Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Model: G185H
SKU: 9785647
UPC: 099802867065
This monitor features 250 cd/m� brightness and 1366 x 768 resolution so you receive an amazing entertainment experience. An ultrafast 5 ms response time allows pixels to change colors quickly to avoid streaking during fast-action games and scenes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.089 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 45 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
84% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
38 out of 45
)
Customer Reviews for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black
Review 1 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Space saver

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Schmedley16
from Maine
on 07/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Small and cheap
What's not so great: Self test every time?
Believe it or not, we still had an old CRT monitor in our home office that took up most of the desk. When we moved recently, space was at a premium, so we were looking for an inexpensive flat screen monitor that would work with our older PC. This model works very well, and the plug/play features guided us through setup quickly and easily. If there's one criticism, it seems that the monitor tests itself for the best display options each time you turn it on, which is annoying for the few seconds of the test. Ultimately, though, this is a good product for the price.
This product has... Easy to setup
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Very Cool... Worth the Price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DiLynn
from Grapevine
on 01/18/2012
My husband is a man of few words but he says it has a sharp image, looks nice and he is very happy with it. He also said, "it's a monitor, what do you want me to say".
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

great except where they put the buttons

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jewbeast1
from fv, ca
on 01/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: where the buttons are located
great but make sure you realize that the buttons are on the bottom of the mointor, cause they are there. i had it for almost a year and had no idea that there was any buttons on it. once you have completely configured you cannot go wrong with it for image quality and price.
This product has... Difficult to adjust/use buttons
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Student, Technology guru/developer, beast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Poor construction, bad support

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JoannaR
from Massachusetts
on 10/16/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It's cheap
What's not so great: Unstable base, terrible support from the manufacturer.
I bought this monitor and returned it to the store within 4 hours. The base of the laptop was unsecure and the monitor was so wobbly that it didn't always sit level.
It's possible that I assembled it wrong but if so the design was not at all intuitive and the documentation was absolutely useless.
When I called Acer support the first representative I spoke with had no idea how the assembly was supposed to work. He transferred me to someone who wanted $150 (more than I paid for the actual monitor) to tell me whether it was a manufacturing error or whether I had assembled it wrong.
I swapped it out for a Samsung 20" which I'm very happy with and will not be buying anything from Acer again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

bad news

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: waltbab
from atlanta
on 09/15/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Image Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: defective
I would like to return but threw the carton away-it cuts out
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Great color and size for a good price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DrRjm
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 08/31/2011
I was amazed at the quality and color display on the monitor. For the price I think it was a great deal. It's still fairly new; hope it lasts for a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Acer makes good monitors.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PCBuilder
from NJ
on 08/25/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This is my second Acer monitor. I buy Acer mainly because of the Warranty.
For the price, quality and warranty, Acer puts out one of the best values.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Great Acer computer monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MissyMingo
from florida
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple set up, user friendly.
What's not so great: Everything is good.
Very fast deliver of my purchase, excellent quality monitor, wonderful price. I don't think you can beat Best Buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Great monitor for what I need!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: trader1998
from Phoenix, AZ
on 03/10/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Clear, great view
What's not so great: buttons for settings on the underneath side of the monitor screen
Upgraded from a 17" non-widescreen monitor and wouldn't go back! Love the view, very clear. The buttons to adjust the settings are on the underneath side, at the bottom front right side of the monitor screen, which is a bit inconvenient to try to adjust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
eMachines Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II X2 Processor / 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive
4.4 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

great value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: econ1
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 03/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: ease of use
Very decent unit for the person w/ a budget. The control buttons are in a weird spot though. A remote would make it a GREAT value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

A good deal

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FredG11934
from Center Moriches, NY
on 02/11/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice little monitor
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Nice monitor. I don't have any of the problems that have been described by some. I'm happy with this monitor, color is good and I only paid ninety bucks for the thing. Can't beat that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Awesome monitor!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drive
from Santa Rosa, CA
on 02/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price on sale, brand name, easy setup
I replaced (returned) an AOC brand (Stay away from AOC) larger monitor with this one. The controls are easy to understand and navigate around and setup is very self explanatory as it has Analog SVGA connection only. The picture is excellent and worth the compromise in size. I have always had good luck with Acer brand products.
This item being on sale when I walked into the store was a nice bonus too :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

great price for basic monitor

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: officeworker
from Scranton, PA
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price
Great price. Purchase was on line on Christmas Eve day with in store pick up. I spent more time in traffic than in the store to pick up. It was quick and easy and I had no problems at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Great Monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Candyw
from Wellsville
on 01/25/2011
What's great about it: size and picture
What's not so great: Nothing
It's just the size I needed and am so happy I bought it for myself for Christmas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

A great little monitor for an excellent price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mejah
from Ithaca, NY
on 01/18/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Low price, great value - sharp, bright image, good viewing angles
This display was purchased to replace an aging CRT, and do dual duty for a low-end desktop and a netbook. It's not the highest resolution; it's not the fanciest design; but it's bright and sharp and has a great viewing angle range. If you don't need full HD (as, in this case, for an external monitor for a netbook), you won't be disappointed by this little gem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: IrisElizabeth
from Chicago
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: No problems thus far
I bought this for my girl's room and was happy with my purchase. We have three flat screen monitors; all Acer (a 23 a year old", 22" two yrs old, and this 18" since christmas) we continue to buy Acer because of the picture quality and 0 problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

A four star flat panel for a five star price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TEGinc
from Maine
on 12/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great value
What's not so great: Odd size
I'm about to purchase a third and fourth of this model. The size is a bit odd--looks a little long and narrow but for the price it is a solid, functional little desktop flat panel. For a lot of graphics work or gaming, something bigger and more square would be preferable but for computer work in a limited space this can't be beat--the picture quality is crisp. The first was purchased about four months ago to go with a custom build for a municipality where both size and space were an issue. The second, in our office to make a dual monitor setup for a developer, has seen two months of smooth operation. I came to the BB site to purchase another for a Christmas present for my mother to replace her big ole clunky monitor and the price is down another $10 bucks so we'll get another for in the office!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Very pleased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: blackwolfoh
from Lorain, Ohio
on 12/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: plug and play
I bought this for a friend and I am very pleased that she loves it...it replaced a Dell that was ancient
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

No addl monitor connector

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CeeCee0418
from STL, MO
on 11/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price layout image ease of use
What's not so great: no additional monitor port connection
Actually I bought this monitor first and really like it especially for the price but when I got it home there was no additional access port to connect to a second monitor.....who uses a single monitor now...so outside of that, it was the one I would have chosen over the Gateway
I would recommend this to a friend!
-12points
1out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer - 18.5" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black

Nice monitor

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: inarena
from Arena WI
on 11/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good price
A little difficult to adjust, otherwise a nice inexpensive energy efficient monitor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>