, but that is not the intent of this type of system, but it will give you a heck of a lot more that what the internal TV speakers can. And again it’s very clear sound. “Head bangers” need not apply.
If you read my whole post you will note that a said “Once I got everything hooked up and dialed in”, there is a manual in the box that the speakers came in, I was force to take my own advice that I have given to friends and family hundreds of times… RT (radio edit) M. Open it, read it. It will save you time. There is a nice “flow chart” in there that will help you navigate the setup menu. Once you have it setup there is one button at the bottom of the remote that will let you cycle through the different sound fields.
Lastly, this is NOT a surround sound bar. If that is what you’re looking for keep looking. What the heck are you thinking, a surround sound bar for under $400.00
I would recommend this to a friend!
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

A lot of sound for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Graham1
from Aurora, CO
on 07/05/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Big sound in a small package-price-astetics
What's not so great: Reading the manual :)
I have just recently purchased this system a few days ago and was suprised at how much sound comes out of these speakers. It is definitely 10 times better than the speakers that come with your LCD or LED TV. I took the advice of the other two reviews and looked to the manual to set the system up. It took me a while to figure out how to set the system up as there is no on screen menu. It might make it difficult for some but it is well worth it. Also for people with a PS3 as there blue ray player this might be a helpful tip. If dont get the DTS or Dolby light to come on in this system you must go to the Video setup in the PS3 and set the audio to Bitstream. Dont ask me why but that is how sony has set this up. Took me about an hour to figure it out. Once that is done the system woke up on a completely different level. When playing regular music CDs the sound is twice as loud. I believe this system is great for small to medium size rooms and for people who dont want the clutter of a surround sound setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Sounds awesome

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sonyuser1
from Louisville,Ky
on 09/27/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the features and the price
What's not so great: the LED display on the SW could be bigger
Have a LG 42" LCD TV and the sound it produces is terrible...so began looking at options...came across reviews for the CT 150 and liked what I was reading ..went to check it out and bought one...brought it home and had it set up in an hour ..if I can set up up I think anyone can..I have a small living room14x 20 ...the sound bar works great...WAY better then the regular sound of my TV...the 3 HDMI inputs are awesome ..PS3 and HD cable box plugged into it...its not surround sound but its close..if you want surround sound get a surround sound system...cant beat it for the money IMHO....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Clean looking, decent sound, nice price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chrmoody
from Texas
on 07/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: small, easy set up, clean looking, price is great, good sound
What's not so great: lettering on digital display is a bit small
Just bought this today for our family game room, we have a LG Plasma that needed a better speaker boost. I had set up our living room with a 5.1 Harmon Kardon speaker set up, and didn't feel my game room needed such a big sound, but I wanted something better than the LG speakers.
Set up was quick, the product is very clean and sharp looking and not to mention the price pretty great. I wish the lettering on the woofer would be a bit bigger and clearer, but thats the real only complaint i have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Lotta bang for buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: researchpaidoff
from Clearwater, FL
on 07/29/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great volume, bass, and simulated surround.
What's not so great: Nothing
Read countless reviews for this and other soundbar systems. I don't write reviews often but felt compelled to now. Have to admit I was a bit skeptical after reading a few reviews that said this system doesn't have enough bass or volume, but decided to give it a try nonetheless. Figured I could always return it.
Once it was hooked up properly and I put in a movie, I was stunned at how great it sounded. It's supporting a Panny plasma and Blu-ray, and the entire system is in my 15x20 living room. I'm not a huge audio guy but I know good sound when I hear it. Simulated surround is fantastic. Volume level is good, and the bass output is plenty sufficient. I had it on about half volume and my living room was rocking with lush, deep sound.
For those who want to rattle the walls, this probably won't do it. But for the average home viewer, this system simply can't be beat. The TV speakers don't even come close to what this does. Simple to set up, no clutter, and absolutely fantastic sound. All for about $300. Very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Best set-up for a bedroom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BlueHalo
from So Cal
on 03/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Hdmi switcher, Great sound quality, no speakers and wires everywhere
What's not so great: no complaints
I have a 32" Samsung TV and of course with any TV whether it be a Samsung or Sony....sound isn't too great. Also i needed an HDMI switcher. So i went with CNET's good review and purchased this for my bedroom.Owned this for a month or so and this thing is AMAZING! It's definitely a huge step up. It has 3 hdmi inputs and one output. That's all i need for my HD DVR, Playstation 3, and XBox 360. The sound that comes out of this thing is so good. Its surprising you get all the surround sound out of a sound bar. Well worth every penny. I have no complaints with this at all. Works great as a home theater system while saving space and even as an hdmi switcher. One feature i absolutely love is how it automatically turns off on its own when the TV is turned off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

great buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: deathmagnetic00
from Silo, Mt
on 05/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Look, sound, multiple hdmi ports, compatabilty
What's not so great: heavy bass
I have been searching for a surround sound system for quite some time and I really didn't want to mess with the wires and cables as I tend to move around a lot with my current job. This system is perfect for my needs. The sound is very crisp and percise. I programmed my Direct TV remote to control this and it works wonderfully. I use this system mainly for watching sports, ps3 gaming, and movie watching. It produces more than enough sound for me. I usually don't have it up past 25 or 30 as it rattles the walls. I have it in my living room which is roughly 12x20 and I really get the surround sound feel with this.
The only bad thing I found so far with this system, which isn't exactly a horrible thing, is the bass. The SW produces a massive bass sound which can over power the sound bar itself. But that is easily controlled by just turning the SW level down to maybe a 2 or 3.
All in all, I would reccomend this system to anyone who is on the fence between buying this 3.1 or a 5.1 surround sound system. At 300 bucks, I really don't think you can beat this system!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great for the Price and Compact

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TSounds
from Seattle, WA
on 10/04/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Few wires, easy to setup, cheap, Bravia Sync
What's not so great: Not loud enough in certain situations, remote too complex
I think for a soundbar system, you can't beat the price, features and sound of this unit. The HDMI connections are a plus and not found on other systems in this price range.
I like the Bravia Sync considering I also have a Bravia flat screen TV. They sync nicely through one remote.
It's no substitute for a real surround system with all the speakers, but for a small room/apartment it works fine. It's a large improvement from my flat screen speakers.
Occasionally during movies, I'll have it pegged out on volume. If I were to purchase again, I would have bought the 400W system (HTCT350). This one didn't get as loud as I'd like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Traded the Samsung in for this one and love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Winbush
from Los Angeles
on 08/13/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Awesome sound and nice bass
What's not so great: The sub is not wireless but believe me the bass gets low enough to where you can leave it near your tv and still get bas
A week ago I bought the Samsung HW-D450ZA soundbar only because the this Sony soundbar wasn't hooked up properly at the store and I couldnt hear it with the sub so I went with the Samsung. Long story short I wasn't happy with that product so I returned it today and picked up this Sony and I have to say after playing Halo for 20 minutes with it I'm insanely impressed. The Bass is really deep and you can definitely hear the difference between 3.1 and 2.1.
I've had this product for a short amount of time but I'm really happy with it so far and it took me 5 minutes to hook up .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great Package for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tmoney3456
on 03/06/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This soundbar delivers great sound as long as your expectations are in line. It will not produce surround sound as a 5.1 or 7.1 system with side and rear speakers. It does however create more like a sound field that fills the room much better and louder than TV speakers can produce.
One of the top things about this unit are the number of inputs. It has 3 HDMI inputs along with 2 optical inputs, 1 digital coax input, and 2 analog inputs. I couldn't find any other sound bar with that flexibility. That is a lot of options for a soundbar and is perfect for my setup which mght be fairly typical for number of HDMI's with a cable box, Blu Ray player, and gaming system.
There are multiple ways to set everything up, but the easiest way is to run all the HDMI's to the sub, then run an HDMI to the TV via the ARC/TV Out. Most TVs will have an input labeled ARC. Basically sound and picture are transferred between the TV and the Unit via one cable. I have a Samsung TV and none of the inputs are labeled ARC. However, during my research of soundbars I discovered that the HDMI 2 input on a Samsung is the ARC. I have the soundbar hooked up via the ARC into HDMI 2 and it works fine.
Another byproduct of the ARC is that because I have a Samsung TV and a Samsung Blu Ray Player, the TV recognizes the Blu Ray player as an Anynet device and will automatically power on the Blu Ray player when the input switches to Blu Ray even though the soundbar controlling it is a Sony. A quirky thing is that when you power off the TV with the TV remote, it will also turn off the soundbar. However, if you turn on the TV with the TV remote, it doesn't turn on the soundbar. Nothing major, just a strange thing. But you can control the soundbar volume with the TV remote.
In addition to all the flexibility with the inputs, the unit itself has many options to tweak the sound. I discovered that the setting that works for the Blu Ray, doesn't necessarily sound that great for the Xbox 360. Another plus though is that you can tweak the settings for each input and it saves those settings specifically for each one. So you don't have to constantly change the settings when you change the input.
The sound itself is great especially after you get the settings to your preference. The people that say the sound is worse than the TV speakers, they must have the greatest set of TV speakers ever invented. The sound can go loud, the bass can go deep. Out of the box with minimal tweaking it sounds good. Watching a basketball game, the bouncing of the ball made the sub hit.
The only slight negative I can see with it is when you switch inputs, it is a little slow. But really is it that important to switch between your TV and your Blu Ray in 2 seconds instead of 5 seconds?
So if you are looking for something that is going to create surround sound on the cheap, that's not going to happen. If you want something that will be a major upgrade for your TV speakers to create rich sound and "envelope" you, you can't go wrong with this unit.
This product has... Easy to use controls, Good connection options
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EngrGirl
from Seattle, WA
on 09/11/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Superior sound over your TV speakers
What's not so great: Additional controller.
Completely transformed our movie and music listening experience! For the price and lack of wires and speakers strewn about the room, we are in love!
We have a Samsung TV. I believe if you have a Sony Bravia TV, you will have better features as it will integrate better with your other Sony products. We thought about getting the Samsung bar, but the reviews for the Sony bar were just much better. Plus, this is the only 3.1 bar available. You could really tell the difference in the store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great sounds for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: daveinchinohills
from Chino, CA
on 03/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound quality and the size of the speakers.
What's not so great: Nothing that i can see, I know someone that has a 100 and it has been working for 3 years. Seems like a great buy.
These sound bars are so much better then any other brand on the market. They have every conn you would ever need. The 150 can decode DD and DTS, most are analog input only. The 150 is much better then the 100. The Sound qulity is much better then the samsung or Boston accustic. I have a full on 7.1 system in my living room and i got this for my bed room. It fills the room with full range audio and does a great job of getting the sound around the room. These main difference from this and all other sound bars is the sony has 3 speakers that all have there own inputs. So you can control the amount of volume coming from each speaker and a EQ. It has a deep stereo sound. The other sound bars i have tested all sound FLAT and dual. The bass is just right and the high and mid is vary clear. I have seen these in action in huge room and small and they work vary well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

3.1-ch makes a HUGE difference over 2.1

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Patrick10
on 11/10/2011
Here is the bottom line: for the price, you can't lose.
I originally went with the more expensive Sony ht-ct550 but was never fully satisfied with the 2.1 channel that simulated the center channel. Returned it, got the highly rated ct150 with the 3.1 channel and right away noticed the difference. Even my wife who could care less about audio thought it sounded significantly better. And for $100 bucks cheaper? Done deal.
Yes it's several inches smaller, and yes the sub is not wireles, but there is a reason CNET puts this model in their top 5 audio system pics. Perfect for a medium size room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
38out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

EASY!EASY!EASY!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: poohgirlrt
from muskegon mi
on 11/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything so far
What's not so great: nothing so far
I am no techno wizard, actually no nothing at all. I took the items out of the box, set my speaker on top of my shelf in front of the tv, put the subwoofer on the floor, disconnected my Direct TV box, Blue ray disc player from the TV, inserted the HDMI cables into the subwoofer, plugged the subwoofer into the LG TV, and VOILA! Good to go! Am very pleased with the sound, the remote, the quality, etc! No compaints whatsoever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Bought for Panasonic G20 and and Game Consoles

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dorfdad
from Pottstown, PA
on 09/07/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound Quality, ability to adjust all settings
What's not so great: Not 5.1 surround but oh well :)
First off this is a great system! Lets you adjust each setting Tone, bass etc.. I compared this to the Higher Priced Sony 350 and the only difference is 50 watts of power and an included fm radio tuner.. For my game use I was happy this works perfect and small..
Also supports ARC so if you have an ARC capable TV (Panasonic G20 here WOW!) and this allows me to use my Tv remote to power on both units with one remote!
Recommend to all. I bought while on sale 250.00
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Good Soundbar, Not a Surround Sound System

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EmilyG_BBYStaff40
from Seekonk, MA
on 02/13/2011
  • Staff
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: appearance, performance and depth
What's not so great: having to change settings
I purchased this Sony sound bar and I haven't been disappointed. But buyers need to remember this is a sound bar not a full surround sound system. The only reason I bought this was the amplify the sound of my TV.
Two quick tips: First, if you are using a Harmony Remote this system is classified as an amplifier. Second, if you do not have a sony TV or bluray player you have to go into the settings and turn on HDMI pass through and the HDMI control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
Insignia™ 9' HDMI Cable
4.3 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

It does the job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Doobster418
from San Francisco
on 08/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Appearance, sound quality
What's not so great: Yet another remote control device to manage.
I needed something to enhance the sounds coming from the relatively puny speakers in my LG 46" LED TV, especially so I could hear the dialogue over the background sounds. I got the Sony because it has a small, unobtrusive sound bar and a decent sub-woofer. After installing it yesterday, I have been able to experience and really appreciate the difference it makes in the overall quality of the audio portion of the shows I watch on TV. I can easily make out the dialogue and the sounds coming from the system are rich and full.
The only complaint I have is that I can't figure out how to operate the Sony system from my Dish Network remote control, so now it's one more remote control I need to use, one to turn on the satellite system/TV, and the other (the Sony) for the sound system. But I guess that's a small price to pay for high quality sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Not bad for a sound bar.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Poofi
on 11/16/2011
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This isnt gonna replace a 5.1 home theater system, but its still a competent highly recommended sound package for your living room or alternate room needs. Sony really packaged a lot of technology into it. Has all the bells and whistles of high end home theater systems. You can connect almost anything to it. Aesthetics are nice too. Looks good in any living room.
This product has... Easy to use controls, Good connection options
About me... Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

The cure-all for your new flatscreen.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ebelements
from Cincinnati
on 01/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound, HDMI switching, price
I wasn't even planning on an audio system yet, but when I set up my new Sony 55" and BluRay player, the sound that came out of the TV was beyond a letdown. I needed a fix, and fast.
Now, soundbars aren't for everybody. I would wager to say that the majority of people with big-screen TVs want the most out of their home theater, and tend to go for a home-theater-in-a-box or custom 5.1/ 7.1 solution. That's all fine and good, but my home has an extremely open floorplan in addition to being minimalistic by design, so tossing speakers here and there was not an option for me. Soundbar it is.
Did some research, and this was one of the higher rated options, and the price was right. Ideally I would have gone for the 350, with more power, but they didn't have it in store and my impulses got the best of me. Glad they did. This is a great solution for someone who doesn't need a full surround setup but wants matched sound with ample bass in an unobtrusive package. The HDMI switching is an awesome bonus, and the included remote is now the only one I use for the rest of my Bravia gear. Setup was almost too easy—the system pretty much sets itself up. I was good to go in under ten minutes.
I would say this works best for a medium room or an apartment. If you have a large room or love your audio dialed to eleven, you're going to want the 350. This gets loud enough for me, but I wasn't expecting it to go head to head with a full 7.1 setup. In my opinion, no one looking at soundbars should.
Aesthetically, it looks great. The bar isn't as large as you might think. In my case, the bar sits on top of my 55" Bravia's stand and blends in for the most part.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>