Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Model: SWR-1243D
SKU: 9775134
UPC: 793276601537
Add expressive audio to your car's speaker system with this subwoofer that features a 26-400Hz frequency response and 83dB sensitivity for rich, true-to-life sound reproduction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
15 out of 16
)
Customer Reviews for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer
Review 1 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Great for the money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Cali
on 02/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Looks and sound
What's not so great: My credit rating or I would have 10 of em.
I have 4 of these beasts in my chevy aveo LS powered by 4 m100 1000w amps. You hear me rollin dubstep every night yo.
About me... Music is my life, Casual listener, Avid listener, Frequent car commuter, Audiophile, Installed myself
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

great sub

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BrianAb
from Omaha
on 01/04/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: awesome quality.
I like these a lot. Great power, can play very loud but also can be very very clean SQ sub. I used to do SQ comps with my type R-s and did very well with them in a small sealed box.
About me... Audiophile
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Didnt expect this.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: alex1234567890
from texas
on 12/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quality
What's not so great: its not taken care of prior to purchase
to start off my whole best buy exp. was horrible! the first item i purchased was an open box item and it was defected so i had to exchange it for another one! once i set the new sub up i played a song and heard fuzzy noises coming from it. everything was wired right and my amp was just the right size, but it seemed to be something that was already wrong in the first place. when these shipments come in to bb they throw them around like they're paper. This sub was abused prior to my purchase and now i cannot be refunded.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
5out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Best all around!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bij93
from Danville, CA
on 11/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
I have 1 of these in my Infiniti FX 35. Words can't describe how amazing it sounds. I have had nothing but wonderful comments about it. My 1 sub out powers most of anyone's 2 subs I've seen. The looks on people face when they hear it is amazing. If you want great sound and have a little extra cash I would most defiantly recommend these. I was comparing this with Kickers and Kenwoods. I am so happy I chose these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Alpine 1000W Class D Digital Mono Amplifier with Variable Low-Pass Crossover - Black
4.2 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Fierce Audio - XED 12" Single Ported Subwoofer Enclosure
4.5 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Great Sub

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drew123456
from Burlington, Vermont
on 10/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I have this sub in a Fierce Audio XED 12" Single Ported Subwoofer Enclosure with an Alpine PDX 1.600m amp pushing it. The rms for this sub is 600 watts and the amp i'm pushing it with is also 600 rms, the match is perfect, and the sub hits soooooo hard. I can only turn the volume up in my head unit to 25 or so until everything starts shaking in my ford focus. Great Sub for the money. If you're contemplating between this sub and something else... forget about the something else and get this sub. It's worth the money and it pays for itself in satisfaction and reactions 100 times over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Fierce Audio - XED 12" Single Ported Subwoofer Enclosure
4.5 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

bang

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: polarbearcd32
from severn
on 10/21/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: these rock
What's not so great: blow up
these subs are good. but if your amp is over powering you could blow up 2 of these in 5 days like i did so be sure to have the right amp for the jobs. blessings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

nice sub

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mic420
from portland,oregon
on 10/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
the alpine r12 is a great value for the money. i have a alpine mrp-500 and it hits super hard, it puts a smile on my face every time i hear it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Alpine - 500W Class D Mono MOSFET Amplifier with Adjustable Crossover
4.7 out of 5(59)
 
 
 
Fierce Audio - XED 12" Single Ported Subwoofer Enclosure
4.5 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

awsomely loud

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bassist
on 09/28/2011
I have two of these each wired to a 800w polk audio pa880 amp. The subs are wired at 2 ohm getting 500 w rms, 800 peak (half of what they are rated for) and they bang hard and clean. Several passengers said their sinuses are cleared, and backs massaged. Im already planning on upgrading the amps because it seems the subs are not even being pushed. They are awsome in ported boxes. Hairtricks are now easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Buy it you'll love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DBNDAHOUSE
from Wisconsin
on 06/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I have had many subwoofers and hands down the type r is the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Excellent sub even if the price was different

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LiteDrizzle
from Charleston, WV
on 04/16/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Stands above the rest
What's not so great: Nothing
I started out with a TC10 Kicker in a 1990 cavalier and it sounded good but for me personally it didnt produce enough umph. Finally gave in and bought a 12" Alpine Type-R with a single 12" Fierce Audio Enclosure. Only pushing the sub with a 5 year old alpine mrp-m350 mono amp and it still musters enough to shake every mirror on the car. Wonderful subwoofer Alpine has a lifetime customer if they continue to have car audio epuipment like this. Now if only Best Buy would carry the 15" Alpine Type-R's or even the Type-X's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

A good solid subwoofer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SL99
from Centerburg, OHIO
on 03/19/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to hook up and very good sound quality.
What's not so great: It needs more RMS Wattages per speaker.
I bought the subwoofers thinking they were not going to have alot of solid bass but they have alot of bass. The protection plan is very good and i was very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Great Subwoofer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NickC27
from Detroit, MI
on 02/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This might be the best subwoofer for the money that's currently on the market. They are great for SPL as well as SQ. They hit hard and you will be heard from blocks away. Great in either ported or sealed boxes. I have two Type R's hooked up to a 1600 watt Hifonics Brutus amp in a custom built ported box. The amp is barely turned halfway up and it beats nearly every system I've heard at maximum volume. They are very loud, no doubt about it. But, they also hit every note perfectly. They hit very low notes, around 20 Hz, that you can hear as well as feel. They sound great for every type of music. Sealed boxes are recommended more for rock, but I used to have only one Type R in a sealed box and was only getting about 350 watts from an older amp and it still sounded good with rap and hip-hop. These are better than almost any other 12" subwoofer you will find. Don't waste your time looking for anything better for the price because, chances are, you won't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Best sub for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: illogic
from OKC
on 01/16/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Range of sound, value, (everything)
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
My initial setup was a Planet Audio 2000w mono amp with just one of these Type R's in a custom built ported box, an alpine head unit and two sets of the type S 6-1/2" coaxial speakers. Took it in in the morning and the setup took about three hours, looked great afterward. This sub, without me doing any of my own tuning, pounded harder than any 2 12's i had heard in anyone else's cars. If you are on the line between buying 2 cheaper 12's (Some of the kickers or kenwoods) there's no real comparison after buying this. Several friends have kickers or kenwoods and this sub bests them for power and sound for the money at any volume, without any bass boost. Best hard hitting sub out there for the money, at full volume it can easilly make you heard indoors from over a block away. Fully reccommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Sounds Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mitchypoo
from Chippewa Falls, WI
on 11/19/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: LOUD
What's not so great: durability
This sub sound amazing! The only problem was that it kept blowing out. The good thing was that i kept getting it replaced for free ( like 10 times). :) Get one
I would recommend this to a friend!
-19points
10out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Great Sub

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scanyland
from Richmond, Vt
on 10/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy enough to setup and install.
What's not so great: Instructions take a little bit to understand but everything you need is there.
This is a great mid to high end subwoofer. Its hit hard but at the same time it is a nice clean sound that is great at both high and low bass.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
27out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alpine Type R 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer

Highly recommend this subwoofer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GusFav
from san diego
on 06/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Bass quality, deep and clean
What's not so great: nothing
I've been interested in purchasing a type R sub for a couple of years now, and being that my sony xplode just blew out I decided it was time. This Sub sounds amazing. I have it way underpowered and one of them ratles my drunk and rear view mirror than any two twelves I've ever owned. I've had many different subs in my lifetime and so far like this one the best the bass is strong deep but incredible clean and tight. I love it go get yourself one or if you have something strong enough get two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+93points
109out of 125found this review helpful.